Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, How do you deal with the horrible futility/banality of life....

• 26-07-2006 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭

...well? How do you? What gets you up in the morning, what stops you flying off this mortal coil into sweet oblivion? Bit morbid I know, but this heat is messin' with my head....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

www.sligozone.net of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I make sure I always have something to look forward to.

However,I'm not that bored with life......yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

self-pres·er·va·tion

noun

Definition:

instinct to keep self safe: the instinctive need to do what is necessary to survive danger

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Video games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Buggery feck, I've bloody tried all that!!

Video games

Ah yes, that too! but nothing short of a remake of Elite will make me happy there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 5 Times

Beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i take anti-depressants, anti-anxiety pills and get drunk. works a treat.
    by the way, a combination of xanax and whatever the dentist uses to numb your gums makes you trip balls. yes, it happened to me earlier, but the hour flew by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

Music

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Really?
    The fags AND the drugs?
    **thinks

Then I know what you need. A new Pink Floyd album, and a proper wooden bong. Not one of those ones with the rubber pipes that burn your throat, wood. Like what jesus had.
    OR ONE OF THESE!

Or one of these even.

ahh. newbies. you gotta love them.

dude, i suggest you look at some of the drug related threads here and check my posts.
    search this forum for the word "scumgag".
    have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

toomevara wrote:
    ...well? How do you? What gets you up in the morning, what stops you flying off this mortal coil into sweet oblivion? Bit morbid I know, but this heat is messin' with my head....

The fact that the only alternative is being dead tends to help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

julep wrote:
    ahh. newbies. you gotta love them.

dude, i suggest you look at some of the drug related threads here and check my posts.
    have fun.

I tried this and got no results.
    I was expecting some sort of brilliant fellatious activity.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

julep wrote:
    by the way, a combination of xanax and whatever the dentist uses to numb your gums makes you trip balls. yes, it happened to me earlier, but the hour flew by.

Ditto. Xanax is the biz.

Oh and my daughter usually wakes me up by jumping on my head. The cries of "Mummy please make my breakfast" usually get me out of the bed fairly sharpish.

That and talking to myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Bavaria Premium Dutch Lager followed by Hennesy 10 year old Cognac.
    Happieness felt is directly proportional to the amounts consumed.

Things I have tried so far to alleviate the full horror and awfulness of my creeping realisation of the futility and pointlessness of life:

Drugs (all the main food-groups)
    Religion
    Promiscuous Sex/Casual relationships
    Long Term committed relationships
    Art/Culture
    Travel
    Heroic Smoking
    Binge drinking
    Non-binge drinking
    Love in great golloping dollops
    Great and not-so-great Literature
    Film
    Intense friendships.
    Vegetarianism
    carnivorism (excessive)
    Meditation
    Yoga
    Bungee jumping
    obsessive physical exercise

End result,none the wiser, the ennui grows, the horror encroaches, am I ahedonistic? bugger, maybe I shagged my brain chemistry or perhaps I'm just a victim of genetics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I just mark you all off as meatbags and then get on with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

julep wrote:
    have fun.
    Yeah, take a look at that thread. See the wonders of a self-confessed drunk drug addict chastising people for recreational use of the cannabis plant! Laugh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Asti:p

toomevara wrote:
    Things I have tried so far to alleviate the full horror and awfulness of my creeping realisation of the futility and pointlessness of life:

Well if you did them in that order, you're probably fooked...

say byebye endorphins :)

On second thoughts, try knitting... it seems to work for all those grannies, and I'm sure they got plenty of action in their time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

toomevara wrote:

Religion
    Art/Culture
    Travel
    Heroic Smoking
    Binge drinking
    Non-binge drinking
    Film
    Intense friendships.
    Vegetarianism
    carnivorism (excessive)
    Meditation
    Yoga
    Bungee jumping

End result,none the wiser, the ennui grows, the horror encroaches, am I ahedonistic? bugger, maybe I shagged my brain chemistry or perhaps I'm just a victim of genetics.

