Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to ask her out?

• 24-05-2006 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭

I’m in Boston for 6 months on an internship. Started about 2 months ago. So Every morning around 10 I go for coffee in Dunkin Donuts. Dam good Coffee! There is this really cute girl behind the counter and I’ve always thought she was attractive but didn t really think much more of it. About a month ago she asks what kinda of aftershave I wear and after I told her. She said that its smells so nice and that she looks forward to me coming in everyday because its so nice and she likes to smell it. So I’m thinking hmmmmm this could lead to something. So for the past month been going in. She’s always smiling at me. Usually eye contact lasts about 2 or 3 seconds then one of us ends up turning away with a really cheesy smile on our faces. Asking How are you today? The usual small talk.

Now you gotta remember this is America and Customer service is a big thing so I’m thinking Maybe shes just being nice cos of her job and stuff.

So Monday she wasn’t in and I was like DAM. Tuesday I go to her counter and order my coffee. She takes a huge deep breath and say “I really love that after shave. Its so good.” My reply was just a big smile and a thank you. So I ask her did she have yesterday off. Shes says no she was sick but its nice to know you missed me. And I was like awwww well I hope you feel better. Usual small talk followed….

Today I go in and she’s all smiles and eyes again. But shes a little more dressed up then usual. Really nice earrings, A little more make up then usual, top slightly ajar to see her really nice pink top on inside her uniform. Again usual small talk.

So I ask, I’m I reading into this to much or is there something there? I wanna ask her out but I honestly don’t have the balls to just say “Hey wanna go out sometime?” I cant really ask the girl does she wanna go for coffee cos she works in Dunkin Donuts….

Any ladies that have been behind the counter for something like this? Do you just do it to be nice? Or are you really flirting with the guy thinking he might ask you out?

Plus its always really busy in there so there is never a quite time to just stop and chat!

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

Sounds pretty concrete, just take a chance and ask her out.. cause if you don't you'll always be left wondering!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Hey lad, are you a bit slow or what!! She definitely wants you, ask her out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

Hey lad, are you a bit slow or what!! She definitely wants you, ask her out!!

I wonder sometimes myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

If you don't I'll come over and ask her out for you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

aw its like the guy and girl in the film what women want....
    and in the olsen twins yoke...
    go for it, she seems to really like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Just slip her your phone number on a piece of paper when you're getting your coffee. Simple!

lasair wrote:
    aw its like the guy and girl in the film what women want....
    and in the olsen twins yoke...QUOTE]

yeah, the whole thing smells of chesse alright! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭RainbowBrite

Yea, defo ask her out, what you got to lose?

You're only there for 6 months & it's Boston, there's other coffee shops (if she says no)

But I don't think there's much of a chance of her saying no tbh.

Hey, you could ask her out for a coffee (make a joke out of it which would lessen the nerves a bit for both of ye)

Go for it, you know she wants you to

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

You're in like Flynn!
    Nice one my son...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yeah, I reckon ya should ask her out too. Even if she rejects you and you feel completely humiliated, there's probably another dunkin donuts around the corner. damn things seemed to be everywhere when I lived in Boston.

Larianne wrote:
    Just slip her your phone number on a piece of paper when you're getting your coffee. Simple!

Thought of that one but i dont wanna come across like a right loser! (which ya, I totally am like, But i dont want her to know that!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

call it rosemantic instead of cheesy

OmegaRed wrote:
    Thought of that one but i dont wanna come across like a right loser! (which ya, I totally am like, But i dont want her to know that!) :)

I think that'd be so cool though not loser-ish at all. Its obvious that you both are giving each other the signals. Just one of you has to make the move. Sliping her your phone number be well cool and its something they do in America all the time. I got asked out in my local Subway in Chicago. Pity the dude was around 40, I declined to give him my number and never ate a subway sandwich in there again! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭RainbowBrite

Larianne wrote:
    I got asked out in my local Subway in Chicago. Pity the dude was around 40, I declined to give him my number and never ate a subway sandwich in there again! :D

Not very confidence inspiring!!!!!!:D

Well there's a difference. She's obviously coming on to him, commenting on his aftershave and he fancies her. And I'm guessing he's not a 40 yr old man goin after a 20 yr old girl.

Anyway, OP, DO IT!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭le-dub

Ask her out 2moro morning. There is no doubt she is interested, all she can do is say no ( which im betting she wont) Let us how it goes and dont waste anymore time in asking..:)

Larianne wrote:
    Well there's a difference. She's obviously coming on to him, commenting on his aftershave and he fancies her. And I'm guessing he's not a 40 yr old man goin after a 20 yr old girl.

Anyway, OP, DO IT!!!!

I'm 21, i'm pretty sure shes around 21 aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Ok Omega I would wait until something iregular happens again like her missing a day or you purposefully don't go there tomorrow so then the day after she will ask you were you sick.....got it

This is your opporyunity to pounce and have a little longer conversation, you could say you were really busy at work blah blah and ask her how her day is going.

then just say something like " I don't want to be too forward or anything but I was wondering if'd like to catch a movie or dinner some time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Static M.e.

Hope you have asked her out by now!!

The most important thing here is the DD coffee, I use to love that stuff so much ... (happy coffee memories)

Defo ask her out. Infact less talk and more asking!!

Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Ask her does she want to get a coffee some day :)

You're in there you fool. Dont dawdle - DO IT!!!!!!!

yeah, i think i'll do it alright! But she finishes early everyday at like 1. I'm sure she strats pretty early in the morning.

I'm going away for a few days and the flight is tomorrow night and i'm not back till Tuesday night. I'll see her tomorrow but theres no point in asking her out and saying o wait we'll have to wait till next week cos i'm gone for the whole weekend. So i'll just wait till next Wed morning.

Seems a bit far off doesnt it.... Hmmmmmm

Id does alright. Sounds like procrastination! You could just ask her if she is free at her lunch break tomorrow! Whatever you do though, don't disappear until wednesday without saying something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭cerebis

nike had a catchy slogan...what is it again???

Just do it! good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Maybe it is a goo time to ask her. It might be good not to come across too keen. Ask her out, tell her you're away at the weekend but would she like to do something next week. Get her number and tell her you'll call her when you get back. Means you also get to know her a bit before you actually go out. At the end of the day if she doesn't go for it then you haven't lost anything and you will have gained a bit of confidence to ask a stranger out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I've became fairly attached to this short story, updates would be welcome OP!

As everybody else has said, go for it. Ask her to see a film or summat, and boom! Happy days.

yeah i want to know how this one ends up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Definitely a change for PI. No angst, no tears and snots, no anger, spelling mostly correct, all in all very positive. Give here some corny line about making up for lost time or something when you come back and ask the girl out. We will be expecting updates so good luck.

Don't go to a film with her. This is a horrendous idea for a first date! Sitting in a room with a complete stranger, and not conversing for ~3 hours, is a big mistake. Go for a drink or a walk instead. Again, good luck!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

Sounds like you should definitely make a move!! Just be casual and say ''would you like to go for a drink sometime?''. Let us know how ya got on! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭observer

why on earth is this an issue. what on earth have you got to lose. my god everyone knows that she must be interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Ask her out for dinner ..you can never go wrong with good food and vino...

Boston eh i'm thinkin your workin for Fidelity :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Daddio wrote:
    As everybody else has said, go for it. Ask her to see a film or summat, and boom! Happy days.

I agree he should ask her out but a movie is a bad idea dude.

First date + a Film = I have no idea who you are.

You need to go somewhere you can talk to her to see what she's like and if you like her. Best of luck mate.

I don't think the cinema is a bad idea! I went on a first date with someone there..did a bit of shopping for a while afterwards.. we could talk about the film so it got the convo going nicely!

Ask her out for dinner ..you can never go wrong with good food and vino...

Boston eh i'm thinkin your workin for Fidelity :D

Hmmmmmmm May Identity may have been revealed.........
    But no, its not fidelity, your getting warmer though....

Well its only 7.50a.m. here and i usually head over around 10! So I’ll update ye all then. Man i feel like there is pressure on me now from all you guys! :o I didn’t get this of my friends I'm living with! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Kermitt

Do It Do It Do It Do It Do It Do It Do It Do It Do It Do It!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Yeah mate definitely go for it, just ask her would she like to go out sometime. The amount of signals she's giving you is unbelievable, less of the excuses and head over there and ask her out.

Ask her out maybe for a drink or a meal, that should go down pretty well, and don't ask her out for coffee (I'm sure she is probably sick of coffee at this stage).

Don't forget to come back here and fill us all in.

the time is a fast approaching, you the man, I hope it goes well for you dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Am I the only one who's getting a hankering for Donuts reading this???

Rooting for you, dude!!!!!

YEAH!!!! So i just came back. Been reading everyone’s comments this morning, Thank yous! I know your all gonna think i chickened out but I didn’t. Was already to go over and ask her number and did she wanna go for dinner and when I got there see wasn’t there! S**t! I'm gone tonight till Tue night so I wont be over there again till Wed morning. I'll keep ye updated though.

So disappointed! :mad:

Ah that's a pity!! Bet you were all psyched up and all! Well good luck with it next time then!

Bet you were all psyched up and all!

Yeah I was!!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

OmegaRed wrote:
    Hmmmmmmm May Identity may have been revealed.........
    But no, its not fidelity, your getting warmer though....

BEA ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

L5 wrote:
    BEA ?

does it matter?

on-topic/ this is such a sweet story! hope it all goes well, keep us updated anyway!

L5 wrote:
    BEA ?

Colder now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭cordelia

Lookit, as an amerikan, I assure you, again and again and again, that she wants you to ask her out. Please, in memory of all the times I have had to deal with an Irish man who takes FOREVER to finally ask me because he keeps talking himself out of it or not taking advantage of the moment I have created (before I finally gave up and started asking Irish men out myself first, a quicker, more efficient technique for the foreign gal) please, please, please, please, and again, please just ask her out!
    End her torment! And yours. And ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Exar Khun

This is why I like boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

Idiot....if there was a retarded forum you would be a mod.....get in there quick...before someone else snatches her up...you know she likes you....let us know how you got on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

dude, whats the aftershave?.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

Enjoy the weekend in Miami! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

0utshined wrote:
    I agree he should ask her out but a movie is a bad idea dude.

First date + a Film = I have no idea who you are.

You need to go somewhere you can talk to her to see what she's like and if you like her. Best of luck mate.
    Good point, but if they walked about or talked for a while beforehand it could be alright. Perhaps a second or third date possibility...