Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man who stabbed girlfriend says he killed Jamie Bolger

• 12-05-2006 1:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone else see the Herald today? I can't find a link to the story online but the guy who was sentenced earlier this week for stabbing his pregnant girlfriend and attempting to kill her 3 year old child has said that he is one of the Jamie Bolger killers, Robert Thompson.

Gardaí are checking with the UK police to see if he is telling the truth or not. If he is what does that say about the communication between police forces for criminals like this?

Also, if it is true what are his chances of getting out of Mountjoy in one piece? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

His killers are already in jail. Unless it's a case of metempsychosis... o_O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

simu wrote:

They were let out, a couple back. Lots of hoopla in the news about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

his killers were released 5 years ago with a very strict anonymity and ban on publication of their location.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

simu wrote:
    they were released in 2001 and were granted anonymity for life .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Rafloution

simu wrote:

No they are not they were released a couple of years ago amid uproar and they were given brand new identites and a court order banning anyone from releasing their new details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Frankieboy

Were they not release a while back with different names? Big uproar over it!

Golly! That was a bit mad. :eek:

Should have mentioned that the Herald gave some reasons why he might be telling the truth. He's from Liverpool and moved to Ireland about 4 years ago. He's 24 years old - the killers in 1993 were both 10 - so if he birthday fell between February and May then he's the right age. Plus the fact that this offence also involved an attack on a child.

I'm not saying he is telling the truth - he could just be nuts - but these are the facts so far. He could be just completely insane.

Macros42 wrote:

I'm not saying he is telling the truth - he could just be nuts - but these are the facts so far. He could be just completely insane.

I'd go with insane tbh - Herald not that reliable. Still can't believe they let those guys out, though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

well he would have to be completly insane to come out with somthing crazy like that after being lifted, true or not. But seeing as there is no proof im just going to speculate wildly.

The Jamie Bulger Murder was influenced by what two lads seen on the telly (as far as I can remember, i was about 9 at the time , i think) and the attacks on the girl and her child apparently originated because they all watched "The Grudge" that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I think it was a condition of their release that they'd have to tell the truth to whoever they were seriously involved with.

I think Robert Thompson was found out to be in a relationship with a guy a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Wavey

Is the Herald the only paper reporting this?

Now I'm no big city lawyer..... all gasp.....:D

But if the court granted them anonymity for life, does that mean that the Gardai will be forced to say it isnt him even if it is?

Grimes wrote:
    the attacks on the girl and her child apparently originated because they all watched "The Grudge" that night.

It was actually Childs Play about the evil doll Chucky.
    simu wrote:
    Herald not that reliable.
    I agree - but to be fair they're not actually making any accusations just reporting it - even the Herald wouldn't make that up. Naturally there's a big sensational banner headline too :D
    Wavey wrote:
    But if the court granted them anonymity for life, does that mean that the Gardai will be forced to say it isnt him even if it is?
    Being our only evening 'newspaper' - Yes. They report he said it this morning.

And no - the ban actually only applies to the English and Welsh press. However it has been respected internationally. But in this case - he has said it himself (if true) in which case he was waived his right to anonymity and no injunction is breached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Im sure that the conditition is broken if he reoffends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

This rumour has been floating around Kilkenny since the stabbing incident back in November 2004. The cops here stated in the local press during the week that the rumour is completely untrue and unfounded.

Pure urban legend material really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Macros42 wrote:
    Childs Play 3 actually... leave Childs Play 1 out of this, it was a good little film... Part 3 was rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Macros42 wrote:

That was the Jamie Bulger murder. He's talking about the recent attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

From the Kilkenny People on Wednesday:

"Garda sources told the Kilkenny People that Sean Walsh was in no way involved in the killing of toddler Jamie Bulger despite continuing speculation of a link in some parts of the media."

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/ViewArticle2.aspx?SectionID=2594&ArticleID=1493266

So have the gardai not done their homework or are the Evening Herald telling porkies again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

Wavey wrote:

No because the Republic of Ireland is not under the jurisdiction of the Crown.

jomanji wrote:
    That was the Jamie Bulger murder. He's talking about the recent attack.
    oops - misread it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Childs Play 3 actually... leave Childs Play 1 out of this, it was a good little film... Part 3 was rubbish.

Bride of chuckie was brilliant though.

Grimes wrote:
    and the attacks on the girl and her child apparently originated because they all watched "The Grudge" that night.
    Was it the original or the remake? I don't understand at all if it was the remake, as Sarah Michelle Gellar is so bland she wouldn't even motivate me to have a **** let alone try to kill someone.

[sigmund]I think we will have to dig somewhat deeper into this one's mind rather than looking at his Xtravision account [/sigi]

simu wrote:
    [sigmund]I think we will have to dig somewhat deeper into this one's mind rather than looking at his Xtravision account [/sigi]
    Oh, Xtravission is a window into the darkest regions of a mans soul...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

simu wrote:
    Still can't believe they let those guys out, though!!!
    They had served their sentences - why should they be held?

