Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The new "bigger" grounds around the country

• 05-06-2006 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭

I was in Pearse Park in Longford, to see Dublin play there on Sunday. The newly improved and larger Pearse Park that is. While it is new and improved, there would appear to be scope to make it a lot bigger. A lot of the grounds around the country seem like that. I was on the East terrace. Looking across at the stand, there were not very many rows of seats in it. Ok, I am used to being in Croke Park, but being in grounds like this and seeing them on television, so many of them seem to have stands like that. They also always seem to have a corner completely undeveloped or a terrace that is nothing more than a hill, without even steps. There were quotes of up to 17,000 being there. That is still quite a small capacity for a ground, even in a small county. When they were redeveloping it, they surely could have brought it well over 20,000 even up to 25,000, couldn't they?

Fair enough, they may not get huge crowds in them normally, but with larger grounds, they could accommodate more and put themselves foward to host bigger matches. We don't need huge grounds in every county of course, and it would be uneconimical. There should however be a few particularly large grounds in each province. We've seen how the Ulster Final has been brought to Croke Park in the past two years because Clones would not be able to hold the crowds. Somewhere like Thurles, the second largest ground in the country, certainly has a lot of scope for development. A Munster Hurling Final always attracts a lot more than it can currently hold.

So, what do you think? More larger grounds around the country? The GAA wants to expand the game. There is a policy of bringing more games out of Croke Park this year, but maybe to assist that, additional capacity should be provided, and we should not see any county grounds with vacant corners and goal ends of grass and rubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

It is difficult to justify developing grounds, for one game every few years. Even this years Ulster final will probably be played in Clones, and it certainly would if Armagh were not involved. There is a need for a largish ground for qualifier games etc between Ulster counties and Connacht ones, perhaps Longford would meet the bill here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

Pearse Park impressed me on Sunday, it was in a lovely condition. As for the size of it, there certianly is scope there to make it bigger, but is it really needed. I'd be quite certain that longford dont fill it during the year, and then for the qualifier games etc., in Leinster alone we have O'Moore park in Portlaoise, Pairc Tailltean, and Croke Park for double headers etc. I think ULster could do with developing a really big stadium, maybe a 50,000 stadium, but other than that, i think all over the country we are relativly ok whenit comes to stadium size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 caks1999

The new sports stadium for Northern Ireland at the Maze site in Belfast will be a 42,000 all-seater arena but I can't see the thinking behind a stadium that will host soccer, rugby and GAA. A Gaelic pitch is fully forty yards longer and a good ten yards wider than a soccer pitch - imagine where the fans will be for the soccer, it'll be like the old Wembley.

Anyway, that's besides the point. A lot of money is being spent on re-developing Celtic Park in Derry but it will still only hold around 20,000, which is as big as Derry requires. The Ulster Final has only been taken to Croker for the past two years because Armagh were there and are always well supported. Donegal saw it as a day out in 2004 and Tyrone........well, they're Tyrone, they just hate everyone and they only turned up to see Armagh beat :D .

Clones is big enough the majority of the time - look at the games that have been played there thus far in 2006, it has yet to be filled. If the Ulster final is taken away from it again, the stadium will have been all but redundant all year.

Leinster has Croker, while Pearse Park, Pairc Tailteann and Parnell Park are all good back-ups. Munster has Thurles, Pairc Úi Chaoimh and the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Connacht has Markievicz Park, Castlebar and Pearse Stadium. There are more than enough stadia around Ireland to comfortably host what the GAA offers every year - double headers are often required to fill the grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

caks1999 wrote:
    The Ulster Final has only been taken to Croker for the past two years because Armagh were there and are always well supported. Donegal saw it as a day out in 2004 and Tyrone........well, they're Tyrone, they just hate everyone and they only turned up to see Armagh beat.

I was at that game and certainly did not look at it as 'a day out'. To me, it was a game where I believed we had a very good chance of getting the win.

Don't let your rivalry with Tyrone get in the way here. They have tremendous support and aren't afraid of a bit of travel.

I agree with your views on the Maze site. GAA pitches are much bigger than the other two. Personally, I don't like Clones and I would be in favour of developing Casement Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

Connacht has Markievicz Park, Castlebar and Pearse Stadium

Ahem, are we forgetting the great Pairc Doughlas de hÍde in Ros Comáin?? 35,000 capacity...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Ahem, are we forgetting the great Pairc Doughlas de hÍde in Ros Comáin?? 35,000 capacity...
    Wasn't very impressed with it when Cavan played there last year to be honest tmt. Very run down in places and you have to walk past a couple of training pitches along with other obsticles to get there. Some very dodgy toilet facilities too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

caks1999 wrote:
    A lot of money is being spent on re-developing Celtic Park in Derry but it will still only hold around 20,000, which is as big as Derry requires.

