Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I used to date a girl who subscribes to these beliefs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

fade2black wrote:

Holy crap, that's unreal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

...tried to stop us from putting the cup of the wrath of God to your mouth and making you drink it
    That's a little frightening. I kind of hope she gets struck by lightning.
    Fairplay to the guys for not being afraid to just say what they think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

It's Fred Phelp's daughter ffs! The scary thing is that they're all lawyers. Him, his kids and their grand kids and they litigate non-stop to get their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

holy sh1t! That is unreal. It's one thing to have a problem with-well many things apparently :rolleyes: but to actually protest at someones funeral......

This is the crowd who demanded to put up a statue in the public park of Matthew Shepard's hometown of Laramie declaring that his murder was God's punishment for being gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭UU

She is a total freak! I think she is really a pretend Christian. So far from Jesus' message. "Treat others as you would like to be treated".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Video doesn't work on my Mac...
    And the whole Phelps family makes baby Jesus cry.

VLC player is available for the Mac right? Should work on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

This ex was from Northern Ireland by the way. The Protestant branch of the Born Again Christian Club. Not to be confused with the Born Against Christians club.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

The Phelps family are all completely nuts.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 398 ✭✭Benny-c

fade2black wrote:
    This ex was from Northern Ireland by the way. The Protestant branch of the Born Again Christian Club. Not to be confused with the Born Against Christians club.

Ian Paisleys crew are not far away these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

I think it's that creepy grin she sports throughout the entire interview that makes it so chilling. She's actively taking pleasure in the whole thing. Sick bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Personally, I want to hear her views on lowing the national deficit before i condemn her.

I have perverse admiration for a group of just 100 people that manage to get themselves known to 100s of thousands and get a hell of a lot of airtime worldwide on a weekly basis. They're all that's wrong with humanity and all that's right with freedom.

shay_562 wrote:
    I think it's that creepy grin she sports throughout the entire interview that makes it so chilling.

Reminds me of Aphex Twin's windowlicker:

windowlicker.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

I started laughing out loud when she said "yes it is 80% my family". Man im glad i wasnt born into that fcuked up family lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

imagine the f**ked up world we'd live in if people like her got into power...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Clearly some inbreeding involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

F2B, is the thread title real or are you just having a laugh?

If so, gimmie the goss :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Well not as extreme but she believed that being gay was a sin. She's a born again Christian and goes to one of those churches where they wave their hands in the air and some speak in tongues etc. All a bit strange, but each to their own I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I read a profile of Fred Phelps on Wikipedia. I know it's not the most of reliable sources, but if it's correct, he brutally abused his kids. Also he votes Democrat (well he did at one point) and was mates with Al and Tipper Gore!:confused: But then, such nutcases tend to be rather inconsistent with their views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

fade2black wrote:
    ..... she believed that being gay was a sin.....
    Being gay isn't a sin but practicing homosexuality is, depending on your religion of course.
    What people seem to forget is that they don't get to make the rules. What counts as a sin falls under religious rules. Practicing homosexuality is a sin in many of the major religions including, to the best of my knowledge (and I'm open to correction) all forms of Christianity.
    Thing is, Christianity is voluntary. If you don't believe practicing homosexuality is a sin, nobody's forcing you to be Christian. Pick a religion that suits you better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

That is disgusting!!!!

RealJohn wrote:
    Being gay isn't a sin but practicing homosexuality is, depending on your religion of course.
    What people seem to forget is that they don't get to make the rules. What counts as a sin falls under religious rules. Practicing homosexuality is a sin in many of the major religions including, to the best of my knowledge (and I'm open to correction) all forms of Christianity.
    Thing is, Christianity is voluntary. If you don't believe practicing homosexuality is a sin, nobody's forcing you to be Christian. Pick a religion that suits you better.

That could be something to do with the fact that the message of Christianity/The Bible has been twisted through the ages. I doubt the founder of Christianity himself would have considered the practising of homosexuality to be a sin. He was more concerned with people being loving, forgiving, tolerant and compassionate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Scary video innit? Reminds you that there are worse ppl than Bush or the neo-cons, even if such ppl are in a tiny, tiny minority. But anyway...

Normal people flicking through the Bible will find 'anti-Gay' sentiments remarkably tricky to unearth. The New Testament's supposed 'No To Homos' message basically boils down to Paul the Apostle's comments in Romans 1:26-27 on the sins of the Gentiles - "God gave them up unto shameful affections"
    - and depends on the translation of the mysterious Ancient Greek word 'arsenokoites' (and I promise you that's actually true) which might mean 'special gay friend' or possibly 'male temple prostitute' or even 'gigolo for rich women'.

Now there's a solid bedrock for bigotry if ever we saw one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

shay_562 wrote:
    I think it's that creepy grin she sports throughout the entire interview that makes it so chilling. She's actively taking pleasure in the whole thing. Sick bitch.

exactly what I was thinking ... her grin is ... I don't know what to call it ... scary
    The fact she can say those things with a smile on her face ... it's highly disturbing...

