Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metallica play complete Master Of Puppets album live

• 03-06-2006 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭

Apparently Metallica played all of Master Of Puppets at Rock Am Ring tonight. The stream wont work properly for me though. Hope this will be on youtube soon enough. Can't wait to see Disposable Heroes and particularly Orion played live.

Interestingly Dream Theater played a cover of the same album before but it sucked. Amazing musicianship but lacked the incredible energy Metallica still play those songs with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

Interestingly Dream Theater played a cover of the same album before but it completely ruled!

Fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Well I thought the Dream Theater version was good enough when I heard the audio but then I seen the video of them playing the title track and they all just stood there. No energy, particularly from the lead singer. James Hetfield has to play guitar as well as sing and he still does more running around then the DT dude. Plus as far as I remember they played it at a similar speed to the original album version, which seems slow compared to the Metallica live version. That song has been copied by so many bands but the original live version from bootlegs during the Cliff Burton era is still the best by far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Running around does not a live show make

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

In fairness, even though I'd probably prefer Dream Theater to Metallica, DT's version of MoP was fairly limp. Stick to your own stuff lads, it's what you're good at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

In fairness, even though I'd probably prefer Dream Theater to Metallica, DT's version of MoP was fairly limp. Stick to your own stuff lads, it's what you're good at.

Oh I dont know about that, I thought they did an excellent job. A few of the solos were off, but other than that it was fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

isn't that show supposed to be on MTV today/tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

isn't that show supposed to be on MTV today/tonight?

Doesn't look like it

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

It's being covered by MTV Central/Germany.

Unfortunately, MTV UK&IRL don't play music anymore unless there is some hope for coverage on MTV2 UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,799 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

It was shown "Live" last night. It said Live but i was watchin the stream of it and it was about half an hour ahead. Telling my cousin what was comin up next. Ruined it for him. But anyway, great set, would be happy with that next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Running around does not a live show make

Ok, not running around literally but just some energy. Limp is a good word for it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

It was on MTV2 for an hour last night, but yes 30 mins delayed, and how annoying is is to watch the first hour of a 2 hour plus concert, just when you would be into it they end, I was copying the feed - which was very very patchy sound wise, but the gig itself was very good, looking forward to them, and will enjoy not hearing St.Anger stuff......
    MTV ended it really badly too, no announcements nothing, just ended, they were showing the whole thing on MTV Germany.......

the show is around in a few places if you look for it.......

and I like the idea of them playing MOP from start to finish.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

They're playing a whole album right through? I suppose that's good for Metallica fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

cant wait to hear this in full, will be very good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 the clansman

i think the dt version is very good....a bit i dunno.....stiff or something at times though http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lu6QVA7Zhq8&search=dream%20theater%20playing%20metallica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Well, I just watched it there, my god, they butchered Orion. Kirk and Lars are totally off, on everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Damn, I was really looking forward to hearing Orion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

Lars always butchers everything, hopefully there'll be less mistakes on Sunday.....but I enjoyed the set as a whole...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Everyone seems to think they'll be doing this on sunday as well....I certainly hope so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

Tonight's setlist in Berlin was:

Motorbreath
    Fuel
    Wherever I May Roam
    New Song
    The Unforgiven
    Battery
    Master of Puppets
    The Thing That Should Not Be
    Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
    Disposable Heroes
    Leper Messiah
    Orion
    Damage, Inc.
    - - - -
    Sad But True
    Nothing Else Matters
    One
    Enter Sandman
    - - - -
    Commando (with Avenged Sevenfold on vocals)
    Seek and Destroy

from www.metontour.com

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

They played Last Caress at Rock Am Ring also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭ether

Saw the Rock am Ring gig, they sounded good, not as tight as normal though. Lars ****ed up a few times and Kirk probably figures i've played these solos so many times who cares.
    Playing the album straight through brings something fresh, theres only so many times I wanna hear fuel or sad but true.
    Lets hope they play a new song, just a long as Lars leaves the biscuit tin lids in LA.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Kack imo, maybe the quality doesn't do it justice but I'm fairly certain my opinion won't change.
    What do ye think of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Agent Steel

Great-quality audio recording of new song available now:

http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/blabbermouth.net/news.aspx?mode=Article&newsitemID=53367

I'm not mad about it. Nice to hear a solo though.

