Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McCoy Tyner plays NCH in July

• 05-05-2006 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭

Playing in the National Concert hall http://www.nch.ie/whatson/concert_details.asp?eventId=2943&dateId=14539
    Got my front row tickets today :D
    WOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

McCoy Tyner Septet

Waltons World Masters
    Thu 6th July, 8:00pm

McCoy Tyner Piano
    Eric Alexander Tenor saxophone
    Donald Harrison Alto saxophone
    Nicholas Payton Trumpet
    Steve Turre Trombone
    Eric Kamau Gravatt Drums
    Charnett Moffett Bass

McCoy Tyner, one of the greatest pianists in the history of jazz, comes to Ireland with a stellar septet to perform jazz classics by John Coltrane, Charles Mingus, Pharoah Saunders, McCoy himself and others from the renowned Impulse! record label.

A former member of John Coltrane's "classic" quartet of the 60's, Tyner is a four-time Grammy Award winner, a recipient of America's National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master Award, a member of the Downbeat magazine Hall of Fame and is widely recognised as one of the most dynamic, visionary and virtuosic musicians in jazz.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

!!!!!!!!!

I can't wait, going to get me tickets today. I was praying for it to be before the 19th July, going on holidays then. Payton should be very interesting, nice trumpet player!
    Can Tyner still play like he used to, does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shatners basoon

well his last album was in 2004 i think, a live album which got pretty good reviews, haven't heard it myself but the reviewer said that he's still got it anyway. Personally i always thought he was best at complementing the musicians around him, nobody comps better than him in my humble opinion. He's fantastic at keeping things together and thats what makes this septet prospect that much better :D

Didn't notice that Payton was playing trumpet, just another reason for me to get overly excited about this. I was gutted when i couldn't get a ticket for Shorter, this certainly makes up for that travesty!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Aw man. I really wanna go to this but without a jobbie it's not looking good. Do you know if it's sold out yet or near it?

It'll tell you on the site what tickets you'd be getting so i presume it'll tell you if they're sold out. Might sell out pretty quick but good luck getting one anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

I saw him as part of a trio at Cork '05 - very short set but it still managed to blow me away, It was great to see such an old guy keep up with the other two young musicians.

The only bad thing about that gig was the support act; It was some bizarre 9 peice American esemble calling themselves 'not in out name' - Jazz musicians against the war - or something to that effect. Pure self indulgant bol*x accompanied by classic 80s saxaphone dancing (you know the type, get down on your knees when you hit them high notes!!). Well I hope that their 10 minute off beat version of the american anthem managed to quietly convince the Bush administration, throught the magic of Jazz and saxaphone dancing, that the war was WRONG - not in our name!.

I was pretty blasted at the time and found all this mildly amusing to begin with but it gradually became rather torturous...

Did anyone else catch that??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭MonkMuffet

that support act was Charlie Hayden and the Liberation Orchestra....definitely an acquired taste all right but i actually liked some of there stuff....a lot of it was a bit noisy i agree, but thats the 'message' i suppose.
    McCoy was class:D

Whey! Got my ticket today :p

*waits for 12th July*

Good, good, wonder if there'll be a full house actually.

I'd imagine that if there's support (hasn't been anounced anyway, i know that for the Cork Jazz Festival all support was fairly well detailed from the get go, id be surprised if there is support for this gig.
    Seeing as its a tour celebrating Verve or something id imagine that it certainly won't be something as far out as Charlie Hayden and the Liberation Orchestra (though i kinda like some of what ive heard of them too though its a bit hit and miss)
    To the people who saw McCoy in Cork did he play a long set? I was unfortunate to miss that gig too :(

There was no support for Shorter. And I'd guess the setup is the same for this. I can't remember how long that set was(Shorter, that is), but it flew by. A guess would be around the 1.5 hour mark. Likely to have been less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

"Liberation orchestra"!!! Yeah that was it! If their music is so good at liberation maybe the US should consider deploying them in Iran.

If you ever see them supporting anyone in the future, my advice is turn up late!

mccoy played around hour and a half i reckon in cork.....coulda listened to him for eva but anyway...ye i certainly wouldnt go outta my way to see ch. hayden and his group but different ismostly ice imo...got my ticket for mccoy too! happy days! not sold out yet either!

I booked my ticket seperately to my friend, and we ended up sitting beside each other in the same row. 'Tis mad.

