Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

that sneezy, eye watering allergie called hayfever

• 20-06-2006 9:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭

is anyone else dying with it morning noon and night?
    ive tryed everything from the antihistimines to the steroid injection in the past and nothing seems to work..
    its doing me head in. i look like ive gone through 3 or 4 rounds with mike tyson (i kept me ears tho)
    how do yis all cope?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

I have it and dunno sorta kinda got half used to it i use opticron eye drops and they work pretty well i find if you have a cold bottle of water and you place it on your eye as in the hole you drink out goes over your eye and tilt your head back it eases the pain well and then just throw in the eye drops and it goes off

for the nose i have optrivine nose drops and they will clear anything just couple drops in eash nostril few blow of a tissue and it all comes right outta there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭wicklah

A bit of a 'horse has bolted....' comment but acupuncture works but you have to have started a course of it before the hayfever begins. Having said that, you could try asking one for advice.

A mate of mine also swears by wearing sunglasses at all times, just don't look like a dick though indoors :D .

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I find if I take Clariton before I go to bed it just about lasts me till the morning and then I take another one.. I know they're supposed to last 24 Hrs but they don't :rolleyes: if I don't take one before bed I'm sure to wake up in the middle of the night suffocating :o and by the time I'd take one and wait for it to kick in I'm wide awake.. It really is a curse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

im short of eating all vegetation.. just to get back at it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I never got it before but It seems to be making upfor lost time this summer. I was sitting in an exam with my eyes streming my my face really itchy, I was in bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

I can go for a couple of years with very mild symptoms and then one year I can spend the entire summer crying like a baby and wiping my nose raw. I think I must only be allergic to certain types of pollen and that those types aren't always around in large concentrations.

Zirtec is the stuff that works for me (mostly).

Liam

PS Moving off-topic slightly to rant about the price of drugs. Zirtec costs about 7 or 8 Euro for a blister pack of 7 tablets. Last year when I was in Italy, I got a pack of twenty for TEN Euro. Bloody rip-off Ireland!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

liamo wrote:
    I can go for a couple of years with very mild symptoms and then one year I can spend the entire summer crying like a baby and wiping my nose raw. I think I must only be allergic to certain types of pollen and that those types aren't always around in large concentrations.

Zirtec is the stuff that works for me (mostly).

Liam

PS Moving off-topic slightly to rant about the price of drugs. Zirtec costs about 7 or 8 Euro for a blister pack of 7 tablets. Last year when I was in Italy, I got a pack of twenty for TEN Euro. Bloody rip-off Ireland!!
    I presume alot of ye already know, but antihistamines are good for reducing swelling, itchiness, and so on.

liamo mentioned Zirtec -- they're the ones we've got in our house, and they seem to work quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Zirtec ftw. If you use that with Beconase (nasal spray) it does help alot, but you have to use them as prescribed because it strenghtens after a while.
    I've found this year to be particularly bad, it's a pain in the ar*se.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

liamo wrote:

Zirtek is what works for me too. Took one at 8.30 this morning and the symptoms were gone within the hour - feeling fine now. My friend tried one this morning too & she was only saying that it worked brilliantly..

I was in Glasgow a few weeks ago & bought mine there - buy one get one free on Zirtek & I got a free Hayfever survival kit - eye cooling mask & something else.

Used to get really bad hayfever for years - got the injection a few years in a row, but then it eased up a good bit. Not too bad now, just a few off days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

hayfever, hate the feckin thing!! I never used to get it but the last 2 years for some reason i've started...it's horrible.
    I'm taking Piriton tablets and staying inside!! I think they're doing their job, however ever since i started taking them i'm doing my best to keep away from ANY source of grass pollen (that reeally ****s me up) so Im not sure if it's the tablets or what. It's not as bad though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

How did you ALL miss this?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054942642

Bloody after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

liamo wrote:

I got this tip from grimsbymatt - instead of paying for brand names, Go to your chemist and ask for generic cetirizine dihydrochloride - it's exactly the same stuff. Most effective treatment I've found, for less than a quid a box. And just as effective i've found.

Opticrom yedrops help sooth the itching
    Otrivine for a blocked nose
    Glasses really do help too

If you're really bad go to your GP and ask to get a Hayfever injection- it's brilliant. Gets rid of the hayfever for the whole year - It's my bestest friend. You can only get it every two years though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭scop

This year seems paticularly bad, Ive never had it at night in bed before, but now I wake up sneezing. To be honest Ive had it so long I think of it almost as a normal state of affairs, if its summer I have hayfever, so be it, but Ive pretty much given up on Pirotin and all the rest, and taken to simply going with it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Today going out at lunchtime was the worst its been in ages. Piriton doesnt seem to be doing the trick this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Zirtek

half a tablet every night before you go to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I find nasal spray superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Peter McC

I've suffered with it since I was 5 or 6. Sun glasses :cool: is the best defense for me. Still use Pirotin from time to time but not sure how effective it is anymore.