What do ye think of it?

st. anger with solo's.... meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭funky_buddah

Well I thought the Dream Theater version was good enough when I heard the audio but then I seen the video of them playing the title track and they all just stood there. No energy, particularly from the lead singer. James Hetfield has to play guitar as well as sing and he still does more running around then the DT dude. Plus as far as I remember they played it at a similar speed to the original album version, which seems slow compared to the Metallica live version. That song has been copied by so many bands but the original live version from bootlegs during the Cliff Burton era is still the best by far.

I agree with you completely man, Dream Theater's version was musically excellent, but there was no energy whatsoever, they looked bored onstage, I wasnt impressed at all, and it should have been sped up a bit, it's not as if Dream Theater cant play fast! Although I have to say Petrucci looked to be struggling with the quick downpicked riffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Hallainzil

If you've ever seen their "Five Years In A Lifetime" DVD, you'll have seen them cover Damage Inc. with Barney Greenway from Napalm Death on vocals. Personally, I thought that it was quite decent, but was made hilarious by the fact that we see John Myung almost drop his bass with laughter when Barney starts to sing.

As for the MoP cover, I thought it was pretty damn good for a band with only one guitarist. And Mike Portnoy played the drum parts like Lars Ulrich does in his fantasies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

how many misfits covers do they do/have they done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hallainzil wrote:
    If you've ever seen their "Five Years In A Lifetime" DVD, you'll have seen them cover Damage Inc. with Barney Greenway from Napalm Death on vocals.

Saw that video before somewhere alright. And as soon as he starts, Petrucci's face lights up with a big grin. It was pretty hilarious alright, I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

They played all of Master of Puppets tonight aswell :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

They finally did what I thought they'd never do: play Orion live.

And who was that guy singing with them at some stage?

That was Jerry Cantrell, guitarist of Alice in Chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Aard wrote:
    And who was that guy singing with them at some stage?

Did you miss his introduction?

I'm so happy I heard Disposable Heroes, Orion and Leper Messiah live.
    Deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Did you miss his introduction?
    Yes, and not an AIC fan.

I sometimes wonder why everybody shouts for Whiskey at the end :\ . Ok so they did a cover of some Irish Trad, but am I the only one who wouldn't miss it?

I don't even like the song ! I knew they would play it and when they did I made my way to the exit, and thhe second Seek and Destroy was over I left. I was dying to hear Whiplash or something else from Kill Em' All other than Seek and Destroy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Class concert.

End of :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I sometimes wonder why everybody shouts for Whiskey at the end :\ . Ok so they did a cover of some Irish Trad, but am I the only one who wouldn't miss it?

Nah, I dont get the whiskey obsession either. Good song and all as it is, I came to see Metallica, not a cover, of a cover.

Anyway, Master of Puppets. OMFG, I was floored. Funny how the black stuff sounded so poor after playing puppets. No RTL which is a shame.

But holy bejasus, MOP from front to back. They even played it well, except for lar's weak double bass efforts.

11/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

Aard wrote:

No, I wouldn't miss it either. good version of a good song but there's other things I'd prefer to hear.

