Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sweepstake Thread

• 08-06-2006 10:50am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok its World Cup time roll on the stick and banter.

The Payout
    1st)$300
    2nd)$200
    3rd)$80
    And $60 to the tournament whipping boys to be decided by the team with the worst goal difference,if two teams end up on the same goal difference the team in the easiest group will be deemed tournament whipping boys.

The Teams
    1 Big Dragon = Brazil
    2 Dub13 = England
    3 Poker Bratt = Argentina
    4 Dunning10 = France
    5 Jimbling = Italy
    6 Culchie = Holland
    7 Hector = Germany
    8 Aces Mike = Spain
    9 IonaPaul = Czech Republic
    10 Daithio = Portugal
    11 Davey Devil = Sweden and a woman with a package
    12 Howtobedead = Croatia
    13 TrueDub = Mexico
    14 DeadParrot99 = Togo
    15 Domh = Costa Rica
    16 Gerrie = Trinidad
    17 Okidoki987 = Angola
    18 Carrigeen = USA
    19 KKcardcooler = Ukraine
    20 Oscar = Saudi Arabia
    21 EoinOlin = Serbia
    22 LuckySparky = Australia
    23 Pokypoky = Japan
    24 ManBitesGod = South Korea
    25 Killerkp = Iran
    26 Cardshark202 = Paraguay
    27 Kinaldo = Ghana
    28 Kincsem = Switzerland
    29 Imposter = Poland
    30 Goodluck2me = Ivory Coast.
    31 Ocallagh = Ecuador
    32 lenny_leonard = Tunisia

All thats left to say is....

Come on Engerland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

come on the ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF IRAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

This is gonna be fun! Get in there you Czechs! Looks like you'll have Roooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnney after all Paul, fair play.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

ionapaul wrote:
    This is gonna be fun! Get in there you Czechs! Looks like you'll have Roooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnney after all Paul, fair play.

I think they will do well,they have a great midfield I would like to see them play Stevie G "in the hole" on till Wayne wounder is fit.The biggest obstacle to them doing well IMO is that thing they call a manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Gholimoli wrote:
    come on the ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF IRAN

surely the Ayatollahs frown on gambling somewhat? or have I got those fun dudes all wrong??

surely the Ayatollahs frown on gambling somewhat?

They are gambling with Mr Bush right now in the biggest game in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Come on the Argies!!!

Crespo or Tevez to be top scorer too, get it on!!!

One of the reasons the sweepstakes will be exciting is while I can't see past three teams for the outright win (or Brazil to be honest), a whole host of teams should be fighting for 2nd and in particular 3rd spot. Likewise, very hard to put your finger on which team of those that are unlikely to get out of the group stages is going to conceed the most goals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

toga.jpg

Togo! Togo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Dub13 wrote:

Two players have to pick there team as we never got around to updating the old thread.

That would be me and Niall (ocallagh), iirc. Anyone know what teams are left. I could do a search, but... meh.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Seems to be Ecuador and Tunisia. Choose carefully now :)

5starpool wrote:
    Seems to be Ecuador and Tunisia. Choose carefully now :)

I met this weird Equadorian pan-piper player who had two wifes at the Cat Laughs last weekend. Must be an omen! I choose Equador, unless ocallagh has any objections.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

DeadParrot wrote:
    toga.jpg

Togo! Togo!
    As the ad goes, I seen this and I though of you. From the Indo -

A LOCAL beauty queen and a Voodoo shaman are helping generate a frenzy of World Cup optimism for minnows Togo. The country have never before reached the finals and are ranked lowest among the 32 qualifiers.

None of that has discouraged the country's Voodoo chief fetish priest, who hopes to propel his nation to glory. "The Voodoo mystic powers divine that Togo will go far in the second round," said Togbui Assiogbo Gnagblondjro III.

Togo can already boast one success. Last week, Edwige Badakou was crowned Miss World Cup 2006. "We have not yet kicked a ball but we have started winning World Cup titles. Togo will go places," said commentator Guy Yovo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Dub13 wrote:
    I think they will do well,they have a great midfield I would like to see them play Stevie G "in the hole" on till Wayne wounder is fit.The biggest obstacle to them doing well IMO is that thing they call a manager.

dont think so Paul. who have they played of any worth over the last year. The only team I can remember is Spain and I can honestly say their great midfield didn't get a kick from Alonso and Zavi. no chance, quarter final at best. They are without doubt -EV :)

edit to say I backed Crouch for top scorer at 40/1, could have a squeak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Too late!! - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054925294&page=5&highlight=sweep

I really don't mind though..honestly!! I think I picked Ecuador cause I've been there once.. I'll go with Tunisia if you want! Or we could flip a coin or something. Any boardster out there wanna do a draw for me and lenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

careca wrote:

edit to say I backed Crouch for top scorer at 40/1, could have a squeak.

