Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Left handed people die younger?

• 10-05-2006 7:36pm

My friend who is doing 2nd med reckons that right handed people live on average about seven years more than left handed.Is this true or is the wool being pulled over my eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

My friend who is doing 2nd med reckons that right handed people live on average about seven years more than left handed.Is this true or is the wool being pulled over my eyes?

L....M........A......O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭gilroyb

Apparently it's true. I remember reading it somewhere recently, but seeing as I can't remember where then it's not much use.

It might be due to all the stress of having to shake hands with their weak hand?

ah im fcuked!Im a lad and a citeog!Ill prob be dead by the age of 40!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's true or it's a statistical anomaly, but he's not just pulling it out of his ass.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I'm sure the beer and smoking will kill me before my left hand does...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Juicebox

But hey who cares we make up for it by being more intelligent and creative...like einstein!! plus left handed people are supposed to be created by the devil ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

It's true, apparently in part becuase most power tools etc are made for right handed people. Being left handed myself I consider each day another day of living dangerously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

Also heard that left handed people are more intelligent!? Don't think there's any thruth to that though! :P

well being a lefty i have serious trouble opening doors specially the ones with the twisty door knobs or with writing cuz the ink smudges all the way across the page :confused:

We have the intelligent ones, then we also have a higher percentage of learning diffuculties!

Juicebox wrote:
    well being a lefty i have serious trouble opening doors specially the ones with the twisty door knobs or with writing cuz the ink smudges all the way across the page :confused:

One of my friends is a lefty and she kind of hooks her hand when she's writing.. so it's facing her body. Doesn't smudge that way..but looks funny

Even when I hook my hand, I get smudges all over it
    and then it smudges the page

my finger is smudged right now actually

it's really annoying

maybe we kill ourselves out of annoyance for this!

edit: 1000th post! hell ya!

haha ya tried that but bgan to suffer from repetitive strain injury.easons actually sell pens for leftys that are designed so u grab them up further to not smudge just havent got round to gettin em yet.David bowie,bach,mozart,and jimmi hendrix were all lefties highly intelligent

best is when u smudge a word and the print of the word gets printed onto your hand and as you continue to write across the page somewhere along the lines you have a smudge of a word that u wrote 3 sentences back

Oh.. well that's this thread gone out the window

nah man one day we do die earlier then the next day a new study proves we dont,its a vicious circle their leaving us hanging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

Right handed propaganda against us lefties:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Well seeing as left handed people are born broken in the first place, it would stand to reason that their bodies would pack up earlier.

no not really apparently its all got to do with genetics so just go back along the family tree and find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

yes :D get in there, 7 more years for me.

i hate my left hand and left foot, i even hold the fork in my right hand.

i just use my left side for show and to balance on.

i cant use inky pens, play piano with the left as it totally overpowers the right hand. theres such a huge difference between my hands plus im discriminated against as there isnt a hope in hell i can use a normal scissors have to get a lefthand one and the just dont come that handy(excuse the pun);)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Darwinian theory is a beautiful thing!

please nooooooooo not natural selection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I think I was born left handed but my parents tried to beat it out of me by making me write with my right hand. Now they're both equally useless! I'm sure cycling will kill me first though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Debbio69

nnooooooooo

im a leftie
    i do not welcome this news at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

Quite a few lefties here!!!

I'm another!

Yip, the writing thing bugs the hell out of me, big blue hand everytime you write anything, plus my writing is appalling!!!

But, I play all musical instruments (don't mean I can play every single musical instrument, just that all the instruments that I do play) with my right hand, play camogie as a right-handed person (though it means I can only hit from one side), & I'm right-eye dominant (which apparently is a bit strange), oh, & I use the mouse as a right-handed person, (this thing of changing button configurations & moving the mouse to the left side of the PC bugs me) but defo left footed, though I can't kick a ball for sh!t anyway!!!

Yeah left-handed mouse on the pc is just taking things too far...

