Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gas

• 06-06-2006 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭

I'm an idiot.... what does GAS mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭The Boarder Man

To me it means: Gear Acquisition Syndrome
    i.e. A somewhat cumpulsive desire to buy stuff. Normally relating to guitar gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

It's a communicable disease that you can get by hanging around the Instruments board too much. Symptoms are usually an obsessive need to buy more guitars, amps, effects and other musical related gear. Other symptoms include taking lots of pictures, and talking a lot about said gear instead of actually playing it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

Hehe, I didn't know what GAS meant either.

Slaanesh wrote:
    Hehe, I didn't know what GAS meant either.

We all have to find out somehow. I asked Doctor J what it meant once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

Doc J is very often the instigator. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

They used to use it on wholenote and I was surprised to see it appear here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

I've seen the use of the acronym GAS on many sites. I believe it was even referenced on the Simpsons.

"What's the matter Marge?" "It's GAS isin't it" "Is it Marge, is it GAS" :D

Ok. I'm goin...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Ancient1 wrote:
    This is true :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

Urban Dictionary held the answer for me.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=gas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Guitargeek.com is where it originated, then spread rapidly to harmony central forums then to whole note

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Ancient1 wrote:

Hey, steady on! I have a medical problem :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

gaffmaster wrote:
    I'm an idiot.... what does GAS mean?

When you get it....You will know

Doctor J wrote:
    Hey, steady on! I have a medical problem :D

Yeah, you're patient zero!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

GAS is when some skank in Japan finds a brand new 2004 J-Custom with maple neck (not a lot of JCs with maple) lying around in the warehouse, and youve just bagged a different JC the day before...GAS is intelligent and evil you see, and preys on you when youre at your weakest...
    1.jpg

PS- Someone buy this guitar quick, save my poor credit card!:mad:

How much is it?

A few pints under E1600 (all in) id say, didnt do the sums too carefully cos im not really in a position to buy any more guitars for a while. Ive always liked that model, see the 'real life pics' on ibanezresgister -
    RG8570MVV_003.jpg

Thankfully I'm not too phased by it. Maple fretboards are a huge, huge turn-off for me.

Yeah, if i only had one guitar, it wouldnt have a maple fingerboard (twould be ebony).
    I dont have only one guitar though, and variety is the spice of life ;)

Anyway, it wont be finding a home here, its just gas (geddit ;)) the way you wait ages for a new guitar and two you like come along at once...

Yep, true enough. It's like when I nearly blew my amp savings on the Parker. :eek:

I love maple. love it

Yep, true enough. It's like when I nearly blew my amp savings on the Parker. :eek:
    Heresy man! how many frets did it have? 22 you say?!:confused::confused:
    wrote:
    I love maple. love it
    Id nearly try and shift one of my amps to buy it (thats the last new one ill come across id say, and i havent seen any second hand yet), only there doesnt seem to be much of a market for amps here at the moment, judging by the amount of nice gear lying unsold for ages on these pages(and Karls crazy knock down prices for his mesa a few months ago...)

im always interested in amps!

Heresy man! how many frets did it have? 22 you say?!:confused::confused:

No no, 24 frets. All good. ;)
    Id nearly try and shift one of my amps to buy it (thats the last new one ill come across id say, and i havent seen any second hand yet), only there doesnt seem to be much of a market for amps here at the moment, judging by the amount of nice gear lying unsold for ages on these pages(and Karls crazy knock down prices for his mesa a few months ago...)

Yeah, seems guitars = good for second hand, but amps = ?

I ended up making nearly enough to afford the Engl, so it all worked out okish in the end. Shipped on Friday, so new toy for my during the week. :)

wrote:
    im always interested in amps!
    Ah well, interest doesnt pay the (j-custom ;) ) bills though does it?
    The only one that would generate any interest here would be my mesa studio 22+, but i like it too much to sell. The sophisticated likes of THD dont hold any interest among the fanboys here...(joking...maybe :D )

No no, 24 frets. All good. ;)

Yeah, seems guitars = good for second hand, but amps = ?

I ended up making nearly enough to afford the Engl, so it all worked out okish in the end. Shipped on Friday, so new toy for my during the week. :)
    Congrats, J-custom into an ENGL, nice:) I hope you gig with that bloody thing though, its a sin (and a waste of money;)) using an amp like that as a practice amp..

I hope so too. Besides, I've got the almighty Microcube as a practice amp.

I gigged my fernandes last night over the tokai. Was my first time using it with the 6101 and it was unreal. Guitars are for bloody playing!

Whats the amp bargain voodoo?

Amp bargain? what amp bargain? :D

Im poor. I just bought a new tele, you can tell me! And im too lazy to read through the 595 music equip ads in the b&s

Apologies for the paranoia...GAS is a strange beast...:D

I think i need to be institutionalised, with this summer job i have I can buy a Les paul standard every month! Damn GAS!

My advice is to spend it all while you can!!

As soon as you finish school or college or whatever you do, youll still be raking in the moolah, but youll have to be all 'mature' and sh*t, and save your money for mortgages and car insurance etc.

Even worse is the dreaded 'girlfriend/wife syndrome' where a bag of crisps and a quicky behind the bicycle shed is no longer enough, and the lady of your life tries to 'convince' you to spend your disposable income on kettles and hoovers etc... or stupid romantic (ie overpriced) dinners. We all know the famous line 'Is that another new guitar? What about our holiday in xxx?'

As Eddie Hobbs would (or wouldnt, ive no idea who the fecker is TBH..) say - SPEND SPEND SPEND!!

Yeah, the gf is claiming her territory already, she 'invited' me out to the cinema next weekend followed by a nice romantic (ie expensive) meal since i got this new job...
    I was gonna buy a car, but then I said no because it'll consume all of my income probably on petrol and 3.5k on insurance even though the car itself would only be bout a grand. Im just gonna "invest" my money in guitars instead. I NEED a jap 62 tele and LP standard at least by the end of the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

whats gas?
    THis is GAS! -> http://www.edromanguitars.com/featured/wbg.htm
    whats everyone's favorite (if any)
    i lurve the look of the mystery-caster for some reason

Ed Roman's a wanker

i never met him so i cant tell

Edit-freaks link pretty much sums up what i was getting at

eh, i wasnt commenting on his personality, just that he makes nice lookin guitars. jesus, alot of agro going around, chill out lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭Shanannigan

i see one can't talk about GAS without eventually gettin round to postin pics of their Aquisitions

Acquisitions eh?

62-custom-black_m.jpg

Heres a better pic except mine is black like the first shot. '62 RI CIJ tele custom

japcustred_m.jpg

:eek: GASSSSSSSSS :eek:

Aquisitions eh?
    Picture004.jpg
    Picture022.jpg
    Edit-new pics.

Unusual to say the least, you buy it?

Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

I thought it ment "Guitars Are Sexy"...

Aquisitions eh?
    Picture004.jpg
    Picture022.jpg
    Edit-new pics.

Oooh, I like that! 'Tis got Pacman on it, so what's not to love? :D

Haha, never even spotted the resemblance. Ah good old pacman....them were the days...

Tis a nice guitar alright, thanks. Theres so many of those 'bog-standard' J-Customs floating around these days Karl ;) that i figured i should get something a little more special...:p

True, but even in spite of the maple fretboard, it's quite spectacular. Where in god's name did you get it? I'd honestly love something that whackey. Infact, I was looking on ebay a while ago to see if there was any of those John Petrucci Ibanez models floating about. Those were funky.