Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What a day!

• 02-06-2006 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭

Well, I just a m after driving into town, to pick up some wiring bridges for installing my alarm tomorrow morning. But WOW... it some great day out. Sun is shining, roads are warm, tires are warm... I even almost got my knee down (if I had of had protection on my legs, I would have) Would love to be on a ride out right now....

Hmmmm... who wants to go on a ride out tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Count me in for tomorrow.

Providing I can get that F**king baffle out of my left pipe in time. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

I'm thinking somewhere in the wicklow mountins. Go for a lunch or something? However my knowhow of the area is limited. Anyone know some good spots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

K-TRIC wrote:
    Count me in for tomorrow.

Providing I can get that F**king baffle out of my left pipe in time. :D

wish i coudl do the same with my dragstar, not to keen on drilling holes in the Exhausts tho :(

might turn up though what time are ye thinking ?

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    wish i coudl do the same with my dragstar, not to keen on drilling holes in the Exhausts tho :(

might turn up though what time are ye thinking ?

I think Sutty is just trying to get a few heads together and then sort something out.

If you're there tomorrow I'll take a look at those baffles for you. You'd be surprised how easy it is to remove them without any drilling or hassle.

i'll deffo be surprised :)

sutty get off ure rear end where are we gonna meet up ?

im prob as bad 4 directions as he is though

Well I am thinking the Deadmans inn in Lucan (just accross from Liffy vally)
    access it coming from Dublin by going down the road to liffy vally, but turning to the right at the first roundabout there. Then off to the first exit on the second one right after it. Its a nice carpark. So anyone got any thoughts of nice places up the mountins?

As for time... say 1:30 and leave at 2. We can then grab food in a bar up in wicklow.

Sounds good to me. I'll be there for 13:30, and I'll bring my GPS just in case we get lost or need to find a bar ;) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Here`s a nice spin for you...I often do it. Head to blessington, and then up the Wicklow gap heading for Laragh. Then stop for a bite in Laragh, theres a spot with tables outside where u see plenty of bikes...
    Then after food. Head through the sally gap (bit bumpy though but nice).

Regarding baffles in the dragstar. I looked at taking out the ones in my old 650. Its a bit of a bastard. It does involve drilling.
    It was easier and to get a set of reasonably cheap straight through pipes.

That sounds like a nice day alright. Would you be able to PM me a route?

kk sounds ok.. not sure about the milage :rolleyes:

sume of us only have 250's ya know :( teh old tank only holds so much petrola

i might drop over to see ure bike though sutty :)

Sure 250's will get just as good a mileage out of its tank, as a 600+ would... It be good crack, sure ;)

This is the route by The Dokter (thanks, sounds great!)
    route through mountains
    First head to blessington,
    From M50 take Tallaght exit, and stay on N81 all the way to Blessington (straight road, nice and smooth)
    From blessington turn left onto R758 where it is signposted for "valleymount" As far as I can remember this is just after you go through blessington. This road will take you across bridges on the lake, very nice.
    You will eventually come to a T junction turn left for Laragh.
    Just stay on this road, this will take u past glendalough etc.
    When you get to Laragh, you cant miss the spot for lunch.
    In Laragh take the road signposted for "sally Gap" (left R155) On this road you are heading back to dublin, and there is only one junction, at the Sally Gap its self and you are staying on R155 heading to Glencree.
    You will come back into Dublin around Rathfarnham, just follow signs for the M50, and you will be sorted

When you look at this rout on the map it looks like it is quite short, but the roads are pretty twisty and slow, but a beautiful spin.

In Short... Off M50 for Tallaght. Head for Blessington.
    Turn left after Blessingon for Valleymount, Stay on road to Laragh, Turn left in Laragh for Sally Gap, and back to M50

Let me know if this makes sense to u!!

0861741475 if you need to ring/text me

get out of it i think she tops out at about 75 miles to the tank and it's time to fill her up then...msg me on irc when ure free sure sutty kk

ohhh any body know how long were gonna be out 4 ? have to be in town at 5 pm iirc :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    kk sounds ok.. not sure about the milage :rolleyes:

sume of us only have 250's ya know :( teh old tank only holds so much petrola

So wha? I'm on 250 too. Will be there unless some **** will happen :confused:

sounds gud did the math should have enough to get down there and back.

though it was further tbh, lets hope 4 open roads, no fecking Sunday drivers and no cops either :) c yis all @ 1:30 :)

hi there again! it was very nice to meet some new faces, get some proper food (i mostly live on that what comes in cans or packages - too lazy to cook). it was nice, relaxing spin through wicklow mountains too (I usually spin faster, longer and further :) )
    cheers guys, you're great! ;)

j@utis wrote:
    hi there again! it was very nice to meet some new faces, get some proper food (i mostly live on that what comes in cans or packages - too lazy to cook). it was nice, relaxing spin through wicklow mountains too (I usually spin faster, longer and further :) )

thanks j@utis had gud fun with u guys 2 day... got home n called my friend and she though it was 4:30 but instead it was 6:30 so upended not going, so i could have gone on with ye :(

ohh well

j@utis wrote:

;) Yeah , a great day.