I write better on msn handwriting with my right hand :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

So what if your Ambi-dextrous(sp?) then?

does get halfed and you live on average 3 1/2 years shorter?hehe;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Who cares really? life sucks after 60 anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Fraggle Rocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Take that you leftie wench!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

I'm would class myself as left-handed but I'm pretty much ambidexterous. I can't write right-handed but I can do everything else with my right...i.e. golf, guitar, scissors, power-tools, knife-throwing, what have you...
    I'm pretty sure that on average lefties do have shorter life-span due to poor skill with power tools, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

Oh nooooo, they say caffiene is bad for you, a few weeks later I read on the paper that it's good for you, another time they say we should lower our salt intake incertain foods like burger king, now they tell us left handies die younger. what next drinking to much water flushes out your A C E vitamins

side note:(On his last line he panick 'we are going to die' running for his lfe trying to get away from his left hand)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

My theory is the right handed scissors, most lefties get it arseways on it, could be the answer to all those lefties dieing sooner and more suddenly:D

Peeler is a bit stubier so it's more difficult to stab yourself, right handers are not as intellegent as they would'nt know this.:D

what the hell we rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Forget about left handed people dying earlier. Does anyone notice that there are no tall old people? Yeah, yeah I know you shrink a little when you get older as you begin to stoop(sp?) and your vertebrae compress but that doesn't explain where the old tallies are gone. Biggest old people I have seen where barely six foot tall. These my well have been 6'4" in their youth but what happened to anyone taller than that. There all dead, thats what!

Great comeback for the short kids that get teased and bullied by the tall kids in school. Yeah call me shrimp now but I'll be laughing when they bury you at 55!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Quite a few lefties here!!!

I'm another!

Yip, the writing thing bugs the hell out of me, big blue hand everytime you write anything, plus my writing is appalling!!!

But, I play all musical instruments (don't mean I can play every single musical instrument, just that all the instruments that I do play) with my right hand, play camogie as a right-handed person (though it means I can only hit from one side), & I'm right-eye dominant (which apparently is a bit strange), oh, & I use the mouse as a right-handed person, (this thing of changing button configurations & moving the mouse to the left side of the PC bugs me) but defo left footed, though I can't kick a ball for sh!t anyway!!!
    Yeah, I'm nearly the same, write with my left hand but dominant right eye, right footed (although good with both feet really, not a big difference between them), and use my right hand for lots of things.

So we would not be described as strongly left-handed, but ambidextrous is a bit of a stretch, I think you need to be able to write with both hands for that. Apparently if you have a strongly dominant hand which is the opposite of your dominant eye you're more likely to suffer from dyslexia.

Anyway, it was probably just a statistical anomaly that left handers seemed to have a lower life expectancy. We should have better spatial vision and be less likely to be involved in a car crash, which is the number one cause of death as far as I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭DaDa

Stekelly wrote:
    Well seeing as left handed people are born broken in the first place, it would stand to reason that their bodies would pack up earlier.

LOL

anybody have issues with driving? i cant seem to get a proper grip of the wheel with my rite when changing geers kinda dangerous

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Juicebox wrote:
    anybody have issues with driving? i cant seem to get a proper grip of the wheel with my rite when changing geers kinda dangerous
    It's amazing to think how most of the rest of the world hasn't been wiped out in a series of inexplicable car accidents..

Thats because we now have automatic cars perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭paul moore

Another lefty here !! Ok im a bit messed up !
    I write with my left hand,now just say im using a screw driver i then can only use my right hand,or if im using a tape measure i use my right hand also !
    Now its back to the left hand again for the swing of a claw hammer !! But its back to the right hand for the use of a scissors.....I work as a land surveyor so im using spray paint alot through out the day,for marking a road or spraying pegs etc..now get this i can only do this with my right hand !! if i try use my left hand you wouldnt be able to read what i sprayed !!!
    Just thinking again,im left handed in golf,i play darts with my right,and the mouse stays on the right !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭conky_05

i'm a lefty too. in medieval days we were burned or something coz apparently we were linked to satan. however these days we blend perfectly into society !!!

apparently lefties are brainier , more logical and more creative than right-handers ? but ye, we do have to live with that godforsaken ink-smudge on our little finger... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

We have the intelligent ones, then we also have a higher percentage of learning diffuculties!

