Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the search for the holy grail

• 15-06-2006 6:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭

thats right
    the ultimate fry up
    i will not rest until i have found it

points are deducted for anything i feel is wrong with the fry and or the establishment.
    suggestions welcome

ii will update more as i check places out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

And the holy cortex said onto them: "Seek not the indulgance of fried meats, unfertillised chicken eggs, or fried tomatoes lest damage be done to thy health. Eat porridge for thy fast breaker and ye shall reap the benefits of a healthy life"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

I recommend The Drum,does a great breakfast and it even doesnt smell too like piss on a Sun morning after the night before.
    Left Bank cafe is good too although they use fried spuds to bulk it up,cheaters.
    There is a really good greasy spoon out beside where McDonaghs hardware store is now in Ballybane,thats my dark horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭sgthighway

This has been discussed already and I still say the Galway Plate on the Tuam Rd. -> still in the City ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

padi89 wrote:
    I recommend The Drum,does a great breakfast and it even doesnt smell too like piss on a Sun morning after the night before.

I thought the drum was now closed for renovations.. as if it was needed!

Shazam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Gbc Tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Dunno the name of the street nor resturant, as I haven't been there in quite a while, but the street to the west of Eyre Square me thinks, there's a resturant that serves a lovely cheap breakfast for under about a tenner. Stuffed after it. It has a ground floor, where the food is cooked, and there's more seating upstairs. Think the place is painted green on the outside, but I could be wrong. Fattening, but lovely.

Oh, and forget about lunch afterwards, tbh. The breakfast will keep ye going till dinner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭tred

Finnegans.......the fry there is enough for the whole day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

padi89 wrote:
    There is a really good greasy spoon out beside where McDonaghs hardware store is now in Ballybane,thats my dark horse.

It used to be called the Red Rock Cafe, its was just off the Ballybane roundabout. Real greasy spoon kind of place all right, but the brekkie rolls used to be to die for. 14000 calories of pure deep fried piggie goodness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭the_galway_fry

the drum.

6/10

service was poor even though it was very quiet
    order was wrong. mine is no mushrooms and hard eggs. they fecked that up too.
    too much reheated rashers/sausages.
    price was ok.
    so far the average price for the large (always get large) is about a tenner.

the cellar
    5/10

service good,very quick to serve
    beans were cheap crap tasted awful
    rashers undercooked
    , white fat on the rashers is a no no
    eggs very undercooked literally running on the plate almost raw.yuck.

worst of all the only ketchup they had was in those stupid little square thingys u have to peel and scoop out.

price over a tenner.

not reccomended

the drum.

6/10

service was poor even though it was very quiet
    order was wrong. mine is no mushrooms and hard eggs. they fecked that up too.
    too much reheated rashers/sausages.
    price was ok.
    so far the average price for the large (always get large) is about a tenner.

Didnt expect that but your the expert.Used to be excellent but i guess its been a long time since i visited.Go try that greasy spoon out in Ballybane and giv us your opinion Mr Ramsey
    Youl be needing a triple bypass after all this.

tred wrote:
    Finnegans.......the fry there is enough for the whole day!

Or Riordan's on Quay street

Nyom!!!!

Really NYOM!!!!

Or Riordan's on Quay street

Nyom!!!!

Really NYOM!!!!

nyom?

ok have tried greasy spoon out in ballybane but turns out theres more than one.

ya ya's

nice clean place but only do brekkie till 12 not good for hangovers
    food was good no complaints
    usual 2 eggs sossies and rashers few chips etc pricearound a tenner as usual
    sauce in sachets or cheap stuff in tube.
    when will any resteraunt/greasy spoon learn that good ketchup is an essential part of a fry.
    going to give it 7/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'm quite partial to the breakfasts in Monroe's Tavern. Very nice, and they don't skimp on the portions either.

keep suggestions coming will try anywhere reccomended

Just thought of one there,Garveys in Eyre Square do a really nice breakfast,irs very posh compared to the greasy spoon but a nice alternative.Drove past Left Bank today it seems its shut down.God bless your arteries.

padi89 wrote:
    Just thought of one there,Garveys in Eyre Square do a really nice breakfast,irs very posh compared to the greasy spoon but a nice alternative.Drove past Left Bank today it seems its shut down.God bless your arteries.

was told only a few days ago by someone not to bother with garveys.
    they went there for brekkie and literally got one rasher,one sossie one egg etc.

is left bank def closed down?
    i know its always looked that way but i havent been there for a while

I remember the portions were a bit small in Garveys but i couldnt remember if it was just a small breakie i ordered but i remember it being very tasty and service with a smile.

Last time i passed the left bank the windows were all blacked out so i presume its closed down,unless its renovations.

I used to live just off the square years ago so i used to be having fry ups on a Sunday morning.My trouble was, im not one for sleeping in even after a hectic night ,so i was always going for the first place to open for breakie.I never came across a place that used Chef sause as a conditment tomato or brown,i was raised on both so im not found of heinz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

try the banks in liosbaun ind. est. plenty of space, sky news, and not a bad breckie. it does have its bad days but its good ones are worth it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

galway plate,finnenagans and o,ridrons are the bes in galway

the plate and finnegans are next on my list.
    havent heard anything about riordans

finnegans and O'Riordans are the EXACT same company, so EXACT same menus... food's a bit better in O'Riordans.. can't explain why!

will update after this weekend
    2 many fries are not good for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

will update after this weekend
    2 many fries are not good for you :)

Should do a Breakfast Roll one as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

If anyone gets a blocked artery from eating too much of this stuff, drop me a PM and I will come to your house and sort it out. I do medical stuff me.

'cptr

I see The Bal in Salthill is doing breakfast now from 8.30am and they had Heinz Ketchup bottles on the table,a good start.

