Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Old TV Ads

• 15-05-2006 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭

Mine are the flake ad where the woman is in the bath and the lizard runs across the telephone (i loved the music to it) and the Budweiser ad at Xmas with the shire horses in the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

The Kit Kat one with the animal enthusiast spotting the panda that he always missed when he took his break. The panda would come out and rollerskate around the place then return to hiding before the man turned around!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

A lot of beer ads stick in my head for some reason. The Carlsberg quality control ad, and these two:

"Pint of Harp and a packet of dates there please Lawrence."
    "Pint of after shave please. (Carling Black Label)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The Drifter ad with the pimp.

"dressed top to toe in its sunday best"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

The Cadburys caramel ad with the sexy bunny.

" Hey Mr postman...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

That rap ad they had for the atari (cant remember which one though :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Ruu wrote:
    That rap ad they had for the atari (cant remember which one though :) )
    ah yeah I remember that!!
    "The fun is back oh yes-sir-eee it's the 2600 from A-tar-i..":D

Oh one of my fav ads would be the Milky Way one - "the red car and the blue car had a race..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ooconnor

This was a cartoon ad back in the 70's. It featured a Venetian gondoleer type character in stripey tshirt and cravatte, playing a concertina and singing in a tenor voice to the tune of "O Sole Mio/ It's Now Or Never/ Just One Cornetto!!":

The Irish Permanent,
    Best for your savings,
    Invest today,
    The sure, safe way.
    etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

loved the carslberg complaint dept one, where the office was all dusty and abondoned andthe only call that came through was a wrong number.
    also loved the brzilian team playing football in the airport, and nikes secret tournament (cantona hosts 5 a side in a cage in a big tanker) shot by terry gilliam of monty python fame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭tk123

don't forget everybodies favourite "umbongo umbongo the drink it in the congo" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭arctic lemur

I also love the Carlsberg ad wher your man is viewing the apartment and all the flatmates love football. He is shown the smallest room in the house which is huge and overlooking the football stadium. The house was so class.

I also used to love the weetabix ad with the vet an the driving instructor (late 1990's) anyone remember??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Bellys gonna get ya bellys gonna get ya
    BELLY BELLY BELLY!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

Asok wrote:
    Bellys gonna get ya bellys gonna get ya
    BELLY BELLY BELLY!!!
    I love that ad! Bellybellybellybelly!

The ad with the reaction, it was a car ad, and at the end it open the car door window through a huge series of movements. I think it was honda.

And the turtle and the cadbury's bunny.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Mine are the flake ad where the woman is in the bath and the lizard runs across the telephone (i loved the music to it) and the Budweiser ad at Xmas with the shire horses in the snow.
    Odd that I really hate the horses, reminds me to much of their quality control ;)
    I much preferred the lizards in the Bud ads (chameleons).

The older flake adds were better, the gypsy one
    besty wrote:
    The Kit Kat one with the animal enthusiast spotting the panda that he always missed when he took his break. The panda would come out and rollerskate around the place then return to hiding before the man turned around!
    odd that yet another add I really hate, and they just kept repeating it ad nauseam.

The classic ad is this one.
    Title: One Man And His Dog Spoof
    Media: Television
    Region: Channel 4
    Version: -
    Duration: 032 seconds
    Date: 1/2/1995
    Story Line: Man with his sheepdog herd sheep. He gets his whistle stuck whilst the dog is busy, the dog then comes back and helps the man to dislodge the whistle.

The expressions on the dogs face are wonderful

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

KitKat ads - list found in google cache

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

the rolo ad with the elephant and the guiness ad with yer man dancing around like a lunatic

Bud-WEsi-er anyone???

Orlee wrote:
    the rolo ad with the elephant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

The one with the dog that went mentalist when he got in with the wrong crowd (of dogs). He was nice as pie when he got back home. That freaked me out man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Bring em back a busker
    bring em back a treat
    you know that every kid'll love the magic in the middle
    so play it on the banjo
    or bang it on the drum...but bring us back a busk-eer,mum!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

New shake and vac from glade is here!
    Its all you have to do!
    You do they shake and vac and put the freshness back..do the shake and vac and put the freshness back.
    When your carpet smells fresh,your room does toooooo
    Every time you vacuum remember what to doooo
    You do the shake and vac and put the freshness back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

There was this add when i was about 4/6 years old ( i'm now 28) that i still remember cause it frightened the crap outta me. My mother keeps reminding me of it from time to time cause i used to run outta the room when it came on. It was a bunch of people jumping out of an aeroplane doin a bit of skydiving, i've no idea what the ad was even about.

Please tell me someone else remembers it:confused:
    Here's a link to an atari ad i found
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzzJjGE-X8g&search=atari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Bud-WEsi-er anyone???
    No, for the love of God no!

The Dime ads were quite good too in the shopping centre with the "ARMADILLOS!"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

The rolo one with Skippy.

