Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Obesity and Aeroplanes

• 23-07-2006 3:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi all. Bit of a silly question here and may not be in the correct forum, but I'm a bit anxious over it...

I'm going on a little holiday abroad at the end of August. The thing is, I'm a bit worried about fitting into the seat. Please, don't laugh! I've known about this trip since January, my first ever trip in an aeroplane. Since January, I've lost 5 and a half stone, going from 24 stone to a little over 18 but I'm worried it isn't enough...

I've heard lots of stories about plane seats being compact to ensure extra pasengers and thus more money. I'm really worried about making a scene and being embarrassed in front of my buddies. I realise this sounds ridiculous but please, don't judge! I'm 6ft, so 18 stone is about 4/5 stone over my BMI. Do people think it'll be ok? I really want to go on this holiday, but can't afford an extra seat or a move to first class.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Talk to the airline, but I'm sure you'll be OK.

See if you can reserve a seat with extra space - aisle seat on an exit row, etc. If you can't reserve it, show up early and ask for one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Most regular airlines will allow people who are very overweight (I would not necessarily put you in this category) to reserve two seats and have longer seat belts etc. (the budget airlines are notable exceptions to this). Sitting at an emergency exit will give you extra leg room- but is balanced by you are not allowed to have any hand luggage with you- it has to be stowed in the hold or overhead, you cannot put a jacket (or indeed anything whatsoever) under the seat in front of you and cannot keep anything (other than reading material) with you.

As Victor said- if you are really worried, do contact the airline and discuss it with them. They do their best to accommodate all passengers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Im a frequent traveller on all airlines. I travel through Europe and the USA and im actually down under at the moment. I weigh 19 stone and just under 6 foot and have no problems on planes. The smaller planes like Ryanair or easyjet them small 737 or airbus 320 can be very tight but the seats are wide enough. The location of your seat wont make much difference altough for access going to the toilet etc aisle would be better, the exit seats will offer more leg room but because of size and fitness it is rare that the check in agent will move you due to stereotyping. Don't worry too much about it. Check in as early as possible ask for the leg room seats you may get them but as a 19 stone guy I fit very comfortably into the seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I'm of the strict opinion that two seats used, two seats paid for. It is illegal to have the armrests up for takeoff/ldg btw. And using the emergency exit rows is for able bodied persons only. At your size on some aircraft, you would be a danger to everyone

on the aircraft trying to get past you onto the overwing emergency exits(which you may or may not have difficulty passing through). You should sit at the rearmost or foremost row, and in a window seat. Thats best for you (near toilet) and best for others (not blocking access).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 BLUE-EYE-BOY

fluffer wrote:
    I'm of the strict opinion that two seats used, two seats paid for. It is illegal to have the armrests up for takeoff/ldg btw. And using the emergency exit rows is for able bodied persons only. At your size on some aircraft, you would be a danger to everyone

Fluffer i agree that if you need two seats then you should have to pay for them. But to say that he is a danger to everybody else is a stupid and harsh comment to make. The piolt could drinking up at the front of cockpit or he could be bloody stoned for all you know. Everyone who gets on that plane is a danger no matter how big or small you are.

I have friend who is just under 18stone and he offen goes back home for holidays and never has a problems when flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

fluffer wrote:

Be careful what you say Im 19 stone and to say someone of size is a danger to everyone is ignorance. Anyone on a plane at any given time can be danger. Think before you speak.

We are supposed to posting to help this guy not making him worry about flying. As I already said Im 19 stone and of size and fly regularly all over. If you are worried about your size check with the airline. But you should be fine.

I'm a little over 12 stone myself but do have a medical condition.
    I always request an aisle seat at the emergency exit (I fly about 2 or 3 times a month) and have yet to be refused it (note: this is always with Aerlingus). I personally would probably be of far more risk than a 19 stone person- so I really do not see what the point is. Certainly there may be an issue with a mobility impaired person sitting at, and potentially blocking, an emergency exit- this is not the case with the OP or myself. My gf never ever sits at emergency exits- because she would not be able to open them in an emergency (as she is rather petit in size). Having a wheel chair or a childrens buggy/pram blocking an emergency exit would naturally be a concern- personally I'd be thrilled if a 6ft something guy was at an emergency exit in a position to help others should something go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

fluffer wrote:
    no he wouldnt.
    You dont know what youre talking about. 18 stone for a 6' person isnt too bad, and he will fit just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

fluffer wrote:
    At your size on some aircraft, you would be a danger to everyone

He was only asking for some help, not abuse. Don't be so ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

op, don't worry about it, you will fit fine, i am just back from a couple of weeks traveling, i'm 6ft 4 and prob about 22 stone, some of the planes were a tight squeeze for me, the tightest being with ryanair(i was actually in a bit of pain and had a bruise on my hip from only a 45 minute flight) but the rest were fine, in fact easyjet was the more spacious along with aer lingus(although depends on the plane i guess) the airbus 320 was very spacious..