Thank God for his Wrath *SMILE* ...
    Putting the cup of the fury and wrath of god to your lips and making you drink it! ...
    Why wont you just obey? *SMILE*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

She's dead behind the eyes.

Devoid of compassion, empathy or understanding.

A genuine psychopath. :(

Even her jumper is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

I can see why you broke up with her then!!

quad_red wrote:
    She's dead behind the eyes.

Devoid of compassion, empathy or understanding.

A genuine psychopath.

Probably more a product of mind-warping. Check out this link:

http://www.rslevinson.com/gaylesissues/features/collect/phelps/bl_phelpschapter02.htm

Dudess wrote:
    He was more concerned with people being loving, forgiving, tolerant and compassionate.
    Can't you be loving, forgiving, tolerant and compassionate without having sex?

RealJohn wrote:
    Can't you be loving, forgiving, tolerant and compassionate without having sex?

I'm possibly being slow on the uptake, but I don't get you.

Being homosexual isn't a sin. Taking part in homosexual activity is. As long as you're not engaging in sexual activity with someone you're not married to, it's not a sin.
    (not accounting for the whole impure thoughts thing obviously. That's not directly related to the issue though)
    Clear enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

RealJohn wrote:
    Being homosexual isn't a sin. Taking part in homosexual activity is. As long as you're not engaging in sexual activity with someone you're not married to, it's not a sin.
    (not accounting for the whole impure thoughts thing obviously. That's not directly related to the issue though)
    Clear enough?

But gays arn't allowed marry, so why should they live is absense.

RealJohn wrote:
    Being homosexual isn't a sin. Taking part in homosexual activity is.

Read my post. I say "I doubt the founder of Christianity himself would have considered the practising of homosexuality to be a sin".
    What's this got to do with your original question?

In fact, the Big Bad Son Of God never mentions bum sex or any other gay-related issue even once, not even mutual masturbation.
    It's possible he planned on making his Big Speech Against The Gays right after Easter.
    We'll never know...

SebtheBum wrote:
    In fact, the Big Bad Son Of God never mentions bum sex or any other gay-related issue even once, not even mutual masturbation.
    It's possible he planned on making his Big Speech Against The Gays right after Easter.
    We'll never know...

You're so baaaaad, Seb!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Thats some fecked up stuff, reminds me of episodses of the awful truth by micheal moore I watched a few years back...pretty much the same thing, extremists picketing gays funerals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭darkflower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

SebtheBum wrote:
    Scary video innit? Reminds you that there are worse ppl than Bush or the neo-cons, even if such ppl are in a tiny, tiny minority. But anyway...

Normal people flicking through the Bible will find 'anti-Gay' sentiments remarkably tricky to unearth. The New Testament's supposed 'No To Homos' message basically boils down to Paul the Apostle's comments in Romans 1:26-27 on the sins of the Gentiles - "God gave them up unto shameful affections"
    - and depends on the translation of the mysterious Ancient Greek word 'arsenokoites' (and I promise you that's actually true) which might mean 'special gay friend' or possibly 'male temple prostitute' or even 'gigolo for rich women'.

Now there's a solid bedrock for bigotry if ever we saw one.

Nice try Seb but there is plenty of anti-gay sentiments in the Bible, here are just three:

"Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination. Neither shalt thou lie with any beast to defile thyself therewith: neither shall any woman stand before a beast to lie down thereto: it is confusion. Defile not ye yourselves in any of these things: for in all these the nations are defiled which I cast out before you."

Leviticus 18:22-24

"If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination: they shall surely be put to death; their blood shall be upon them."

Leviticus 20:13

"For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature: And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet."

Romans 1:26-27

You get the impression of condemnation, Seb, from the use of the word abomination.

The most damning is this:
    "Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor homosexuals, nor thieves, nor the covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers, will inherit the kingdom of God."

1 Corinthians 6:9

Please read my post before you respond so emphatically:

Every single one of those books is from the Torah/Old Testament - NOT FROM THE NEW TESTAMENT.

So, actually, nice try on your part guv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Lunoma

Oh my g-d, she's a freak! Did anyone notice that she seems to be constantly smiling. A very evil looking grin indeed! Geesh, she could really be Satan in disguise! (lol :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

SebtheBum wrote:

Every single one of those books is from the Torah/Old Testament - NOT FROM THE NEW TESTAMENT.

:o I didn't realise that the discussion was limited to the New Testement. I'm not sure why it would be, since all Christian religions draw on both old and new.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

:o I didn't realise that the discussion was limited to the New Testement. I'm not sure why it would be, since all Christian religions draw on both old and new.
    Umm Catholicism is primarily based around the New Testament since, when Jesus came, he brought the new testament of God.

