Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this normal when it comes to girlfriends ?

• 22-07-2006 5:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭

Madness
    Hi everyone, im 16 and ive never had a girlfriend, but 3 of my best friends do, the weird thing that i see is that there all totally whipped, they will do anything the girls ask, if the girl says "be at my house at 11" they will be there at 11 on the dot, this is scaring me, i wonder can anybody tell me is this normal. its freaking me out, i want a girlfriend butnot if im going to be like that, somebody answer my question

Is a teenage guy being totally whipped by his girlfriend normal ? 210 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    64% 135 votes
    You need different friends
    35% 75 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sounds normal and also sounds like a Personal Issues thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,542 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Depends. Depends on the relationship between the two. You also need more options on your poll. I could not answer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

What a strange poll, I pick Yes, No and You need different friends. :)Its fairly normal tbh though, OP. It depends on how clingy the person is and if they generally a needy person, if you dont take control in the relationship then they probably will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Ah good few of my m8s are whipped u just got 2 live wit it even if they say they arent!

you hear that saxoduff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

It's fairly common, but a little sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

sounds normal to me.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

16, horny and dying to lose their virginity (or have more sex). of course they are whipped.

i also clicked on all three options. just because i could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

julep wrote:
    16, horny and dying to lose their virginity (or have more sex). of course they are whipped.

Yep. that more or less sums it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

RuggieBear wrote:
    Yep. that more or less sums it up
    In a nutshell.
    And, OP so would you be. at the drop of a hat :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

They're getting sex, and when you're first introduced to it sex is a currency more powerful than gold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Yep, Sounds completely normal! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

They're getting sex, and when you're first introduced to it sex is a currency more powerful than gold!

I suspect a pile of gold would have convinced me to hold off for a couple of years. Or at least rent a couple of high-class hookers with enough left over to buy a DS Lite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Sarky wrote:
    I suspect a pile of gold would have convinced me to hold off for a couple of years. Or at least rent a couple of high-class hookers with enough left over to buy a DS Lite.

rofl, you my friend, and a VERY smart man (or possibly lesbian gamer)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

normal. Im 23 and I was being whipped until my last gf 6 months ago. Part of being a man, ironically, is that the woman usually wears the trousers.

Btw, Id be worried if someone was entering the tags for your thread into a boards search!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

It is a currency likely to make even the most ardent trekkie hand over his dilithium crystals on a platter!!:eek:

That said, it is less of 'whipped' and more of a willingness tbh. It certainly seems daunting at first OP but when you get into a relationship you realise that there is something compulsive about it. It's more than just sex, it's a whole new set of emotions you've never felt before. Weird but true. Bery enjoyable sometimes, maddening other times :D

As the ad says...All in it's own good time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

r3nu4l wrote:
    It is a currency likely to make even the most ardent trekkie hand over his dilithium crystals on a platter!!:eek:

:D Only on boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭StephenC_IRL

they are not getting sex, not off these girls anyway, nor even the suggestion or promise of sex, one of them only gets a kiss on the cheek, if hes really lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭StephenC_IRL

r3nu4l wrote:
    1f u c4n r34d 7h15, u r3411y n33d t0 g37 l41d
    '

ohhh sh1t, i can read it better than my handwriting, *gets phone* speed dial 01 - 1570hookers

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Sex or no sex, they know the possibility is there, no matter how long they may have to wait, and if being whipped is what you have to do then they will do it... I know a good new lads on their late 20's who have had been going out with their girlfriends for 1 year +, and they are completely whipped. Why? Cause if the don't do what they are told, they may get their sex rationed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Zascar wrote:
    Sex or no sex, they know the possibility is there, no matter how long they may have to wait, and if being whipped is what you have to do then they will do it... I know a good new lads on their late 20's who have had been going out with their girlfriends for 1 year +, and they are completely whipped. Why? Cause if the don't do what they are told, they may get their sex rationed.

So sad, but so true. Mammys little boys they are. Sickening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

It's not really being whipped.. just being nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

What happened to "Treat em mean, keep em keen"...???!!

They've got it all wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Sex as a weapon. F**k that. Any suggestion of the sort and I'm gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

ok, so they arranged to meet at 11 and they showed up ON TIME?? my god, they must be whipped!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

yeah it's normal

men do get completely fookin whipped when they get a girlfriend

I don't know one person that isn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

if the girl says "be at my house at 11" they will be there at 11 on the dot

and?
    surely if anyone is supposed to be anywhere at a given time then they should at least try to be there on time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Lads, you know what he means by the eleven on the dot thing but you all did the usual boards thing.. Jump on the mistakes and talk about them in the thread.. Taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

jrey1981 wrote:
    What happened to "Treat em mean, keep em keen"...???!!

They've got it all wrong!

I think you are correct. If my experience is anything to go buy, the best way to get a woman to want to sleep with you must be to tell her you cant sleep with her before marriage because of / your religion/ insert other valid reason here. If any of you are low in morals, this will work a treat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

mang87 wrote:
    yeah it's normal

men do get completely fookin whipped when they get a girlfriend

I don't know one person that isn't
    i'm not whipped. but then again my girlfriend's a nice person and so doesn't try to boss me around. i have had to put my foot down once or twice though. aren't i manly :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

i'm not whipped. but then again my girlfriend's a nice person and so doesn't try to boss me around. i have had to put my foot down once or twice though. aren't i manly :D
    I think women actually like that. Yes they like to get their way but they do not like to be able to walk all over a guy. Asserting yourself properly at the right times can be very attractive for a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

InFront wrote:
    I think you are correct. If my experience is anything to go buy, the best way to get a woman to want to sleep with you must be to tell her you cant sleep with her before marriage because of / your religion/ insert other valid reason here. If any of you are low in morals, this will work a treat!

