Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moped. No tax, no insurance, pulled up by Guards.

• 16-06-2006 10:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭

Mate of mine buzzing around on his moped, no tax/insurance/licence, just got pulled up by the guards. Think he's getting a fine sent out about the tax and has ten days to bring his non-existent licence up to the station.

What should he do? Go up to the station and own-up?
    And what type of fine is he looking at for no insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

All i can say i hope he gets in Sh"t... Better off going to the Gaurds and owning up do the honest thing, but saying that i hope he gets cought, hate people who do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

bus77 wrote:
    Mate of mine buzzing around on his moped, no tax/insurance/licence, just got pulled up by the guards. Think he's getting a fine sent out about the tax and has ten days to bring his non-existent licence up to the station.

He's a drain on soceity... who gives a crap.

Tell him to pay his insurance and tax just like everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

bus77 wrote:

I guess you've figure that people here won't have a lot of pity for your mate......

......so i feel no need to change things.

F*ck em, tell him to take his medicine!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

bus77 wrote:

You're probably talking about €2k in total fines!!!! No tax, no insurance, no licence, not producing any of these at the station!!!!! Probably get a banning as well.

The only way I can actually see him getting out of this one is if the Garda in question forgets to look for the name in question in whatever garda station he declared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I hope he doesn't managed to wriggle out of it. Scummy thing to do, going around without tax or insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I hope he gets done! People like him have insurance costs rising for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I agree with the others. The sooner the idiots are taken off the road the better and a nice hefty fine will be a good way to learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

What ever happened to the two brothers driving bikes without insurance where one of them got injured as a result of the other. He was trying to get money from the fund for the unisured becasue his brother wasn't insured!!!

OP your friend is simply a paracite and deserves all fines as he is guilty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

another one off the road :)

scumbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

I got away with this more than once by saying I was just testing it out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Get the wrong judge on a bad day and he could be looking at six months..no joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

by "buzzing" do you mean your "mate" was p****ng up and down the paths in a residential area on a poxy hairdryer?

six months and no TR ftw

He's blown his chance,he should've said to the cops on the spot he wasnt insured etc,when they find out they'll nail his balls to the wall and the judge will take a dim view of it too.I heard of a guy getting six months for no tax and insurance on a motorbike not so long ago and i reckon he got that because the judge just didnt like him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Looks like the natives are restless... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

yeah he should have said it wasn't his and he was just test driving it cos he was thinking of getting one himself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Vegeta wrote:
    yeah he should have said it wasn't his and he was just test driving it cos he was thinking of getting one himself
    He doesn't have a licence. He shouldn't be on the vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Let he without sin cast the first stone :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

i had to drive up the road on a moped one day when my car was in the garage, its only 5mins and the moped hardly did more than 30mph
    no tax or insurance on it but i have a license
    if the cops had of pulled me i would have given a fake name and then that would have been the end of that
    fool if he gave his real name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Tell him to go away and get it insured, and if they question it, tell them the renewal date just happened to be this week. The tax was out due to 'laziness'. It's his only option, otherwise it's a ban, and fines. Isurance can't be more than a grand on a moped if he's a resonable age.

In fairness lads before you all cast stones, I'd say every single person on this list has driven their mates car/bike down the road once or without insurance, just 'to get a feel for it'.

Savman wrote:
    I don't have that religious belief.
    Those who casue pain and suffering should be prevented from doing so. Thoses who are selfish and stupid should be prevented from doing so if it can cause pain and suffering to others.

i had to drive up the road on a moped one day when my car was in the garage, its only 5mins and the moped hardly did more than 30mph
    if the cops had of pulled me i would have given a fake name and then that would have been the end of that

So you planned to show him a fake license? Or a real one only give him a fake name? Also they can track you via the number plates as well or where those fake too?

I don't have that religious belief.
    Those who casue pain and suffering should be prevented from doing so. Thoses who are selfish and stupid should be prevented from doing so if it can cause pain and suffering to others.

So you've never done anything wrong your entire life?

You reckon that would have been the end of it?They'd ask for your date of birth too you know,and your address.Its a criminal offence to give a false name to a cop and if they didnt beleive you for whatever reason they'd probably nick you and seize the moped.Assuming you did get away that day you might be recognised another time and pulled over and you'd better remeber the details you gave the first time because if it doesnt match up you're in trouble.Dont make the mistake of thinking the cops are fools,if they make it thier business too,they can make life very tough for you indeed.

Hobbes wrote:
    So you planned to show him a fake license? Or a real one only give him a fake name? Also they can track you via the number plates as well or where those fake too?
    naw wasnt going to turn up and show any license, and number plates? ha ha dont know who has the papers as its my mates who just bought it for 300 quid off some chap and hasnt signed any documents yet
    anyway didnt get caught, was just nipping down the road on it as my car was in the garage, and no im not a 'scumbag' and i dont deserve to get banned!

and fair enuff i probs wudnt have given a fake name, i wud have just told them the truth..