Seems to be easing over the last few years - or maybe I've just gotten used to it. Wouldn't wish it on anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I was going really quite OK (and I get it really bad) until last Monday evening, day before I headed off to Berlin. Mid-30s temps in Germany didn't help and by Tuesday evening I had developed a sore throat, fever, really nasty cough, etc which has maintained itself solidly for a week (this happens once or twice every summer after the hayfever gets really bad - I think maybe related to weakened immune system and swallowing an unreal quantity of mucus - anyone else get this?)

My doctor also doesn't believe in the injection; I think I'll change because I honestly don't think he quite understands just how bad it is. It can actually cost me time off work what with the related illnesses, and sneezing repeatedly when cycling can actually be quite hazardous to one's health if it sends you into an oncoming car. It really can get so bad that going out is just impossible.

On the plus-side I got a 100 pill jar of Loratadine 10mg (e.g. generic Claritin) for $20 in Boston which is saving me a bit. Other than that snorting Flixonase but may look at other options, the nose is the big problem for me more so than the eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Daddio wrote:
    Zirtec ftw. If you use that with Beconase (nasal spray) it does help alot, but you have to use them as prescribed because it strenghtens after a while.

I have had pretty bad hayfever for about 10 years but earlier on this year I was perscribed Beconase because of an allergy to dustmites. The doc said the steroids strengthens the lining of the nose and so far this summer I have hardly sneezed once. It has worked miracles for me. I strongly strongly recommend it, it has saved my summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

Get it maybe once but I get it in all extremety when it does come. I can't even go outside for a couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Does anyone else find themselves suffering form fatigue or just a general lack of energy from it? I get really drowsy if I'm out for a while if teh grass has just been cut.

i guess after hours is really the place to attract the posters....

Anyway
    Daddio wrote:
    Does anyone else find themselves suffering form fatigue or just a general lack of energy from it? I get really drowsy if I'm out for a while if teh grass has just been cut.

I could easily fall down and go asleep at any minute with it. Not quite a physical lethargy but my eyes are always ready to close for a few hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Daddio wrote:
    Not really, but some of the medication does cause extreme drowsiness, used to send me completely to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I've been dying with it since the start of June. It's a fcuking nightmare at the best of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Uthur

Hi guys. Could someone describe the possible symptoms of
    hayfever for me please? I'm not sure but I think I have it. :o

Uthur wrote:
    Hi guys. Could someone describe the possible symptoms of
    hayfever for me please? I'm not sure but I think I have it. :o

Itchy eyes. Runny nose and eyes. Nose (and eyes) feel like there are little pins sticking in to it. Whole face can sometimes burn up...you feel like tearing your face off sometimes. Also, you tear into your eyes which eventually causes a feeling that there is something in one of your eyes....this is a cunt of a thing and will leave you sitting in a chair with one eye closed and if someone was to say something stupid to you they could end up with a slap in the face because it really is an irritable thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Uthur

Thanks a lot. I should get tested for this I think. I have the itchy, runny
    eyes and nose. My eyes are puffy too and I tend to get hot. I was on
    antihistamines before for something else and these symptoms were
    helped quite a bit. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

Hayfever is so bloody annoying, it's like having a cold for 3 months only worse! I take Zirtek but they don't really work on me anymore, have to take eye drops and a nose spray too. I LOVE the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Zirtek i find is the only think that works for me, iv try'd a lot of the sprays over the years, nasonex,beconase,flixonase..... and none of em worked for me.

CC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

I usually get it bad but I got the jab at the end of May this year for the first time.
    It's worked really well and I'd recommend it to anyone.
    Most of the sympthoms have gone but I still sometimes get itchy eyes and runny nose.
    However, I did pass out after I had the injection, but the doctor said it was some sort of ''reflex reaction'' I had to the jab, not a reaction to its ingredients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

I use Neo-Clariton and normal optrex eye-bath, seems to provide temporary relief, specially at night.
    cold wet paper-towel over eye held in place by my glasses for 10 mins at a bad itchy-eye time, looks ridiculous but oh god, the *relief* ;)
    Wouldnt wear it outside the house lolol.

For younger children heres a tip, vaseline around the nostrils and mouth can stop some of the pollen from being inhaled. Sticks to the vaseline. Worked well for my 1 year old nephew instead of meds. :)

b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

the last week and a halfs been a bastard, thought i was gonna make it through this year without sucumbing but no luck. i use clariton myself , usually take one in the morning and im good for the whole day and night. it used to hit me worse when i was younger when it mainly concentrated in my eyes (like someone else mentioned earlier its like having cavity block sized sandpaper under your eyelids) but as ive got older it mainly hits the nose now. and thank god for that cause i can handle that better than the eye irritation. luckily i only seem to get it the two worst weeks of the year now so a full pack of clairton can do me the entire summer

as an aside when did piriton come back on the market? i used to use that all the time till it was taken off the market when a few yanks dropped dead from it a couple of years back (heart attacks apparently)

also does anyone notice friends of theirs who DONT suffer from it going down with it this year? few of my friends have and they dont know what the hell it is:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

have a touch of this myself too. had a sneezing fit in work today. for some reason the lads i work with thought this was hilarious. i hate sneezing in front people! i was on stuff last summer when in canada and it was amazing but isnt available over here unfortunatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

The last week's been killing me too. Zirtek works pretty well for me, I used to have Opticron eyedrops as well, but then I got contacts and can't use them anymore ergo I've been practically scratching my eyes out over the past few days.
    Man, I HATE summer. There's nothing worse than having to do summer exams through watery eyes and sneezing fits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

I have fairly light hayfever(or something like it), it was quite bad a few weeks back, it was awful but has cleared up for the last while:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Rantorama

I had suffered quite badly for the last month or so.Best tip I've come across since,was Vaseline applied with a cotton bud to the inner nose and upper lip,it catches the the pollen spores before they can up there,and cause the allergic reaction.