Personally,I'd be totally turned off by a guy who said he couldn't sleep with me before marriage for religious reasons.

Maybe it works on some people though.

Also,16 year old boys are "whipped" because they're trying to get sex,as a lot of people have said.

When they get older,they usually realise that they can have a relationship, without having to engage in a power battle all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

Yes, it's totally normal.
    As time goes by the lads will mostly likely abandon their attempts to be perfect boyfriends and adopt the "treat 'em mean and keep 'em keen" doctrin but they're young and innexperienced and likely grateful to be in relationships with the (vague) pissibility of sex before them and there's nothing particualrly wrong with them treating their girlfriends super nice.

*sigh* Oh to be young and treated well again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Yes, it's totally normal.
    As time goes by the lads will mostly likely abandon their attempts to be perfect boyfriends and adopt the "treat 'em mean and keep 'em keen" doctrin but they're young and innexperienced and likely grateful to be in relationships with the (vague) pissibility of sex before them and there's nothing particualrly wrong with them treating their girlfriends super nice.

*sigh* Oh to be young and treated well again
    how pissible is sex exactly?

age doesn't stop men treating women well. no matter what age i am i'll always treat my gf well. the type of bloke who only treats you well when he's gagging for sex isn't the type of bloke anyone should be going out with really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Why do you have a problem with them being punctual? Thats not being whipped, thats having respect. Dont you know the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

age doesn't stop men treating women well. no matter what age i am i'll always treat my gf well. the type of bloke who only treats you well when he's gagging for sex isn't the type of bloke anyone should be going out with really

It was a generalisation, but younger men are more likely to treat a woman well out of the sheer new-ness of the experience of being with a woman. Wehn they get older they'll take it for granted and seperate out into those who continue to treat women well because it's a nice thing to do, and those who don't, because they discover that they don't have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

There is a difference between whipped and respect OK. If they're still hanging about with you on a regular basis, they're not whipped

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Well yes, it's normal for them to be whipped, they want sex. It's rather obvious OP.
    The older they get the less whipped they will be.
    Boys need a good whipping at that age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Zascar wrote:

LMBO but so true!

To the OP mate your only 16 enjoy your time your young dont get tied down! Go out enjoy yourself I you are the kinda guy thatwould slip the hand now now and again ;) thats grand just dont get tied down in my own opinion girls at that ages I dont really know how to explain but stay singlehave a good time then when you do meet a girl that will give you all your needs :D and you really like her stick with her! After you eat the same pie for awaile you might wanna move on if you know what I mean :)

I know your young maybe never had sex before but I will give you abit of advice! Any girl I was with at yourage always wouldn't shut up about having kids even at that ages so here's a tip always use a condom because they will trick ya and you have a baby on your hands then for the rest of your life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Just think of this.. if your friends where any good in bed they would be dictating the time to meet, not the girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Yes, teenaged boys can be whipped by some selfish teenaged girls, because the boys are desperate for sex and the girls have been completely misled into thinking that they have to be mega-bitches in order to be the media-projected representation of an empowered, attractive, independent, thin and desireable woman.

However, it's really not whipped to be punctual when you've agreed to be somewhere at a certain time. It's polite. And it tends to be good training for the real world - there are lots and lots of instances where people will expect you to be on time. It's not a bad habit to get into. Unless you're going to consider yourself whipped by your job, weddings, parties, after-work drinks, university lectures, christenings, job interviews, flights check in desks, trains, buses, last minute grocery shopping, the doctor, the dentist, your financial advisor, your bank manager, anyone else who may ever make an appointment with you or the world generally.

Are teenaged boys whipped by the world generally?

You tell me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

Yes, I've seen this happen with friends too. Sometimes it's just ridiculous... she will try and change him, and he will go to all lengths to be the person she wants him to be.
    I notice it's usually when an average/less attractive guy gets a hot girl. He feels like he's struck gold, and he's so afraid of her dumping him that he'll do pretty much anything she wants. *whuh-tshh*
    (Adding to the fact that a hot girl is great for any guy's image).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hobbes wrote:
    Just think of this.. if your friends where any good in bed they would be dictating the time to meet, not the girls.
    QFT :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭DonkeyRhubarb

It goes on. My mates are in their 20's and still whipped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Madness
    Hi everyone, im 16 and ive never had a girlfriend, but 3 of my best friends do, the weird thing that i see is that there all totally whipped, they will do anything the girls ask, if the girl says "be at my house at 11" they will be there at 11 on the dot, this is scaring me, i wonder can anybody tell me is this normal. its freaking me out, i want a girlfriend butnot if im going to be like that, somebody answer my question

Like everything if you let it and yea it happens but depends on the couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

moo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Spam :d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Hobbes wrote:
    Agreed! But the above only comes with age... Once you turn 47 you're grand! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Haha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. Sorry man, dont mean to laugh but welcome to the grown up world!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

That's a pretty crafty copy & paste job there omahaid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

There's nothin wrong with bein whipped though. I'm 17 an I spend as much time as possible with the g/f. It's all about there being a balance. She does stuff for me, I do stuff for her... we're a couple like, that's what you do. You don't treat her like your uncle's sister's mother in law.

If we're sittin in my gaff, an she wants somethin, I'll get up an get it for her. Visa versa if we're in her gaff. She asks me to hold her bag while she tries somethin on, I'll do it. If I have to run off to the jacks, she'll hold whatever I've got.

That's the way it should work me thinks... if your mates are bein little gofers though, then that's the wrong kinda whipped. They need to grow a pair and say no once in awhile, which both me an the g/f do ;) Balance :)