Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where did you get your name from

• 06-07-2006 11:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭

Simple question, where did you get your name from ?

I have seen some unusual names on here, eiretimacha (sorry about the spelling), takola etc and i thought where did you get the idea from.

I have to set a rule here, sorry about this, and here it is

No rudeness in the explination of your name, this is a family forum

muffler i am dying to see you get around this one.

I will start the ball rolling, Nanook is the name of my pooch. People think it comes from a book "Nanook of the North" but it came from a film and i just loved the name.

Who's next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Harry Enfield's television show.

Smashey and Nicey. Radio FAB FM.

nanook wrote:

I might just sit up all night waiting for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,607 ✭✭✭✭muffler

nanook wrote:
    I have to set a rule here, sorry about this, and here it is

muffler i am dying to see you get around this one.

Pass :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

My Father and mother ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

DamoElDiablo
    Damo being the shortened version of my first name, and El Diablo meanin the devil...

Seen The Omen?
    Explained! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

mines dont really need an explanation!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Sin scéal eile

You know, I'd love to hang around and discuss my nambe, but as they say "that's another story" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭eiretamicha

I have been very slowly creating a language for many years now. It's a work in progress, and it will probably never be finished. I'm a writer, when I have the time and motivation, and this language is to be the tongue of the people of Selcia, a race of people who live in the otherworld. :o

Eire means Earth. Micha means kiss. Ta implies ownership, but not in the same sense as the english language. Eiretamicha means Earth's Kiss. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

thats impressive stuff!

Eire means Earth.

Which means Ireland rules the World...

...no, wait...

Ireland (Éire) IS the World :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭magnumlady

Mine is Magnum from the rock band (not the ice cream, the champagne or the gun).
    And lady cos I like to think I am one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

some good and simple ideas, hey jimmy how is mr and mrs crackcorm today :)

muffler wrote:
    Pass :o:o

Go muffler, admitt it, when you where younger you started the whole pimp my ride in the donegal area with your bright green datsun cherry with a twin silencer on the back box.

go admitt it, you were a little boy pratt racer in your day.

go on admit, if not to us, then to yourself at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

I am a male from Carrick incase ye didn’t know!!

nanook wrote:
    Go muffler, admitt it, when you where younger you started the whole pimp my ride in the donegal area with your bright green datsun cherry with a twin silencer on the back box.

go admitt it, you were a little boy pratt racer in your day.

go on admit, if not to us, then to yourself at least
    It was actually a red Massey 35 with twin link boxes and yeah, you always heard me before you seen me

but muffler, according to your story then you shoudl be called

masseylotanoise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Tall Tom

I'm Tom and and I am really tall, 6'7". (Boring, I know, but 'Tommyboy' was taken)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Tall Tom wrote:
    I'm Tom and and I am really tall, 6'7". (Boring, I know, but 'Tommyboy' was taken)

Now that IS impressive! :eek:

My brother gave me the nickname when i was younger. Have no idea why and never had a chance to ask him why. I've since found out its the name of a place. Maybe he was implying i should go live there and stop annoying him! Subtle as ever! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,055 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

From the great British rock band formed in Torquay in the summer of '69. :)

nanook wrote:
    but muffler, according to your story then you shoudl be called

masseylotanoise
    I was going to make that my user name but it was already taken as were a lot of variations of it. It seems it was a popular name for Leitrim members :D

Seriously though I will tell how the name muffler came about but there's not much to tell. I was doing the crossword just before I registered and after trying a couple of common user names that were already taken I seen muffler wrote as a clue in the crossword and I just went for it.

I know that will come as a bit of a disappointment to my army of female fans but there you have it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

I wanted to call myself The Cat. It was gone. And An Cat Dubh was gone. So il gatto is Italian for The Cat. I'm not Italian. I like italian stuff. And cats. Obviousley :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Retalivity - because it works.......in theory......

and i ghost around a lot of other places with that name too for years,
    and so cant rem where it actually comes from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭slavigo

Little late I know.
    I took Sligo and Dave and mutilated them.

Dave
    Sl^igo

Slavigo

Thinking back now, I had a lot of time on my hands in those days (college days that is).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭smallpaws

Smallpaws is a variant of my dog's middle name.

I know, I know, you're all smacking your foreheads in amazement and jealousy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

smallpaws wrote:

my head hurts....

smallpaws wrote:

Middle name?????????? :confused: What are its other names. Cant wait to find out

smallpaws wrote:

a dog with a middle name, jaysus thats posh

smallpaws wrote:

Right, I took the word "smallpaws" and put it into an anagram site I found on google. Here are the results.

