Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goal Calcutta Run this saturday

• 23-05-2006 12:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

i'm running this 10k run dis sat??
    anyone else in on it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Calcutta is a bit far away for me at this short notice.

Any other details about the run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

well if you haven't been training for it, then ya it's definitely too late.
    its on this saturday.2 pm. starting blackhall place[in calcutta of course]. around the phoenix park etc.,
    its for charity and its 10 kms.
    matt cooooper is doing some pre-race event. bbq after.
    should be good craic. looking forward to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Any links? Might run it for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Can people register on the day? If so what's the deal with that? Where, etc, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

Here's the email i got from organisers::::

All runners and walkers must register before the Run to take part.

Registration for the Run will take place between 12.00 and 1.30 p.m. at The Law Society at Blackhall Place. The Run starts at 2.00 p.m. but PLEASE COME AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE to ensure that we can get everybody registered in good time for the 2.00 p.m. departure. Registration will close at 1.30 p.m. sharp. There will be music and a warm up by TODAY FM DJ Matt Cooper's personal trainer Karl Henry prior to the race so why not come early to enjoy the pre-Run build up.

Please make sure to bring your sponsorship card and money with you on the day so that we can announce our grand total on the day.

If you cannot manage to return all of your sponsorship money on the day please send it to "The Calcutta Run" c/o A&L Goodbody Solicitors, IFSC, North Wall Quay, Dublin 1 as soon as possible afterwards.

NB: Cheques should be made payable to "The Calcutta Run"

There will be NO PARKING in The Law Society on the day.

However parking is available for 1,000 cars in the Smithfield Development Car Park on Queen St for a flat rate of €3 for all participants and supporters of the Run. Its 2 minutes walk from the Law Society. In addition each user will be given a free all day pass for use on another day.

To get there:

From Northside; drive down Queen St, entrance 150m from where you enter Queen St on Left

From Southside; come across James Joyce Bridge (white bridge), drive past the Law Society, take next turn right, then the next right into Queen St and entrance is 150m on Left.

CLOAKROOM

There will be a cloakroom and bag-drop facility at Blackhall Place at which you can leave track suits and other small items while you are on the run/walk, at your own risk. Note that there are no changing room facilities or showers at Blackhall itself - so you will need to arrive in your running gear. Don't forget warm gear for after the Run.

Walkers remember to bring warm gear and waterproofs depending on the day.

SAFETY

Safety is a priority. The Gardai will be escorting the lead car and runners and closing roads for approximately 30 minutes while the run is underway. We will also have stewards along the route. Because the walk takes longer, roads will not be closed for the duration of the walk and the walkers will be walking on and crossing roads that have traffic on them. Everybody must then exercise the normal care and attention and walk on the footpaths or on the grass in the park. Please obey the instructions of stewards at all times.

Participants take part at their own risk. Neither the organisers nor the charities can accept responsibility for any loss, accident or injury occurring on the day.

EATS AND DRINKS

When we return to Blackhall the "warm down" will commence. There will be goodie-bags and a commemorative T-shirt for all participants. There will be music and refreshments available, as well as a barbecue. The barbecue will be a mere €5 per head for what will be an extravagantly delicious feast! Only the first 1,500 are guaranteed a feed!

The famous Guinness Jazz Band will be on hand back in Blackhall after the Run to provide entertainment and our resident DJ Mark O'Neill will also be there.

We look forward to seeing you all on May 27th!