That said, it was a great gig, thoroughly enjoyable. did anyone notice the booing early in the set when James introduced Lars Ulrich? :p:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shinners21

I have to say I had the time of my life last night!!! Out of the 3 Talica gigs Ive been to it was the best, can't believe they played all of Puppets!! Amazing..... The tallica guys all seemed in top form, thought it was very cool when Jaymz brought out Cali and got us to sing Happy Birthday.... :D

Pity Korn cancelled but was delighted to see AIC on main stage!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭killswitch

great ****in gig man...pity security had no idea how to handle a metal gig and a lot of ppl got hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

Didnt think it was the best.Thought the 1st gig was better. Didnt like the new song. I actually left the pit at that stage cause I lost interest.
    2 things that keep bugging me about it.
    1. Anyone else notice that the front pit has alot of kids in it? People werent really going mad except 4 the main parts of songs. I was going mental the whole time and people were getting pissed off with me (****em).
    2 Did James and Lars look kinda old 2 anyone else? I know there gettin on in years and it doesnt affect the music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

They are in their mid 40's I would be worried if they didnt look old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

man im a half their age and cant play puppets a quarter as good ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

I thoguth it was good, the songs they played before Master of Puppets didnt really do that much for me.

But the album live, it was f**king class! Battery,disposable heroes live. Class :D

All in all though it was good, but does anyone else think that James should stop kinda... I dont know,trying to be funny or whatever.

I think the main word in the last line there would be "Trying". What happend to all of the abuse he gave the crowd ? That was funny ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Animal gig, seen them every time since they played in the top hat and yesterday was one of the best. Pity they cudnt turn it up louder tho!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

that was an amazing performance by metallica.
    was a pity about korn....i was looking forward to seeing them too.
    anyone know what happened? apparently jonathan davis fell through a window?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

apparently jonathan davis fell through a window?

No...
    Here is a letter that Jonathon wrote to fans:
    Jonathan wrote:
    "Hey everybody,
    I am writing this to thank everyone who called, or e-mailed me the past few days, believe me, they have been some of the scariest days of my life.
    This is the short version of what happened. I started getting these wierd bruises all over my body about two weeks ago. I was getting very weak after the shows so I saw a doctor in London on Friday. He took some blood tests and when the results came in they rushed me to the hospital.
    It turned out I have ITP. It's too hard to spell, but bascially it's a blood infection where because of an allergic reaction, I had some mediacation, my blood platelets, the stuff my bone marrow produces to help my blood clot, were really low. I mean, way low. Most humans have between 140 and 400 in their cells. I had 5... no joke... FIVE. If I continued to headbang on stage I could have had a brain hemorrhage and dropped dead on the spot.
    My doctors ordered me to remain at the hospital until they could get my blood in some healthy shape.

I want to thank the doctors, nurses and staff at The London Clinic, all the singers who performed with the band at the Donington festival: Corey from Slipknot/Stone Sour, Dez from DevilDriver, Jesse from 10 Years, Benji from Skindred, Shadows from Advenged Sevenfold, and Matt from Trivim. I want to thank my band and crew for all their love and support, my loving family and friends and most of all the fans, the best fans in the world.
    The doctors are telling me that each day I've been here in hospital my platelet count has been going up and I should be healthly to play in a few weeks. The doctors have cleared me to walk around a bit but I am unable to perform a show or travel right now. They will know more in a day or two but I want everyone to know that we will do our very best to come back soon to play dates we are unable to play this tour.
    Thank you,
    Love Jonathan"

jesus! hopefully he will get better!

daiixi wrote:
    I have to say great day yesterday by the bands but a poor effort by the crowd.

Seriously, what's with turning up to the main stage after Metallica started playing and they trying to push to the front? Also the people who would push past towards the front, then come back, then push past again going back to the front?!?!

Don't even get me started on the kids who were pissing into empty beer cups and flinging them at the crowd, fighting or the fecker who thought he could take advantage of there being so many people and rub himself against me (and then got insulted when I whacked him one).

Absolutely disgusting behaviour!

thats the downside to concerts daiixi, you always get muppets like that. where i watching metallica wasnt too bad, just to the right of the stage. now if i saw a kid pissing into a cup and throwing i would of decked the little shít!