Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salvia to be banned on Monday?

• 15-07-2006 5:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭psilocybe

I am hearing rumours from a reasonably reliable source that a ban on Salvia Divinorum will be signed into law on monday. Did anybody else hear this or have any info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

I heard on the radio during the week about concerns raised about how it was still legal. Haven't heard anything since...isn't the Dáil on holliers at the moment so wont it have to be an emergency signy thingy [wow i really should go into politics:p] It should be banned imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Nooooo! That would be the only drug I'd try!
    Ah well even if it's made illegal, it's not exactly gonna cut down the supplies of it is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭psilocybe

Slurms wrote:
    Ah well even if it's made illegal, it's not exactly gonna cut down the supplies of it is it?

I would think it would make it very hard to find. It isn't really a recreational drug so I can't imagine it being available from dealers. There isn't any profit in scaring the **** out of your customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Ahh Sally, mind binding bastard of a drug ;)

I'm sure you can still source it in the UK.

Scraggs wrote:
    It should be banned imo.
    Why do you think that?
    I don't want to start an argument on why substance x sould be legal and substance y not. I'm just curious. I can certainly see how it could be dangerous to certain people, more so than mushrooms, LSD etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

shame if it is

on a side note I think salvia actually scares more kids off drugs than it does turn them on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

rofl ... Don't any of you follow current affairs?
    I thought it was common knowledge that the Dail and houses of the Oireachtas are closed for summer?
    No new bills or anything will get signed in for months...
    Or mabye I only know that because I'm working there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm sure it's only a matter of time before it's banned. I heard that there's also a bill about to be passed banning pointy corners on furniture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

DaveMcG wrote:
    I'm sure it's only a matter of time before it's banned. I heard that there's also a bill about to be passed banning pointy corners on furniture.
    About time too!
    *rubs knee*

why not introduce a bill to euthanise everybody with an IQ less than 90

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

FuzzyLogic wrote:

Becuase people might like having you around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

psilocybe wrote:
    I am hearing rumours from a reasonably reliable source that a ban on Salvia Divinorum will be signed into law on monday. Did anybody else hear this or have any info?
    I think I know what source you're talking about(drugs-forum?), and I won't believe this until there are at least 2 confirmed sources of this rumour.
    FuzzyLogic wrote:
    Because that would include most of the TDs in the Dáil.

Scraggs wrote:
    It should be banned imo.

Is that an informed or a "OMG it's a drug besides alcohol, we must ban it!" opinion?

JC 2K3 wrote:

Because that would include most of the TDs in the Dáil.
    rofl I was being sarcastic, but having met most of them, I'd have to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Yeah I heard about this, there has been no reason given for the ban either. It's stupid because they can cut down on commerical use but they're going to find it extremly hard to police. "me oh my, is that sage in your garden?" ¬_¬
    Getting rid of everything good. Grr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I've only ever done it once (hell I did acid more times) and I was shocked that something so potentially mind blowing, albeit for a short period wasn't ever made illegal....it's certainly not omething you 'd sit round and puff on all night....funny as hell, downright scary for someone not knowing what to expect....I'd probably do it again but I won't go out of my way to look for it.

I don't think it's gonna make anyone jump out a window (for christsake it's all you can do to get out of the chair) and there's a very nice mellowness off it for an hour afterwards...almost an introspective buzz...I can see why it'd be used as shamanic substance.

As for banning it? Maybe the super strength stuff is a little OTT but like I said above it's not going to kill anyone and might in fact scare them off other substances....kind of like the way LSD was used as a successful treatment for alcoholics.

