Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why some riders don't wave back .....

• 17-05-2006 12:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭

Top Ten Reasons Why Harley Riders Don't Wave Back

10. Afraid it will invalidate warranty.
    9. Leather and studs make it too heavy to raise arm.
    8. Refuse to wave to anyone whose bike is already paid for.
    7. Afraid to let go of handlebars because they might vibrate off.
    6. Rushing wind would blow scabs off the new tattoos.
    5. Angry because just took out second mortgage to pay luxury tax on new Harley.
    4. Just discovered the fine print in owner's manual and realized H-D is partially owned by Honda.
    3. Can't tell if other riders are waving or just reaching to cover their ears like everyone else.
    2. Remembers the last time a Harley rider waved back, he impaled his hand on spiked helmet.
    1. They're too tired from spending hours polishing all that chrome to lift their arms.

Top Ten Reasons Why Gold Wing Riders Don't Wave Back

10. Wasn't sure whether other rider was waving or making an obscene gesture.
    9. Afraid might get frostbite if hand is removed from heated grip.
    8. Has arthritis and the past 400 miles have made it difficult to raise arm.
    7. Reflection from etched windshield momentarily blinded him.
    6. The espresso machine just finished.
    5. Was actually asleep when other rider waved.
    4. Was in a three-way conference call with stockbroker and accessories dealer.
    3. Was distracted by odd shaped blip on radar screen.
    2. Was simultaneously adjusting the air suspension, seat height, programmable CD player, seat temperature and satellite navigation system.
    1. Couldn't find the "auto wave back" button on dashboard.

Top 10 Reasons Sportbikers Don't Wave:

10. They have not been riding long enough to know they're supposed to.
    9. They're going too fast to have time enough to register the movement and respond.
    8. You weren't wearing bright enough gear.
    7. If they stick their arm out going that fast they'll rip it out of the socket.
    6. They're too occupied with trying to get rid of their chicken strips.
    5. They look way too cool with both hands on the bars or they don't want to unbalance themselves while standing on the tank.
    4. Their skin tight-kevlar-ballistic-nylon-kangaroo-leather suits prevent any position other than fetal.
    3. Raising an arm allows bugs into the armholes of their tank tops.
    2. It's too hard to do one-handed stoppies.
    1. They were too busy slipping their flip-flop back on.

Top Ten Reasons Why BMW Riders Don't Wave Back

10. New Aerostich suit too stiff to raise arm.
    9. Removing a hand from the bars is considered "bad form."
    8. Your bike isn't weird enough looking to justify acknowledgement.
    7. Too sore from an 800-mile day on a stock "comfort" seat.
    6. Too busy programming the GPS, monitoring radar, listening to ipod, XM, or talking on the cell phone.
    5. He's an Iron Butt rider and you're not!.
    4. Wires from Gerbings is too short.
    3. You're not riding the "right kind" of BMW.
    2. You haven't been properly introduced.
    1. Afraid it will be misinterpreted as a friendly gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

good one but you forgot one for harleys its a bastard to control a tractor on two wheels

Or tuning into your lane when you get home to find your neighbour heading straight for you (on your side of the road) waving frantically .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

I was going to put a post about the Biker "acknowledgement" and sometimes lack there of. Like who does the wave or the nod? I my-self do the nod. However I have given up on doing it to scooter riders. As they are normaly "mary" on her way home from a hard day in the office.. or "Anto" trying to impress "Deco" or "Jacinta". But when you nod at someone, and you can see that they seen you. But dont respond. It gets on my nervs. Is it just me or does everyone find this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

sutty wrote:
    I was going to put a post about the Biker "acknowledgement" and sometimes lack there of. Like who does the wave or the nod? I my-self do the nod. However I have given up on doing it to scooter riders. As they are normaly "mary" on her way home from a hard day in the office.. or "Anto" trying to impress "Deco" or "Jacinta". But when you nod at someone, and you can see that they seen you. But dont respond. It gets on my nervs. Is it just me or does everyone find this?

I give the old nod to the fellow bikers (you can always spot them) and I just ignore the commuters on bikes.

K-TRIC wrote:
    I give the old nod to the fellow bikers (you can always spot them) and I just ignore the commuters on bikes.
    i salute all except mopeds even cops

babybundy wrote:
    i salute all except mopeds even cops

I salute cops too, its a different type of salute and I make sure they can't see me when I do it :D

right too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

hey what gives - NOBODY ever nods at me?!?!:mad: Actually while i'm at it if any of you work in east point, have a green virago and park down the back and were wondering why some strange girl was waving at you - i thought you were my friend who has a similar bike and similar old helmet to you!!:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :D

are you good looking

are you bald - the guy i was waving at was...

i'm not even in dublin i'm just wondering just to wind you up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ANTO D10 DUB

Feck off you not all ANTO's are ignorant , anyway's i agree with ye it seem's to be forgotten custom today .
    sutty wrote:

I Never nod to moped users, they mostly never nod anyway.

tk123 wrote:
    are you bald - the guy i was waving at was...

I work up near Oracle in East Point. I'll wave at you the next time I see you , what do you drive ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Always nod at real bikes but many don't nod back, which irritates me somewhat. Don't bother nodding at scooters and that. Nice to be nodded at first isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

lack of nodding & lack of thanking if you move over for them to pass annoys me

K-TRIC wrote:
    I work up near Oracle in East Point. I'll wave at you the next time I see you , what do you drive ?
    woohoo - a black marauder! my building is in front of munchies and rokoko - across the lake from ntl..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

Always nod or wave (depending on what speed I'm doing) - still alive and well for the most part here in the Midlands...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

K-TRIC wrote:
    Top Ten Reasons Why Gold Wing Riders Don't Wave Back

1. Couldn't find the "auto wave back" button on dashboard.

Enjoyed that one the most :D

I very rarely nod to anyone else on bikes these days but it's mostly that everyone else is either a courier looking pre-occupied, on a Beemer looking aloof, or a moped-ier looking panicked. Anytime I see another Triumph though I make more of an effort of course :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

I wave at all bikes, including scooters...we are all 2 wheelers!
    usually just nod when in city, cos no one seems to wave back.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

i dont nod coz i dont notice ppl <--- blondey! i shouldnt be left on the roads!

i nod otherwise. wave if i know them personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Finch-

I only somtimes get a nod from a fellow sports bike rider. Yes i know im drivin a Nsr 75 but i like to think its still a sports bike :D Sometimes when a fellow biker comes around the corner nods, then looks at the bike as if to say "hmmm should of pretended i didnt see him there" ;)

Im generally intimidated by ppl on bigger bikes, i never give the first nod lol :)

tk123 wrote:
    woohoo - a black marauder! my building is in front of munchies and rokoko - across the lake from ntl..

My first bike was a red Marauder 125, I loved that bike, but it didn't love me back :(

I'll keep an eye out for you ;) . I drive a metallic blue and cream Kawasaki W650 (looks like a Bonniville).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I not, flash lights or wave at everyone outside the M50. Inside is just rediclious, can't nod at every courier that you pass.
    ty: a girl on a bike is highly unusual! Marry me!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

Paparazzo wrote:
    I not, flash lights or wave at everyone outside the M50. Inside is just rediclious, can't nod at every courier that you pass.
    ty: a girl on a bike is highly unusual! Marry me!
    thre are lots of girls on bikes, some of us even carry male pillions :D

Tree wrote:
    i no several females on bikes unfortunatly one cant drive she doesn't have the confidence for a bike my opion is i only like to see a female driving a big bike cause i no she can handle it the problem with lads is they are willing to drive something they are not able to drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

I always nod, well almost always :) (but scooters don't count). I've noticed that sportsbikes' drivers nod the most. No matter than I'm not 'wearing bright enough gear'. Althought maybe it's because I drive sporstbike too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Tree wrote:

I know. I Get a lift from my Girlfriend on her CB-1 every once in a while.

Female bikers are soooo sexy, epecially the lesbian ones :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I'm a commuter scooter driver and i nod but never wave. I know its only a moped but i like the idea of a big brotherhood/sisterhood thing. Have only been on the road about 10 months now as i always drove a car but going into town everyday 2 wheels cant be beat.

I'll move up to something bigger in time but for now i love my aerox!

the rason there is no brotherhood on scooters is because you can drive them on the car licence and are used by people other than teenagers as way to bet traffic, parking fines if they weren't working in the city alot of those people wouldn't look twice at a bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I'm 28 and i come from a family how are big into there bikes. Uncles and cousins have scrambled for years and cousins have been on bikes since they can walk - I actually lost an uncle a couple of years ago in a quadbike accident and that put me off the idea of a bike. I've always been around them growing up but when i started driving i found the car handier as I have a wife and baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

not all scooter riders are evil! I ride an Aerox too and the reason I'm on a moped is because having never ridden a bike before i wanted something to help me get used to road position and traffic before i got something more powerful and with gears so I don't go out and become a statistic.

comer_97 wrote:
    not all scooter riders are evil! I ride an Aerox too and the reason I'm on a moped is because having never ridden a bike before i wanted something to help me get used to road position and traffic before i got something more powerful and with gears so I don't go out and become a statistic.

training - training - training. Thats all it takes. I spent the guts of 400 quid on lessons and they still benefit me to this day. The problem with scooters is the majority of the riders dont seem to care about themselves, ie riding on the inside of traffic = stupid. The fact that scooters can go 50mph de-restricted is pretty dumb too because it allows the younger, more stupid riders to hurt themselves more.

i agree that training is important but so is experience.

Being stupid on 2 wheels or 4 is not restricted to scooter drivers.

Well one thing training will help you with is spotting stupid rider drivers and avoiding them. Look at how many bikers and especially scooter riders go along with their feet dangling just off the ground. I go mad whenever i see that - if your balance is that bad buy a car.

Expensive? Well The 16 year olds i see have no problem paying to get their scoots derestricted, fitted with neons, uprated exhausts etc etc - so i dont buy the 'expensive' line. How much are you worth?

i didn't say anything about expense

comer_97 wrote:
    ce.

Being stupid on 2 wheels or 4 is not restricted to scooter drivers.
    i no its a different subject but with cars i think the should be restrictions the same as a bike licence 2 years restriction after passing the test

babybundy wrote:
    i no its a different subject but with cars i think the should be restrictions the same as a bike licence 2 years restriction after passing the test

I agree with that, it makes sense but making sense doesn't mean it is going to happen in Ireland.

comer_97 wrote:
    i didn't say anything about expense

Sorry, must have gone dyslexic for a second (expensive / experience). Experience is important too. It is pretty crazy that the only restriction to a young four wheeler is money. A 16 year old biker is not allowed a fireblade no matter how much money they have buy a 17 year old driver could get a skyline if they had enough $$$

the reason i say that is because i recently pass my car test and i can now drive a friends calibra cause his insurance says any full eu licence holder is insured to drive it scary if you new how i drive

Bear in mind that you may only be covered third party only on policies like that. I hope you drive sensibly!

still insured i wouldn't drive it cause i no i would lose my licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Afrosticks

this is a funny thread!
    I always nod... but every now and then i get annoyed with myself..when a few people in a row don't nod back.
    So then i think."right..I'm not nodding the next guy".

then horrifyingly, he comes flying around the corner giving you a big huge salute...fist in the air and everything...
    and its too late....cos you've already given him the big evil "No-Nod".

i feckin hate that..i sometimes even want to turn a swift 180..and go after him...to apologise ..Lol

anyone no of any bike runs coming up in munster

babybundy wrote:
    anyone no of any bike runs coming up in munster
    i only ever know of vintage runs thanks to the father. and all vintage bikes get the nod/wave, they deserve em mostly

if you're ever stuck for a chick on a small bike to go for a spin w/ pm me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

I normally nod to bikers outside the M50. Inside the M50 I'll return a nod once I'm not too busy concentrating on the traffic. I won't nod to people on Bikes acting the idiot or riding dangerously. i'll aways say thanks to anyone who makes my life easier such as trucks pulling over, cars allowing me out of junctions etc...

The vintage riders need all the encouragement they can get, especially with front drum brakes riding over Sally Gap in mid winter on a wet Sunday morning.

Tree wrote:
    i only ever know of vintage runs thanks to the father. and all vintage bikes get the nod/wave, they deserve em mostly

if you're ever stuck for a chick on a small bike to go for a spin w/ pm me :D
    wat part of the country are you in

Cork, the centre of the universe!!! full of lovely biker chicks

i'm a norrie not the mcc just born and bread there wat about you