Go surfing man!
    And while you're at it stick your name on the surfing thread (link in my signature).
    You'll probably need one of these though;
    http://www.geektoys.org/foto/272.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

toomevara wrote:
    What gets you up in the morning
    I don't get up in the morning... but when I get up in the afternoon or evening it's usually my hard, uncomfortable, springs-poking-you-in-the-back bed that makes me get up right away.
    toomevara wrote:
    what stops you flying off this mortal coil into sweet oblivion?
    I dunno, gravity?
    God this is a depressing thread.
    My only tip would be to think happy thoughts and try to make the best of whatever situation you find yourself in... when it all gets too much, just stop caring for a while.
    You have to be able to switch into "I couldn't give a fúcking shít" mode sometimes and let everything go... and instead do what makes you happy, enjoying the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

ThrownAway wrote:
    Music
    Same;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

G-G-G-Galway!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Music as well. *hums tune*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Posted by JoeChicken:
    On second thoughts, try knitting... it seems to work for all those grannies, and I'm sure they got plenty of action in their time

There actually have been studies to show that knitting or any repetitive hobby like that actually does curb depression.

Oh, I can just imagine the posts that follow....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

julep wrote:

yeah this and lts of lidl wine and shopping and the sad belief that someday somewhere I will do something different and make a name for myself

CiaranC wrote:
    Yeah, take a look at that thread.
    there's more than one.

See the wonders of a self-confessed drunk drug addict chastising people for recreational use of the cannabis plant! Laugh.
    the person with experience of being addicted to drugs. Laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Drugs. Or fire. Or maybe both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

G-G-G-Galway!!!
    Stanleys goin West I say
    He says no way, I say Way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Punching lots of people...

God this is a depressing thread.
    My only tip would be to think happy thoughts and try to make the best of whatever situation you find yourself in... when it all gets too much, just stop caring for a while.
    You have to be able to switch into "I couldn't give a fúcking shít" mode sometimes and let everything go... and instead do what makes you happy, enjoying the moment.

Course it's bleedin' depressing. havent you been reading? I've got no bloody endorphins left *whimper*, where can i get more? Will surfing do this for me Spastafarian?...does his mean I'm officially differently abled? Christ the horror....fluffy thoughts, positive thinking, maybe a personal re-invention..God be with the days when a bottle of buckfast was all it took to propel me in to the stratosphere of sensual delight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Violence is not the answer you big bully!!!! :p

Music!! :eek: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

julep wrote:
    the person with experience of being addicted to drugs. Laugh.
    Your drug experience has led you to hopeless addiction, and mine has led to sharing a joint with a few friends after a meal and a few glasses of wine the odd weekend.

Anyone with any cop on will take one look at the ridiculous positions you take in the argument and understand how you got yourself into the mess you are in.

But you carry on on your high horse, and I'll carry on laughing at you.

where? How? dont they punch back? If they do does that hurt, or do you enjoy that too, you debauched aggressophile...or is 'punched' a metaphor for the bould thing? cos if it is i tried lots of it, and brief post-coital glow aside it's over rated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Getting better at playing music. There is no limit.
    Thinking about stuff...or not (meditating).
    Let people think they won an arguement. (everyone's a winner)
    Games.
    Drawing.
    Writing.
    Reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭RandomOne

toomevara wrote:
    Course it's bleedin' depressing. havent you been reading? I've got no bloody endorphins left *whimper*, where can i get more? Will surfing do this for me Spastafarian?...does his mean I'm officially differently abled? Christ the horror....fluffy thoughts, positive thinking, maybe a personal re-invention..God be with the days when a bottle of buckfast was all it took to propel me in to the stratosphere of sensual delight

Sorry, it's you posting and it's in AH so:

Start threads asking what foreigners find annoying about Irish then sit back and wait for the fallout. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

