Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish scumbags found dead in Spain

• 19-07-2006 5:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭

They won't be missed.

Today's indepedendent has the story:

Concrete grave for slain gang leaders

Bodies of Westies boss and friend found buried near Spanish resort

THE bodies of two notorious Dublin criminals, who had been missing for the past two years, were found last night in a makeshift grave in Spain.

The leader of the infamous Westies crime gang, Shane Coates, and his close friend, Stephen Sugg, were kidnapped near the Spanish holiday resort of Alicante on the Costa Blanca in January 2004.

But Garda intelligence led to the discovery of their bodies last night in a 6ft grave under concrete in an industrial complex.

The find was made after Spanish police dug up a laneway alongside a warehouse in the town of Catral, 15km from the resort of Torrevieja and 40km from Alicante.

Detectives from the Garda national drug unit flew to Spain on Sunday after working closely with the Spanish Civil Guard on fresh information received a few months ago.

The two west Dublin gangsters are now thought to have been victims of a rival crime mob, originally from Dublin, but now based in Torrevieja.

Senior Spanish police officers have ruled out earlier reports that they had fallen foul of the Russian Mafia, a Mediterranean gang and a South American drugs cartel.

Police believe Coates and Sugg had attempted to "muscle in" on the local crime scene, using intimidatory tactics they had employed successfully in west Dublin.

But the rival gang hit back and decided to eliminate their new opposition. The bodies were found shortly after 6pm following a day-long search and last night a detailed forensic examination of the scene was under way. The bodies remained in the grave overnight pending further inquiries.

Police said a positive identification of the bodies using DNA techniques was likely to take several weeks to complete.

But officers were satisfied that the torsos found in the grave, along with clothing, shoes and rolls of plastic used to cover the bodies, belonged to Coates and Sugg.

Their families in west Dublin were last night being officially notified of the find by gardai.

Shooting

Coates (34), from Hartstown, and Sugg (27), from Corduff, Blanchardstown, fled to Alicante in 2003 when Coates went on the run following a gun battle between members of his gang and the Garda Emergency Response Unit in Virginia, Co Cavan.

Gardai had been anxious to question Coates about his involvement in the shooting but had not been in a position to seek his extradition because of insufficient evidence to press criminal charges.

Before the shoot-out, in which Coates was thought to have been hit in the leg, he had been operating from a base in the Navan area and subsequently fled across the border to Belfast with a hardened Dublin criminal formerly linked to another gangland figure known as The Monk. The Virginia hideout had been used by the Westies gang to store weapons as they carried out a spree of armed robberies, drug trafficking and had suspected links to a couple of murders.

Sugg's brother, Bernard, was murdered in a Dublin pub in August 2003 when two gunmen fired six shots at him, hitting him twice.

Coates had 16 criminal convictions for offences including armed robberies and possession of firearms.

He had been served with a tax bill for €125,000 by the Criminal Assets Bureau.

The CAB had also slapped a bill for €150,000 on Sugg who had convictions for assault, burglary and armed robbery.

Gardai had been working closely with the Spanish Civil Guard and the Policia Nacional for more than two years. Coates and Sugg were abducted from their Alicante base on January 31, 2004, but their disappearance was not reported by their girlfriends to the Spanish police for another two weeks. The two women returned to Dublin later that year after being questioned by Alicante police.

Fresh information about the likely whereabouts of the bodies was uncovered by the gardai a few months ago and, using the European mutual assistance programme, they liaised with the Spanish authorities.

This culminated in a Spanish magistrate directing the police to carry out yesterday's search.

Tom Brady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

It's a pity that they were found. Why dig up some perfectly concreted laneway with extra support?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Short, violent, hate-filled life.
    Killed, and no-one gives a ****.. what a waste of organs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Probably gonna get a lot of comments over this but even though I am anti-drugs and killings etc etc etc, they still where someones son's dont think we should celebrate/cheers their deaths! Just my 2 cents on it.

ye ye.....they have done alot wrong etc etc, but 2 wrongs......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

dbnavan wrote:
    Probably gonna get a lot of comments over this but even though I am anti-drugs and killings etc etc etc, they still where someones son's dont think we should celebrate/cheers their deaths! Just my 2 cents on it.

well said. I agree that violent death should never be celebrated. OK, lets not cry ourselves to sleep, but lets not stoop to the level of being happy about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

Live by the sword, die by the sword.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 244 ✭✭tails2

Archeron wrote:
    well said. I agree that violent death should never be celebrated. OK, lets not cry ourselves to sleep, but lets not stoop to the level of being happy about it.

