Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hangovers at work

• 30-06-2006 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭youthacademy

last night was one of those nights where ya say "ah sure i'l go for a few", 5hours and ten pints later your getting to bed. am sitting here in work with a mother fcuker of a hangover, anyone any tips, remedies etc..... possibly something amusing to keep me awake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

More beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

just go home sick...does anyone know you were out last nite? if you really have that much of a hangover then you probably look fairly sick too, just say you've got a bug or something..

otherwise just lay low for the day...

you plonker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I'd prefer to have a hangover at work than to spoil a morning off with one. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭pheasantplucker

soluble solphedine. i swear by them. they really do work. and some rubex vit C...

Whatever ya do, dont get sick! Just lay low or sneak off to mcdonalds for hangover food

If your stomach is playing up Andrews Liver Salts or Alka Seltzer. Rubex Vit C do feck all for a hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭youthacademy

Femmy wrote:
    just go home sick...does anyone know you were out last nite? if you really have that much of a hangover then you probably look fairly sick too, just say you've got a bug or something..

you plonker.

Well i'l hardly jus go home cause of a hangover, that rubex idea is a good one, that and i had a twenty minute nap in the toilets seemed to do the trick...

drink less in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭oneweb

Femmy wrote:

you plonker.
    lol, like the smell of alcohol off him won't be linked with the "bug"? 0_o

It is what it's.

Ten pints in five hours = two per hour.

Thats not too bad.

well lads, less of the "drink less in future" comments etc. the fact is we all do it, how does one cope with the mid-week lush up??
    i's say your a man to njoy your pints petes are you??

I have been known to have one or two on a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

Best cure is loads and loads of water drank and splashed on face....if you can't stomach a lunch, have fruit and a smoothie or something along those lines.

To get rid of smell of alcohol, use Vicks (30% of alcohol expelled from body through lungs, so food in stomach won't do the trick).

For red eyes, don't use eye drops - makes them worse in my experience.

Avoid pure orange juice - it'll make you feel worse.

Go for a long walk at lunchtime and arrange something good for tonight to help your bad mood....!

and leave as early as possible...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

How do you solve a hangover at work? Preemptive strike - don't drink the night before. Now marvel at your lack of hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

Hah...Hangovers are for the weak. Drink German beer...no hangovers...

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    well lads, less of the "drink less in future" comments etc. the fact is we all do it, how does one cope with the mid-week lush up??
    i's say your a man to njoy your pints petes are you??

Who the f*ck says lush?

You bloody fairy :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

well lads, less of the "drink less in future" comments etc. the fact is we all do it

i am trying to remember the last time i drank when i had work in the morning, seeing as i do it and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Find a nice spacious disabled toilet. Lie down and have a nap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Alka Seltzer, definately. If you haven't tried it before, give it a go, it is a miracle worker. Sorts the stomach and the headache.

Beyond that, lots of water.

Mossy Monk wrote:
    i am trying to remember the last time i drank when i had work in the morning, seeing as i do it and all
    Me too.

Also, it's perfectly ok, just because everyone does it, I guess... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Archeron

BFB. Big f*ck-off breakfast roll. And a can of lucozade. (keep a bucket handy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Good morning girls, Happy Friday.
    What the fcuks a hangover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

do the crime ya have to do the time!
    If ya go out during the week and have a skinful ya should expect the hangover in work!

Just dose up on a fruit sugar rush to keep ya going for the day i.e. a smoothy or some ice cream.
    Your hangover will more than likely be tiredness induced and a pick up 1st thing in the morning will help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Surrender

Dermington wrote:
    Hah...Hangovers are for the weak. Drink German beer...no hangovers...

Hangovers are for the weak? How is that exactly

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Whatever ya do, dont get sick! Just lay low or sneak off to mcdonalds for hangover food

Why not get sick?? I always find I feel better after a good chat with god down the big white telephone.. gets that nasty green stuff that sits on your stomach (well mine anyway) after a bender..

Anyway.. Plenty of water and a roll usually does it for me otherwise.. Good luck shifting it :D

Mossy Monk wrote:

I'm sure op only meant socially competant beings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Wing Walker

Yep, Alka Selzer is the one for me. It also helps if you can crack a window and just let some fresh air in on you.

Surrender wrote:
    Drinking makes you socially competant?
    Are you sure you don't want to switch that to 'socially incompetant' :rolleyes:

Sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Sympathy for a hangover?????? Oh poor you.

xzanti wrote:
    Why not get sick?? I always find I feel better after a good chat with god down the big white telephone.. gets that nasty green stuff that sits on your stomach (well mine anyway) after a bender..

Anyway.. Plenty of water and a roll usually does it for me otherwise.. Good luck shifting it :D

If I don't have Alka Seltzer or Andrews to hand I would be sick. Feel better after it. Another tip. Don't eat a huge lunch. You will be wrecked in the afternoon. Well thats me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Alka Selzer probably suggested already.Oh a big dirty fry up that helps ha. I couldn't do it to myself to go into work with a hangover, it's not worth it!!

bluewolf wrote:
    Drinking makes you socially competant?
    Are you sure you don't want to switch that to 'socially incompetant' :rolleyes:

Sad.

going out socialising, drinks or not makes you socially competant... your not a fan??

Surrender wrote:

ah yes, i dont go on the piss the night befire i have to work

that makes me a loser. makes sense. now it is all clear

Mossy Monk wrote:

Not at all mate, just don't be such a smart ass to those of us that do it

hold on now. when was i being a smart ass on this thread. do enlighten me

OP made a sweeping statement, all i did was comment that i didnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Alka Seltzer, without fail, makes me puke my ring when I'm hungover.

3 times I have taken it hungover...3 times it's made me sick! (well, considering I've only ever got sick from drink 3 times the morning after, all of them were when I took it :))

Mossy Monk wrote:
    hold on now. when was i being a smart ass on this thread. do enlighten me

OP made a sweeping statement, all i did was comment that i didnt

Apologies, fair point

Mossy Monk wrote:

You're one of those 'live to work' kind of people, rather than 'work to live'

Cheer up - even Sir Cliff Richard enjoys a glass of vino or two

You're not in school now

dear oh dear

what the hell is the world coming to?

??

i am really lost now

You're not in school now

dear oh dear

A glass of wine or two doesn't leave you with a horrible hangover in work.
    Drinking 10 pints on any evening is daft, doing it the night before work is just stupid.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Find some legitimate "work based" excuse to leave the office. Like going to the bank or to get some office supplies. Failing that, a 20 min nap at lunch, lots of Solpadeine and Gatorade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

last night was one of those nights where ya say "ah sure i'l go for a few", 5hours and ten pints later your getting to bed. am sitting here in work with a mother fcuker of a hangover, anyone any tips, remedies etc..... possibly something amusing to keep me awake

Well there's some chick in the personal issues section talking about sniffing dirty panties, try that and I'm sure you'd wake up a bit.....

Personal Issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Skitbra

Sympathies with you OP. Bacon double cheese burger meal with cocacola works well for me. I'm sure you had a good time though and it was worth it. I love going out during the week.
    As for all the righteous saps, shouldn't you be working and not wasting time on here. Go back to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭upsfan

Skitbra wrote:
    As for all the righteous saps, shouldn't you be working and not wasting time on here. Go back to work.

THERE IS NO "FAST" LANE, IT'S THE OVERTAKING LANE, YOU MUPPET! GAH!

Love Boards, I just knew the response to this poor hungover sap looking for advice would be half the posters telling him to drink less. Maybe get him a time machine while you're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭sioda

As a person who works 6 weekends out of 7 I have to go drinking nites I'm working Personally I find bacon onion and tomato sandwich with loads of mayo sorts out the stomach and the onion goes some way to hiding the smell.

actually "upsfan",wouldn't change it, had a fcuking brill night, sure there was always going to be the few senisibles, the kind that got bullied when they wer in school, going to tell us all to drink less and theres no problem. but sure leave em off if they have nothing better to do

upsfan wrote:
    THERE IS NO "FAST" LANE, IT'S THE OVERTAKING LANE, YOU MUPPET! GAH!

Love Boards, I just knew the response to this poor hungover sap looking for advice would be half the posters telling him to drink less. Maybe get him a time machine while you're at it.

Correct

"Drink less" . . .the usual crapóla!

While you're at it, eat only raw fruit and vegetables, exercise every day and blah blah blah

I'm boring myself at this stage

Get out there and have a few jars and enjoy yourselves...you could be dead tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Wavey

I try to avoid mid week sessions as I just cant handle them. Some people can but i cant.

Saying this it does happen.

Came in to work dying a few weeks ago after a work do and was given this soluble stuff called Resolve.

It worked a treat.

I'de highly reccommend it.

As above, dont go near pure orange juice no matter how thirsty you are.

Eat a few bananas and some bread to settle the wobbly empty stomach.

Steal a desk fan and leave it blowing at your face to stay awake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

actually "upsfan",wouldn't change it, had a fcuking brill night, sure there was always going to be the few senisibles, the kind that got bullied when they wer in school, going to tell us all to drink less and theres no problem. but sure leave em off if they have nothing better to do

That's a ridiculous comment. I don't drink during the week - I used to frequently - until my brain kicked in and told me drinking during the week is retarded. Bad for your health, bank account, motivation, job prospects etc.

I just keep it for the weekend (although at the moment I'm off the booze altogether.)

But to answer the original question... Drink many pints of water before you sleep. Eat lots of salty food before you sleep. Hangovers are a combination of being dehydrated and having pissed all your salt away. You'll still be poisoned and slightly ill, but you can seriously reduce the pain... You can only prevent the hangover before you go to sleep. There is nothing you can do in the morning except puke...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

You're not in school now

dear oh dear

There a massive differnce, thats a stupid point. Anyone might have one or two a night before work,no-ones denying that. But ten pints, drinking that much knowing you've to get up in the morning is just silly.

And beleive me, I do not live for work....:D
    sure there was always going to be the few senisibles, the kind that got bullied when they wer in school, going to tell us all to drink less and theres no problem. but sure leave em off if they have nothing better to do

I was enjoying the thread until this point, thats the most ignorant statement in this thread so far. I'm not giving out about your drinking habits, afterall its your personal business, but those of us with common sense regarding our work performance and well being during the working week were not "bullied at school" or posting here "because we've nothing better to do", we are simply pointing out the obvious facts.

As you say you can't go back in a time machine, but at the same time don't fool yourself into thinking "its grand to drink ten pints on a work night". You don't have to be a goody two shoes like you seem to be painting some sensible people in here to value your work prospects and career over a night out.

DOLEMAN wrote:
    I don't drink during the week - I used to frequently - until my brain kicked in and told me drinking during the week is retarded. Bad for your health, bank account, motivation, job prospects etc....

Now, now, retarded?, somebody else said that drinking ten pints was crazy stuff. OP are you worried about your health, bank account, motivation, job prospects etc. Seriously guys if you don't drink during the week thats grand but lay off the lectures, some of us drink away mid week and enjoy it. I suffer sometimes afterwards but it's never too bad(do the crime, do the time),at least not at my age. Op head down to the shopping centre and get yourself a smoothie, closest thing to the cure for me