But there's no need to go into another ranting thread with people cherry-picking Bible quotes back and forth. There's enough of that on the Christinaity forum...

ixoy wrote:
    But there's no need to go into another ranting thread with people cherry-picking Bible quotes back and forth. There's enough of that on the Christinaity forum...
    Agreed! :D Leave that for the Christian fundos there! (fundamentalists)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Sad sick stuff alright but unfortunately views like hers are not as rare as ye think. There's a surprising number of these nutjobs around, and no doubt the US has more than it's share. Makes you almost ashamed to be a member of the same species :mad:

Islamic fundos are worse. :mad: They have no problem with killing homosexuals like them two teenage boys last year who were hung for sleeping together. That was sad :( .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Lunoma wrote:
    Islamic fundos are worse. :mad: They have no problem with killing homosexuals like them two teenage boys last year who were hung for sleeping together. That was sad :( .

Fundamentalists are bad, plain and simple - their particular belief system or skin colour is irrelevant. I've lived and worked in a few different countries and met Christian and Islamic fundamentalists - they're all unpleasant, absolutist, unbending, unsympathetic idiots, who can't handle grey areas. I've even met a few fundamentalist queers who were very unpleasant ;) The only reason you can point at the 'nasty Muslims' is that they 'enjoy' a majority fundamentalist state where capital punishment for religious crimes is state sponsored.

If that lunatic Phelps woman got her way, the US would do just the same...

Remember, if you remove the Funda from Fundamentalist and you're left with Mentalist..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You've got to ask why she's being given a platform on one of the biggest news providers in the world. Her 'church' has less that 100 members, but yet she's being given the chance to preach her message of hatred to million of Americans, some of whom will agree with her and strengthen her cause. The best way to deal with idiots like her is to cut out the publicity she so craves.

milod wrote:
    Fundamentalists are bad, plain and simple - their particular belief system or skin colour is irrelevant. I've lived and worked in a few different countries and met Christian and Islamic fundamentalists - they're all unpleasant, absolutist, unbending, unsympathetic idiots, who can't handle grey areas. I've even met a few fundamentalist queers who were very unpleasant ;) The only reason you can point at the 'nasty Muslims' is that they 'enjoy' a majority fundamentalist state where capital punishment for religious crimes is state sponsored.

If that lunatic Phelps woman got her way, the US would do just the same...

Remember, if you remove the Funda from Fundamentalist and you're left with Mentalist..
    Yes. I suppose you're right. Isn't it the fundaMENTALISTS who always get the spotlight by the media? In relation to Islamic fundalmentalism, would Sky News be bothered showing the peaceful Muslims in the middle of a desert. I think not. Would the media be bothered showing good-hearted Christians praying for peace over the likes of Miss. Smilely? Probably not.

Yet, there are also gay fundamentalists, you're right about that too. I met some fella once and he had was so annoying. He was like "Look at me, I'm gay and I'm better than any heterosexual!" I'd use the word heterophobic to describe him. Although, when one is discriminated, they often discrimanate back. Then, there has been fundamentalism like than of Communism and Fascism whci is secular in a sense.

What a freaky world we live in sometimes! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

SebtheBum wrote:

actually....

here's something that might tickle your fancy...

since you quoted freely from "is it just me or is everything shít" i'll feel free to quote freely from "all in the mind: a farewell to god" by sir ludovic kennedy

ok found the passage... but it's a bit long so i'll sum it up...

read the gospel of john 13: 4 - 5

bear with me! it's worth it! [no i'm not a lunatic christian - i AM a "breeder" though ;) ]

first of all.. there are several rather cryptic references to "the disciple who jesus loved" - a curious phrase given that jesus is supposed to have loved all his disciples - but there is one disciple who repeatedly gets identified [in the gospel of john - as being the one who jesus loved. in john 13:25 you will read that at the end of the last supper this disciple is lying on jesus breast... as in, leaning back against him, lying close to him.

so... it's the last supper, you know the deal, you've seen the paintings where they're all sitting on chairs at a big long table... well first of all they wouldn't have been sitting down, not in those days... meals would have been taken while lying down on cushions and what not....

jesus at one point strips naked and puts on a towel [13: 4-5] and washes and anoints the feet of all of his disciples and then takes off the towel to dry them... meaning, he is naked.

the gospel doesn't however mention whether or not by the time he's lying down, with the "disciple he loved", he has put any of his clothes back on.

interestingly enough, and for completely different reasons, a former bishop of birmingham, the very rev. hugh sebag de-montfiore, suggests jesus may have been homosexually inclined - source christ for us today (ed. n pittenberger, SCM press 1968)

i guess those wacky baptists are going to have to go find another religion that's a bit less gay.... won't be any big loss to any real christian imo, not that i am one... have to say though, if you can tune out the absolute lunacy of fred phelps then his sermons do make, err, interesting listening... hellfire and brimstone and damnation and marvellous oratory, from a thoroughly evil man, but at the end of the day hardly more inflammatory than your average beenie man album....

anyway, next time you get some ould catholic biddy tellling you you're sinners dig up those bits of scripture there