Moral of the story, you have absolutely nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You'll be fine OP but if you want to put your mind at ease, give the airline a call anyway, best of luck. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

smccarrick wrote:
    I'm a little over 12 stone myself but do have a medical condition.
    I always request an aisle seat at the emergency exit (I fly about 2 or 3 times a month) and have yet to be refused it (note: this is always with Aerlingus). I personally would probably be of far more risk than a 19 stone person- so I really do not see what the point is. Certainly there may be an issue with a mobility impaired person sitting at, and potentially blocking, an emergency exit- this is not the case with the OP or myself. My gf never ever sits at emergency exits- because she would not be able to open them in an emergency (as she is rather petit in size). Having a wheel chair or a childrens buggy/pram blocking an emergency exit would naturally be a concern- personally I'd be thrilled if a 6ft something guy was at an emergency exit in a position to help others should something go wrong.

Why do you think a little over 12 stone is a lot?, just he impression I got from your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You'll be fine. I'm 5' 11" and was 17.5 stone at my peak, and I never had any trouble fitting into seats, or fitting down the aisle, and I sat in the exit row plenty of times.

Unless you're strangely proportioned (i.e. ass like the back of a bus), or have trouble walking, then I don't see any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

You'll be grand, ask for a seat at the front, I'm 6'4 with a feiced kneecap and find there's an extra few inches there. and ask for an aisle seat too, so you can give your legs an extra bit of movement.

Ok, maybe not applicable in OP's case. But I have refused to sit beside obese people as a passenger on these grounds before. In fact, I have had them moved. I happen to know a bit about the subject.

The emergency exit row may have more room, but it is for ABLE bodied persons only. There is a debate on at the moment in many airlines as to what that means. Massively obese imo is not able bodied. Checkin staff may not care though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

To the OP: I've been away a couple of times with a friend who was over 20 stone and about 5" 7. There were never any problems fitting into the seat. If you have a problem with the seatbelt you can ask the steward for an extension.

To fluffer: what are you doing on this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

fluffer wrote:
    Ok, maybe not applicable in OP's case. But I have refused to sit beside obese people as a passenger on these grounds before. In fact, I have had them moved. I happen to know a bit about the subject.
    your posts would suggest otherwise.
    This guy is looking for help.
    Not some *insult removed* telling him that he's massively obese when he isn't.
    Give it a rest.

Drop it and move on.
    You lose an argument on the internet and appear foolish.
    Life goes on much as it has this past age.
    In other news, tomorrow is Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

as an aside- i'm the other end of the scale. I'm 9-10 stone, and 6ft. so by your assumption I would also be considered not able bodied. However, I wouldnt, and nor would the man of the aboves stature, have any issue with removing a 20kg exit door if needed like. In fact, the fact that I can lift 20kg's easily enough is why i request an emergency row seat - prefer to know if needs be I can do it, and not some old granny as I've seen before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

to be honest, I've seen people a lot bigger than 18 stone squashed into airline seats - OP..you should be fine, trust me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Lads, thanks for the help. Maybe a bit of Body Dismorphyia going on! I'll give the airline a ring tomorrow to check out like one or two of you have said. Anyway, a month left, might have a couple more pounds lost by then! Unfortunatley, coming back I'll probably be in more trouble after the planned excessive alcohol intake!! :)

Thanks again everyone! Great help to me!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I'm 5'11, 20 stone and have no problem with airline seats.

fluffer wrote:
    Just stop posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Why do you think a little over 12 stone is a lot?, just he impression I got from your post.
    Smccarrick is 5ft 9 inches tall, so would be on the upper end of the normal scale for his BMI (though he is quite muscular)...I am only 5ft 2inches tall and 7.5 stone with far less muscle strength and would be afraid that I would not be able to open the emergency door, so would also be happier if someone who was stronger than me was sitting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

shane is tiny if you ask me :D

Thanks for the compliments guys..... :o
    I should perhaps have rephrased my post- the reason I want the aisle seat at the emergency exit is because of a medical condition I am quite likely to need to visit the bathroom a lot more than most normal people, and I like a little extra room at the emergency exit because of a very upset stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