We can't all keep up with the sports bikes :p

K-TRIC wrote:
    ;) Yeah , a great day.

We can't all keep up with the sports bikes :p

I'm not that very 'sports' yet: lack of experience and decent sports bike :o

Anyway it's nice not having to say 'another day goes to waste' ;)

j@utis wrote:

Anyway it's nice not having to say 'another day goes to waste' ;)

Exactly, we have to do this again soon. Maybe we can get Sutty to turn up on time :rolleyes:

K-TRIC wrote:
    Exactly, we have to do this again soon. Maybe we can get Sutty to turn up on time :rolleyes:

thats a big maybe

ok, I said sorry like a hundred times...

And it came back on me, with the sunburn (/me is hurting right about now!)

It was a fantastic spin, gonna get the pics and movies I made off the camera now. Really must do it again.

That GPS was good... untell you came to a town or some thing with a shap turn. It was too slow to update to tell you where to go. Shame. But I rathered the Aimless, directionless driving. It was good crack. Oh and that lad in the Helicoptor was NUTS!!!!

wtf helicopter .. damn it i missed all the gud stuff didnt i

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    wtf helicopter .. damn it i missed all the gud stuff didnt i

You missed all the really good stuff !!! There was also a troupe of topless belly dancers jogging in the Sally Gap. That really topped the evening off for me. :D

K-TRIC wrote:
    You missed all the really good stuff !!! There was also a troupe of topless belly dancers jogging in the Sally Gap. That really topped the evening off for me. :D

thats so typical ehh :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

Sounds like a nice ride. Does it include any nice bends for knee down?

Damn sounds great. Is it ok for stragglers like me to join in? :)

more the merrier nxt time sure...i doubt there's feck all going on 2 day thoguh

its a shame that there's not. But sadly the only person who knew where he was kinda going was K-Tric... and he is working today... (haha)

sutty wrote:
    its a shame that there's not. But sadly the only person who knew where he was kinda going was K-Tric... and he is working today... (haha)

Ah ha, I have a *cough* *COUGH* COLD !! ;) , So no work for me today

K-TRIC wrote:

Really now....
    That is a shame ;)
    So I take it you are in bed all sickly... and on such a nice day for a drive in all ;)

sutty wrote:
    Really now....
    That is a shame ;)
    So I take it you are in bed all sickly... and on such a nice day for a drive in all ;)

The sarcasm tag didn't work on my post :D

Work it out ;)

K-TRIC wrote:

The Shame :p

keep wrapped up warm now ok :)

Ok here goes again

[sarcasm] I have a cold so I couldn't go in today[/sarcasm]

er... I think your detecter is set to American mode there laddy... Try setting it to Irish ;)

hmmm anyone be interested in doing some of the leinster parts of the Photographic rally?

I wouldn't mind going out for a spin today, but I've no idea where. Definitly not the route we took last time, a bit to rough for my refined bike ;)

yea i'd be on 4 a spin tbh, any where would be gud with me .. sutty u have my mobile number still i assume .. so drop me a txt im off out to the gym 4 an hour or 2 now...

I dont apear to, send me a text with, my numbers on the first page :D

Anyone else interested in a spin today just leave a quick note here and I'll update soon when we get something together.

txt send 2 hours l8r :(

wh00t and a others good day driving. Along coast a bit and through Bray, then up to Glendaloack. (sp) for some food. Recked now. But very enjoyable.

what a pitty that I had to work today :(
    I'm always glad to join a spin around Bray.

ahh totally wrecked now.. but great fun.

even the run down the N11 was a good laugh, untill sutty decided to show us 6th grear :rolleyes:

Yeah , bloody fucked after that one. I clocked up over 200 miles over the past 2 days, thats some milage considering we didn't leave Dublin / Wicklow.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

well pooh to the lot of ye livin in dublin.

damn not havin any friends to go for a spin with down here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

count me in for the next one

madrab wrote:
    count me in for the next one

good stuff keep the old eyes open so

the little lady will be up this weekend. I'll be getting her to bring up her lid from her ole scooting days. Then will try get her some armor. So if anyone is interested. Might do it again this weekend on Saturday.