Now that's -EV!!!

ocallagh wrote:
    Too late!! - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054925294&page=5&highlight=sweep

I really don't mind though..honestly!! I think I picked Ecuador cause I've been there once.. I'll go with Tunisia if you want! Or we could flip a coin or something. Any boardster out there wanna do a draw for me and lenny?

Nah, you showed your hand first, I'll take Tunisia. Not that it matters, neither are good enough to do well, or poor enough to be the whipping boys (DeadParrot has that sorted, I'd say). :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Nah, you showed your hand first, I'll take Tunisia. Not that it matters, neither are good enough to do well, or poor enough to be the whipping boys (DeadParrot has that sorted, I'd say). :)

lol, ok - but if Ecudaor manage to win anything i'll split my profits!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

What I want to know is BigD locking in his profits from winning Brazil in the sweep by laying $85 worth of bets on them on Betafair?

I think the 5/2 price on them to win is too skinny. Any thoughts? Do people really feel; they will win 29% of the time? No team is more than one bad case of food poisioning away from losing don't forget and the Germans don't like losing.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Top Goalscorer - Robinho 180/1 on Betfair .... Ship It !

Culchie wrote:
    Top Goalscorer - Robinho 180/1 on Betfair .... Ship It !

I like Miroslav Klose (Germany) for Top Goalscorer,Germany are in a group with Costa Rica,Ecuador & Poland I can see them getting a few goals.You can get Klose @ around 22/1

Really can't see much better value than Crespo at 25:1 on Betfair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I have an interesting bet with my brother regarding Argentina and Brazil, I havent even looked at the odds on betfair so dont know if I am hanging myself but we have a last longer bet with me on Brazil and him on Argentina.

If Argentina outlast Brazil I owe him €1500
    If Brazil outlast Argentina he forks out €1000

Am I giving him a gift on this bet?

Originally I thought it was a fair price but I think I may have robbed myself now I have it written down..........

Jaysus, that's a lovely bet, even though I picked Argentina in the Sweep here, if I had first pick I'd have taken Brazil. I'm suprised he didn't want odds on that bet.

IMO Ronaldinho could win the World cup on his own, with a marginal team around him, never mind with players like Ronaldo, Adriano, Kaka, etc. around him...

VNH WP.

I have a similar bet with a mate where I have Spain and he has Holland, although think I'm on a loser with that one :( UL GG

Ste05 wrote:
    Jaysus, that's a lovely bet, even though I picked Argentina in the Sweep here, if I had first pick I'd have taken Brazil. I'm suprised he didn't want odds on that bet.

IMO Ronaldinho could win the World cup on his own, with a marginal team around him, never mind with players like Ronaldo, Adriano, Kaka, etc. around him...

VNH WP.

I have a similar bet with a mate where I have Spain and he has Holland, although think I'm on a loser with that one :( UL GG

I fancy Holland to do something this time, no player upheavals for a change.

I'm just praying they have their usual infighting and Spain actually perform to their ability this time.... :rolleyes:

Although with Ruud looking for a new club, I'm worried he might be on fire. :mad:

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ste05 wrote:

The odds are implicit in the 1500 vs 1000 wager (I nearly missed that too).

I think you may have mugged yourself Mr.P though I wouldnt want to match his bet :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I have an interesting bet with my brother regarding Argentina and Brazil, I havent even looked at the odds on betfair so dont know if I am hanging myself but we have a last longer bet with me on Brazil and him on Argentina.

If Argentina outlast Brazil I owe him €1500
    If Brazil outlast Argentina he forks out €1000

Am I giving him a gift on this bet?

Originally I thought it was a fair price but I think I may have robbed myself now I have it written down..........
    the bet is probably good for you, your brother could get 2-1 on betfair for the same bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

Dub13 wrote:
    I like Miroslav Klose (Germany) for Top Goalscorer,Germany are in a group with Costa Rica,Ecuador & Poland I can see them getting a few goals.You can get Klose @ around 22/1

Well spotted. Klose is my nap for top goalscorer. The chap is a machine up front he was injured for half the season yet he scored 26 goals in just 26 games in the Bundesliga.

Dub13 wrote:

Klose is of the mark already,get on him while his price is still good.I have a substantial bet on him.

Klose gets another one...good man.