RuggieBear wrote:
    shane is tiny if you ask me :D
    Actually he is VERY big in a certain department :D (no wonder I am glad that he is my partner) but back to the OP, I do not think that weight should ever be an issue in terms of sitting at the emergency exit, strength should be. I have a cousin who is 5ft 8in but would be a lot larger than me, she has never had any problems with any of her flights and she has to fly at least 3-4 times a month all over the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

fluffer wrote:
    At your size on some aircraft, you would be a danger to everyone
    Don't be a dick.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Victor wrote:
    See if you can reserve a seat with extra space - aisle seat on an exit row, etc. If you can't reserve it, show up early and ask for one.

Good suggestions, especially getting in an exit row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Hi all. Bit of a silly question here and may not be in the correct forum, but I'm a bit anxious over it...

I'm going on a little holiday abroad at the end of August. The thing is, I'm a bit worried about fitting into the seat. Please, don't laugh! I've known about this trip since January, my first ever trip in an aeroplane. Since January, I've lost 5 and a half stone, going from 24 stone to a little over 18 but I'm worried it isn't enough...

I've heard lots of stories about plane seats being compact to ensure extra pasengers and thus more money. I'm really worried about making a scene and being embarrassed in front of my buddies. I realise this sounds ridiculous but please, don't judge! I'm 6ft, so 18 stone is about 4/5 stone over my BMI. Do people think it'll be ok? I really want to go on this holiday, but can't afford an extra seat or a move to first class.

Thanks.

sorry man but if you fit in you are fine no bother , but i have had 'overweight' people encroach on my area of my seat i.e beyond the arm rest, i politly asked the stewardess to be moved and she put me in first class, i dont mean to be offensive but if you are that size, you dont buy a small bed to sleep in you buy a big one. how would you like me to put my legs across your lap and go asleep?? its not fair on you to buy another seat but not fair on the person sitting beside you.
    what if you were stuck between 2 people bigger than you?? i am sure you wouldnt like it.
    sorry but its the way i feel and the way a makor airline feels, i hope you aint stuck beside some sap who starts shouting abuse at you because you are taking up his seat.
    its a good idea asking for a bulkhead seat but you wont be allowed sit anywhere near a emergency exit unless you are physically fit. (be able to lift out a 15kg window in a emergency)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

I personally agree with fluffer on this one. I see no reason why I should have to share my chair with some person who is clinically obese. (Not that I’m saying at OP is. Although if you have ask.) In such a case I too would either ask to be moved or have them moved. I see no reason why because of their lack or respect for themselves I should be made suffer.

As for allowing such a person to have a wing exit seat, that just strikes me as madness. No one with an impediment should be allowed occupy those particular seats since the person sitting there actions may determine people surviving or not in the eventuality of an incident.

CathyMoran wrote:
    Actually he is VERY big in a certain department :D (no wonder I am glad that he is my partner)

Who ever said romance is dead?:rolleyes::p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

CathyMoran wrote:
    Smccarrick is 5ft 9.

5'9 and 12 stone is tiny. Completely off topic so apoligies.:o

As for you fluffer, your a clown. Know a bit about the subject? me bollox.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

If it's a long haul flight, OP, it might be worth considering getting a seat in first class. They're much roomier. That would only be for the sake of comfort though, I doubt you'll have any problems fitting into a normal seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

CathyMoran wrote:
    Actually he is VERY big in a certain department :D (no wonder I am glad that he is my partner)

Oh gee thanks. Make us jealous, why don't you? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

fluffer wrote:

Okay then fluffer. I am 6' 6" and 20 stone. I have never had a problem with flying and I have been on a lot of long haul flights. You are insinuating that I would not be able bodied. I would dispute this in the strongest possible terms. The OP will be okay.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

fluffer wrote:

Fluffer you're talking sh1te. I'm an Aeronautical Engineer, I know a bit about this subject too. If you do happen to crash getting to the emergency exit will be the last of your worries. The only type of incident where you'll probably need to use the exit is if the aircraft veers off the runway or smoke in the cabin or an emergency landing which shouldn't pose any problems to anybody except the extremely heavily obese exiting throuh the fore and aft exits.
    smccarrick wrote:
    Thanks for the compliments guys..... :o
    I should perhaps have rephrased my post- the reason I want the aisle seat at the emergency exit is because of a medical condition I am quite likely to need to visit the bathroom a lot more than most normal people, and I like a little extra room at the emergency exit because of a very upset stomach.