Funny aside: mate of mine works with some portugese guys and one night they were all having a smoke and this one guy who won't touch anything other than weed got handed a spliff to light up...unbeknowst to him it had been primed with some 15x....when he came down he was going to kill the whole lot of them. Kind of like match heads in a cigarette only more frightening :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Wertz wrote:
    Funny aside: mate of mine works with some portugese guys and one night they were all having a smoke and this one guy who won't touch anything other than weed got handed a spliff to light up...unbeknowst to him it had been primed with some 15x....when he came down he was going to kill the whole lot of them. Kind of like match heads in a cigarette only more frightening :D

Wow. I don't find that funny at all. Spiking people is never cool. Especially with such a strong drug as Salvia

Wertz wrote:

That's not really funny, irresponsible use of drugs is the reason they get illegalised.... Although I can't see someone getting a very intense trip(if they do indeed get one at all, although 15x is probably strong enough) from smoking salvia in a joint as opposed to a bong due to the fact you need to inhale a lot in a short period of time and hold it in your lungs for 20 or 30 seconds.

by the way, just want to clarify, has anyone got this info from any source that didn't originate from what Alfa said on drugs-forum.com?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

FIrst mushrooms then this, For ****s sake this is getting more retarded by the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

psilocybe wrote:

I don't know where you heard that from but its not true, I know for a fact its not, no moves, official or otherwise have been made to make salvia illegal. That said, at a guess I'm pretty sure it will be illegal by the end of the year, because its in the media "scare the crap out of everyone" blood stream now, so you know what to do, if your so inclined, stock up know. It's not like mushrooms where you can only store them for two weeks or so, someone who isn't me had salvia sitting out open to the air for 5 months and it was still as strong as when its brand new. Roumer (rhumer, rumer or how ever you spell that, (sc) ) has it that salvia can last a year or more with no storage precautions taken and still be just as effective, so like I say, you all know where to go, stock up heavily now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    rofl ... Don't any of you follow current affairs?
    I thought it was common knowledge that the Dail and houses of the Oireachtas are closed for summer?
    No new bills or anything will get signed in for months...
    Or mabye I only know that because I'm working there.
    No need for a new bill to pass, all that needs to be done is the Minister for Health sign an order under the Misuse of Drugs Acts to turn it into a controlled substance.

JC 2K3 wrote:
    by the way, just want to clarify, has anyone got this info from any source that didn't originate from what Alfa said on drugs-forum.com?
    No,I started this thread to try to find one. If it isn;t happening that's fantastic news.

I never siad it was cool to spike people, I just used the term "funny aside", ie an anecdote.
    If it was done on me I'd be well pissed off. These portugese guys found it funny, but then most illegal drugs over there aren't strictly illegal so they have a different outlook.
    If it came down to it I'd prefer to be spiked with salvia than pills or trips...at least you're down quickly and nothing's gonn go tits up...

Ur pardon my ignorance but what IS it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Crimson...

slipss wrote:
    It's not like mushrooms where you can only store them for two weeks or so, someone who isn't me had salvia sitting out open to the air for 5 months and it was still as strong as when its brand new.

Mushrooms can be dried on day of purchase and stored for over 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Salvia divinorum

Don't worry, I didn't have a clue what it was either until this thread. BTW if it isn't yet illegal, why isn't it being sold by merchants and markets around town? Or is it?

Surely a psychotropic drug that has no real adverse side affects, isn't addictive and can be ingested harmlessly in leaf form would be all over the place? I'm amazed I haven't heard about this before?

bluewolf wrote:
    Ur pardon my ignorance but what IS it?

Its both the plant itself and a stregthened extract made from the plant.
    It is a shamanic hallucinogenic plant. The effects last about 2-3 minutes and are quite literally mind blowing...I've done a lot of stuff and combined a lot of stuff and nothing approached it in terms of sheer intensity.
    Costs about 30-50 quid for a gram depending on the potency/strength. Considering a dose is somewhere around .05gm, that's a lot of trips.
    I certainly wouldn't call it habit forming, probably quite the opposite.
    It's use stems form a traditional use as a shamanic aid in south american culture.

Not something I'd altogther recommened if you've not done similar drugs at least once and I also wouldn't recommend doing it after drinking or any other drug and it's probably best not to do it alone.

