Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you report a potential drunk driver?

• 01-07-2006 2:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭

Myself and my girlfriend were getting into our car after a night out and saw a guy stagger up to his car and sit in to the drivers seat, this was at about 10pm. He was clearly drunk, he spoke to us as he walked passed, slurring his speech etc.

I considered calling the gardai but my girlfriend was of the other opinion, to just leave it. Sure if he lost his licence for 2 years he may loose his job etc but he could also kill someone on the road too.

What do you think? Would you have reported him or just left it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

I would have waited a few minutes to see if he was just going to sit in the car or actually drive it, but I would definately report him. Purely because, you can loose your job but you can get another one, but if you loose your life, theres no going back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Have done it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Would report it without any hesitation. Been on the receiving end of a drunkard behind a wheel and it aint fun!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Without a doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

On the blower in an act....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

I was out driving a few months ago out in the countryside around Stewartstown in Tyrone, on some really windy roads. It was about 3-4am and I caught up with a car going about 50kmph driving on the complete opposite of the road. He had minimal control of the car, anyway when I could pass I pulled out and stopped him. He was too drunk to understand what I was giving out about. I drove him home and told my brother who is a policeman about it and theyve been keeping an eye on him leaving a local pub since. But apprently his drink driving has been tolerated by the local police because he is a bachelor farmer with 'no other means of getting home'. Bull**** or what. It really pissed me off, if I was coming in the opposite direction, travelling as I was at about 70kmph, we would almost definitely have crashed.

The guy is an ass for doing it. But Id like to know what the sober people who undoubtedly know what he gets up to, think they are playing at by going along with this (it seems regular) occurance. So yes,definitely report them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

I have done it 3 times... 2 times the Gaurds asked me to try and stay with the car until they reach it. usually took approx 4 min each time for them to get there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

He was in the car. Report him. The offence is "Drunk in Charge". You don't have to be driving. In fact, if you're a full licence holder, drunk, and passenger in a car driven by a first provisional holder, you're drunk in charge and can be prosecuted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Thats completely wrong! The gardaì should arrest or fine no matter who you are or what age you are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I have done it before and would do it again, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

You would be just as irresponsible as the drunk driver if you didnt, i would without a second thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

Definitely. Losing your job is reasonable punishment for driving pissed IMO.

I reported a work colleague in the past. He was fond of having a skinful in my local and driving 10 miles home despite the fact there was a pub 5 minutes walk from his place. I warned him that if I saw his car in the carpark I would be reporting him. A few weeks later his car was there, I went back at closing time and as soon as I saw him stumbling towards the car I called the police. As this was in the UK he had barely got out of the carpark before they nabbed him.

He got a large fine, was banned from driving for 2 years and his career as a professional driver ruined. I feel no guilt about it whatsoever.

It turned out that he had turned up to work drunk previously and had been taken home by some of the other drivers, I was expecting grief over it but even his mates seemed relieved that he was caught as they felt stuck covering for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

You would be just as irresponsible as the drunk driver if you didnt.

Don't agree with that.

The drunk driver has to be responsible for his actions. If he crashes and kills someone he should be prosecuted and no attempt should be made to dilute his guilt / sentence by trying to blame bystanders who may be guilty of not reporting him.

In response to the original poster - yes I would report him.

Not reporting the drunk driver is irresponsible
    but
    driving under the influence of alcohol is more irresponsible.

They are not the same thing.

I was out driving a few months ago out in the countryside around Stewartstown in Tyrone, on some really windy roads. It was about 3-4am and I caught up with a car going about 50kmph driving on the complete opposite of the road. He had minimal control of the car, anyway when I could pass I pulled out and stopped him. He was too drunk to understand what I was giving out about. I drove him home and told my brother who is a policeman about it and theyve been keeping an eye on him leaving a local pub since. But apprently his drink driving has been tolerated by the local police because he is a bachelor farmer with 'no other means of getting home'. Bull**** or what. It really pissed me off, if I was coming in the opposite direction, travelling as I was at about 70kmph, we would almost definitely have crashed.

The guy is an ass for doing it. But Id like to know what the sober people who undoubtedly know what he gets up to, think they are playing at by going along with this (it seems regular) occurance. So yes,definitely report them

Welcome to culchie land, different rules apply here; as long as the local piggy drinks in the pub that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

I would, for his own sake, and the sake of anyone he'd kill

John R wrote:
    Welcome to culchie land, different rules apply here; as long as the local piggy drinks in the pub that is.

I actually grew up in such a 'culchieland' and police indifference/ toleration of this type of crime is not the norm. Bad apples in the Police aren't a problem restricted to the countryside tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Reported him. Straight off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i've done it in a round-about way.
    i sometimes drink with my cop buddies and have pointed out regular drink drivers to them in my local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I personally would not report a person for drunken driving as where I live a car means freedom and you are very much f*cked without one. I would however try and intervene and if I knew the person give them a spin home or else volunteer to call a taxi, or try to get someone to drive him home.