For the people who've seen him recently, can he still keep up with the youngsters?

Daddio wrote:
    can he still keep up with the youngsters?

the man still PISSES ALL OVER the youngsters :D

he truly is one of the greats imo....and grreats never really lose it frfom what ive seen...check him out;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 In/Casino/Out

Can't wait for this gig! Charnett Moffet is meant to be superb and also I am told that Eric Gravatt was the best drummer Weather Report ever had. Gonna be interesting to see how the big brass section will pan out... Would you say it will sell out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭StevieG

Loved the Cork gig and he was oblidging enough to sign my vinyl of "A Love Supreme" what a legend!

^ Now that's cool!

Payton has been replaced on trumpet btw :(

Woooo only 2 weeks to go wooooo!!!!
    Plus i plan on getting a nice new acoustic when i go down there :D

WOOOO!!!

wooooooooooo x2! can't feckin wait! gonna try and get him to sign some stuff:D

6 days...:eek:

Tonight's the night folks, let's have some reviews in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

All right, here goes. Mc Coy Tyner was wonderful, a great (very bloody old) pianist, but it was the musicians accompanying him that really got me. I dunno their names cuz Tyner was very hard to understand, the old buggers voicebox is fooked.. The drummer was really wonderful, he could be as brutish or as sweet as he liked and held the whole thing together,as drummers are wont to do. His rimshots were deadly. The horn player was cool, kinda looked like a fat Miles Davis, but he didn't really do anything ultra great. The trombone player was really great, played some beautiful solos. Bursting big sound. The tenor sax player (the only white dude) was really on the ball, big smooth creamy solos. The alto player was on another level, he was really intense. He played some great and one amazing solo. Almost the best solo of the night. The best was the bass. He was simply the finest bass player I have ever seen, and the happiest! His solos were all great, then he played this absolutely amazing one. Lots of very fast plucking, four-rolling and finger tapping. Also, he whipped out his bow to tap at the strings which produced about 3 different sounds at once, and he did it very bloody fast. He used his thumb aswell too a few times, which I had never seen on a DBass before. Then he whacked on the wah wah pedal while bowing the bass, that was some outer space stuff. That was one of the best solos on any instrument I have ever seen. Truly innovative and just brill.

That almost tops seeing the Dave Brubeck Quartet in Lausanne in november, which is really saying something.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 1,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭satchmo

I'm in Thailand, and very jealous. Sounds like a great gig.

ye the bassist wass deadly...anyone detect a kinda sarabic/sometimes latin flavour to his solos?
    great gig. great tunes, great solos. if i had one complaint it would be the sound system. i was sitting in the balcony looking straight onto the stage......at times it was quite noisy and unclear, a little boomy.....anyone else get that?
    but mccoy himself was class.......said he looking forward to coming back again....is this man ever gonna stop? what a legend.

Did anyone else think the Altoist looked like John Coltrane? I was sitting right in front of him in the front row and the resemblance was uncanny. Absolutely loved the gig, only slight complaint would be similar to Monk's: I thought the high treble on the piano was too loud at times. It kind of 'pinged' loudly when Tyner hit it. The horns were real cool looking, except for the tenorman - great player, but looked like he came from the garda band. Noice and Oirish, loike.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭carl_

I was actually really disappointed by the gig :\

For one, the acoustics were terrible. All of the solos were just one big mush for me. This was particularly bad for trombone. Pretty annoying since it was clear that there was some good stuff going on. What's more, I was thinking of nicking one of the good seats (I was sitting on the balcony) at half-time, only to find the concert was over! I couldn't believe it. Anyway, seemed like a nice gig. I just missed it :\

... glad I didn't pay :9

Yeah the Tenor guy looked like he turned up at the wrong gig!
    I did think the treble on the piano was a bit much but you can't have everything. Yerman on Alto looked pretty much exactly like Trane. Cept a little less tubby..

From what I can gather it depends on where you were sitting to get good sound. I heard one guy complaining in the toilets that he couldn't here the altoist, when another said it was the trumpet player he couldn't hear.

Everyone heard the drummer though. :D Brilliant.

He looked like a proffessor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

the DBplayer was absolutely amazing... he played with this constant big grin on his face, like a kid in a playground, so fun to watch. And, yeah, McCoy still got it. The sound system wasnt the greatest though...