If anyone gets a blocked artery from eating too much of this stuff, drop me a PM and I will come to your house and sort it out. I do medical stuff me.

Medical stuff?

What, like random amputations, severe genital mutilation.. etc?

Cause I'm interested in that line of.... "business"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Oh no, nothing like that. I do keyhole surgery on coronary arteries using state of the art equipment like wire and tweezers. Well I did once but the dog died afterward of soemthing unrelated to do with bubbles in her bloodstream. I'm sure it would work on people though, hence my offer. I don't think it would hurt either.

'c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

havent heard anything about riordans

Its on Quay street just past the Quays pub on the same side.

Define-i-tly recommended went there for the first time after a three day piss-up at about 3pm and got a great fry going there since.

state of the art equipment like wire and tweezers

Yes... state of the art if you're living in 16th century New England, ya scabberous sea dog....

And you killed a dog?

Cool....

Not really though.... I like dogs me!

ok then finnegans

was really looking foward to this one as i had the mother and father of all hangovers and it had gotten many good recomendations .
    so in i popped on sunday mornin about 1pm ish :D

ordered up the brekkie and it was out in no time.good start i thought
    first hurdle, ketchup.
    said it before and ill say it again i do not want cheap ketchup in a bloody mini jam thingy.
    oh well on we go
    the food
    first off the poatato thingys were a class act,well done nice n crispy
    beans sound
    sossies sound (3 )
    puddin ok but not a fan anyway

rashers ,disgusting. i mean seriously horrible after first bite i thought i must be mistaken but no i tried again and it was just a bad tasting cheap piece of pig.

my egg was also half raw but i forgot to ask for it well done so not their fault this time.

overall u do get quite a feed there
    price is excellent for 7.50 incl. oj instead of tea
    service v good

rashers and ketchup big let down going to give it an 8 but there is defnitley a better brekkie out there but possibly not for this price.

will make for the plate on the next update which will be next weekend.

sgthighway wrote:
    This has been discussed already and I still say the Galway Plate on the Tuam Rd. -> still in the City ;-)

Looking forward to your feedback. I'm still sticking with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

try the banks in liosbaun ind. est. plenty of space, sky news, and not a bad breckie. it does have its bad days but its good ones are worth it.:)

Agreed luckily I haven't witnessed their bad days so I gues it's more good than bad. They do nice dinners there too. It doesn't open on a sunday or does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Aura

The king of all fry up's...

Feeney's/Audubon Lodge ( goes by both me thinks...) in Salthill.
    Feels like being an extra in Corrie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

The Home Plate used to do a mother of a breakfast but sadly it's been ruined since changing hands.

Ard Bia do a 'fancy' fry-up - it was grand except for the fancy sausages which were too herbed up for my liking at that time of the morning. Also I think it was pricey. Of course it's been a year since I was in there so this could all have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

can't believe that An Pucan has been left out so far, definetly the nicest fryup going, cheap enough too, although the service is usually slow, the mountain of food is worth it.

worth getting a really bad hangover for!

hoody wrote:
    can't believe that An Pucan has been left out so far, definetly the nicest fryup going, cheap enough too, although the service is usually slow, the mountain of food is worth it.

worth getting a really bad hangover for!

Tis quantity with no quality IMO in that place,very GBCish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

I have a mate we call "Fry Spy"! same as Pub Spy in the Sunday World!
    He's been at this for many years and he still says that the Trappers on the Tuam Rd is the place to go!!

Never had a bad breakfast, only downside is that it finishes at 12.
    But everything else is quaility! Portions, Price, Bottle ketchup it's got the works!!

finishing at 12 is a big no no
    doesnt work for hangovers

so...the galway plate

9 quid
    staff were sound
    good ketchup
    nothing really wrong with the fry,just not the biggest
    2 sosies,rashers, 1 egg beans b + w pud and few potato thingys

nothing to write home about is how i would best describe this.
    the search for the holy grail will go on

7/10

ok then finnegans

rashers ,disgusting. i mean seriously horrible after first bite i thought i must be mistaken but no i tried again and it was just a bad tasting cheap piece of pig.

my egg was also half raw but i forgot to ask for it well done so not their fault this time.

And you still rated it better than the Gaway Plate ?

I thought this was going to be good but everybody is intitled to there opinion AND in my opinion I have lost all faith in "the search for the holy grail"
    :mad: :( :mad: :( :mad: :( :mad: :( :mad: :( :mad: :( :mad: :(

edit -> and u got the good ketchup ????????

sgthighway wrote:
    I thought this was going to be good but everybody is intitled to there opinion AND in my opinion I have lost all faith in "the search for the holy grail"

And you were going to take the review of some random person on boards as a place to go get the best brekkie scran?????.Its a bit of fun thats all and at the end of the day each to their own.
    As nice as a fry up is on a hangover the taste buds are hardly in the best shape for being a critic.

Say what?

I take my food and drink very seriously. If I eat in a good place I make sure I tell people. If I eat in a bad place I warn people. I know this topic isn't serious but this could be a good source on where to eat the most important meal of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Lol, a big greasy fry up the most important meal of the day? :D

HavoK wrote:
    Lol, a big greasy fry up the most important meal of the day? :D

Exactly;)

sgthighway wrote:
    ok then finnegans

And you still rated it better than the Gaway Plate ?

mate its all just a bitof fun

it got higher marks because i didnt ask for my egg to be well done as i usually do its pretty cheap and was quite large....

good ketchup is chef or heinz or basically something that doesnt come out of a sachet or jam thingy(what are they called?)

*scoring may be affected by the intensity of my hangover:p

oh and other suggestions are welcome
    has to be all-day brekkie