If he really is one of the fella's that killed Jamie Bolger and he is saying this now, It would prove on some level about his mental state
    Why would someone draw attention to themselves like that after such an horrific crime

And usually theres no smoke without fire, I highly doubt someone just made it up
    but you would wonder where allegations like this come from
    and for the Herald to print it and all it just makes you wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Wavey wrote:

Nothing about it on RTE's breaking news website or the Irish Times breaking news either.

At the time of posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 steve_O_

steve_O_ wrote:
    Those little kids look so small, its sickening to think what they did and that at that age they were capable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Robert Thompson is in Australia.

Why would he hang out so close to home with media vultures, highly emotive friends relative and public notwithstanding?

dSTAR wrote:
    Robert Thompson is in Australia.

You know this how? Considering the complete ban on reporting anything that might lead to identifying him this hasn't been reported as fact anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

steve_O_ wrote:
    Those two pics look similiar but then again you can say that about a lot of photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Macros42 wrote:
    You know this how? Considering the complete ban on reporting anything that might lead to identifying him this hasn't been reported as fact anywhere.
    This was highly publicized over here. You have to be in the know or privvy to such sensitive information. Releasing such information comes at a price..not always good of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭zuma

I honestly dont think the UK authorities would be so stupid as to place him in Ireland!

Damnit we get the same papers and watch the same news as the British and that picture looks very similar to the wikipedia one!

If it is him then Im pretty sure they'll segregate him quickly and possibly transfer him to a UK prison for his own safety.
    If not then hes going to get into some serious "trouble".

They had served their sentences - why should they be held?

Danger to society - well, there must have been some sort of psychiatric assessment before they were released but eh... I wouldn't be all that confident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

If you're going to go down that road Simu you could apply it to any offender. As I recall it they did have psych reviews during their incarceration and I would presume before their release too.

What I can't understand is, if this is him why would he volunteer the information?

0utshined wrote:
    If you're going to go down that road Simu you could apply it to any offender. As I recall it they did have psych reviews during their incarceration and I would presume before their release too.

I know. I just dinnae trust the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

why is still being discussed? The evening herald picked up a rumour thats 18 months old which the Gardaí have refuted on a number of occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

zuma wrote:
    I honestly dont think the UK authorities would be so stupid as to place him in Ireland!

He wouldnt be placed in Ireland, he would be free to travel whereever he likes. He did his time, and got a new ID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

simu wrote:
    I know. I just dinnae trust the system.

And you would be right not to if he is who he says he is.

@Nightwish,

First I've heard of it. The Herald headline indicated that it was him who had made a claim rather than people surmising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

A story in the Evening hearld that isnt true?!

Wow, who would of guessed?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭zuma

dbnavan wrote:
    He wouldnt be placed in Ireland, he would be free to travel whereever he likes. He did his time, and got a new ID

For their own security...for either of the 2 to be placed so close to home is rather stupid.

According to wikipedia Jamie Bulgers mother actually travelled to the new home of one of them....followed him but never confronted him.
    Ireland really isnt that far away and would be easy to travel to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Actually it wasn't any of them.
    Just a scapegoat created by the braindead red-top tabloids. Blaming films is an easy target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

Very chilling stuff. You'd have to wonder if they're not playing reverse psychology games with us on this one. Place him him Ireland because everybody would say it would be a dumb thing to do, and therefore wouldn't be done.

If it does turn out to be him though, the sh1t will definitely hit the fan. I think everybody would agree with me when I say we are better off without the likes of Thompson walking our streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

zuma wrote:
    For their own security...for either of the 2 to be placed so close to home is rather stupid.

According to wikipedia Jamie Bulgers mother actually travelled to the new home of one of them....followed him but never confronted him.
    Zuma you are assuming that she'd know he was in ireland in the first place, surely she wouldn't travel to any close country just to check.

the suggestion that they would have undergone a psych valuation further back up the thread is quite disturbing, if he is who he apparently claims to be, how did the "Doctor" miss the homicidal mentality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

simu wrote:
    I heard last year that one of them was living in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Whatever the truth is i cant help but feel so sorry for Jamie Bolger's parents. Damn:mad: They where shafted big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

zuma wrote:

I think you missed my point they would not be placed anywhere outside of the UK and british police have no juristicion to operate out of the UK. if they were to be placed anywhere it would have to be in the UK, after that where they go is there own business. They are free to travel anywhere in the world. They are set up with new ID's, given somewhere to live and thats it, they are free men, if they choose to move they are free to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

want to settle this arguement?
    i'll be in the joy next friday. 90 day sentence for not paying a fine. (long story). it's not that big a place. i'll find out and report back next saturday after they release me and give my cell to a real criminal.