Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protein - drug testing

• 13-06-2006 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭

i play gaa at a high level and was thinking of starting to take a protien shake after my weights sessions. As there is a possibility that i could be tested for drugs etc, does anybody here know if a protien shake is allowable or would it have ingretients that would not be allowed.

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

You'd be fine.

It's only whey. If you have ever drank milk you've had it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭oneillk

thanks for the replies folks.
    I have a tub of Body Fortress Whey Pretein (choc flavor). cant find the list of ingredients on web. Will post them when i get home just to be sure.

oneillk wrote:
    thanks for the replies folks.
    I have a tub of Body Fortress Whey Pretein (choc flavor). cant find the list of ingredients on web. Will post them when i get home just to be sure.

First off, your taking muck.

Just thought you should know.

why? what would you suggest?

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

That protein stuff is dangerous craic I hear, don't take too much of it or your willy will shrink and your liver will explode. Some lads inject it an' all I hear, crazy stuff...

oneillk wrote:

why? what would you suggest?

cheers

Nutrtion X - Pro X or Big Whey
    Optimum Nutrition - 100% Whey
    Reflex Nutrition - Instant Whey

all quality products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

walt0r wrote:
    That protein stuff is dangerous craic I hear, don't take too much of it or your willy will shrink and your liver will explode. Some lads inject it an' all I hear, crazy stuff...

Are you on crack cocaine??? Too much protein!!!!!

walt0r wrote:

Keyzer, i think walt0r was making a little fun at the OP's expense is all.

Dragan wrote:
    Keyzer, i think walt0r was making a little fun at the OP's expense is all.
    MMMmmm, maybe you're right Dragan, just maybe.........*goes over and sits in the idiot corner*

.........*goes over and sits in the idiot corner*

Who said you could get out of the idiot corner anyway????? :D

Dragan wrote:
    Who said you could get out of the idiot corner anyway????? :D

Sorry Sir, I dunno, I thought it would go unnoticed :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

walt0r wrote:
    LMAO!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

What are supplements?

Dietary supplements are products taken to supplement a normal diet. Supplements can be vitamins, minerals, herbs, homeopathic remedies or other substances. Athletes and others take supplements to compensate for an inadequate diet, or because they believe they may improve performance.

Are supplements permitted in sport?

Irish athletes are advised that the use of unlicensed supplement products is at your own risk and the Irish Sports Council strongly recommends that they be avoided altogether. Neither the Irish Sports Council nor your National Governing Body can guarantee the status of unlicensed supplement products in sport. This is because supplements are not subject to the same stringent manufacturing, testing and labelling standards as licensed medicinal products. You have no way of guaranteeing what is in the supplement, or if the declaration of ingredients on the label is complete and accurate.
    Could I test positive from taking supplements?

These products may contain ingredients not listed on the label. In some cases supplements may contain undeclared prohibited substances. Some supplements have been found to contain undeclared ephedrine and even steroids. An International Olympic Committee study has reported that nearly 15% of supplement products tested contained substances not listed on the label that would lead to a positive drug test. In many cases, athletes who have tested positive have blamed a supplement they were taking. However, athletes are responsible for any substance found in their bodies. It doesn't matter how it got there.
    How do I know the difference between a medicine and a supplement?

Licensed medicines can be identified by a product authorisation (PA) number on the label, meaning that they have been assessed for quality, safety and efficacy. Only a very small number of vitamin and mineral supplements are authorised with a PA number. The status of a product with a PA number can be checked with your Doctor, via the Eirpharm website (www.eirpharm.com) or by contacting the Irish Sports Council Anti-Doping Unit. Most supplements do not carry PA numbers meaning that their ingredients, and therefore their status in sport, cannot be guaranteed.
    Do I need supplements?