AH SH!T. i've just stooped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

tails2 wrote:

At least you avoided banging your head on the moral door lintel :D

Archeron wrote:
    At least you avoided banging your head on the moral door lintel :D
    it's true tho, they were someone's son...it's sad to see a life wasted like this, even if they were scumbags. fairer to say "killed and no-one cares" than "killed and everyone's happy". probably.

Dermington wrote:
    Live by the sword, die by the sword.
    not disagreeing with you there, but smiley faces are not required. Its like if you see the movie the general, and the gardai cheering in the station because he had been gunned down, instead of actually going to try find who shot him. Sickening.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

You live by the sword, you die by the sword.

[edit]Just noticed that this has been posted already[/edit] :D

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    You live by the sword, you die by the sword.
    Thats been said

dbnavan wrote:
    not disagreeing with you there, but smiley faces are not required. Its like if you see the movie the general, and the gardai cheering in the station because he had been gunned down, instead of actually going to try find who shot him. Sickening.

??

I think the only smiley face that's been used in this thread was appropriate to the post (the moral door quote).

am I missing something? :confused:

tbh wrote:
    it's true tho, they were someone's son...it's sad to see a life wasted like this, even if they were scumbags. fairer to say "killed and no-one cares" than "killed and everyone's happy". probably.

but tbh..... my mom always told me to never twist the truth. to always tell the truth. not to twist it. so like i said....

tails2 wrote:

lets all head over to the BBQ thread and see if they wanna throw a Par-tay!!!

sorry my fault I meant the thumbs-up

just slipped out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

dbnavan wrote:

I don't think anyone's celebrating it, they're just saying they don't give a **** either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Wing Walker

What's really disappointing is that there are more than enough guys out there willing to take over from them.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

What's really disappointing is that there are more than enough guys out there willing to take over from them.:(

Exactly, when Suggs and Coates disappeared there wasn't a sudden downturn in crime was there? There's always another scumbag ready to step in...

Just wondering, I've always heard Coates and Suggs described as 'close friends', the reporting always seems to hint that there was a bit of the Reggie Kray about them? Not that it makes a difference.

As I understand it, Coates was better mates with Suggs younger brother, "verb" suggs who was shot dead a while back. I noticed the use of "close friends" as well in the media, but I don't think there is anything in it. Mind you, I wouldn't know either way, so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

They got what they deserved! So what if they are someone’s son. What about all the parents who had to bury their sons’/daughters because of these scumbags. I just hope it was slow and very painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I know one of their sisters and she's a million miles from what you would expect of a 'scummers' family.She's quiet,respectfull and i would guess at this time devastated that his death has been reported, I feel sorry for her and her family.
    I can't imagine what it must be like to be linked to a notorious gangster, always in the papers, generally viewed as scum by most and probably admired by other scum, followed like a criminal by the cops and it can only be 100% worse if you lead a normal life with a 9 to 5 and have no dirty dealings with anyone.At least now the family will get some peace if it's confirmed to be true.

Kiera wrote:
    They got what they deserved! So what if they are someone’s son. What about all the parents who had to bury their sons’/daughters because of these scumbags. I just hope it was slow and very painful.
    You might think differently if it was a brother or cousin, no matter what they did

dbnavan wrote:
    You might think differently if it was a brother or cousin, no matter what they did
    Or i might not. If i had a brother or cousin who were like that they'd be dead to me anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

violence begets violence.
    But i wouldnt celebrate a death either way..
    and the old eye for an eye philosophy is well dated at this stage.

Kiera wrote:

I'd say your one cnut in real life, do you slap babys?

I don’t actually care what you think I am in real life. If you have to abuse people for having an opinion you shouldn’t really be on a public forum to begin with.

p.s. I pinch babies.

i think ur opinion is a little hardline too

are u friends with the iranian president per chance?

Kiera wrote:
    I don’t actually care what you think I am in real life. If you have to abuse people for having an opinion you shouldn’t really be on a public forum to begin with.

p.s. I pinch babies.
    So what of the people who shot these guys should they now be shot for taking the life of another, if so where does it end, if not what makes them any better.

adonis wrote:
    i think ur opinion is a little hardline too

are u friends with the iranian president per chance?
    So I’m a hardnut because I am glad that these two are dead? Wake up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭kirving

Well the fact is, the pair of them, would have killed a lot more people if they were still alive today. I'd rather see them shot than, them killing even more people.

dbnavan wrote:
    So what of the people who shot these guys should they now be shot for taking the life of another, if so where does it end, if not what makes them any better.
    Let them shot each other. I have no problems with scum killing scum and so on. Its when these scumbags kill people like Donna Cleary that I have a problem with. Anyone who deals drugs deserves a slow and painful death. These pricks have ruined families and lives and I think one bullet to the head is getting off lightly!

would it not be better to have the two of them in jail than to have some random other criminal gang kill them??

plus kiera i didnt say you were a "hardnut"...just your opinion was a little hardline..