Savman wrote:
    Anyone you know killed by an uninsured driver? It isn't as much fun as it sounds. I hope he gets nailed to the wall. He is robbing from everyone paying road tax and insurance and has the potential to make a horrible event for a family more horrible (back in day at least, the Motor Insurers Bureau payout wasn't even close to equivalent to an insured drivers payout).

ionapaul wrote:
    Anyone you know killed by an uninsured driver? It isn't as much fun as it sounds. I hope he gets nailed to the wall. He is robbing from everyone paying road tax and insurance and has the potential to make a horrible event for a family more horrible (back in day at least, the Motor Insurers Bureau payout wasn't even close to equivalent to an insured drivers payout).

I'm fascinated. Would being insured make it a little better to kill someone? Or would the 'bigger payout' bring back the dead person?

For the record, I'd better own up here too. I drive uninsured. I have a 12 inch Mini Moto I regularly drive around the housing estate I live in, clap me in irons.

Savman wrote:
    So you've never done anything wrong your entire life?
    I have done many horrible nasty things. I just don't believe that means I cannot judge others bad behaviour or make sure there are concequences for bad behaviour.

It is a religious belief to say you can't judge somebody unless you have no "sins". I do not have this religious belief so quoting religious doctorine at me means you are suggesting I act like your religious belief. It doesn't matter what I have done I still know when people do something wrong. You want to preach forgiveness or anything else go ahead but your will be ignored on that basis. There is not logic to the statement just beleif.

#it is a religious belief to say you can't judge somebody unless you have no "sins".

I'm nearly certain the poster of "Let he who is without sin" was just stating it as a proverb, not as a christian militant belief :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

ned78 wrote:
    Tell him to go away and get it insured, and if they question it, tell them the renewal date just happened to be this week. The tax was out due to 'laziness'. It's his only option, otherwise it's a ban, and fines. Isurance can't be more than a grand on a moped if he's a resonable age.

In fairness lads before you all cast stones, I'd say every single person on this list has driven their mates car/bike down the road once or without insurance, just 'to get a feel for it'.

Dont be telling how to get away with it. Its the liks of him that has my insurance sky high.

There should be zero tolerance to this. Make him pay big.

P.S I've only ever driven cars I've been insured on

no im not a 'scumbag' and i dont deserve to get banned!

You should get banned if your breaking the law and get caught.

Sounds like a scumbag thing to do to try and weasle your way out of getting caught for breaking the law

Savman wrote:

i prefer "let he with no sense of originality post "let he with out sin cast the first stone"" :D

kearnsr wrote:
    P.S I've only ever driven cars I've been insured on

You've only ever driven cars you 'think' you've been insured on. I'm in the Motor Trade, and you'd be suprised at the number of people who flow in the door and claim they've open insurance and they're insured on anything. I promptly point out that that's only true if :

*The other vehicle's insured
    *The other vehicle's driver has given you implicit permission
    *The other vehicle's insurance cert permits it

And it's the third one there that screws people up. Just because you've open insurance, and the other car is insured, doesn't mean you're insured to drive it.

I'm not saying you have kearnsr, but some of the holier-than-thous on this thread are readying the crucifix and nails, and in fairness, I'd say 90% of people on boards have at some point driven a car without insurance. It doesn't make it right, but it's funny to hear them all scream 'off with his head'. I'd wonder if it was their brother/sister would they be as fast to judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

woohoo, another one bites the dust!

ned78 wrote:
    I'm not saying you have kearnsr, but some of the holier-than-thous on this thread are readying the crucifix and nails, and in fairness, I'd say 90% of people on boards have at some point driven a car without insurance. It doesn't make it right, but it's funny to hear them all scream 'off with his head'. I'd wonder if it was their brother/sister would they be as fast to judge.

I've never driven a car!!!!! Genetic pedestrian i fear!!!

ned78 wrote:
    You've only ever driven cars you 'think' you've been insured on. I'm in the Motor Trade, and you'd be suprised at the number of people who flow in the door and claim they've open insurance and they're insured on anything. I promptly point out that that's only true if :

And it's the third one there that screws people up. Just because you've open insurance, and the other car is insured, doesn't mean you're insured to drive it.

Its not a case of somebody unwittingly driving without the correct insurance,its somebody who is willfully driving without ANY right to do so.The fact that its a moped as well probably puts peopel in mind of little bollixes tearing up and down estates with no helmet on.Why did the cops pull him in the first place?He probably fitted the stereotype of one of those little bolloxes.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

What happened to the OP?

Did he honestly think people were going to be concerned?

Good enough for his mate. Hope he gets banned.

ned78 wrote:
    I'm nearly certain the poster of "Let he who is without sin" was just stating it as a proverb, not as a christian militant belief :)

Exactly.