For athletes consuming a normal, varied and balanced diet that meets their energy requirements, there is no evidence that vitamin and mineral supplementation is necessary to enhance health or performance. There is no proof that dietary supplements enable you to compete more effectively or would in any way replace a balanced diet. Athletes concerned about their diet should consult a qualified medical practitioner or sports dietician, and if a vitamin or mineral supplement is recommended, use one of the authorised products whose status in sport can be guaranteed.

That's from www.irishsportscouncil.ie. I think you should take their word rather than random punters on the internet, since they are indirectly the ones who'll be testing you.

Give the anti-doping unit in the sports council a ring (8608800 and ask for the anti-doping unit) and they'll be more than happy to fill you in, they don't bite.

cheers clive. will do that.
    Thanks for the replies folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

In all fairness Clive, and I mean no disrespect but what the sport council know about supplements and similar products is ridiculous. All Supplements in order to be eligible for sale are put through tests with WADA.

Funny thing is they should concentrate more on the amount of real banned substances taken by our Olympic competitors who have recently been found out rather than supplements which can if made by recognised manufacturers be very benificial to athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

oneillk wrote:
    cheers clive. will do that.
    Thanks for the replies folks.
    give easygainer a pm if you want optium nutrition! i take it and his prices rule!

Clive wrote:
    That's from www.irishsportscouncil.ie. I think you should take their word rather than random punters on the internet, since they are indirectly the ones who'll be testing you.

Give the anti-doping unit in the sports council a ring (8608800 and ask for the anti-doping unit) and they'll be more than happy to fill you in, they don't bite.

CLive , thats some good advice, but in all seriousness we are talking about whey protein, not the next "better than Decca" supplement.

My advice would be as follows.....there are only a very, very small number of manufacturing plants in the world that are officially licenced to produce whey protein.

The three products i have listed come from just such plants.

Use them. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

Not sure if this will help but i use whey all the time, even when i went for my garda medical and had no problems at all. Still ring them to be sure and take only the ones that dragan advised. At least then you are assured they are of good quality

Jon wrote:
    In all fairness Clive, and I mean no disrespect but what the sport council know about supplements and similar products is ridiculous. All Supplements in order to be eligible for sale are put through tests with WADA.

Funny thing is they should concentrate more on the amount of real banned substances taken by our Olympic competitors who have recently been found out rather than supplements which can if made by recognised manufacturers be very benificial to athletes.

LMAO ... the sports council line is EXACTLY the same as the official WADA line. It's also the USADA, ASADA, UK Sport etc etc line. So basically you're saying that every major world anti-doping body knows very little about supplements.

Could you name even one supplement that had to be tested by WADA before being put up for sale? WADA has no power over what companies can sell, and it certainly doesn't have to approve any supplement - I have no clue where you got that idea.

Where exactly do you think the ISC anti-doping programme should be doing more? In terms of education, testing or research? Saying "they should concentrate more on the amount of real banned substances taken by our Olympic competitors who have recently been found out" is misleading. Obviously the people who have been found out have been caught! A substance is either prohibited or not, there's no "real" banned substances.

Ireland has a very highly regarded anti-doping programme.

Dragan wrote:
    CLive , thats some good advice, but in all seriousness we are talking about whey protein, not the next "better than Decca" supplement.

Very true, but then again, Geraldine Hendricken probably thought the same thing! http://www.irishrunner.com/ghen0903aai.html

At the end of the day if people want to fill themselves with whey, steroids or banoffi pie it's up to them, but athlete's are 100% responsible for what's in their system. As long as people make an informed decision, it's all good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Yeah I don't know too much about this kind of issue but from talking to friends who are occassionally tested as part of their sport, it sounds like they have to be super careful about everything they consider adding to their diet/supplement regime.