Kiera wrote:
    Let them shot each other. I have no problems with scum killing scum and so on. Its when these scumbags kill people like Donna Cleary that I have a problem with. Anyone who deals drugs deserves a slow and painful death. These pricks have ruined families and lives and I think one bullet to the head is getting off lightly!

I personally know a bloke, who got his life in a real fcuking mess. No job, no money, started dealing to make ends, meet the family found out and hauled him back into reality. Making alot of sacrifices including financal to pay off thugs who tried to take his life over a couple of grand, the chap now lecturers on the fact that drugs dont work. But maybe in your opinion hec should have been shot dead to, and not be given a chance to get his **** together, if the law came down harder on these guys. Ordinary joe soap, wouldnt be taking matters into his own hands. If the whole country and the dogs on the street knew how bad these guys were, why werent they banged up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

drugs are bad m'kay

dbnavan wrote:
    I personally know a bloke, who got his life in a real fcuking mess. No job, no money, started dealing to make ends, meet the family found out and hauled him back into reality. Making alot of sacrifices including financal to pay off thugs who tried to take his life over a couple of grand, the chap now lecturers on the fact that drugs dont work. But maybe in your opinion hec should have been shot dead to, and not be given a chance to get his **** together, if the law came down harder on these guys. Ordinary joe soap, wouldnt be taking matters into his own hands. If the whole country and the dogs on the street knew how bad these guys were, why werent they banged up?
    Oh come on. Anyone can throw random stories around that they heard from a friend of a friend........

I have actually seen what scum like this have done to lives and i think each and everyone of them should get whats coming to them, including your pal!

"he started dealing to make ends meet" So fúcking what. what you should have said was "he ruined peoples lives to make ends meet" It doesnt matter what you say about drug dealing scum i will never EVER feel sympathy for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Well I'm in agreement with Kiera, they choose that life and they died in the same way as many others who choose it. I have no sympathy for them at all. Should they have been imprisoned? Yes, but they weren't, so I'm glad they are gone now.
    I have a cousin (2nd cousin I think) who was a drug dealer. He robbed shops at gunpoint to get money and I'm sure he was involved in beatings too. He got caught and is now in Mountjoy. Would I be sad if he had met with a terrible end? No, I wouldn't. I do feel sad for the family's of such scumbags, if they have no involvement, but often it's a family thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

dbnavan wrote:
    No job, no money, started dealing to make ends
    That's a complete and utter cop out. There are no jobs he could have done are there? Cleaning streets, flipping burgers in Supermacs, tipping wheelie bins into the back of a truck, jobs that anyone could do if they were bothered. No, dealing drugs is the lazy option because it's cash in hand and you can pretty much do what you like.

Nobody has the right to take someone else's life, but if you're a murdering, thieving, drug dealing scumbag and someone does kill you then I've no sympathy for you. The person who did the killing should then be sought and arrested.

I too couldn't care less if they live or die, but your comment ' so what if he's someones son' is what I think is hardline.If a member of your family got involved in crime doesn't mean that all the rest of you are scum.Or does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Kiera is damn right.

Story time, gather round kids.

A few years ago, a guy I used to hang around with from Tallaght who had a perfectly normal family except the eldest brother was a Heroin addict. This was going on long before I met the guy.

As the years went by various things happened, he was constantly in and out of prison for larceny, robbery, assault and all the other fun things that come with a heroin addiction.
    Once one of the girls told me a story where she was in our friends room when the brother stolled in and asked to borrow his belt. A few minutes later he walked in again off his head with the belt around his arm and the syringe left hangin out. It freaked her right out (rightly so).
    A year later the family kicked him out because this guy was simply never going to change and I guess they just gave up on him.

I haven't seen the guy in years until I bumped into him in town recently.
    They found his brother dead in an apartment in town a few weeks ago. When I asked if he was alright while giving the usual pat on the back, he responded by saying: "I felt a bit sorry for him" but that was it. No tears, no realy remorse, nothing.

So I guess, it's entirely possible to remove family members from your heart and mind.

edit :: I have met the older brother numours times, he seemed really simple from all the drug abuse. But thats what happends when you shoot up Heroin it destroys your brain cells.

Kiera wrote:
    Oh come on. Anyone can throw random stories around that they heard from a friend of a friend........

I have actually seen what scum like this have done to lives and i think each and everyone of them should get whats coming to them, including your pal!

"he started dealing to make ends meet" So fúcking what. what you should have said was "he ruined peoples lives to make ends meet" It doesnt matter what you say about drug dealing scum i will never EVER feel sympathy for them!
    Firstly I said "I personally know", I never said a friend of a friend.