Okay the emergency exits are generally over the wing at the middle of the cabin, forward and aft of the cabin. You're best bet would be to sit up front at the asile where there may be extra leg room if there is no bulkhead/partition between the first row of seats and the door. This will inprove access all round. The toilet is here too. The exit here (like the back) is the full size main door which should keep fluffer types happy. Most seats are quite wide so its not your weight I'd worry about - its your width. And you don't sound that heavy tbh - you'll be fine.

If you're still anxious call the airline and ask them about the seat dimensions (tho it should be readily available online). One the day of the flight get there early and reserve your seat - airlingus even give you the chance to do it yourself now with their selfservice kiosks.

Jesus there is some hostility here.
    5uspect -wow you really put me in my place... :rolleyes:
    I gave an opinion. I stand by it. Like I already said, I was wrong in OP's case (didnt read the figure's for his weight and height, only the concern).
    And its not tall heavy people that I claimed are a hindrance, its the massively obese. So could the 6ft x inches 20-stoners stop feigning offence?
    BUT. I have seen people struggle to walk down the aisle to their seats on a medium sized aircraft. I have had people beside me not fit in seats, and demand to have the armrests raised (e.g sit in half my seat). And I know that these same people would not fit through an overwing exit, and would be a hindrence to the surrounding passengers and crew. Why is there so much hostility to this suggestion?
    The only type of incident where you'll probably need to use the exit is if the aircraft veers off the runway or smoke in the cabin or an emergency landing which shouldn't pose any problems to anybody except the extremely heavily obese exiting throuh the fore and aft exits.
    My entire point nicely ignored. Will they fit through the overwing exits? NO. Will the surrounding passengers be impeded by somebody moving the opposite direction? YES.
    Try it on an aircraft during embarkation. Try going from the rear to the front of the aircraft. It will take forever. Now imagine you are massively obese in an emergency, and the aircraft is at an angle.

And like I did suggest, the foremost and rearmost seats are most suitable if you are worried. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Ayla

Fluffer -

There was no hostility in this forum until you came around and started being quite ignorant in how you made your comments. Your comments and opinions are just that (and everyone's entitled to their own), but you don't need to be rude.

I agree that everyone pays for the seat they sit in, and no one should do things to make their seat-mates uncomfortable. However, have you ever stopped to think about how low you made the person next to you feel to be moved b/c you felt inconvenienced? If I was sitting near you and heard you making your seat-mate move b/c you felt put-upon, I'd really dislike you. If you have a problem, you move.

I'm sure the people who are massively obsese know they are, and I'd imagine they're even more uncomfortable in their seat than you are in yours. But I suggest being a bit more considerate in stating your opinions - you never know what may happen to you in your life and someday maybe you'll be the target for someone's ignorant comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

OP, I'll agree with (almost) everyone else on this, and say you dont have anything to worry about. I'm over 19 stone, 6'3" and I have never had any problems at all. That includes short flights inside Europe and also long haul 12+ hours as well. Enjoy your holidays.

Well done on losing so much weight by the way, any magic tips?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

fluffer wrote:

OP: you will fit fine in those seats, and there is no need to worry.

Fluffer: would you also not sit next to old people because they would be slower getting to the exits? or may be confused in the event of an accident?
    In a study of plane survivors, the ones who did did not use the aisles but went over the tops of the seats. If that is the case perhaps you could find seats behing people under 5' 4" so you wouldnt get stuck in the event of an emergency?

You have had people moved because of their weight.????? I would have been apalled to hear someone saying that on a plane.!!! That touches on discrimination.

"i happen to know a bit about the subject" : do tell, i am all ears (or is people with big ears off your list of people to sit against in case they obstruct your vision)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

You have had people moved because of their weight.????? I would have been apalled to hear someone saying that on a plane.!!! That touches on discrimination.

There's nothing wrong with what fluffler is saying at all. I personally wouldn't want to be stuck beside someone of that big a weight wedged in next to me. I'm 11.5 stone and about 6ft and sometimes Ifind the seats restricting and uncomfortable let alone someone about 180% of my weight jammed in beside me thus making for an uncomfortable journey, safety implications aside for a moment even. So is that discrimination then?

Time for the PC brigade to take a step down - someone did fat did not wake up in the morning as a huge tub, its a lifestyle they chose, why should we have to suffer because of this? I'm not trying to offend anyone but seeing as everyone is paying for this flight its highly unfair for people to call fluffer a "dick" and "ignorant" just because he wants both peace of mind and comfort on the journey he paid well for, I know I would too. That said I wouldn't request they be moved sheerly because I would feel guilty but I'd certainly be thinking it.