Being "Bagged" would ruin your entire setup for about 7yrs, I know a guy who works in the buildings and went for one pint after work in the heat of the summer a few yrs back, and he was bagged and put off the road for two years. It cost him over €30,000 between the cost of solicitors fees having to find alternative transport over those years and his insurance skyrocketed after eventually getting back on the road.

I think reporting a person is a cowardly thing to do and I would ask the question, How would you like if it was done to yourself? Living in rural Ireland, which lacks in everything to be put off the road would be disastrous. I know a fella who is off for the next 6yrs and I can tell you that poor chap has suffered enough. I have often been a passenger with a driver who was over the limit in this country and others and have never came a cropper. I find drunks to be usually driving slowly and trying their full best to concentrate.

It is the little W*nkers of my own age bracket (19 in my case) 18 - 25 to be killing the country driving around in "Sooped" up little Micras and Honda Civics doing about 90 miles an hour thinking that they are in a rally or in “The fast and the Furious movie”. These chavbos are killing the people, while the likes of myself who has a normal car (A BMW 316 1596cc) it is totally unmodified and very safe, to be penalised then with high insurance. It is one thing to drive at 80Mph on the dual carriageway or motorway but these muppets doing these speeds on roads designed for horse & cart in cars built no stronger than a coke can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

You would be just as irresponsible as the drunk driver if you didnt.

Dont agree with you there at all.

netwhizkid wrote:
    I personally would not report a person for drunken driving as where I live a car means freedom and you are very much f*cked without one. I would however try and intervene and if I knew the person give them a spin home or else volunteer to call a taxi, or try to get someone to drive him home.

Being "Bagged" would ruin your entire setup for about 7yrs, I know a guy who works in the buildings and went for one pint after work in the heat of the summer a few yrs back, and he was bagged and put off the road for two years. It cost him over €30,000 between the cost of solicitors fees having to find alternative transport over those years and his insurance skyrocketed after eventually getting back on the road.

I think reporting a person is a cowardly thing to do and I would ask the question, How would you like if it was done to yourself? Living in rural Ireland, which lacks in everything to be put off the road would be disastrous. I know a fella who is off for the next 6yrs and I can tell you that poor chap has suffered enough. I have often been a passenger with a driver who was over the limit in this country and others and have never came a cropper. I find drunks to be usually driving slowly and trying their full best to concentrate.

It is the little W*nkers of my own age bracket (19 in my case) 18 - 25 to be killing the country driving around in "Sooped" up little Micras and Honda Civics doing about 90 miles an hour thinking that they are in a rally or in “The fast and the Furious movie”. These chavbos are killing the people, while the likes of myself who has a normal car (A BMW 316 1596cc) it is totally unmodified and very safe, to be penalised then with high insurance. It is one thing to drive at 80Mph on the dual carriageway or motorway but these muppets doing these speeds on roads designed for horse & cart in cars built no stronger than a coke can.
    cowardly?
    well i wish some coward would have reported the prick who ran my father over, resulting in an agonising six week stay in hospital, during which time his leg was amputated and eventually he died.
    or maybe i should just forgive him because he just needed his freedom.

you really have a lot of growing up to do, kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

netwhizkid wrote:
    I personally would not report a person for drunken driving as where I live a car means freedom and you are very much f*cked without one.

Ok fair enough, but in that case, besides all the other implications of drink driving, people should have enough cop on to realise that if they risk losing their licence they're risking their 'freedom'

Moral of the story? Don't break the law, it's not worth it :)
    I think reporting a person is a cowardly thing to do and I would ask the question, How would you like if it was done to yourself?

Couldn't tell you because it will never happen! I don't particularly want to kill anyone else or myself, just this funny thing I've got...

And as for the original question, I'd call and report someone in an instant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Doomspell wrote:
    I would have waited a few minutes to see if he was just going to sit in the car or actually drive it, but I would definately report him. Purely because, you can loose your job but you can get another one, but if you loose your life, theres no going back.

Absolutely!!! I've done it in the past too.

netwhizkid wrote:
    I think reporting a person is a cowardly thing to do and I would ask the question, How would you like if it was done to yourself?

You seem to be presuming that people here are chronic drink drivers who try to undermine the law. You should take it for granted that if you drink and drive, you'll not get away with it, and the only person to blame for the loss of a license is the driver himself (or herself).

How would you feel if you let someone drive home and they knocked down your parent or sibling? Its not your responsibility to stop them, they're clearly idiots, but it is the decent thing to do. If you dont report them thats obviously fine, its your own choice. But suggesting that other people who do are cowards...???

