Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 different charity clothes collection leaflets in my door in the last week?

• 18-05-2006 12:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭

ooh upgrade?

So did anyone anywhere specifically find out which of these companies were legit or why it's so popular at the moment??

we've got

Clothes Collector for Asian countries - Third World Asia
    Company reg no. 288434 ph 353857207557
    -
    Urgent clothing appeal - (with hands and woven cross symbol)
    for genoicide in Rwanda
    Chernobyl
    and Afhganistan enslaved women

C reg 412080 ph 08689247/0862048854
    colelctions by Hand collections services liimited Caritas www.icn.it

--

Irish Program of unwanted clothing collection (with shamrocks)
    for poor people

c reg 287899 ph 086214700

-
    Enable Ireland heavily branded leaflet and bag.
    -
    From Hands to Hands
    Clothes and toys for children (with every disadvantage listed you could think of)
    ph 0871221484

with vans going around one after another in the early hours of the morning, bit silly ain't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

All of the clothes end up being pulped for cash anyway.

There is a place up North that does it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I have heard that a lot of these people are not charities at all. They sell the clothes in poor countries for profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Jambo

Same story in my house I get a minimum of 3 stickers / bags and leaflets in the door a week , and I have noticed that members of the travelling community seem to deliver most of them in my area .

I must second what Beruthiel said about most collectors not being charities as if you reas some of the small print the say " some of the proceeds will be donated to x,y,z ) also the BBC done an investigation on this matter and exposed the whole scam involved in charity clothes collections.

Best bet if you want to donate clothes is sue ryder or SVP or a charity shop in your area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Litcagral

I also get lots of them usually delivered by dodgy looking chaps in unmarked Co Down registered vans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

They aren't charities. Any with just a mobile number throw it out. Check the others if you plan to do it. My advise is don't use them and drop the stuff into charities yourself. THey don't just get pulped they are sold for a private profit only a certain class of clothes get pulped.

All the suede and lether in Flip and the like is generally German clothes sold in bulk.

The other thing is they don't collect them sometimes even the proper charities which is even weirder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭giveth

I just use them as bin bags. I havent had to buy bin bags for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,613 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I read somewhere recently that a lot of these 'charities' are based in the North, and that the clothes get sold on for profit in markets etc. I agree with FillS. Don't support these - drop your stuff in to a recognised shop instead. You don't have to lug a black bag full in one go!

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

I almost never arrive home nowadays without a cheap plastic bag hanging out of the letterbox. No wonder the price of oil is so high with all that plastic being produced... oh no wait, that's just because of oil barons milking it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i know enable Ireland are a charity and i donated money to them for a couple of years. the rest just seem to be scammers though.
    i have 4 here now.
    "third world aid", "rose", "adonay" and one without a name on it.
    the adonay one is the only one with a company address on it. the rest just have mobile numbers.
    vinnie de paul all the way. at least you are assured that your donations are going to a worthwhile cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

If you've old clothes that you don't want lying about, line the bags with them and then put your ordinary rubbish in the middle, tie the bag tight and put it out for collection. Nice way to get rid of some rubbish and keep the ol' wheelie bin clear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

The majority of them are not charities. If it's a charity - you'd have heard of it, or there'd be a Registered Charity Number (eg: CHY 1234). Instead, they have 'registered company numbers', sell (or recycle?) clothes (Read the wording carefully-most don't claim to be charity. They just use the word 'donation' and people don't read them properly.) It's a lucrative business, hence the volume of notices.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I have checked out all the VAT Numbers and CHY Numbers listed for these "charities" not one of them exists. as far as i can make out its the travelling community and certain and eastern european nationals looking for clothes to sell, one of the charities, buys second hand clothes in bulk for their charities

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

If you log on to cro.ie - you can check the company registration number for free and on revenue.ie you can check the CHY Number (Charitable Status)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭base2

Yes, these lads are far from charities. The clothes they import into Africa have damaged demand for indigenous clothes and has badly hit some countries textile industries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Its just Pikies on the scrounge, as a previous poster said - use them as free binbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

There have been foreign folk going around collecting the enable ireland ones in our area on the day marked for collection before enable ireland have a chance to collect them. Felt sorry for the enable Ireland guy when he told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,613 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

My toilet won't flush. What do you reckon I should do? :eek:

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

they mosty aint pikeys, they are dodgy northern guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

giveth wrote:

I wish they still did that. They've stopped dropping the bags in, now it's just a sticker and you're supposed to provide your own binbag. Get about 3 of these a week aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

grrrr. the "Urgent clothing appeal" in association with CARITAS guy has just dropped yet another sticker in the door. The first time he dropped the sticker in, about 2 months ago. I did some research and discovered that this is a total scam. I spoke to caritas who said they are getting exasperated with him. They have spoken to him and told him he would have to stop using their name. They have also informed the fraud squad about him. They have also spoken to caritas in lithuania and while he did approach them some time back about raising money for them they have never heard from him again nor received any money. I reckon he probably has a stall somewhere. If he handed in a sticker that said "I am poor, do you have any old clothes my family could use or that I could sell to help feed them" then maybe (just maybe) I would actually give him something. It's the deceit that bothers me. Of course I hadn't the guts to go out and confront him...:o

I lost a (good) pair of shoes to these guys recently. Left them in the porch as it had been pissing rain and didn't want to muddy the hall. Gone within about 2-3 hours. Took me ages to figure out what must've happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

magpie wrote:
    I lost a (good) pair of shoes to these guys recently. Left them in the porch as it had been pissing rain and didn't want to muddy the hall. Gone within about 2-3 hours. Took me ages to figure out what must've happened.

Wow. Is it at that level now where they nick muddy shoes out of porches?

Either that or it was the shoe fairy - I'm assuming that any clothing 'left' in the porch is viewed by them as being left for collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

magpie wrote:
    Either that or it was the shoe fairy - I'm assuming that any clothing 'left' in the porch is viewed by them as being left for collection.

Along with umbrellas, small tables, plants, ornaments etc. :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Between these stickers, people calling to your door looking for your bank details and the really annoying feckers on the streets trying to pin your to the ground to get your attention, they are putting so many people off ever donating anything ever again. They are a bloody annoyance. If I want to donate to charity (and I do regulary) I will do it in my own time and to the charities I want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

who cares? they take the sh1t you don't want anymore, for free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭fobs

The problem is they often take out only the stuff they can sell and dump the rest. If your name and address appears anywhere on these bags you could be charged with dumping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I've 3 of those stickers so far this week. A total scam IMO. All the clothes I dont want go to Oxfam, not these pricks. Like everyone else here, I use the bags for my bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 evamonkey

They are indeed a scam and still running.

http://www.asai.ie/complaint_view.asp?CID=516&BID=24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

I am getting anything from 5 - 10 of these stickers a week.
    Programme on RTE about it last week. They put a tracking device into a bag that was left out for a genuine charity (Enable Ireland) . they then tracked down an unmarked van.
    They pressured the driver ( seemed russian or maybe latvian/lithuanian )to open the van and there was the bag.
    He admitted to getting 30 cent per kilo of clothes collected.

Alll of these stickers have a mobile number. If theres no landline then it has to be a scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

i filled one of those bags with dog **** and grass cuttings and left it out at the required date, they collected it

i think my dog poop is going to be DONATED to these con men from now on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I just throw the stickers out and hand the clothes in to charity myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Ewww... Necro thread

IBL W00T and all that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ellebelle

I am getting anything from 5 - 10 of these stickers a week.
    Programme on RTE about it last week. They put a tracking device into a bag that was left out for a genuine charity (Enable Ireland) . they then tracked down an unmarked van.
    They pressured the driver ( seemed russian or maybe latvian/lithuanian )to open the van and there was the bag.
    He admitted to getting 30 cent per kilo of clothes collected.

Alll of these stickers have a mobile number. If theres no landline then it has to be a scam

I saw that programme to and it made me so mad.

I have never left out a bag for charity collection coz i also was a bit dubious and now i'll never do it. Its a little bit of a hassle but i will drop anything in future to the charity shop directly. However i do know of one shop local to where i live where all the 'good stuff' is put aside for the workers or their family and does not make it to the shop floor - that kinda bothers me too. I don't know if they even pay for it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

sealed printed bags with land lines and full addresses
    CASA - also asking for helpers 01 8725300 / 021 4279840
    Liberties Recycling Training and development ltd

land line but shop location vague
    second chance recycling shop Tipperary Town

and 51 flyers none of which have a physical address and vauge aspirational stuff about what they do
    some have landlines but try tracing that to a rented house
    might stick the web sites up later

Is there any way of reporting the scammers to the revenue or corporation or guards and what laws are they breaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

There was a discussion about this on the Gerry Ryan show this morning. General consensus is it's a scam. If you are going to donate clothes to charity it's better to drop them into the charity directly (ie SVP, Oxfam, etc.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 day sleeper

i love the idea about ****ting in the bag..thanks for the tip!

had a feeling the leaflets were dodge and had no intention of giving them clothing...

interesting to read they picked up a pair of muddy shoes, patio furniture etc...they stole a scooter from outside our front door the other night. must just decide that anything outside is up for grabs.

now that i read the postings an all the leaflets weve had in the door i think its just an excuse to check out the area too. they always state to eave the bags out at night etc. after talking to neighbours there's been a good few break ins and thefts and lots of sightings of people coming and going in white vans. we chased them away this morning at half seven thanks o our dog waking us.

id plead with everyone to report anything they notice that seems unusual or suspicious and definatly call in any number plates that you obtain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

got one from www.orphanhomecare.org, this is like the fifth time in the last few days drivin me mad when i go to leave the house in the morn,dunno if their legit cudnt be arsed lookin em up,i just go to the charity shops and hand them in a bag of clothes,easiest way of not getting scammed and giving something to charity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

No they don't .

After getting flooded with the leaflets, I left out three sets of jocks I had used after the Xmas party,really badly skidded like the Athlone town goalmouth,and well crusted at the crotch.

Fookers never took them,and I risked neighbours seeing them.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Free binbags:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

It's the world we live in today; people obviously want to help honest charities that do great work but the blackguards and con-artists always throw a spanner in the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Palmy

Why is everyone getting so worked up?For me it's a good way of getting rid of all my old clothes that i am only good to chuck in the bin anyway.If you don't like it then just don't put the bag out.As another poster said they no first hand of a charity shop that staff take what ever they want.How much from these reputable charitys give in a percentage and what really gets there? Maybe 10-15% thats after there so called costs of chairman and directors salarys of 150k a year.Think about it people either way your getting robbed, not saying charitys are all bad just don't think they are all doing it for the great of human kind and getting nothing for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kajo

I am trying to trace a group of clothing collectors last known place they were renting a house was tallaght upto a few weeks ago.
    They have a number of vans (4 or more) and various colours eg white blue and red... red hiace.
    Group of about 5 - 9 guys.
    I am looking to find out where they are now... maybe they have rented a house near you.
    You can't miss them by the amount of vans they have.. please email me if you know where they are now.

Much thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Tazkelly

kajo wrote: »
    I am trying to trace a group of clothing collectors last known place they were renting a house was tallaght upto a few weeks ago.
    They have a number of vans (4 or more) and various colours eg white blue and red... red hiace.
    Group of about 5 - 9 guys.
    I am looking to find out where they are now... maybe they have rented a house near you.
    You can't miss them by the amount of vans they have.. please email me if you know where they are now.

Much thanks!
    Hi Kajo,
    These guy are now living in Navan in Cilforin, (not sure of spelling) and have an address in Balistown in Navan also. They have me tormented they are around every night between 4am and 5.30 and every morning 4 or 5 times, funny they dont seem to pick up the bags. but have me inundated with leaflets, I think they are sussing out houses to rob. they have a scanner cos when I ring the guards they break from normal rountine and are gone. In this really cold snowy weather thay seem to be more active as i have had 9 leaflets in the last 5 days. left out a test bag and its been there since friday, its now sunday and they have been around 3 times that i have seen in that time, and have not collected it, didnt leave it at my door but and empty house nearby. very dodgy. Why do you want to know where they are, you are probably them wanting to know if anyone knows where you live ?

Tazkelly wrote: »
    Hi Kajo,
    These guy are now living in Navan in Cilforin, (not sure of spelling) and have an address in Balistown in Navan also. They have me tormented they are around every night between 4am and 5.30 and every morning 4 or 5 times, funny they dont seem to pick up the bags. but have me inundated with leaflets, I think they are sussing out houses to rob. they have a scanner cos when I ring the guards they break from normal rountine and are gone. In this really cold snowy weather thay seem to be more active as i have had 9 leaflets in the last 5 days. left out a test bag and its been there since friday, its now sunday and they have been around 3 times that i have seen in that time, and have not collected it, didnt leave it at my door but and empty house nearby. very dodgy. Why do you want to know where they are, you are probably them wanting to know if anyone knows where you live ?
    Kajo,
    They also swap registrations around on the vans, and one of there regs was traced by the guards to a scrapped mishabishi colt. They have swapped a reg from a old mercedes white van to a old van with tinted window on the side. One of them was caught peeping in my neigbours window at 4 in the morning. The majority of people dont seem to notice them, but if you are aware of them you realise that they are around every night and every morning. My dog doesnt even bark at them anymore he is so used to them in the middle of the night. They are plagueing Blanchardstown at the moment. 10-1-2010

i love the idea about ****ting in the bag..thanks for the tip!

had a feeling the leaflets were dodge and had no intention of giving them clothing...

interesting to read they picked up a pair of muddy shoes, patio furniture etc...they stole a scooter from outside our front door the other night. must just decide that anything outside is up for grabs.

now that i read the postings an all the leaflets weve had in the door i think its just an excuse to check out the area too. they always state to eave the bags out at night etc. after talking to neighbours there's been a good few break ins and thefts and lots of sightings of people coming and going in white vans. we chased them away this morning at half seven thanks o our dog waking us.

id plead with everyone to report anything they notice that seems unusual or suspicious and definatly call in any number plates that you obtain.
    Have reported them and their number plates to the guards on numerous occasions, and dont seem to be getting support. I dont want them in my garden or at my windows in the middle of the night, they have themselves covered with local authority domestic waste collection permits. I know they are very dodgy and am taking their interest in my area seriously, I rang a legit charity Enable Ireland and they said they would normally cover an area once a month, these guys are polish and are around every night and every morning. What profit would you get from targeting the same houses every day every week for 11 months. I would be pleased to hear peoples feeling or experiences on this. Thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

giveth wrote: »

JONJO likes your style sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭thatsa spicy

JONJO likes your style sir.

And I like yours! Tesco can piss off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭iamskippy

Tazkelly wrote: »
    they have themselves covered with local authority domestic waste collection permits. .
    How do they get these permits if they are not legit. Why don't you complain to the local authority who gave them the permits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 StevieWarsaw

Reading your comments I am a little shocked

We are expatriates here in Poland and we are helping out a charity that provides last wishes for kids who are terminally ill. Poland is a poor place many of these kids have nothing. That's why as expats we decided to do better things with our spare time than what expats usually do. 2 problems crises left them short of cash and scammers stop help getting through.

Look at www.coalitionforkids.ca like the Canadians we help out FDF they rely on fund raising like clothes collections and we are well known for our charity back home so please don't give up giving just try to check out who your giving it to first. And putting dog #**t in the bag isn't helping anyone. We are not in competition with others and we don't collect where you are but there is a principle. I am just sorry scammers are undermining good work

One kilo of your old clothes makes a difference a massive difference here its just got to get through!