This person committed an offence and was caught. What happens now is in the hands of the powers that be. The poster was looking from advice and instead he got the usual tyrade of abuse from those angelic boards users whom, I have been trying to point out, have apparently never done anything wrong in their lives.

Of course driving without insurance is stoopid, but as someone said, just because you're insured doesn't mean you can't kill someone.

Now the world cup is starting so toodles :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

You're probably talking about €2k in total fines!!!! No tax, no insurance, no licence, not producing any of these at the station!!!!! Probably get a banning as well.

The only way I can actually see him getting out of this one is if the Garda in question forgets to look for the name in question in whatever garda station he declared.

:rolleyes: ye sure buddy, i know some guy who bought a moped a while back and the only way he could get it home was to drive it(since he only bought it he hadn't got insurance) he was caught driving it home, he was fined 200euro and 1 year driving ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Degsy wrote:
    Get the wrong judge on a bad day and he could be looking at six months..no joke.

some people are so stupid

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I was caught when I was 15 on a mates moped having a little whizz around before aswell,
    didn't have the bike had tax, i had no insurance and no licence,
    anyway got sent to court, wore my school uniform(works well!). just got a caution,
    you'll be grand!
    get a letter from your school or some **** to say your a good student or some bollax!

naw wasnt going to turn up and show any license, and number plates? ha ha dont know who has the papers as its my mates who just bought it for 300 quid off some chap and hasnt signed any documents yet
    anyway didnt get caught, was just nipping down the road on it as my car was in the garage, and no im not a 'scumbag' and i dont deserve to get banned!

Then your mate would of been done for it because they would go and check back on the previous owner. As someone mentioned don't assume the Gardai are thick.

The sister bought a car one time in the buy+Sell, the guy selling it thought he was being cool selling her a car that had been written off. The car got into an accident and the insurance refused to pay out as it was already written off. She gave the previous owners details and gave them the log book and he ended up getting charged and his insurance paid for a new car for my sister (he had also given a fake name and address btw).

some people are so stupid

Not you though..you're CLEVER!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i dont think i can add anything. stupid thing to do. i hate people that try to defraud the state and then get up in arms about it when their caught.
    personally, i hope they get a ban and a alrge fine.

im sure the ban wont make a jot of difference, after all, they were without insurance and tax.
    but i hope the fine is hefty. hit them where its painful.

oh, and moved to motorbicycles

ned78 wrote:
    I'm fascinated. Would being insured make it a little better to kill someone? Or would the 'bigger payout' bring back the dead person?

For the record, I'd better own up here too. I drive uninsured. I have a 12 inch Mini Moto I regularly drive around the housing estate I live in, clap me in irons.
    If the payout properly covered funeral expenses, that would have been a start. Being insured might do somewhat to relieve the financial burden on the family. TBH your reply makes you sound like a complete tosser*

To answer your next reply, if one of my brothers was caught driving uninsured and without a license, yes, I would want them fully prosecuted - given that one of our siblings was killed by an uninsured and unlicensed driver, I don't think there is much chance of either of my remaining brothers breaking these particular laws.

*Guess I won't be posting in After Hours for a while. Ah well, has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

ionapaul wrote:
    *Guess I won't be posting in After Hours for a while. Ah well, has to be said.

I think you'll only get banned from motorcycles forum. The thread was moved :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

eh.. people seem to be going on about having no tax or no insurance... but the little fecker had no tax/insurance/licence! He had none of the required documents to be on the road. Serves him right. I hope he gets a full fine/ban.

ionapaul wrote:
    If the payout properly covered funeral expenses, that would have been a start. Being insured might do somewhat to relieve the financial burden on the family. TBH your reply makes you sound like a complete tosser

Not trying to start a flame war, but TBH, if you sibling did die, insured driver or uninsured, it doesn't matter a damn. If the driver was insured and made the same mistake, it wouldn't lessen the damage. That's all I was trying to point out. You're emotionally biased in this situation. We've all had friends who've been involved in accidents, and I've lost two close friends in road accidents. I couldn't give a damn if the perpetrator was insured or not, it won't bring my friends back.

So if I'm a tosser by pointing out the very obvious, then label me. For what it's worth, I have a lot of empathy for your situation.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

ned78 wrote:

I've only ever driven one car which is my car and its the only car I've ever been insured in.

If any of my family ever did something that stuip as to drive with out insurance I would say they deserve anything they get for being so stupid but I dont think any one in my family is stupid enough to do that

The point I'm making is it is irresponsible and, according to my value code, utterly immoral to drive without tax and (especially) insurance. Obviously I'm emotionally biased. Proper insurance isn't going to bring anyone back - but it does ease some of the financial problems that accompany all the other horrible ones...

To be honest he deserves whatever he gets. People like myself pay 2 hefty premiums to be allowed to drive our own vehicles and other vehicles for restricted periods of time.