Chancing that you may get hassled by his mates, by the driver himself, or seen as a squeek for your own principles...How exactly is it "cowardly" to report a drunk driver?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No excuse for it, report.

padi89 wrote:
    Dont agree with you there at all.

LOL, thought about it and i dont actually agree with myself :o , but still think its important to report the guy. I would feel **** if i didnt and he had an accident.

netwhizkid wrote:
    I personally would not report a person for drunken driving as where I live a car means freedom and you are very much f*cked without one.

No. You are very much fcuked when hit at 50mph by some wanker who thinks that living a few miles from the pub is reason enough for the law not to apply to him.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    I would however try and intervene and if I knew the person give them a spin home or else volunteer to call a taxi, or try to get someone to drive him home.

And when the drunk told you to piss off 'cause he is fine to <hic> drive, what do you do then?
    netwhizkid wrote:

Boo fukking hoo, if it is such a terrible ordeal then why drink drive in the first place?

Every story I have heard from tossers caught drink driving say the same thing; It's ALWAYS just one pint and they've been hard done by.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    I think reporting a person is a cowardly thing to do

No, the cowardly thing to do is to let it slide, either you approve of drink driving or not, if not and you won't do anything about it then what does that make you?
    netwhizkid wrote:
    and I would ask the question, How would you like if it was done to yourself?

But it won't be done to me Because I do not drink and drive.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    Living in rural Ireland, which lacks in everything to be put off the road would be disastrous. I know a fella who is off for the next 6yrs and I can tell you that poor chap has suffered enough. I have often been a passenger with a driver who was over the limit in this country and others and have never came a cropper.

Oh well then it MUST be safe, forget all of that stupid imperical data. Some child in rural Ireland says it's OK so it must be. :rolleyes:
    netwhizkid wrote:
    I find drunks to be usually driving slowly and trying their full best to concentrate.

Are you seriously suggesting that that makes them safe???

netwhizkid wrote:

I say we start a boards hunt, catch this whizkid while drunk and driving, AND REPORT HIM :D, teach you. You obviously have no problem with drunk driving, and that is sad..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

netwhizkid wrote:
    I personally would not report a person for drunken driving as ... [insert mind-boggling half-arsed reasons here]

What the hell? You recommend refraining from reporting crimes or committing them because it would be inconvenient to be caught?

You are an odd, odd person.

Sarky wrote:
    What the hell? You recommend refraining from reporting crimes or committing them because it would be inconvenient to be caught?

he's just a clueless kid.
    he will learn in time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Sarky wrote:

well. I took acid last week, and I didn't call the police.

few others took it as well with me and I didn't call the police on them either.

it would have been damned inconvenient to be caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

Mordeth wrote:

Dont be a moron, this is totally different to driving a car while drunk. Seems the acid has screwed your brain up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Dammit Mordeth, you're not helping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Anyone who drinks and drives is a fuking idiot and deserves to get removed from the road.

Generally you can do the decent thing (make sure they don't get into the car) but if I saw someone pissed drunk getting into a car and driving off yes I would report it.

I never drink and drive. I would think if I ever got into a position where I was operating something without my full faculties that someone would stop me. Especially something that has the potencial to kill a lot of people.
    I know a fella who is off for the next 6yrs and I can tell you that poor chap has suffered enough.

Ahhhhhhhhh.... Hang on while I get the violin out. How long do you think some people would suffer if he had killed or maimed someone while driving?

cop the fuk on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

"Damn! I seem to have crushed your child with my car *hic*. How inconvenient this must be for you... At least I saved on the taxi fair home and can enjoy my freedom as a moany tight-arsed bog trotting excuse for a human."

"A car is my only means of freedom in rural Ireland."
    I've heard this excuse before from people in the shticks (i.e. Everywhere outside Dublin,right?); nonsense, there are taxi services, and there are non-alcoholic drinks....so, um, bullshit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Karoma wrote:
    "Damn! I seem to have crushed your child with my car *hic*. How inconvenient this must be for you... At least I saved on the taxi fair home and can enjoy my freedom as a moany tight-arsed bog trotting excuse for a human."

"A car is my only means of freedom in rural Ireland."
    I've heard this excuse before from people in the shticks (i.e. Everywhere outside Dublin,right?); nonsense, there are taxi services, and there are non-alcoholic drinks....so, um, bullshit!