L31mr0d wrote:
    BTW if it isn't yet illegal, why isn't it being sold by merchants and markets around town? Or is it?
    Yeah it is, they sell it pretty much everywhere they sold mushrooms, and other places too.
    L31mr0d wrote:
    Surely a psychotropic drug that has no real adverse side affects, isn't addictive and can be ingested harmlessly in leaf form would be all over the place? I'm amazed I haven't heard about this before?
    But why would it be all over the place? People who use it generally are into this sort of thing and do it responsibly, we don't want to advertise it to every idiot out there because it'd be banned fairly quickly then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

L31mr0d wrote:

the reason it isn't all over the place is because this is certainly not a drug you would do recreationally or at a party or whatever, it isn't what one would describe as fun, its ego shattering, mind blowing, strong stuff..... thank god it only lasts a few minutes

It has no adverse effects, isn't addictive and people can barely move on it let alone jump out a window, as I said already if you want to scare the bejaysus out of potential drug users give them a hit of this

It does sound intriguing.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

bluewolf wrote:
    It does sound intriguing.

It was possibly one of the most surreal experiences of my young drug taking life but I can definitely see how it could go horribly wrong.

Before they would let me go near it, my friends had to sit me down for 5 minutes and give me a run through of what to do and what to expect.

Anyways, without turning this into a "Yay, what a great drug. Go do it kids!" post, I'll just finish by saying it would be a crime to make this illegal, but that wouldnt stop them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Would they actualy illegalise it here before the UK though?

Aard wrote:
    Would they actualy illegalise it here before the UK though?

Sure, look at the smoking ban.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Has anybody had bad trips with this? I know bad things have happened in them but poeple find it all so funny that it doesn't matter, or so they say.
    Any bad affects from it? It's not addictive and I don't see anything bout it that harms you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Has anybody had bad trips with this? I know bad things have happened in them but poeple find it all so funny that it doesn't matter, or so they say.
    Any bad affects from it? It's not addictive and I don't see anything bout it that harms you?

bad affects????????

Nope. Just makes you feel really weird kinda fcuks you up but only for about 5 to 10mins you cant stop laughing its good to be honest but if you never done it before dont do the strong one if you do just lay on the floor its like your floating!!!

Nope nothing in it that harmws you but like our good goverment take away these drugs people just go to more harder illegal drugs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ah, i tried the X20 a few times, that's about it. Trying to explain after is great.
    Just wondering was it bad for anybody, it hasn't been that I have heard.
    It was also weird that I couldn't find anything bad about it, so I asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Yeah there is nothing really bad buy I know loads of guys that wouldn't take it again! Make ya feel like your sweating and to be honest I feel like I do piss in myself end up getting paranoid :( ya call feel it coming out of your skin which its really nice but grand for a few guys to sit around and do a few bongs with!

Dont do in pipe do it in a big bong some hit raoring laughing for a few mins goodgreat I took before could hardly talk all that came out with blah blah blah.. No one could understand what I was saying!

It maybe be banned but still easy to get if ya ever wanted anyI have good contacts on net that do it!!

Also lovely mushrooms Oh em panther mushrooms mind blowing stuff :p;)

I know people here are really against drugs but I do alsorts, to some peope here I would be a SCUMBAG but I dont rape people or beat anyone would never in my life rob either if you like mushrooms the one's I said or else Columbian mushrooms very strong trip though from them but very good except when the walls are melting differnet colours :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

is Salvia Divinorum experience anything like a deep deep k hole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭peepsbates

Yeah there is nothing really bad buy I know loads of guys that wouldn't take it again! Make ya feel like your sweating and to be honest I feel like I do piss in myself end up getting paranoid :( ya call feel it coming out of your skin which its really nice but grand for a few guys to sit around and do a few bongs with!

Dont do in pipe do it in a big bong some hit raoring laughing for a few mins goodgreat I took before could hardly talk all that came out with blah blah blah.. No one could understand what I was saying!

It maybe be banned but still easy to get if ya ever wanted anyI have good contacts on net that do it!!

