Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Irish DJ

• 18-05-2006 3:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭

This should generate some interest,over the years ive liked a lot of Irish DJ's there is some real talent out there and some of them should've made it big but didn't cos Ireland is a smaller country compared to the UK or Germany,anyway probably the most underated and IMO the best is Liam Dollard,i remember him from the glory days of Sides in the early/mid 1990's,to the Temple Of Sound,etc,etc,etc and he has always been top notch,and i love his style of House Music as well.

There are obviously many more quality Irish DJ's out there like Mick Walsh,Johnny Moy,Francois,Warren Kiernan,David Holmes (although he lost the plot a few years ago making mad music for film soundtracks)Paddy Sheridan,Mark Kavanagh,Billy Scurry,Col Hamilton, etc,who's your fav then?;)

ps-not forgetting the langers,quality dj's Greg Dowling and Shane Johnson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

yea m8 liam dollard brillant seen him a couple of wks ago & he was exelent but my fav wud b warrne k had so many gr8 nites in da asylum wit him & even in da kithchen on a tue nite,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

DUB1 wrote:
    yea m8 liam dollard brillant seen him a couple of wks ago & he was exelent but my fav wud b warrne k had so many gr8 nites in da asylum wit him & even in da kithchen on a tue nite,

Kitchen on a Tuesday nite GENIUS wasn't it :D f*ck me i went almost every Tuesday for over a year,madness,needless to say i didn't hold down a proper job in those days:o :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

SiSi (110th Street) definitely spring to mind... don't think i've ever had a bad night out when those lads are playing. they outshine big name guests most of the time.
    Jon Averil is definitely someone i'd like to see again
    and i <3 Dancepig's style of tunage

props to Mark Kavanagh as well, he pretty much single handedly started off my love affair with Hard House:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

DJ Tom Payne

he's well overrated:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

larry gogan

jonny68 wrote:
    Kitchen on a Tuesday nite GENIUS wasn't it :D f*ck me i went almost every Tuesday for over a year,madness,needless to say i didn't hold down a proper job in those days:o :D
    lol i know wat u mean da say wit me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭topdog8

you would have to give al gibbs credit he has made some funds from what he is doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭holton

Liam Dollard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

of the older guys probly Francois

newer kids on da block
    Sunil Sharpe
    Joe McGrath
    Travis Bickle (Mark White)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Jay Carey & Ed Case for me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭CTRob

Liam Dollard and Ed case :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Back in the day: Francois

More recently: Sunil

bit hard to pick ONE, so this is the cream of what i've seen. in NO particular order

Francois
    Phil(th)
    Al Redmond
    Al Gibbs
    Ken Tobin
    Neal Scarborough
    John O'Callaghan
    Bryan Kearney
    Al Keegan
    Ben Carvosso
    Darren Flynn
    Jay Pidgeon
    Warren K
    Sunil Sharpe
    John Berry

Can't pick one because thru the years i've been into so many different genre's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Wow, noone has mentioned Robbie Butler yet! :D :eek: :confused:

...I'll get my coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭manufan

Mick Walsh didn't have the best reputation when it came to mixing but he wasn't bad either but when it came to sets he has to be up there.

I remember friday nights in the Harp, (Subzero). Mick was always on form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Fish Go Deep (never seen them but their sets that I've heard are quality)

Rob Hawk (this guy & the no longer running 12ten night in general inadvertently got my into house music good and proper!)

Al Keegan (after the first night of Acii Disco Al Keegan's name can officially be found in the dictionary under the word "wreckage") :D

Simon F (always a good man for the party breaks and old skoooool.....)

Skkatter (he's always been technically good I really enjoyed his set in Acii Disco a while ago in terms of the tunes he was playing. He's starting to branch out a bit style-wise which is a good thing)

Arveene (saw him wreck the gaff a few weeks ago in the Sunday canerfest aka Mixed Salad in McGruders)

Giles wrote:
    Arveene (saw him wreck the gaff a few weeks ago in the Sunday canerfest aka Mixed Salad in McGruders)

:D sundays rock

manufan wrote:
    Mick Walsh didn't have the best reputation when it came to mixing but he wasn't bad either but when it came to sets he has to be up there.

I remember friday nights in the Harp, (Subzero). Mick was always on form.

I must disagree with you there mate i always thought Mick Walsh's mixing was spot on,i remember his sets from ther glory days of Sides in the early/mid 1990's and always top notch,used to frequent the harp myself sometimes but too many undesirables used to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Sunil Sharpe (great dj, not mad on his productions so far tho...)