You can always buy pure whey isolate, then add glucose & cocoa powder or whatever to it yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Clive wrote:
    Very true, but then again, Geraldine Hendricken probably thought the same thing! http://www.irishrunner.com/ghen0903aai.html

At the end of the day if people want to fill themselves with whey, steroids or banoffi pie it's up to them, but athlete's are 100% responsible for what's in their system. As long as people make an informed decision, it's all good!
    how do we not know she added the banned substance to the supplements before they were tested?or did they get a fresh unopened package of these supplements from source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

The big danger for athletes is contamination of products if you are not certain of the source. At the end of the day, the ISC are the ones to listen to as they will be testing you, so I agree with Clive on that one. If the OP fails a drug test after a GAA match, a defence of "one of the guys on boards.ie said it would be fine to take this" wouldn't really get you off the rap. For athletes in sports with rigourous drug testing, they become fanatical about what do put into their bodies, and that would include their protein product, it becomes a type of paranoia. With GAA players looking to get ISC grants in the future, rigourous drug testing has to be part of the deal. Clive's advice of consulting the ISC is spot on or even talk to your club or county doctor.

PS : While talking to the ISC is the sensible thing, I don't agree with their policy of elite athletes not really needing to take supplements.

Clive wrote:
    As long as people make an informed decision, it's all good!

Bingo!!!!!

t-ha wrote:
    You can always buy pure whey isolate, then add glucose & cocoa powder or whatever to it yourself?

Very good point.....once you are getting your Whey straight from the proper source ( remember my earlier post about how only a handful of places in the world are cleared to produce whey, and ALL supplement companies should be source there product from these places ) and making any adjustments yourself you really should be fine.

These production plants get tested pretty consistently and are normally parts of large scale dairy projects or similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

Like my mother says "you never know what stuff you be gettin in those tubs you get off d'intornet - dem steroids n protein lark". So my advice to you would be not to be taking those supplements. Try eating grass or something. Look at the size of bulls and that's all they eat all day. You'll be huge in no time. And it's natural too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

daveirl wrote:
    cheers, i get free isolate though :p

the first person to PM me looking for free whey gets a free internet slap in the face - there's only just enough for me me me!

how do we not know she added the banned substance to the supplements before they were tested?or did they get a fresh unopened package of these supplements from source?

Very true ronbyrne2005, all we know know is that Gerladine proved she had contamined supplements in her possesion. Not that said supplements caused her positive test, or that they were contaminated at source.

Again, the rule of 100% athlete liability applies!

Nobody wants a two year ban from all aspects of the sport(s) they love (standard for a first offence), let alone a lifetime ban (sencond offence).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭brianon

Dragan wrote:
    Nutrtion X - Pro X or Big Whey
    Optimum Nutrition - 100% Whey
    Reflex Nutrition - Instant Whey

all quality products.

Dragan, can you recommend any online sites to buy these from ?
    Or know of any local (Dublin/Limerick) retailers ?

Cheers,
    Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

brianon wrote:
    Dragan, can you recommend any online sites to buy these from ?
    Or know of any local (Dublin/Limerick) retailers ?

Cheers,
    Brian.

For NutritionX products online try www.fitnessireland.ie they are pretty cheap and carry some good deals. For shop outlet in Dublin the NutrionX warehouse is based in Coolmine industrial park Unit 11. You will get the full range of products up there for great prices. The power of one - in Limerick City is another shop outlet where you can get the full range of NutritionX products

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭brianon

Jon wrote:
    For NutritionX products online try www.fitnessireland.ie they are pretty cheap and carry some good deals. For shop outlet in Dublin the NutrionX warehouse is based in Coolmine industrial park Unit 11. You will get the full range of products up there for great prices. The power of one - in Limerick City is another shop outlet where you can get the full range of NutritionX products

Cheers. Power of One ? Any idea where that is in Limerick ? I've not heard of it before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭pa daly

And another thing, could you please elaborate as to why you call body fortress "muck".

Is it because it is not as well known as the other brand names????

pa daly wrote:
    And another thing, could you please elaborate as to why you call body fortress "muck".

Is it because it is not as well known as the other brand names????

Not really no, as i don't judge products on advertising or marketing....i judge them on what they contain.

Body Fortress is just a brand held by Holland and Barret that contrain a low grade whey protein.

Hence my term "muck".