Secondly, I never said what he did was right, otherwise I wouldnt have helped him out of his mess.

Thirdly, I would rather get a guy out of dealing, then to wait to see him shot while he messes up the lives of others.

Finnally, Dealers dont shove drugs down peoples mouths, into their arms, up their noses. They do however supply to people who choose to buy. I cant believe me of anyone would actually sit here and seem to defend dealers. beccause believe me you wont meet anyone more anti-drugs then me......my point however is it is only in education and lawful reform anything will change.

A few weeks ago I was in bus aras, where I heard a guy make phonecalls sitting beside me fairly loadly about how he had just got out of the joy from 2 years and he wanted the person on the other end of the phone to "hook him up with some wheels and gear". 2 years of tax payers money wasted IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Question for all those who think Kiera is a being harsh. Are we going to miss these two animals? No, their family will and it is them I feel sorry for but I have no sympathy for these two animals. Sick of hearing sob stories like "Oh he came from a rough background" What about the rest of the people who came from a ****hole and din't go around shooting or torturing people. By all accounts, these lads came from good families and it's them who I feel sorry for but don't think anyone else would miss them. Even read the bit about their girlfrends waiting two weeks to report them missing. Says it all really. People make their own choices in life and have to deal with the consequences. I smoke so if I get lung/heart problems in later life, that's my fault and nobody else's. Scumbag carries a gun and acts a hard man, he shouldn't be surprised that there are other sum who would like to see him dead. Tough ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Think of it this way dbnavan.

Would you feel sorry for Bin Laden if he had been murdered? "Think of his 40something wives and kids!@#".

What about Saddam, do you feel sorry for him? (even though he's not dead, yet).

Or what about Timothy McVeigh, the guy who was responsible for the Oklahoma bombings, do you feel sorry for him?

My sisters best friend was murdered in Shannon in 2001, the guy who murdered her took his own life right after killing her. If he didn't, and was still alive, I know alot of people who would have no trouble in killing him in the most painful way possible and would not feel sorry about it, ever.

These people were scum, I feel sorry for their families - that their kids didn't turn out to be better people, sucks for them but that's as far as my sympathy goes.

sjones wrote:
    Think of it this way dbnavan.

Would you feel sorry for Bin Laden if he had been murdered? "Think of his 40something wives and kids!@#".

What about Saddam, do you feel sorry for him? (even though he's not dead, yet).

Or what about Timothy McVeigh, the guy who was responsible for the Oklahoma bombings, do you feel sorry for him?

My sisters best friend was murdered in Shannon in 2001, the guy who murdered her took his own life right after killing her. If he didn't, and was still alive, I know alot of people who would have no trouble in killing him in the most painful way possible and would not feel sorry about it, ever.

These people were scum, I feel sorry for their families - that their kids didn't turn out to be better people, sucks for them but that's as far as my sympathy goes.

Timoty Mc Veigh and Saddam, where both arrested, detained and given a fair trial(even though everyone knew they where guilty), and found guilty, well McVeigh was anyway, the cops didnt bring them up some remote mountain and blow their brains out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

adonis wrote:
    would it not be better to have the two of them in jail than to have some random other criminal gang kill them??
    I guess that depends if you mind spending your tax money on them or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

dbnavan wrote:
    Timoty Mc Veigh and Saddam, where both arrested, detained and given a fair trial(even though everyone knew they where guilty), and found guilty, well McVeigh was anyway, the cops didnt bring them up some remote mountain and blow their brains out.

So what's your point? So you don't care about the fact that these two scumbags were killed, but how they were killed? Even though we know nothing about how they were killed. Ok then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

good riddance

hopefully more of this scum can be gotten rid of

sjones wrote:
    So what's your point? So you don't care about the fact that these two scumbags were killed, but how they were killed? Even though we know nothing about how they were killed. Ok then.
    `No matter how they were killed or what they did in the past they were unlawfully killed. But more to the point they got out off the country when they where wanted which means gardai failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

dbnavan wrote:

I agree... i am totally against what these men did but at the end of the day they will be mourned by their loved ones. That being said they chose a dangerous path to take

fair trial??? saddam hussein??? hahhahahah its a circus..

anyway, its indicative of the state of the country we live in that someone replies with a response as trite as:

"I guess that depends if you mind spending your tax money on them or not."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

adonis wrote:
    anyway, its indicative of the state of the country we live in that someone replies with a response as trite as:

"I guess that depends if you mind spending your tax money on them or not."
    Maybe you shouldn't have asked the question then adonis.

Incidentally, I don't live in Ireland and I'm not Irish. :)