Great Post!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

When I worked in Statoil, there was an alcoholic that lived up the road, he used to drive down to the garage to get wine, I rang the cops a few times.... They never got to the station in time to see him driving, since he only lived up the road, and wouldn't do anything even though I saw him driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

There's a bad attitude in Ireland toward drink driving, particularly in more rural areas, "ah he was just a bit tipsy, no harm done" or you shouldn't "rat someone out", it has to change, people are being killed needlessly, I know that sounds melodramatic by it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Aye. There is the "no harm. no foul" theory, as well as the "anything's better than being a rat" theory, and the fact that the Gardaí,in most cases, would be incapable of catching the person intoxicated behind the wheel of the car in most cases. However, WHAT IF ... The driver is injured, property damaged, and of more concern: injury to another. It's not just their lives that their risking. I would feel it is my duty to stop them. I feel that I would be able to stop them, but on the off chance that I could not, silly backward attitudes be damned, I would call the Gardaí.
    I'd rather regret my action than inaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

netwhizkid wrote:

Cowardly..wow..just wow. It would be a different story if someone you know was involved in something related to being drunk at the wheel, not wishing it on anyone. Call us when you come back to planet Earth. Its time to read your own post again and realise what a load of drivel it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

This thread title is stupid.

Would you report a potential speeder?

Everyone falls under that catagory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

ThrownAway wrote:
    This thread title is stupid.

Would you report a potential speeder?

Everyone falls under that catagory

meh not worth arguing with:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

humbert wrote:
    meh not worth arguing with:rolleyes:
    Just because of an ''a'' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

qwytre wrote:
    Myself and my girlfriend were getting into our car after a night out and saw a guy stagger up to his car and sit in to the drivers seat, this was at about 10pm. He was clearly drunk, he spoke to us as he walked passed, slurring his speech etc.

I considered calling the gardai but my girlfriend was of the other opinion, to just leave it. Sure if he lost his licence for 2 years he may loose his job etc but he could also kill someone on the road too.

What do you think? Would you have reported him or just left it?

I would not have been sympathetic towards him and call the police. What if it was your best mate he´d kill in the road??

Mordeth wrote:

wow. you're a total inspiration to me. you rule.
    you took acid and drove a car. i mean, wow. that's just sooooo cooool.
    we should meet up. i want lsd to be legalised and i am willing to bet that you do too. it opens your mind and lets you see all planes of reality.
    gad damn those cops for keeping us back. they think they are doing the right thing by keeping drunk and high drivers off the road. they just don't understand drugs. they need to realise that alcohol is much worse than lsd. only 37 people have died from lsd, but one hundred billion have died from alcohol. i'm with you all the waY. LEGALISE EVEREYTHING.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

are you tripping? when did I say I'd been driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Mordeth, I understand you weren't driving. But what exactly was the point of your lsd post? Its an entirely different situation, you're not knowingly and actively endangering the lives of other people.

And if theres some hidden irony or subtlety here, I'm not seeing it.

Netwhizkid, you've been flamed enough, so I'll keep this brief. What you have said is one of the most ignorant and irresponsible things I've ever read on boards. It shows childishness and a total disregard for other human beings.

Do you honestly believe that your right to go to the pub supercedes everyone else's right to not be directly threatened with death?

I would, without hesitation or doubt, report a drunk driver. I hope he gets caught, I hope he gets fined, and I hope he gets a hefty prison sentence too.

If he loses his job I couldn't give a flying toss. His career weighs a staggering nothing on the scale of importance when we're talking about drink driving. Absolutely no excuse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

What if the drunk person drives their car home and doesn't have an accident?

Surely this must happen sometimes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

netwhizkid wrote:
    These chavbos are killing the people, while the likes of myself who has a normal car (A BMW 316 1596cc) it is totally unmodified and very safe, to be penalised then with high insurance. It is one thing to drive at 80Mph on the dual carriageway or motorway but these muppets doing these speeds on roads designed for horse & cart in cars built no stronger than a coke can.

Unfortunatly mate in an 80mph crash there wont be much left of your "normal,very safe" BMW either,a cars badge wont save you at this speed.Its just far too easy IMO to pin the blame on all the boy racers,yes they get on my tits too but i dont think insurance prices are high just because of them.It is in general because of inexperienced young drivers taking unnessecary risks.
    Im in my late twenties now and looking back on the way i drove when i was nineteen compared to the way i drive now i was completly oblivious to the risks i was taking on a daily basis.I was by no means a boy racer but i thought i was a good driver when in actual fact i only had been driving for a year with sweet feck all experience.The problem is over confidence,people get their full licences and think they are perfect drivers.
    It was only until i was i started working in a job where i was on the road all the time covering up to 1000 miles per week that i copped on to the dangers of the road.Dont take this the wrong way but a 19 year old driving a 1.6l BMW,is it any wonder you are paying a premium price for your insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Mordeth wrote:
    are you tripping? when did I say I'd been driving?

Im asuming it was sarcasm Mordeth :rolleyes: