Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spraoi: Calling All Interested!!!

• 20-07-2006 8:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭

Righto, you've heard me shi*teing on about it the last few months, but it's finally coming close.

All info is on www.spraoi.com and at the moment, Ali and Masteroftherealm are coming down for it as well as the locals, Flipflip, Paddy@CIRL and Chocheese (And maybe even the elusive Febreeze).

I can get details on hostels, buses and events no bother, and it's a mighty fun event.

Now...If there's a few of you interested...say 5-6, coming from afar, Masteroftherealm looked into renting a house for the week, which'd work out cheaper than a hostel, and you'd most likely have a bit more freedom to stagger in! ( ;) ) but we'd need at least 5 in for it!

Post up here if you'd be interested anyways, even just for a few hours. I can get a bus schedule sorted out (With my special Bus Eireann powers....ugh)

So...yeah...great weekend, great shots, great athmosphere...and getting pished with people off t'internet... G'won! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Well I'll be there anyway, not sure about friend and family commitments but I have a chariot available if anyone will be down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Excellent!

Forgot that you were only down the road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I'll hopefully go down ,not sure whether to drive or make a proper occasion of it and get the train ,stay down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Sounds like fun, id be up for that, house sounds like a good idea, if enough numbers

Looking good!

House idea would be great craic. More comfortably for ye than a hostel. (I say we leave them a darkroom in their attic too :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

ah shur I'll have to take a spin over now!

Excellent!

Yer only a few hours away!

whats the deal with the house? Is is not going to be utterly impossible to get a place (house or hostel) at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

waaaaheyyyy Spraoi time again!!!!!!

LOOOVE it!!

we (Resonant) are playing all 3 days of it..
    Friday - Kicks Stage (hanover st.)
    Saturday - Paul Flynns (Lombard st.)
    Sunday - Were in the Parade on the FIRE float!!! sweeeet
    Later

see you all at SPRAOIIII

rymus wrote:
    whats the deal with the house? Is is not going to be utterly impossible to get a place (house or hostel) at this stage?

I'd say there'd still be a good few left. Tbh, Spraoi seems to be a mainly Irish crowd, and and of those that have to travel far, most stay in Tramore for the weekend!

Actually, Macker just reminded me to tell ye..

During the day you're gonna have really lively shots of street acts, gigs and interesting street shots, night time is full of light shows, acrobats, mad gigs, and on the Sunday, a big mad parade with a firework show after!!!

And if you like yer metal music...Check out Revenant! (Just stay upwind of Macker ;) )

if theres houses left and we have enough to make one "economically viable", then book away you crazy diamond.

And yes, I do like my metal

Deadly...You're gonna enjoy yourself! :)

These are two suggestions that Masteroftherealm found;

http://www.daft.ie/waterford/waterford_city/61076/index.daft

And

http://www.daft.ie/waterford/waterford_city/63092/

The seven bedroom place, if filled, would work out being about 45 quid each. And that'd be for the week, so you could always come down a few days before. The other works out being 17 quid for the week...Like, take those as examples, even add a few quid on considering the weekend and it's still cheaper than a hotel! You'd have to buy your own food and that like, but still!

now I may have this wrong (given bad information and all that)... but isnt Lismore park one of the roughest estates in Waterford? :D

Having said that though, I'd sleep in a pop tent in the middle of Bosnia if it meant I could drink all weekend

It's not that bad lol!

Bad estates in Waterford are Ballybeg, John's Park and Farron Park really, Lismore park is grand, certinally not the poshest in town, but far from the worst!

And Rymus...You can most certinally drink all weekend...ON THE STREETS!!! Lol, Festival rules in Waterford means public drinking is A ok!

what about pink sparkly speedo's with flames pained on the gusset? Anyway... sounds good.. and I'd rather a house than a hostel. Anywhere I dont have to use my camera bag as a pillow and sleep with a knife under it is a-ok

rymus wrote:
    what about pink sparkly speedo's with flames pained on the gusset?

I'm sure there'll be a space at the parade for you ;)

Ah yeah, you should sleep sound!

House woulda defo be better than a hostel!

So who's up for a house now? Rymus, Ali, MasteroftheRealm, possibly _brian_ and 440hz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

I'm on a weeks holidays for this, its going to be ****ing gooood :D

If I come to Waterford, I expect some ppl to come and visit for the Rose of Tralee, which also happens to be my birthday, drinkies++

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭masteroftherealm

Ok basically the deal is, if we can get 5 people to come for the week we'll get the house.
    BUT I NEED assurances cause Ill be paying for the house outta me own pocket and you guys will pay me.
    Ok I need whoever is coming down and would be interested in the house idea to PM me asap so I can book it beofre it goes.

Deal!