DeVore wrote:
    Ye I did miss that :o , hmmm now it's a bit of a fairer bet.
    Dub13 wrote:
    Klose gets another one...good man.
    Ye I got Klose in a Top Scorer Sweep in my local, so hope he keeps it up...

I also like the look of this bet No Liverpool goalscorer @ 12/1.

Liverpool players at the world cup.

Peter Crouch
    Steven Gerrard
    Luis Garcia
    Harry Kewell
    Xabi Alonso
    Jan Kromkamp
    Jamie Carragher

No goals for the whole WC??

If so, NO WAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

I have a feeling jamie carragher may be the 1st on that list to score too!

I have a 20 match accumulator of first round games :D hopeful indeed but germany did the business in the 1st game. Just as well i studied form and removed poland from the bet at the last minute. 19572 euros when it comes in = my WSOP seat :D:D

Ye crazy result, HJ better remove his bet as he only has $1 risked so far...

DeVore wrote:

I think you may have mugged yourself Mr.P though I wouldnt want to match his bet :)

DeV.

I thought I made it as clear as I could.

Yes I may well have mugged myself but am quietly confident as if I had to choose a side of the bet I think I would still pick Brazil: Ronaldihnio, Robhinio, Ronaldo, Kaka, Emerson ....... and Dida in the sticks, how can it be anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

If Argentina get out of their group I think they'll outlast Brazil. I think they're the best team in the competition personally, solid everywhere with plenty of inspiration. Their group is just plain nasty though.

The tournament whipping boys prize is looking interesting after Trinidad & Tobago got a draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I thought I made it as clear as I could.

Yes I may well have mugged myself but am quietly confident as if I had to choose a side of the bet I think I would still pick Brazil: Ronaldihnio, Robhinio, Ronaldo, Kaka, Emerson ....... and Dida in the sticks, how can it be anyone else?

If its any piece of mind Brazil went into this tournament 5/2 and Argentina 9/1.

I think the bookies know what their doing.

Good bet you have i say.

I think the bookied know what their doing.

And England are second favorites @ 6/1 vilifying my choice in the Sweep.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Dub13 wrote:
    And England are second favorites @ 6/1 vilifying my choice in the Sweep.;)

Vilifying or validating? :p

England haven't a snowballs chance in hell. In fact I'm just on my way to betfair to take on all these 6/1 backers.

Dub13 wrote:
    I also like the look of this bet No Liverpool goalscorer @ 12/1.

Liverpool players at the world cup.

Peter Crouch
    Steven Gerrard
    Luis Garcia
    Harry Kewell
    Xabi Alonso
    Jan Kromkamp
    Jamie Carragher

Alonso just Fcuked this one up for me,good man Xabi :(

Spain looked good today....its looking good for you Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

every team has played at least once and its shaping up to be a great tournament.
    Germany on top at the moment, but to be honest look very poor defensively and can't see them lasting.
    England looked really shaky in the first match and they need a good display today to up the confidence. I just don't see them gelling. They can win the group playing badly, but they wont get to the final doing so.

Brazil were disappointing, but im sure they'll pick up the pace.

The Italians* have looked the best so far :D , with Argentina**, Spain and Czech republic following closely behind.

my re-arranged top 10:
    1 Big Dragon = Brazil
    2 Jimbling = Italy
    3 Poker Bratt = Argentina
    4 Aces Mike = Spain
    5 Culchie = Holland
    6 IonaPaul = Czech Republic
    7 Dub13 = England
    8 Daithio = Portugal
    9 Hector = Germany
    10 TrueDub = Mexico

thoughts?

*perhaps thats a bad sign.... what with Italians normally been slow starters and all that.
    **Didn't actually see that game, but have been told they looked very sharp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Dub13 wrote:
    Alonso just Fcuked this one up for me,good man Xabi :(
    Bad beat thread ?????? Wheres a mod when you need them???? :p;)

Unless Germany improve they won't get too much further than the knockout stages, England likewise (though only one game isn't much to judge them on). Spain looked ace, the Czechs flattered to deceive a little, as their opponents the USA never showed up. Brazil had two lazy (and one fat) strikers that didn't do a thing.

I think Spain or Argentina are the ones to watch...on the back of their 1st games anyhow!

ionapaul wrote:
    I think Spain or Argentina are the ones to watch...on the back of their 1st games anyhow!
    Have to agree with you there... I'm feeling confident about my boards WC bets so far. $100 with HJ that Spain make it to the 1/4 Finals :) and Argentina in the Sweep, :) although this post should surely jinx the lot... :mad:

Anybody want to swap teams...?

They didn't look very convincing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

New favourites: Argentina, what a sensational performance.