Eddie Brennan (class with his minimal but loves to bang it out when he gets a chance!),

Donnacha Costello (runs the minimise label a division of kompakt, prob the most underrated artist here, hes huge in Germany)

Sian (great producer)

and prob a few more i cant think of....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Greg & Shane / Fish Go Deep and Stevie G....guess where i'm from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭manufan

I think Mick Walshe's mixes were grand to be honest. He only lives around the corner from me so i've grown up listening to his mixtapes and his NR:Gex Tapes. I've always thought that his mixing was decent but mates of mine weren't always impressed.

To be honest he was probably the biggest known DJ in Dublin during the sides, Ormond Period and you don't get that well known if you haven't got the whole package (mixing/good tunes).

I always enjoyed heading up to PA's in Dundalk aswell. Another good night where Walshe always rocked the place.

Johnny mate, i'm surprised about what you said about the Harp on Friday nights. I never had a problem with anyone. Everyone was pilled up and just enjoying the music as far as i can remember. Mind you, i went one saturday night and nearly got jumped on by 3 blokes for asking one of their girlfriends for the time. Never went to the Harp on a Saturday after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

micky mac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭holton

senan s wrote:
    micky mac

Saturday nights on 2FM are not the same without him. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭PRman

Mark Kavanagh was brilliant in his day. Anyone remember the 4th Dimension? Mad bast*rds!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

holton wrote:
    Saturday nights on 2FM are not the same without him. :D

"close the curtains, move over the sofa, turn up the bass, havin it large"

jonny68 wrote:
    I must disagree with you there mate i always thought Mick Walsh's mixing was spot on,i remember his sets from ther glory days of Sides in the early/mid 1990's and always top notch,used to frequent the harp myself sometimes but too many undesirables used to go there.

cum on m8 mick was always gud live but his mix tapes ffs esp his gravity mixes
    bringing tunes in all at da wrong time sure he was always out of it doing them i lik micks style of music always did esp da stuff hes making now pure banging i do
    go up 2 him & buy tunes & i buzz off him bout them mixes he dosn't giv a rats hes not in2 playing da decks anymore he just wants 2 make da tunes now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭smokes

mick walsh always had good tunes but his mixing wasnt the best,the beats always matched but the timing was all over the place

senan s wrote:
    "close the curtains, move over the sofa, turn up the bass, havin it large"
    "going out to all the ladies having it large in the shower":p
    as cheesy as his catchphrases were, he was definitely a major influence for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ian_B

I used to go to Sides, the Harp, Grouchos, Temple of Sound, The Kitchen and the Ormonde too. Sides was my favourite club though because of the music and the atmosphere there. I think Mick Walsh is a class DJ and I disagree with people who don't like his mixing style. I've always liked it alot anyway. I still listen to his tapes quite often especially whren I'm drivin even though I've had them around ten years. I've a few of his tapes Mp3'd and I'm lookin to swap for others. I've got Gravity 6 (my favourite one), Gravity 9, Earthrunner, Voyeurism, House Hallucinates, Spice Planet and Espionage. I also have a Pressure mix from the asylum, a couple of Edcase mixes and one Warren K. Most but not all these recordings sound the best (a few were taped from a friend who taped from a friend who etc.) but you can make them sound alot better with Winamp and a dsp plugin like Dee2 or izotope Ozone...If anyone has any similar old Mick Walsh, Pressure, Edcase, Warren K or Billy Scurry tapes Mp3'd and would like to swap, please contact me at ibrien@hotmail.com. Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 LowTek

Sunil Sharpe, Francois and Rob Moore are all pretty good. A shout should also go to Derek F.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

Sunil Sharpe for Techo
    Simon Conway for the sleazy Italo-Disco
    I'm liking DancePig as a producer at the moment but thats going off topic...

-A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

PRman wrote:
    Mark Kavanagh was brilliant in his day. Anyone remember the 4th Dimension? Mad bast*rds!!

4th Dimension... :D bezzie mates of mine from home... funny every time people bring this up...

Yous wanna have been in killarney in 1991 (jesus that long ago) when they invited Prodigy down to play... the town hadn't a clue what hit it :D

Newspapers next day "Never again... " blah blah

-A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 bill.fogarty

Robbie Butler is right good, any one know where you can get any of his sets?

Any clue where to get any Johnny Moy sets? Saw him support Mylo in waterford and he was nearly better than him...would love to hear some of there sets again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 IceBox

warren k class:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 cribos

I dont remember(not saying he didnt) Mick ever playing there and i played there for 3 years nearly every Friday(Harp) and Saturday in Tin pan alley!!

I remember friday nights in the Harp, (Subzero). Mick was always on form.[/QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭aidan kelly

I've quite a few favourite Irish DJs, so I'll list them here:

1. Billy Scurry - Brilliant selector of innovative music, excellent mixer and probably the most versatile DJ I've ever seen bar none. In my view, Billy Scurry is the most talented DJ this country has ever produced.

2. Fish Go Deep - A very close second. Musically or technically I don't think either Greg or Shane are better than Billy, but they create an amazing atmosphere wherever they play. Outstanding DJs.

3. Brian Chamberlain - Power FM were responsible for me getting into soulful music, and Brian Chamberlain is one of the best garage DJ's I've ever heard. His contribution to the Dublin scene was immense.

4. Shay Hannon - I've had so many good nights listening to Shay Hannon play that he'd have to be in a top ten of Irish DJ's for me. Blue at the Kitchen was the best house night Dublin has ever seen (with loose in the POD being a close second).

5. Mucca - Another Langer from Leeside, this guy plays beautiful soulful house music. Definitely one of the most under-rated DJs out there.

6. Steffan Hoffman - Steff played the deepest of deep house in Dublin. A great DJ and a lovely guy as well, I've always made an effort to check out his sets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 cribos

My Favs Change, Different DJ's @ Different times, but from 92-96 here are mine:
    1. Mark Dixon
    2. Liam dollard
    3. Dave McDonnell
    4. Pat Hyland
    5. Tony Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Havent seen any votes for Tony Fenton on here?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Philly.p

Warren.k for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Bondango

I've quite a few favourite Irish DJs, so I'll list them here:

1. Billy Scurry - Brilliant selector of innovative music, excellent mixer and probably the most versatile DJ I've ever seen bar none. In my view, Billy Scurry is the most talented DJ this country has ever produced.

2. Fish Go Deep - A very close second. Musically or technically I don't think either Greg or Shane are better than Billy, but they create an amazing atmosphere wherever they play. Outstanding DJs.

3. Brian Chamberlain - Power FM were responsible for me getting into soulful music, and Brian Chamberlain is one of the best garage DJ's I've ever heard. His contribution to the Dublin scene was immense.

4. Shay Hannon - I've had so many good nights listening to Shay Hannon play that he'd have to be in a top ten of Irish DJ's for me. Blue at the Kitchen was the best house night Dublin has ever seen (with loose in the POD being a close second).

5. Mucca - Another Langer from Leeside, this guy plays beautiful soulful house music. Definitely one of the most under-rated DJs out there.

6. Steffan Hoffman - Steff played the deepest of deep house in Dublin. A great DJ and a lovely guy as well, I've always made an effort to check out his sets.

Was just Browsing and found this Thread - so sorry for reserecting it.

Im from Belfast, and spent many nites in sides, asylum, Temple of Sound - Ormond.
    I agree with what people have said, but theres one missing from the lists - can anyone remember the Holy trinity back then....MOY - SCURRY - ?????

Well that ???? was a Belfast Dj Called Stevie Mckenna, and without any Doubt in my mind, was the most influential, crowd pleasing, tecnically proficent dJ that ever left a lasting impression on me.
    Im 40 now, and have never been moved the way Mckenna managed to move me..His sets were simply mind blowing, and back then he wasnt a youngster either, he had a mature elctronic head on his sholders and feck me did it show in his sets..

I used to stand at the DJ booth in the Ormond with a wee guy from dublin who done the sound/vision, every weekend we shared a few Pints togather (forget his name), and we were always Blown away by at least 4 tracks in his sets that were totally new to us.

One of them nights is still fresh in mind when he played Abfarhts - Come into my life, that sound system was amazing when it had the right track thrown at it - and that was one of them tracks :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭verdidnt

easy....Calvin James

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 gpromo

personally I think Luke Logan has to be up there if not the best techno dj around at the minute. If you dont believe me checj invisibleagent.com and download his sets!!!

Jaysus how come my old threads keep getting resurrected :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 chalky76

Walshy was the main driving force in dance taking off in 93/94....He got the sides/asylum ball rolling,Pressure & Warren are good freinds of his & Mick personally rates Warren as a world class DJ....However back in the day Mick used to draw great crowds whereever he played....for instance a wholeload of us in 95 used to meet in Finglas on saturday evenings & get a coach up to Dundalk(about 100) to Pa"s where mick had a brief recidency....Mick"s a top bloke,remember him doing sets on a friday in The Harp,whole load of us used to spend hours in his studio in his house in finglas getting stoned with mick ripping the decks & fair play he used to let us on them,used to spend hours in his shop near Abbey Discs by the bridge...A real gentlemen,live in London now & havent seen any of the lads for years & i wish them all well...UTAH SAINTS STAR (union jack)12"...Walshy allways used to play this & i LOVED it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭MrO

Completely agree with that and whoever mentioned Steve McKenna was spot on too. I think its fair to say that Mick & Pat would've been completely outclassed when it came to progress sounds or mixing ability however they were able to rocks sides in the later years - so hats off to them.

I think Billy Scurry and Johnny Moy were buying records that very few other DJs in the country would play (or could even get their hands on for that matter).

There were other DJs whose mixing was absolute perfection e.g Paddy Sherdian but they would rely for most part on banging out the classics. Which is great too - where the other boys had the edge is that they not only knew what to do in terms of mixing, track selection and building sets. They also played sh!t you didn't know but it just worked very very well......and thats what I think makes a good dj.

My 2 cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 chalky76

& everyone has their own opinion.....I was a Mick Walsh groupie as a young fella so i will allways be pro Walshy,however i can tell you honestly that MW used to fly to London every week for records,his sister worked/s for Aer Lingus & he used to get free flights to London,sometimes he would get his pal to drive over & meet him the other end at some obscure record warehouse & fill up with records for sale at his old shop near the hapeney bridge(used to be inside a mall)......in hindsight yeah Mick wasnt the best mixer but his hunger/energy/foresight around 94-97 was topclass,promoting gigs left,right & centre & as i previously stated he gave Eddie/Warren their break......FFS Mick & Warren were the Asylum at the beggining,stories he used to tell about that place were eyeopening,Ballyer tried to make a fool of him by not paying,mick & warren were all set to walk out & leave when sence prevailed & they got there money,afterall how else were Ballyphermot going to sell their yolkes with no music to dance too....!!The norm the next week & every week after was double Bubble for the DJ"s & allways at the start of the night instead of the end.......He also helped alot of young DJ"s to get a foot on the ladder,never scared to throw in a 19yr old novice jock as his warm up,personally making sure their name was ALLWAYS on the flyer credits & giving them a few quid from his pocket which he didnt have to do....My favourite track of all time was his sign off tune about 96/97 UTAH SAINTS (STAR) 12"Union Jack mix.....An animal of a track that used to get venue"s up & down the country rocking..!!

chalky76 wrote:
    & everyone has their own opinion.....I was a Mick Walsh groupie as a young fella so i will allways be pro Walshy,however i can tell you honestly that MW used to fly to London every week for records,his sister worked/s for Aer Lingus & he used to get free flights to London,sometimes he would get his pal to drive over & meet him the other end at some obscure record warehouse & fill up with records for sale at his old shop near the hapeney bridge(used to be inside a mall)......in hindsight yeah Mick wasnt the best mixer but his hunger/energy/foresight around 94-97 was topclass,promoting gigs left,right & centre & as i previously stated he gave Eddie/Warren their break......FFS Mick & Warren were the Asylum at the beggining,stories he used to tell about that place were eyeopening,Ballyer tried to make a fool of him by not paying,mick & warren were all set to walk out & leave when sence prevailed & they got there money,afterall how else were Ballyphermot going to sell their yolkes with no music to dance too....!!The norm the next week & every week after was double Bubble for the DJ"s & allways at the start of the night instead of the end.......He also helped alot of young DJ"s to get a foot on the ladder,never scared to throw in a 19yr old novice jock as his warm up,personally making sure their name was ALLWAYS on the flyer credits & giving them a few quid from his pocket which he didnt have to do....My favourite track of all time was his sign off tune about 96/97 UTAH SAINTS (STAR) 12"Union Jack mix.....An animal of a track that used to get venue"s up & down the country rocking..!!
    spot on they all got there tunes off mick as he was bringing in da tunes u cudnt get in abby or anywhere selling da tunes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

chalky76 wrote:
    Walshy was the main driving force in dance taking off in 93/94....He got the sides/asylum ball rolling,Pressure & Warren are good freinds of his & Mick personally rates Warren as a world class DJ....However back in the day Mick used to draw great crowds whereever he played....for instance a wholeload of us in 95 used to meet in Finglas on saturday evenings & get a coach up to Dundalk(about 100) to Pa"s where mick had a brief recidency....Mick"s a top bloke,remember him doing sets on a friday in The Harp,whole load of us used to spend hours in his studio in his house in finglas getting stoned with mick ripping the decks & fair play he used to let us on them,used to spend hours in his shop near Abbey Discs by the bridge...A real gentlemen,live in London now & havent seen any of the lads for years & i wish them all well...UTAH SAINTS STAR (union jack)12"...Walshy allways used to play this & i LOVED it!!

ahahaaaa....f*cking legend....I used never miss Pa's, smallest bloody club in the country.
    Walsh was great...still have a tape or two someplace. Al Gibbs did a guest set or two at Pa's as well.

But I was one for heading up north when I was into the scene....best DJ's for me, Glen Molloy and Robbie Nelson.
    Currently? I'm so out of touch with clubbing now and it's branched off in so many directions so I can't really say...remember a cracker of set from Phil Kiernan at the last creamfields that was just outstanding.

David Holme's first EM is still a joy to behold, but like someone above mentioned he went all funky and 70's on us and lost the techno....shame...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Currently top of my list would be Calvin James, Greg Wilson and Billy Scurry