Derry needs a county gound in south Derry.. its bull**** to have a gound in Derry city which is never used. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 caks1999

Derry needs a county gound in south Derry.. its bull**** to have a ground in Derry city which is never used. :o

I think it's bull****, as you so nicely put it, that South Derry people seem to demand that the county games be played in their 'half' of the county. For your information, Doire Colmcille and Séan Dolans play their club games at Celtic Park week in, week out, including underage. Hardly "never used," most club pitches wouldn't see as much action.

The ideal place for a stadium is at the head of the Glenshane - right where Glen are situated. It's in South Derry (which should keep yous happy) but it's close enough for North Derry fans. A fan from the city would have to drive for nearly an hour to get to some South Derry grounds, and I know that works both ways. But Celtic Park is there, it's more than big enough for Derry's at times feeble support, it is used regularly and it's cost a hell of a lot of money. It's sort of like it or lump it for the fans - the county board have spent so much money on it that discarding it now would be disastrous. It just won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

I was also in Longford, nice ground, I think capacity is perfect. Apart from one intercounty championship match and a few leauge matches most grounds will not be filled to capacity in any given year.

In munster there are several mega grounds, the Football and Hurling Finals get rotated but even then Limerick wont sell out, Killarney wont unless its Kerry -v- Cork Thurles will for a Hurling Final but not much else. Most of those grounds are too big all other times. Kilkenny and Wexford have good capacity, Tullamore is getting a fine new stand. None of these grounds can pay their way, that's why there's always concerts and the like being held unless you've got a JP McManus!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Hyde Park is a great Venue, as is Castlebar, Carrick on Shannon and Sligo. (Dr Hyde my favourite)

All nice traditional grounds, perfect size.

Pearse Stadium in Galway, whilst modern it is a disaster, Tuam stadium is the home of Galway football.
    The stadium in Salthill fair enough will also be able to handle festivals, concerts etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Culchie wrote:
    Hyde Park is a great Venue, as is Castlebar, Carrick on Shannon and Sligo. (Dr Hyde my favourite)

All nice traditional grounds, perfect size.

Pearse Stadium in Galway, whilst modern it is a disaster, Tuam stadium is the home of Galway football.
    The stadium in Salthill fair enough will also be able to handle festivals, concerts etc.

Well the hyde is my favourite too :D Was the venue for many a good long over due, bating in 1994 ;) Liatroim Abu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Culchie wrote:

I didn't think much of it either when Cavan played Mayo there last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Spengman

I think what the GAA should do is maybe select 2 grounds in each province for development/modernisation, we have a ludicrous situation at the moment where every county is basically competing with each other! a pathetic "we want a bigger ground than you" argument!. Obviously every county needs a ground capable of holding championship games but only 6 or 7 larger grounds are required for the major matches( provincial finals,all Ireland quarter finals , bigger qualifying games etc) Here in munster for example around €5 is being spent on fitzgerald stadium in killarney to bring its capacity up to around 55,000, clare have also plans for a 35/40,000 capacity stadium, this is totally unsustainable, limerick spent €12 redeveloping 3 sides of the gaelic grounds 4 years ago and it hasnt been even close to being filled yet, you could count the number of big games played there on 1 hand. Its the same story this year almost every single hurling game of note was played in thurles, league qfs, sfs, final, 2 munster championship games and the munster final to come, Pairc ui chaoimh to a lesser extent has also been left out in the cold!. I think what the munster council should do is rotate the munster hurling final between thurles,limerick and cork regardless of the 2 teams involved and whatever home/away agreements they might have, i think its the only way of ensuring every venue gets a fairer spread of games!

A lot of venues are in serious need of modernisation, semple stadium is a relic basically and needs a serious overhaul and pairc ui chaoimh could do with a bit of an upgrade aswell,the gaelic grounds is fine except for the mackey stand, what a scandalous structure, id love to meet the person who designed it! I think croke park needs to play a bigger role in funding ground developments, its a bit unrealistic for county boards to be expected to come up with such vast sums to redevelop grounds, i think any major improvements (new stands etc) should be funded by the central council!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Lemlin wrote:
    I didn't think much of it either when Cavan played Mayo there last year.