Bush Ranger: "What's the matter, Skip?"
    Skippy: "tutututututtut"
    BR: "There's a boy in the wellington?"
    Skip: "tututututt"
    BR: "You pushed him there? Ah, Skip..." *Resumes eating rolos"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Around the 1990 world cup there was a cool Hamlet cigar ad, where during a free kick one of the players in the wall turns his back on the attacking free kick taker. Then the attacker takes the free kick, curls the ball around the wall, hits the crossbar, the ball rebounds and hits the defender who had his back turned in the groin!!

http://www.dumb.com/hamletcigarcommercial.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Haven't seen those surreal club orange ads with the roange haired guy for a while. Roanges clubbed to bits. Miss it....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭cinnamon

harry enfield in the dime bar ad - "that blocks a nutter, oi nutter"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Saintly

Weird to remember the cigar ads!!

Is it wrong that I loved the Bisto family?!

Saintly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Laplandman

The Kit-Kat ad with the angel and the demon who get off an elevator and have a break and then go back to work.
    Also the Kia-Ora one where they'res a line of people marching in a line over the horizon and more people keep joining them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Shake 'n vac is a suburban classic another is "Oi Have you sussed New Windowlene (sic) Plus?"

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

the tayto ad where the nun went to hell to steal the packet of crisps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

Some classics lads!

I loved the Tango adds. The one with the orange tango man with no legs and an afro who runs upto to a lad with his foot in his mouth. Takes the foot out of his mouth and says "morning" then runs off.

"You know! when you've been tangoed!" brillant :D

Hmm was a beer add I dont remember the brand. Holsten pills maybe? The two lads offering the beer to some guy at a bar

"Oh it suits you suit, do you want it sir? Do you really want it? It suits you sir?"
    "Can I have it?"
    "No, were closed."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭fabcat

Saintly wrote:
    Weird to remember the cigar ads!!

Is it wrong that I loved the Bisto family?!

Saintly

Sick and wrong :eek:

The Cillit Bang advert is brilliant! I'd love to be as happy as that guy!

Fabcat...but who is Barry Scott?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Dunno if anyones old enough :o to remember the classic Cinzano Bianco ads with Leonard Rossiter and Joan Collins where he nearly always spills the drink over her.. quality,my favourite one is when they are on the plane ha ha,here's a link to view some of the ads,scroll down near the bottom of page...ahhhh cinzano bianco :D:D

http://www.leonardrossiter.com/Videos.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭wingnut

One of the most famous... "and Sally O'Brien and the way she might look at you" Harp ad. I like the Hamlet.. the mild cigar ones as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭AnitaMcCluskey

My personal favourite is Super Noodle ad "I'm wasting away"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

The milk ad with the two Liverpool kids after playing football. 'Ian Rush says if you don't drink milk you'll only be good enough to play for Akrington Stanley" "Akrington Stanley? Who are they?" "Exactly."

Brilliant stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Get on the scent...... of the cookstown sizzle....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭fabcat

the Shades wrote:
    The milk ad with the two Liverpool kids after playing football. 'Ian Rush says if you don't drink milk you'll only be good enough to play for Akrington Stanley" "Akrington Stanley? Who are they?" "Exactly."

Brilliant stuff

I never saw that ad, but the summer it was on we allllllllllways said it at my Grannys house 'cos our cousin was obsessed with it. It was only about 5 years later I found out it was from an advert.

I remember that too. Accrinton Stanly are in the Coca Cola 2 league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

For Mash get Samash with the weird Dalek-like robots.... God I miss them..

The dancing teddy bears in the shower advertisin the 50-50 cashback for Bord Gais
    50-50 casback... 50-50 cashback ta-da-da-daaa ta-da-da-DAHHH!!!!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

The kit-kit ad with the garda

"Go ahead, make my day" :D

The Bran Flakes ad:

'theyre tasty, tasty,very,very tasty,
    theyre very tasty'

Gosh i remember the bisto ad with the family and the lazy son called Trevor. it was on in the 80's.

' is Trevor ever getting up? never in a month of Sundays, will dad ever get the garden cut? never in a month of Sundays!' etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

jonny68 wrote:
    Dunno if anyones old enough :o to remember the classic Cinzano Bianco ads with Leonard Rossiter and Joan Collins where he nearly always spills the drink over her..

Yes - pure class

Also from around the same time the "you can't sing, you can't play and you look awful - you'll go far" KitKat ad

Not really old ads - only from the last 5 or 6 years - those pot noodle ads; the "I want something dirty!" one which ends in some versions with "Pot Noodle - the slut of snacks" and the one with the mariachi band, "it ees dirty and you want it" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭whizzbang

the Shades wrote:

Brilliant stuff

genius, pure genius...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭whizzbang

may I add.

"Fffffiiiiive, four, three, two, one.....
    do do dodo, do do dodo
    Five , four, three, two, one!
    Crumbly biscuit with a chocolate coating
    five, four, three, two, one!..."

legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lyons tea, lyons tea, lyons tea, LYONS THE QUALITY TEA!

I think thats how the tune went, something about dancing teabags. Someone was dancing anyway :)

Not really that old, but the tv licence ads are a laugh.

lads around table: "yeah did ya hear, he didnt pay his tv licence"
    women: "ugh what a loser"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭penana

What about some really old ones, from the '60s and '70s?

For example, anyone around long enough to remember that Dunlop one with the golf ball that went bouncing all over the place, hitting and rolling across tennis raquets, tyres, floorings and a lot of other Dunlop stuff? Somewhere around '69/'70 or so.

I also remember some radio spots from that time ... anyone know if there's a forum for those?