You have the gays too. There's a high correlation between left-handedness and homosexuality.

I'm not saying all gay people are left handed, or all left handed people are gay, but they often go hand in hand.

ta-dum-tischhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bamboozled

bluewolf wrote:
    Even when I hook my hand, I get smudges all over it
    and then it smudges the page

my finger is smudged right now actually

it's really annoying

maybe we kill ourselves out of annoyance for this!

edit: 1000th post! hell ya!
    If you're really having that much difficulty try these
    http://www.anythingleft-handed.co.uk/acatalog/child_left_handed_pens.html#

That place do lots of left handed stuff. It saved my thumb being numbed every time i used a scissors, and now with my left-handed scissors, I can cut a straight line AND cut out stuff without having to trim it around the lines a few times.

All power tools are right handed, appliances are right-handed, clocks are right-handed....
    Lefties are only 10-12% of the population and are killed or injured in accidental circumstances more than righties because of most tools being made for right handed people.

I can play music with my right hand and text - everything else I do lefthanded. From using the computer to sorting my bookshelves/dvd's, I do it all backwards and banjaxed as my partner calls it. I'm an extreme lefty, probably because both my parents were lefty's and tried not to force me into using my right hand because they'd been through the beatings in school :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭paul moore

hey advantage lefties !!!! we can use the mouse and right at the same time,well i can anyhow !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭doriansmith

I drive them mad in my house cos i have to have the mouse on the left hand side, there's a constant tug of war as to which side it's on.
    My mum was born a leftie too but was made change in school cos it wasnt allowed. Apparently as well as all the plus points like being more intelligent and creative (so true), lefties are more prone to illness and in particular schizophrenia, eek.

The scissors thing is annoying too. its actually physically impossible to use a right handed scissors with your left hand, at least i cant do it anyway!

Also the majority of lefties are guys and from lookin at this thread it seems true!! very rare to have a girl lefty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

It's true, apparently in part becuase most power tools etc are made for right handed people. Being left handed myself I consider each day another day of living dangerously.
    left handed, but i use an angle grinder with my right hand.
    we had an apprentice start with us and he was left handed. he couldn't get the hang of using the grinder with his right hand, so we got a new one with a guard that could be easily rotated for left handed people. after 8 years of using it with my right hand, i had to move the guard back around after the apprentice had been using it.
    i hold cigarettes in my right hand (the pathway up to school was on the right of the road and it was easier to conceal a cigarette from the teachers driving by).
    use the mouse with my right hand. just force of habit at this stage.
    just like sinecura, i will probably die from the smoking and drinking before being left handed kills me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 zappy

Just reading the above got me thinking - i never realised i used both hands so much to do different things. For example, while i write left-handed, i use the mouse and text right handed. Also, i play tennis left handed, yet play golf and cricket/baseball/bat sports right handed... Strange.

I think it partially comes down to the way that i was introduced to various things growing up, like everyone using the computer mouse right handed, so you assume thats hows its done (its never even occured to me use it left handed...)

So if the right side of the brain (correct me if i'm wrong here) controls the left hand, and vice versa, i wonder do left handed people use their brains more as the way things are designed often force them to utilise both hands...

I have heard that being forced to change what hand you dominatly use can cause dyslexia.

Left handers include: Bill Clinton, Bertie Ahern, Leonardo Da Vinci, Michelangelo, Napoleon, Julius Caesar, Ghandi, Einstein, Valentino Rossi, John McEnroe, Marilyn Monroe, Bart Simpson, Angelina Jolie, to name a few.

And, and, I have just found out - BIG NEWS - we have a world day - August 13th.