HavoK wrote:
    . So is that discrimination then?

It is When he forces the other person to be moved in my opinion. I travel by train every day and it is very crowded and no doubt in the event of an accident the same problems arise. But to actually have someone moved..completely disgraceful.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

To be honest, I'm surprised that people have had little or no problems on planes when over 14 or 15 stone. I know it depends on the airline, but some of the charters are awful.

I'm about 5' 10" and weigh close on 15 stone - I flew to Spain with a company called Monarch. I've never felt so tightly squeezed into a plane as on this - I suspect they added a seat to each row making 3/3/3 in each row rather than 2/4/2. It was an Airbus, can't remember the model.

Anyway, it was the most uncomfortable I've ever been on a flight - I literally just managed to slot into the seat, but had absolutely no room to budge.

To the OP: on the flight I was on, there was a couple of rows (near the top and near the back) that had less seats - I suspect these seats were slightly wider. Definitely contact the airline and see if you can prebook them - some will let you for a small fee. Worth it in my opinion. Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It is When he forces the other person to be moved in my opinion.

It would be discrimination if he wanted them moved based on merits beyond their control i.e gender, race, origin, etc. Being obese is entirely your own doing and due to factors totally within your control you are causing discomfort, obstruction, whatever - and I feel its TOTALLY within the rights of anybody to request somebody that obese to be moved if they are casuing discomfort and/or obstruction, even if its only potential and not immediately apparent. If people are so concerned about fitting into aeroplane seats why don't they loose some weight! Again, not tryng to be rude, but sometimes I get frustrated by those who seem to consider the excess of gluttony - obesity - as some sort of disease that can't be helped. And before anyone bothers mentioning under-active this and that, the massive majority of obese people are obese because they eat too much.

I will never forget once I was on a plane to spain and there was an entire family - the lightest of them would have been, no joke, about 22 stone or thereabouts - actually giving out to the airline staff about the disgrace of their "facilities for larger people"! I would have laughed if my jaw wasn't hanging open in disbelief at such ignorance.

• Sorry but I'm another one who greatly dislikes sitting next to obese people. I fly 5-6 times a year, and every single time without exception I get an obese person next to me. The last time the gentleman actually had the nerve to tell me he chose that seat because I'm a petite girl therefore could take up some of my seat as well as his own. Why should I put up with that behavior? I wanted to complain to the steward and get moved but I didn't want to hurt the guy's feelings. I should have done; after all, he had absolutely no regard for my comfort. Why should I end up with half a seat? I know how irritating it is and wouldn't judge someone for asking the person to be moved.

HavoK wrote:
    I would have laughed if my jaw wasn't hanging open in disbelief at such ignorance.

Thats understandable, mine is now

Oh and in case your wondering, i am 12 1/2 stone. I went up to 14 two years ago, not due to eating stangely enough, but due to meds i was taking
    The last time the gentleman actually had the nerve to tell me he chose that seat because I'm a petite girl therefore could take up some of my seat as well as his own. Why should I put up with that behavior?
    You shouldnt quite simply, its just as bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Ayla

HavoK wrote:
    Being obese is entirely your own doing and due to factors totally within your control you are causing discomfort, obstruction, whatever -If people are so concerned about fitting into aeroplane seats why don't they loose some weight! Again, not tryng to be rude, but sometimes I get frustrated by those who seem to consider the excess of gluttony - obesity - as some sort of disease that can't be helped. And before anyone bothers mentioning under-active this and that, the massive majority of obese people are obese because they eat too much.

Havok - How dare you imply that you have any idea why someone would be obese? You know absolutely nothing about the person sitting next to you, and for you to make generalized judgements is completely unfair and does make your comments discriminatory. You have no right to make such accusations, and I personally think you're quite bold to even be making them.

And like I said before, if you have the problem with the situation, why should they move? Why don't you get your lazy arse up and move all your stuff to another seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Personally, I'd probably be a little uncomfortable is someone who was massively obese was crowding over me, but if it was too much of a problem, then I'd quietly ask to be moved without trying to offend or embarrass the other person in question. There's just no need for that. To demand someone be moved because they're over weight is just disgraceful. Have a bit of f**king compassion. Nobody goes out of their way to become obese. It happens over time, and usually so gradually, that it just hits you one day.

To OP: As was said before, ring the airline if you're unsure. And also, well done on the 5 and a half stone you lost. :)