Do this first thing in the morning and last thing in the evening, as this is when pollen can be released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Best thing is DON'T touch your eyes. If they're tingling just bear with it, when you touch them you rub more pollen into them, then you're screwed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

There are different types of allergies, which is why some people suffer worse at certain times than others. I, for example, am allergic to grass pollen so it's constantly bad. My GP advised me to just move to a hot, dry country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

just get the injection. I was suffereing with this all year last year was on nasonex and locabiotal and vividrin and ended up in clane hospital - got the injection this year feel sooo much better madness not to get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Got the injection two weeks ago, took about a week and a half to kick in but now I'm hayfever free.
    Doctors don't recommend the injection, it's only for extreme sufferers so those of you with just a runny nose or other mild symptoms shouldn't consider it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 CrazyGirl

my bf suffers, i just a little bit.

I can't believe that you don't get tested what you allergic too! has anyone heard about any specialist here in ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 truncated spurs

i've found pollena incredibly helpful. its a homeopathic remedy. got me through the leaving cert. i don't know if its available in chemists, you'd probably have to look in a health shop for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Yeah I get it pretty badly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

At various times I think I've been through every drug mentioned so far on this thread but the thing that has worked best for me in releiving what used to pretty extreme hayfeaver symptoms was moving country. Since I've been living in Ireland its been fairly mild for me and I can get by most days now without needing to take the eye drops or nasal spays and I dont think I've bothered taking any of the antihistamens in the last couple of years. OK so part of my reason for not taking too many of the drugs now is that I now have to pay for them in Ireland, whilst I got them all for free in the UK, and it can come to a very big bill every few weeks if I do happen to be very bad with the hayfever and the asthma as well, but you can't have everything I guess. But now I'm not constantly drugged up all the time I guess I've learnt to live with the pollens in Ireland better than I ever could with the ones in the Fens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

CrazyGirl wrote:
    my bf suffers, i just a little bit.

I can't believe that you don't get tested what you allergic too! has anyone heard about any specialist here in ireland?

should be able to get a simple test at your local GP . thats how i found out i was allergic to pollen. i cant quite remember all the details ( i was five at the time and im 33 now !) but i seem to remember something to do with little samples in a multiple plastic petri dish type of thing (akin to those that hold paint in art kits )which was placed on your skin and they can tell when you react to em with a rash. of course your taking the guts of 50 quid to find out!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I got a blood test done to find out, 2 years ago.

I heard a hilarious story about getting tested by having samples of things stuck on your arm. My friends dad got one done and he said "I wasn't allergic to pollen, cat or dog dander, dust or anything they tested for. I did, however, discover I was allergic to the adhesive on the bandage used to attach the samples to my arm!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭lau1247

damn hay fever is a nuisance..

I believe it part of our family gene..
    My aunt, cousins and myself are very sensitive to dust too..

Come summer, I'd get the usual sneezing..
    Like crazy.. about 5-6 time whenever they occur..
    It will automatically make my throat itchy and just above my upper left lip..
    Then wattery eye..

Sometimes I wish it's just winter all the time..

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Warning: Don't go near Phoenix park on a warm sunny day this summer, or you will need medical assistance.

I sometimes rub vaseline inside my nose, stops the pollen making contact with nasal walls, especially the septum.

I had 13 sneezes in a row the other day :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 CrazyGirl

should be able to get a simple test at your local GP . thats how i found out i was allergic to pollen. i cant quite remember all the details ( i was five at the time and im 33 now !) but i seem to remember something to do with little samples in a multiple plastic petri dish type of thing (akin to those that hold paint in art kits )which was placed on your skin and they can tell when you react to em with a rash. of course your taking the guts of 50 quid to find out!

i know how these tests work, just trying to find out what my bf can do. otherwise i bring him to austria to get him testet and get the right treatment, cause his GP never testet him and he gets it very badly!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

Kastro wrote:
    is anyone else dying with it morning noon and night?
    ive tryed everything from the antihistimines to the steroid injection in the past and nothing seems to work..
    its doing me head in. i look like ive gone through 3 or 4 rounds with mike tyson (i kept me ears tho)
    how do yis all cope?
    I'm in exactly the same position. Promised myself last year that I would go on holidays for a fortnight in June to try and avoid it.

The only tabs that have ever worked for me were Triluden but they were taken off the market. Injection only ever worked slightly. I'm taking two clariton a day at the moment. Roll on July as I usually only get it in June.