This isn't depressing at all. I get out of bed for lots of things. Beer, sunshine, silly dancing in public places with himself, pay day, new clothes, curry, finding a new song I like and playing it until I'm utterly bored of it, buying a new book, reading the book, loving it, buying the sequel, laughing until I can't breathe, going to the movies, pizza, cleaning the flat so I can enjoy it when it's clean, walking in the woods, surfing the internet, learning something new, tending my plants, Buffy/Angel/Firefly/Battlestar Galactica weekend marathons, clean sheets, frozen yoghurt smoothies, computer games, buying new bits for my PC, sleepy Sunday mornings, cooking something that comes out great, getting a buzz out of working for myself, dying my hair stupid colours...

...and the alarm clock, of course. There's always that.

RandomOne wrote:
    Sorry, it's you posting and it's in AH so:

Start threads asking what foreigners find annoying about Irish then sit back and wait for the fallout. ;)

what's that stange sensation? oh thats it, a blade slipping covertly between my ribs..cheers random, well and truly skewered....hoisted on my own petard..was diverting though, wasn't it?

This isn't depressing at all. I get out of bed for lots of things. Beer, sunshine, silly dancing in public places with himself, pay day, new clothes, curry, finding a new song I like and playing it until I'm utterly bored of it, buying a new book, reading the book, loving it, buying the sequel, laughing until I can't breathe, going to the movies, pizza, cleaning the flat so I can enjoy it when it's clean, walking in the woods, surfing the internet, learning something new, tending my plants, Buffy/Angel/Firefly/Battlestar Galactica weekend marathons, clean sheets, frozen yoghurt smoothies, computer games, buying new bits for my PC, sleepy Sunday mornings, cooking something that comes out great, getting a buzz out of working for myself, dying my hair stupid colours...

...and the alarm clock, of course. There's always that.

I think I may know you Minesa...hmmmmm....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭RandomOne

toomevara wrote:
    what's that stange sensation? oh thats it, a blade slipping covertly between my ribs..cheers random, well and truly skewered....hoisted on my own petard..was diverting though, wasn't it?

I meant that it was very funny, therefore well worth getting out of bed for making folk laugh.

Of course, not everyone saw it that way ;)

However, being hoisted on your own petard I imagine is quite diverting also. :D

And still noone has beaten my suggestion:
    Video Games

Get some massively multiplaying stylee game and sign your life away... you'll be dreaming about fake gold in no time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

toomevara wrote:
    Course it's bleedin' depressing. havent you been reading?
    Course I bleedin haven't. I don't want you pack of depressed fúckers bringing me down with you.
    Píss off and listen to some Emo music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

toomevara wrote:

Religion
    Art/Culture
    Travel
    Heroic Smoking
    Binge drinking
    Non-binge drinking
    Film
    Intense friendships.
    Vegetarianism
    carnivorism (excessive)
    Meditation
    Yoga
    Bungee jumping

Great post, well said that man.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

toomevara wrote:
    I think I may know you Minesa...hmmmmm....

<_<
    >_>

...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i look at it like this:

when contemplating the futility of life i realise that, in terms of coping with it, the only thing that works is complete and utter self dillusion and denial. nothing works, there is no way round these questions - you cannot truly ever deal, we are all already dead.

If, like me, you cannot force yourself to create this self dillusion, you are screwed.

the eternal questions have over-run my life and in a way, destroyed it. i have no future. my existence and the existence of everyone/thing else is pointless.

the only things keeping me from suicide are my family/friends and the hope that one day i will come to terms with this reality and be at peace.

(no, i dont listen to Emo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

what gets me up in the morning?? you mean besides my alarm clock??: food. really, it's breakfast that makes getting up bearable for me - I'm always starving in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

toomevara wrote:
    Try Buddhism, or become a quadraplegic and spend the rest of your life yearning for the 'good-old-days.

Antidepressants previously, now its my honeybunch. :)

Believe me, I've had many a day where I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning.