Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cant access soccer forum

• 28-06-2006 9:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭

Guys

I cant access the soccer forum. Not sure why exactly I would banned. Can someone help me out? Got no message to say im banned either.
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

banned for abuse and stuff

manchester thread.

you got banned along with trilla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Yeah just logged out and saw it. They are words from a Republic of Loose song, I know Trilla!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

yep, I'm banned too. I know Whersmyjumpa well, just finished playin astro turf with da man...never fell out, especially online. Words of the great Rep of Loose songs "I'm Greedy" and "Na Na Na Na". Apols, but we did nothing wrong!

Trilla wrote:
    yep, I'm banned too. I know Whersmyjumpa well, just finished playin astro turf with da man...never fell out, especially online. Words of the great Rep of Loose songs "I'm Greedy" and "Na Na Na Na". Apols, but we did nothing wrong!

And might I say kind shrew you played quiet a game!

Cheers boss. I dont think we're going to get back into Soccer Forum. I'll know not to quote a line of a song with swear words again there...bit over the top but it is the www. Did you get a PM yet, I havent got a word?

Tbh ye should both be allowed back in once ye have explained to the mod who banned you what happened.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Tbh ye should both be allowed back in once ye have explained to the mod who banned you what happened.:)

No chance its T4TF, you will prob get some sh*t excuse and when you ask to confirm it then you will get something different, you posted on a Man Utd thread so he prob has a problem with you already, where you not told its the Liverpool Soccer forum???

Just to show how stupid bans are now Pigman II has just been banned for a joke about Italian diving, was in bad taste but not a banning

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Memo to all mods: check with Big Nelly about what's acceptable or otherwise in the boards you moderate before taking any moderating action. Although each of you has been chosen by the owners of the site to take responsibility for those boards, the final arbiter of acceptability is Big Nelly.

Big Nelly, doubtless you'll be happy to explain and defend all your meta-moderation decisions across all boards in myriad feedback threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

eat your broccoli

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    eat your broccoli

Congrats, you are the winner: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054940976:p

You even started the thread!! :p
    oscarBravo wrote:
    Big Nelly, doubtless you'll be happy to explain and defend all your meta-moderation decisions across all boards in myriad feedback threads?

Yes I will

*clap* *clap*

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Big Nelly wrote:
    Yes I will
    I suppose moderation is easy if your standards are sufficiently low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Big Nelly wrote:
    No chance its T4TF, you will prob get some sh*t excuse and when you ask to confirm it then you will get something different, you posted on a Man Utd thread so he prob has a problem with you already, where you not told its the Liverpool Soccer forum???

Just to show how stupid bans are now Pigman II has just been banned for a joke about Italian diving, was in bad taste but not a banning

sympathy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

I know next time two people get banned for abuse they can club together, pretend that they know one another, that they abused each other as a joke and get their bans lifted. Or perhaps we can adhere to the rules of the forum as stated and leav it at that.

Reckless, well said.

I know next time two people get banned for abuse they can club together, pretend that they know one another, that they abused each other as a joke and get their bans lifted.

Reckless, well said.

As a matter of fact, I went to college with WheresMeJumpa for 4 years, went to school with 2 of his good mates for 5 years. Besides, if you were to look at the buddies list(or what ever its called) you would see we're linked. I'd say more only it would be gettin a bit personal.

Again if you think what we did warrants a banning, thats your call and we gotta respect and except that...but trust me T4TF, I know WmyJumpa very well and was never abusing him or anyone else on that forum. Those words were lyrics from 2 songs by Republic of Loose, granted with bad language and out of context, but they were a line long and in no way meant to be abusive.
    pretend that they know one another

couldn't be more wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Big Nelly wrote:

He made a joke about a man that is fighting for his life

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    He made a joke about a man that is fighting for his life

Yeah and other mods mentioned how they laughed at it, I pointed out to the poster it was abit out of place but its not worth a banning. You can't even have a joke or be sarcastic in a post anymore in soccer forum without calls for a banning(will not go off on rant like in here before)

Big Nelly wrote:
    Yeah and other mods mentioned how they laughed at it

At the risk of stating the bleedin' obvious, the fact that posters on the soccer forum moderate other forums means f*ck all. They are ordinary joe soaps when they're posting on the forum.

I've come to da conclusion that no matter how right you think you are, there is no point in complaining or even asking why...I haven't even been informed how long this banning is. Banned for nothin, stupid in my opinion.

Trilla wrote:
    I've come to da conclusion that no matter how right you think you are, there is no point in complaining or even asking why...I haven't even been informed how long this banning is. Banned for nothin, stupid in my opinion.

It would have been easier to log out and read this...

"And yet it falls under personal abuse. Because nobody bar you and he know the story and whether it is true or not."

It would seem we are being punished for a crime that did not happen.

Verification here...

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054953530

If a security guard thinks a customer is stealing, he has the right to approach a customer. But when he discovers the customer has not stolen anything, he cannot punish this customer.

I have never been a problem on the soccer forum. Of which I have been a member for two years id say now. I think its quiet clear this is a misunderstanding and I would be very dissappointed with this site if this banning is to stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Couldn't agree more. Strikes me as a very jobsworth decision to enforce the ban when it's clear that no insult was made or offence taken.

It would have been easier to log out and read this...

thanks for the update.

I think its quiet clear this is a misunderstanding and I would be very dissappointed with this site if this banning is to stand.

I agree WMeJumpa, sorry man for tellin ya Im a fan of Loose!

jumpa, probably best you discuss the issue privately with the relevant mod(s). Same goes for Trilla. An apology for causing a misunderstanding (or words to that effect) would be a good idea.
    Couldn't agree more. Strikes me as a very jobsworth decision to enforce the ban when it's clear that no insult was made or offence taken.

And I doubt thats gonna help.

jumpa, probably best you discuss the issue privately with the relevant mod(s). Same goes for Trilla. An apology for causing a misunderstanding (or words to that effect) would be a good idea.

And I doubt thats gonna help.

I explained it to Thanx for the Fish and his reply is quoted above. I have since aplogised, saying I was totally in the wrong for putting him in that position and he done the right thing for banning but in light of mine and Trillas defence that it was simply a misunderstanding.

OK, but continuing the discussion in public, where myself and all the other 3rd parties can jump in, might not be the best course of action. T4FT ain't the only soccer mod, why not discuss it with them and see if they are of a different opinion?

IMO of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Mods aren't mind readers. They don't know if you're all best buds in real life and that no offence has been intended or taken.

Off-topic posting and in-jokes between mates can ruin threads imo.

I agree with therecklessone, it's probably best to discuss this in private with the mods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

The soccer mods are actually decent enough lads and in my opinion if you had pm'd them to explain you might have had a better chance of getting back in. That is if you wanted to get back in. (as opposed to just wanting to give out here)

Fade,

I posted here as I could not access the soccer forum, it never once crossed my mind that I was banned as I have posted there a handful of times in the last two weeks.

I realised I was banned, pm'd T4TF and he said the ban still stood. So I have been discussing it here as I am curious to know how others feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

Ah...you pm'd him first and then started this thread? Well I dunno what to say to ya. Maybe T4TF is just not the understanding type.

We're not whinging over the situation, and prob is doin us any favours, but as Jumpa said he contacted Mod privately and is looking for "Feedback" on the situation here. Not trying to upset anyone or argue

fade2black wrote:
    Ah...you pm'd him first and then started this thread? Well I dunno what to say to ya. Maybe T4TF is just not the understanding type.

Not quiet.

I started the thread thinking there was some issue with my account. I got no message saying I was banned and as I said didnt think there was any reason for me to be banned.

Then one of the guys pointed it out that I was banned.

PM'd T4TF.

Got a reply saying the ban still stood.

Replied apologising for putting him in the situation, that he was right to ban us but in hindsight it was just a misunderstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Is boards not a place where u can come and communicate with friends? Is it not a place where everyone has the freedom to post on any forum (they have access to)?

In this case, the exchange between Trilla and WheresMyJumpa has been mis-categorized, thus triggering a disciplinary response. It draws parallels with the law stating you cannot inflict excessive hurt on a burglar, even though, quite frankly, they deserve it.
    In this case, the two unlucky partys do not deserve punishment. It was an 'off the cuff' remark that any quick google will tell you is actually Republic of Loose song lyrics. Regardless of if Trilla and WheresMyJumpa actually know each other in real life, the reaction seems to have been premature. and the banning itself, in hindsight, has no real grounds to stay in effect.

Given the past posting historys of the two partys in question, it is clear they are not out to start fights, troll, or cause a general nuisance. In fact, from my own personal experience, and even a quick "previous posts" check, you can clearly see that their posts are insightful and knowledgeable and, in my opinion, it is in the best interests of the Soccer Forum to keep posters such as Trilla and WheresMyJumpa in the forum.

In light of their admission of some wrong doing (ie off topic posting) and their apologies, I feel they should be reinstated as members of the Soccer Forum ASAP!

Thank you,
    bman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Sorry I thought this discussion was over, what I have said, and have continued to say is as follows.

Lets say for example that I called somebody I know personally on the soccer forum a "hypocritic assmuch" words of a song BTW. Now nobody knows that I knew this guy and after I got banned I pm him and say any chance you can back me up and say that we are only joking (after an apology, not suggesting for a moment that you guys have done this BTW). Pm the Mod, chat to him and explain the "situation" and have a ban lifted for either or both parties dependent on the situation.

What is to stop anybody else doing the same thing ? What is to stop anybody complaining, as people seem wont to do, that they are in the same boat and surely they should have a ban lifted on the basis that I am being unfair because I have already done the same for somebody else.

wheres, thank you for the PM and the apology and I understand why you and trilla are upset, but also being mod of the paranormal forum gives me a unique POV and I can foresee the sh1tstorm that lifting a ban because people are mates and were only joking could cause.

bman, your very inciteful post gave me pause.

For what its worth the soccer forum mods have an incredibly hard job, i'd imagine its among the worst, if not THE WORST forum to moderate.

So much anger....

I've given T4TF a hard time previously - but he does his best - and people tend to confuse T4TF the mod with T4TF the forum contributor.

Anyway... TOOT ON!

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    For what its worth the soccer forum mods have an incredibly hard job, i'd imagine its among the worst, if not THE WORST forum to moderate.

So much anger....

I've given T4TF a hard time previously - but he does his best - and people tend to confuse T4TF the mod with T4TF the forum contributor.

Anyway... TOOT ON!

QFT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

what QFT?

what QFT?
    Quoted For Truth

The soccer forum is thee forum for me, its the forum I read everyday, its the forum I post the most in(although been quiet lately). Therefore I am extremely annoyed with this.

However T4TF is sticking to his guns and I have respect for that. This was never an attack on his contribution or effort as a Mod, just a challenge to his ruling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

The soccer forum is thee forum for me, its the forum I read everyday, its the forum I post the most in(although been quiet lately). Therefore I am extremely annoyed with this.

However T4TF is sticking to his guns and I have respect for that. This was never an attack on his contribution or effort as a Mod, just a challenge to his ruling.

Assuming someone reported jumpa's and Trillas exchange all I have to say is that whoever that was should get a life FFS. I suggested this before and got a negative response but here goes again. I think that all reports of bad posts on the soccer forum in particular should be made public. If someone is really offended by something they should have the conviction to say so in public, I know I would. It might prevent some of the tit for tat point scoring reporting that I believe may be going on at the moment.

Apart from that I concur with RE*ACT*ORS sentiments as expressed a few posts above.

The Muppet wrote:
    Assuming someone reported jumpa's and Trillas exchange all I have to say is that whoever that was should get a life FFS. I suggested this before and got a negative response but here goes again. I think that all reports of bad posts on the soccer forum in particular should be made public. If someone is really offended by something they should have the conviction to say so in public, I know I would. It might prevent some of the tit for tat point scoring reporting that I believe may be going on at the moment.

Tom, people seem obsessed with this idea that reporting posts is a malicious thing done to get a dig in at a particular poster. There is nothing to suggest that the mods are swayed by spurious reports, they either judge a post out of line or they don't. I'm guessing here, but I believe the ration of reported posts:bans is extremely high, and IMO that suggests that the mods generally have the cop on to sort the wheat from the chaff.

Just because you or I think a ban is unjustified doesn't make it so.

p.s. I'm happy to hold my hand up and say I ratted someone out, done it before and just done it now. IMO, if it was a requirement for those reports to be made public then it would encourage even more tit for tat bulls*it (i.e. he reported me??? I'll get the bast*rd!).

I dont blame T4TF for stickin to his guns, he's gotta do what he thinks is right. But on a final note on this scenario, if anyone were to look back at those 2 posts (2 lines of songs, where one was called a idiot in a bizzare fashion, the other just had a swear word) Ive no doubt the majority would laugh at how it was worth a weeks banning. I repsect the decision, mighten agree with it but nothin I can do about that. Thanks to everyone for their inputs (and attempts to get the Trilla back on!).

Trilla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Tom, people seem obsessed with this idea that reporting posts is a malicious thing done to get a dig in at a particular poster. There is nothing to suggest that the mods are swayed by spurious reports, they either judge a post out of line or they don't. I'm guessing here, but I believe the ration of reported posts:bans is extremely high, and IMO that suggests that the mods generally have the cop on to sort the wheat from the chaff.

Just because you or I think a ban is unjustified doesn't make it so.

p.s. I'm happy to hold my hand up and say I ratted someone out, done it before and just done it now. IMO, if it was a requirement for those reports to be made public then it would encourage even more tit for tat bulls*it (i.e. he reported me??? I'll get the bast*rd!).

Don't get me wrong Ronan, I,m not getting at the mods and I don't think they are swayed by spurious reports. But the way things are ther now you can be baneed for making a bad joke or using mildly offensive comments.

The point I am making is that I believe users in soccer can use the system/rules currently in place there to point score on other users who step slightly out of line. Trillas , Jumpa's and to an extent Pigmans 2 ban are examples of this .

The soccer forum is tough enough to mod with all the divided loyalties and tribalism there without the added dimension of the mods having to try figure out the motive behind specific reported posts. Are the users of the soccer forum so thin skinned that Jumpa's and Trilla's comments genuinely offended them. I suggest they are not and assuming those posts were reported by other users the reason was to point score.
    I don't think going public on reported posts would have the effect you suggest. I don't believe anyone wants to be seen as a moaning git and so would only report posts that genuinely offend them. IMO it would cut out the "point scoring complaints" and should mean that the mods only have to deal with "genuine" complaints. I cetainly would have no problem going public on the odd occasion that I have report a post. I may be wrong of course and going public may as you say cause more trouble than it's worth but there is no harm putting the suggestion out there for consideration/discussion.

The Muppet wrote:

The soccer forum is tough enough to mod with all the divided loyalties and tribalism there without the added dimension of the mods having to try figure out the motive behind specific reported posts. Are the users of the soccer forum so thin skinned that Jumpa's and Trilla's comments genuinely offended them.

Here's where I have to disagree with you Tom. I believe the Report Post function to be about more than "that offended me personally" The note at the bottom of the dialog box when you click report post says it all:
    This is ONLY to be used to report spam, advertising messages, and problematic (harassment, fighting, or rude) posts.

So its plainly not just about posts that offend you personally, is it? The mods requested help from the users of the forum before (and have since clarified that the reports post function should not be used as a personal vendeta, which suggests they are aware of the possibility of such a thing happening), they are aware they can't watch everything all of the time, so if a user sees something which may be in breach of the charter, or may lead to a thread taking a nasty trun, then they're right to report it.

I happen to agree with you re. Trilla and jumpa, but I also see T4FT's point regarding a possible precedent if he does lift their ban. Its a nasty situation to be in, he's damned either way.

As for the context of posts? I'd hazard a guess that the majority of spurious reports are in relation to established users (say for e.g. myself vs Lemlin, or you vs Hobart, not accusing anyone of you of making spurious reports), so I assume the mods are only too aware of the history between the protagonists and are able to decide whether a post is out of order ot not.

At the end of the day, thats waht its about. Not whether you or I think a post is out of line, but whether the mod does. A reported post is just brought to their attention.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Repeated reporting of posts which are not actionable will get you a slap. Its happened (quite a number of times) before and I'll sanction it for wasting mods time. Its not big and its not clever.

Funnily, quite a number of times (more then you'd believe!) someone has reported a post and I've ended up going to the thread, reading what they themselves wrote and banned them!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

DeVore wrote:
    Repeated reporting of posts which are not actionable will get you a slap. Its happened (quite a number of times) before and I'll sanction it for wasting mods time. Its not big and its not clever.

Funnily, quite a number of times (more then you'd believe!) someone has reported a post and I've ended up going to the thread, reading what they themselves wrote and banned them!

DeV.

lol.

happens on AH all the time :)

i have no problem with people reporting posts. i think its healthy interaction within the community.
    however, just because a post is reported does not mean that something will happen.
    its about being sensible and realising when there is an issue, or whether someone just doesnt agree.
    i think that most mods moderate reported posts with common sense.

The two posts above pretty much sum it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

mods are never wrong, not even slightly all decisions are final :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

mods are never wrong, not even slightly all decisions are final :rolleyes:

I know and yet people still complain.........

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I was watching a football match today, my 4 yearly delve into the soccer world (apart from when Greece kicked everyone's arse in the Euro) and I saw some startling comparisons with the referees and players and the mods and users on the soccer forum.

Whenever the ref gives a yellow card everyone gesticulates and shouts and screams about how wrong the ref is but the ref never takes the yellow card back and unyellowcards the player.