Paddy...from what I hear, you're gonna need your new lens in time for the parade... ;)

Edit: Master got in there just before me... I think there's 5 interested anyways, that'd sound fair for you.

And 440 Id be up for the rose. Ill see can I hustle some press passes up if anyone interested.

and yup 5 would be grand. Just need PM's to make sure. Cause Im very broke so cant be outta pocket ATM lol

Can I pay in sexual favors?

rymus wrote:

Too late to change my mind about going?

Plleeeaaasssseee

Oh dear...

(Rofl!)

Edit: Crap...sleep time.

Well...You can imagine me plugging away at more and more people coming to Spraoi! (Didn't Icky Poo2 mention an interest...)

Now, I gotta get some sleep...on the early shift tomorrow...silly bus eireann...

rymus wrote:

Em, depends on how drunk I am, and how pretty you look in a dress.

440, Im so going to make sure you end up in his room now :)

Ok peoples.

Days.
    What days are easyest for everyone.
    Moday 31st-monday
    tuesday 1st -tuesday 7th
    xxx -xxxx
    Tell me so I can get this booked and away

440, Im so going to make sure you end up in his room now :)

Doh, now you will all figure out that i am really a boy.... like everyone else on the internet.

I'll more than likely get the friday 4th off work, be down for the weekend and leave on monday afternoon

Ok cool.

Rymus - Friday - Monday

440? Yourself.

Uhmmmm prob the same, depending on how long can sneak away from the old research desk and scary supervisor. Say fri-mon now and ill let you know asap if a change

And 440 Id be up for the rose. Ill see can I hustle some press passes up if anyone interested.

woohoo! visitors from the internet!

press passes for rose or spraoi?

Master's image of Rymus in a dress is quite sleep preventing...

440Hz wrote:
    woohoo! visitors from the internet!

press passes for rose or spraoi?

For the rose.
    Fajitas said no need for sproai.

Ok Rymus and 440 Friday - Monday.

Fajitas! wrote:
    Master's image of Rymus in a dress is quite sleep preventing...

I aim to please! :)

Yep, Spraoi is pretty much open plan. Anywhere you need to go that looks restricted, a friendly smile and just say you wanna take a shot and go, and you'll be grand!

(Actually, friend of mine is organising a bit of it, asked him, he said, if you gotta go someplace, ask for the stage manager - they won't have a problem!)

press passes for the rose would be super, sometimes it hard to even walk down the street without getting stopped that week. access is limited everywhere, to protect all the rte heads.

As for rymus in a dress - thats smething I would prob pay not to see!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

This is starting to sound like the big brother house - I wont be going for a week but may pop down for a day - either way I want updates in a geordie accent every day ! 'Todaay in da beg brudda hoose' style. :)

Ooh ooh ooh, Im good at doing that voice!! Esp after a couple of JDs.. can I be the BB voice... and laugh at all you housemates!!

440Hz wrote:
    press passes for the rose would be super, sometimes it hard to even walk down the street without getting stopped that week. access is limited everywhere, to protect all the rte heads.

As for rymus in a dress - thats smething I would prob pay not to see!!

Yeah Ill see what I can rustle up dont think itd be a huge problem.
    Just gotta find my own credentials first now again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Fionn

this is just down the road from me!!

so i'll probs might pop down

just have to check my social calander first and see what days are free :)

Sounds like it should be good craic. We can see what day suits all of us, and meet for a pint of two in a pub. Most likely Downes!

Ah, the traditional Downes welcome.....

Best Guiness in town...nice pub in general!

And...The weather looks like it'll be good...and I should have 2 new lenses for then...

My new lens still wont have arrived by then, disgusted ;(

I'll just have to make do with one. Might drag one of two non-boardsies (flickrite) photographers along as well, doubt they would stay though.

Fajitas! wrote:

Best Guiness in town...nice pub in general!

And...The weather looks like it'll be good...and I should have 2 new lenses for then...
    I know, I worked there for five years. Guinness can be hit and miss these days though. Not that it stops me living there ;)

Haha, fair enough!

Hmmm Was it long ago you worked there?

About five years since I stopped. I still drink there about 3 times a week though and I drink Guinness. Still the best place by far for a meet though.

Lol, you woulda stopped working there long before my day so :p

It's the best Guiness in town anyways, without a doubt - whether it has good days or bad!

And it's perfect for a meet! Lots of room, tables and things to point our cameras at!

Anything booked for this yet? Just wondering cos I was telling some Waterford mates about the plans and got laughed at when I said I was stayin at a house in Lismore Park!!

Lol, it's not that bad! I've stayed in the area loads of times, and lived near it when I first moved to Waterford!

You'll only be there 2 nights anyways! :p

Fajitas! wrote:
    You'll only be there 2 nights anyways! :p

More worried and the car and gear than the state of the house tbh!!