Also lovely mushrooms Oh em panther mushrooms mind blowing stuff :p;)

I know people here are really against drugs but I do alsorts, to some peope here I would be a SCUMBAG but I dont rape people or beat anyone would never in my life rob either if you like mushrooms the one's I said or else Columbian mushrooms very strong trip though from them but very good except when the walls are melting differnet colours :)

are you on it now by any chance?:D

Got a little paranoid, thought this girl was thing shouting at me, she wasn't speaking. Then I shouted 'it's weird to talk' accused poeple of being giant boots, a mountain and that ozmodiar dude from the flintstones.
    The paranoia I found is ok because you find everything so funny and relaxing.

If people wonder what happens to you, this pretty much sums it up:

* Loss of physical coordination
    * Uncontrollable laughter
    * Visual alterations or visions
    * Experiencing multiple realities
    * A contemplative sense of peace
    * Sense of profound understanding
    * Dream-like veneer over the world
    * Sense of total confusion or madness
    * Seeing or becoming part of a tunnel - that was lol
    * Loss of sense of awareness as an individual
    * Experiencing a "non-Euclidean" geometry
    * Sense of flying, floating, twisting, or turning
    * Feeling of being immersed in an energy field
    * Feeling of being connected to a larger "whole"
    * Feeling of being underground or underwater
    * Appearing to travel to other places and/or times
    * Becoming inanimate objects (a wall, stairs, a couch, etc.)
    * Viewing patterns or shapes that are tube-like, snake-like, or worm-like
    * Feeling like you are really far away but really close to something at the
    same time.
    Anyway, it was just interesting to try, don't really do drugs.
    It would'nt be banned for months I would say and I don't see the need for it to be?

except when the walls are melting differnet colours :)
    Rainbow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

* Experiencing multiple realities
    * Seeing or becoming part of a tunnel - that was lol
    * Experiencing a "non-Euclidean" geometry
    * Appearing to travel to other places and/or times
    * Becoming inanimate objects (a wall, stairs, a couch, etc.)
    Anyway, it was just interesting to try, don't really do drugs.
    I dont do any type of drugs but this one sounds like some of the best fun in the world...i wouldnt even do it for the buzz but to be couch ? or a tunnel ? LOL that would be sumthing to experience before i die.

I also don't care for the buzz, wouldn't really do them but I love this one now.
    It's weirdness I am after. When you see your friends as giant new rocks boots, your best friend as a mountain you become a tunnel , and they you start to se out of your mouth, that's weirdness! :)

ou picked out my favourite ones but also the uncontrollable laughing, I laughed as loud as I could for about ten minutes. I wonder what was so funny apart from teh miniature version of my friend I saw floating aound. :D

It's amazing how everybody experienced such complete different things and there was about twenty of us trying it at that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭mfitz

if saliva becomes illegal i'm seriously going to go on a politician killing spree :p its bad enough they made mushrooms illegal because some spa jumped off a building on them, they never think about all the people knocking people down,starting fights,dieing from alcohol but then again they shud'nt because no one wants alcohol to be illegal lol salvia is harmless its just gud fun to do at the end of a night :p it only lasts a couple of seconds anyways

Until people start admitting publically that they do drugs the government will ban any substance they want when they want.

A salvia suicide(and by that I mean most likely someone doing salvia once in their lives and killing themselves due to unrelated issues) is just what Mary Harney and co. need before the general election.

This is why I am interested to see if anything bad has been reported about it, it seems pretty safe.
    I can see no reason to ban it apart from we live in Ireland, jaysus mary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭mfitz

JC 2K3 wrote:
    A salvia suicide(and by that I mean most likely someone doing salvia once in their lives and killing themselves due to unrelated issues) is just what Mary Harney and co. need before the general election.

SO ****ING TRUE ah i hate her! lol i bet shes a smack head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

hmmm... /me reads up a bit more on salvia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Roll on August! Get my saliva on (Not literally, I'm not going to wear it, it'll be injested).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Thought the thread said "saliva to be banned..." :D