It's Unaminous then, the Cavan supporters don't like Hyde park ... hee hee, it was a traumatic experience alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

Culchie wrote:
    Hyde Park is a great Venue

I agree:D

Contae Galliamh
    County Galway
    Name of Ground Pearse Stadium
    Town Galway City
    Capacity 35,000
    Contact .

Contae Galliamh
    County Galway
    Name of Ground Tuam Stadium
    Town Tuam
    Capacity 30,000
    Contact .

Contae Liatroim
    County Leitrim
    Name of Ground Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada
    Town Carrick-on-Shannon
    Capacity 13,500
    Contact .

Contae Maigh Eo
    County Mayo
    Name of Ground McHale Park
    Town Castlebar
    Capacity 35,000
    Contact .

Contae Ros Comáin
    County Roscommon
    Name of Ground Hyde Park
    Town Roscommon
    Capacity 25,000
    Contact .

Contae Sligeach
    County Sligo
    Name of Ground Markievicz Park
    Town Sligo
    Capacity 13,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭redmosquito

I, having been to Hyde park many times and having played there a number of times, think that the place is a bit of a joke.

The camera side stand is ok, the seats are a bit dodgy!
    The rest of the ground is a bit of a tip, the dressing rooms aint great by any means and as for the glass on the top's of the walls, fair enough it keeps tight feckers who dont want to pay out, but there are bound to be less dangerous ways of doing that i.e good stewarding staff!

McHale park, despite being in need of a small bit of a revamp, is far superior (and if im not mistaken, the Hyde was the ground that the GAA decided to invest so much money in, in the early 90's) and Pearse Stadium is ok. Tuam is a dive altogether

On a side note, two grounds in each province were supposed to get money for floodlighting, was it McHale park and Pearse stadium that got it in connaught???

I, having been to Hyde park many times and having played there a number of times, think that the place is a bit of a joke.

The camera side stand is ok, the seats are a bit dodgy!
    The rest of the ground is a bit of a tip, the dressing rooms aint great by any means and as for the glass on the top's of the walls, fair enough it keeps tight feckers who dont want to pay out, but there are bound to be less dangerous ways of doing that i.e good stewarding staff!

McHale park, despite being in need of a small bit of a revamp, is far superior (and if im not mistaken, the Hyde was the ground that the GAA decided to invest so much money in, in the early 90's) and Pearse Stadium is ok. Tuam is a dive altogether

On a side note, two grounds in each province were supposed to get money for floodlighting, was it McHale park and Pearse stadium that got it in connaught???

Ya I think it was. Hyde isn't that bad. Good big pitch. From what you said about the dressing rooms, i presume you mean the old ones because the new ones are on a par if not better than most around the country (except of course pearse stadium, croke park and some others). I agree however about the glass on the walls.

The Hyde got some money from the GAA, but sweet feck all

Castlebar was built on a giant FÁS scheme and is a joke - there's shag all cover for supporters and the seats are like something out of a stadium in the 1940s (remember when they painted the seats and all the paint came off??)

Salthill was built as a white elephant by the galway gaa and the connolly brothers and had to be bailed out by O'Cuiv and the government. Its a pity they didn't develop Tuam Stadium as the ground and town had a great atmosphere on matchdays

The reason the Hyde isn't getting floodlights is due to Roscommon GAA's financial problems last year and nothing to do with the quality of the Hyde as a venue.

Theres a terrific atmosphere in the Hyde particularily for good games with a good crowd (connacht final 2001).

1998 replay vs Galway?

2000 vs Leitrim (even though we lost)

agree and hopefully 2006 V Galway. C'mon the Ros

Nothing beats this place for a game, both in the stands and on the pitch when you are playing. You get a perfect view from wherever you are in the ground...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Nothing beats this place for a game, both in the stands and on the pitch when you are playing. You get a perfect view from wherever you are in the ground...

Have to say im a big fan, views all round are class and the pitch looks top quality although ive never played n it. As for Hyde Park, ive never experienced it first hand but it looks a tidy enough ground with a lovely spacious playing surface.

remember in 1998 when Roscommon moved the sideline in about 4 yards on both sides in the Hyde to make the pitch narrower? after Galway had moved the sidelines in Tuam nearly into the surrounding fence!!

is that Breffni Park? Its a pity Cavan aren't stronger, cause i'd prefer to see them doing well than the likes of Armagh and Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Salthill is the biggest joke in that it's impossible to get to. Traffic normally goes all the way back to Clare-Galway by 12pm on match day and there are no other routes. Nice stadium but often it's over sold. Three years ago when Mayo played Galway (in the pissing rain I might add), there were people having to stand in the steps that were for the exit ways all over the place.