ALL SWAMPS
    MALL SWAPS
    MALL WASPS
    MALLS PAWS
    MALLS WASP
    MALLS SWAP
    SMALL PAWS
    SMALL WASP
    SMALL SWAP
    SPALL SWAM
    WALLS PAMS
    WALLS MAPS
    WALLS AMPS
    WALLS SAMP
    WALL SPASM
    LAMPS AWLS
    LAMPS SLAW
    LAMPS LAWS
    PSALM AWLS
    PSALM SLAW
    PSALM LAWS
    PALMS AWLS
    PALMS SLAW
    PALMS LAWS
    PLASM AWLS
    PLASM SLAW
    PLASM LAWS
    PSALMS LAW
    PSALMS AWL
    SLAMS PAWL

Poor dog.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I got it from the works of Tolkien. Tar meaning king and my whole name meaning, The mariner king.

tar, welcome back. thought you had forgotten about us.

smashey wrote:
    Right, I took the word "smallpaws" and put it into an anagram site I found on google. Here are the results.

ALL SWAMPS
    MALL SWAPS
    MALL WASPS
    MALLS PAWS
    MALLS WASP
    MALLS SWAP
    SMALL PAWS
    SMALL WASP
    SMALL SWAP
    SPALL SWAM
    WALLS PAMS
    WALLS MAPS
    WALLS AMPS
    WALLS SAMP
    WALL SPASM
    LAMPS AWLS
    LAMPS SLAW
    LAMPS LAWS
    PSALM AWLS
    PSALM SLAW
    PSALM LAWS
    PALMS AWLS
    PALMS SLAW
    PALMS LAWS
    PLASM AWLS
    PLASM SLAW
    PLASM LAWS
    PSALMS LAW
    PSALMS AWL
    SLAMS PAWL

Poor dog.

smashey, you have wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy to much time on your hands, should you not be planning awedding or summit :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

nanook wrote:
    tar, welcome back. thought you had forgotten about us.
    If I don't reply it does not mean I am not watching. (:

nanook wrote:
    smashey, you have wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy to much time on your hands, should you not be planning awedding or summit :)

All plans are in place. I'm just unwinding.

smashey wrote:
    All plans are in place. I'm just unwinding.
    Am I glad to hear that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭dingding

The nosie Hertz never lost makes jst before a change in direction.

i.e. Right Turn DingDing :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

just an old gamer name, computer related :D

Sorry, I just saw this.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by smallpaws

Middle name?????????? What are its other names. Cant wait to find

her whole name (it's an AKC thing, you register your dog with the oddest name possible, as there's probably a million dogs called Fluffy, Rocky, etc) is made up of some very silly stuff. Her whole name is Peetle Littlepaws O' Poohheart, as she was so small when we got her we called her "Beetle puppy, beetle puppy" then slipped verbally into 'Peetle puppy, Peetle puppy" and it stuck, as she did seem pretty Peetlish. teh middle name ought to be obvious, she was only about 2 pounds and a couple ounces when I got her, and the last name is from my ex's native language, Urdu, he said one day while looking at her in total adoration," Oh she is the pooh of my heart!" (This is the same guy who wanted a wolf-hybrid for a dog, or a rottweiler.) In His language, pooh is 'kiss'. The O part is because I love Ireland. So the name stuck, no other dog could have that combination of names and she got registered. Oh yeah, she's a small little five pound , seven year old Maltese that will kick you ass if you make fun of her name. Don't think she won't, the last person that did got a sockful of padlocks upside the ankle.

Oh google is fcuking funny; I ran Peetle through it and there is a drink named for her, evidently.

Who knew, lol,my baby dog likes to drink..a "Lady Peetle".

Jesus, I have way too much time on my hands today...her photo also comes up as well as atiny image of a painting I did of her. Sh*t, my website with her on it is nowhere on the first page...dang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Fitzo

Quite simple and boring, as it is my nickname, but on other sites i have diff names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

a mix of my name and my brothers, once upon a time we shared an email address (back in the day :D) and I kept the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

I've been using Deman for some years now but it all started when I first started playing online games such as Fall of Nations, Imperium Rising and Torn City. Originally I was using d_mac to indicate my first initial and as I'm a Mc, I used mac. It evolved through time to become deman with the stress on the second syllable, sounding like "the man". And as I was always a Ric Flair (wrestler) fan, he always was "the man" and "to be deman, you gotta beat deman" which was my motto in the online games.

Hope I didn't bore you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Exactly what it says on the tin.

Best name on boards for this Forum anyway :p

I actually tried to register with the name "Culchie", now I know who#s to blame that I couldn't use that name ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭trilo

My name comes form the name of my dog Trilo, which in trun is pronounced treelo, whoes name i have taken from bear in the big blue house because i love its so. treelo is the ring tailed lemur in the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Frisian

Moin, moin.
    Hailing from the green meadows and the black and white cattle, down by the sea.
    The northwest ... of Germany.

Exchanged it with Cinderella county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Honest to god I couldn't expain!!

you could try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Me Sue. I racked my brains for that....

As in the words of that Johnny Cash classic ....... my name is Sue how do you do.

Welcome to the NW forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Thanks Muffler, I usually hear "A boy named Sue"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭icom

Got my name from the equipment I use on amateur radio.
    All my radio gear is manufactured by Icom, because I like the sound of the audio on receive and get good audio reports when transmitting, not too sore on the neighbours tv's either !!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Icom