Castlebar is a great stadium with a great capacity (35k) but the stand is absolute cack. Thankfully it's being redeveloped after the county board leased the grounds from Castlebar Mitchells. So the poles which normall stop the view wont be there any more. The other good thing abot Castlebar that it is all seater, albeit that the seats are long concrete slabs.

castlebar_mc_hale.jpg

Hyde is poor enough. Easy enough location to get to, but pretty poor facility wise. Markievicz Park is decent, but it's not really what you'd call a stadium with no stands at either end behind the goals (only hills).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Culchie wrote:
    It's Unaminous then, the Cavan supporters don't like Hyde park ... hee hee, it was a traumatic experience alright.

It was indeed, many of us couldn'tcope with moving from a top quality stadium like Breffni to a 1960-style farm yard ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

Salthill is the biggest joke in that it's impossible to get to. Traffic normally goes all the way back to Clare-Galway by 12pm on match day and there are no other routes. Nice stadium but often it's over sold. Three years ago when Mayo played Galway (in the pissing rain I might add), there were people having to stand in the steps that were for the exit ways all over the place.

Castlebar is a great stadium with a great capacity (35k) but the stand is absolute cack. Thankfully it's being redeveloped after the county board leased the grounds from Castlebar Mitchells. So the poles which normall stop the view wont be there any more. The other good thing abot Castlebar that it is all seater, albeit that the seats are long concrete slabs.

castlebar_mc_hale.jpg

Hyde is poor enough. Easy enough location to get to, but pretty poor facility wise. Markievicz Park is decent, but it's not really what you'd call a stadium with no stands at either end behind the goals (only hills).
    Hills as viewing areas are much under rated. they give a much better atmosphere than concreted terraces. Granted there's some safety issues with lack of exit paths and barriers. Grounds like Tullamore, with side long hills, generate more chat between supporters, when not so full kids can kick a ball about, swing a hurl etc. Of course, lying down getting a decent tan during 1/2 time of the warmup game, is all par for the course.

Look at the grounds that have been "upgraded" recently.
    Limerick, lost most of it's atmosphere and charm.
    Portlaoise, 1/2 done, with no concrete walkways to the stand, and they've sold their car park for posh housing.
    Birr, build a new stand, but sold all spare area for housing, and again no concrete walkway from turnstile to stand.
    Parnell Park, made it too small, with loads of fiddly coverings rather than a bowl shape. Kilkenny, again no concrete walkway to the new stand. rainy day you have to watch for the mud and puddles.

The only decent upgraded ground I've been to recently is Mullingar, nice tar/concrete routes in and out, decent toilets, decent terrace. Now, if only it wasnt in Westmeath

remember in 1998 when Roscommon moved the sideline in about 4 yards on both sides in the Hyde to make the pitch narrower? after Galway had moved the sidelines in Tuam nearly into the surrounding fence!!

I remember that alright but i thought it was that Galway narrowed the pitch in Tuam coz Ros were used to wide pitches such as the Hyde. Then Ros widened the Hyde even further. The thing about the Hyde is maintenaince. Unlike other counties there is nobody employed there for general maintenance. all work is voluntary.

As for Pearse Stadium, its in an awful location. The parking is poor, and the wind destroys alot of games there. Impressive terraces however,

no, definitely Roscommon made the Hyde pitch smaller - Roscommon had a bigger team that year and the smaller pitch suited them. It nearly worked too, only for Derek Thompson to mess it up.

now ur bringin back bad memories. the hand pass in extra time straight to a galway player. that was all forgooten when gerry lohan scored in 2001 against mayo.

at the same end too

what was Thompson up to that day? We only lost by those 3 points in the end!

anyway, roll on Sunday

How do you think they'll do? possibly an upset on the cards??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Fitzo

Markievicz Park is decent, but it's not really what you'd call a stadium with no stands at either end behind the goals (only hills).

actually a fantastic you terrace has just been built at the town end of the ground and it really makes it look like a premier sporting venue...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Livewire304

spare a taught for us poor Louth fans!

Well... You do have Oriel park! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Livewire304

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Well... You do have Oriel park! ;)

ha ha oh that is a whole other can of worms. lol

Went to Louth last year for a match. I was pretty full (6000 or 7000) but there was a great atmosphere and I like the way the stand is part of the pitch (no separating wall). Oh and we lost. Wolud love to c louth beat tyrone.