Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sweepstake Pick a Team

• 01-05-2006 11:33pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok its time to pick a team.We had a very successful MTT with 30 runners which was a great turn out seems as the sweep has only 32 members.Now down to the fun and games of picking a team.Do not pick a team on till the person who finished one place above you in the MTT has there one picked,their is no time limit to pick but we don't want somebody going into the tank for 5 days trying to pick between Iran & Togo.

If you did not play in the MTT we will do a draw once everybody picks there team.

Here is the result of the MTT/picking order.

1 Big Dragon = Brazil
    2 Dub13 = England
    3 Poker Bratt = Argentina
    4 Dunning10 = France
    5 Jimbling = Italy
    6 Culchie = Holland
    7 Hector = Germany
    8 Aces Mike = Spain
    9 IonaPaul = Czech Republic
    10 Daithio = Portugal
    11 Davey Devil = Sweden and a woman with a package
    12 Howtobedead = Croatia
    13 TrueDub = Mexico
    14 DeadParrot99 = Togo
    15 Domh = Costa Rica
    16 Gerrie = Trinidad
    17 Okidoki987 = Angola
    18 Carrigeen = USA
    19 KKcardcooler = Ukraine
    20 Oscar = Saudi Arabia
    21 EoinOlin = Serbia
    22 LuckySparky = Australia
    23 Pokypoky = Japan
    24 ManBitesGod = South Korea
    25 Killerkp = Iran
    26 Cardshark202 = Paraguay
    27 Kinaldo = Ghana
    28 Kincsem = Switzerland
    29 Imposter = Poland
    30 Goodluck2me = Ivory Coast.

The Teams
    Angola,Australia,,Ecuador,Ghana,Iran,Ivory Coast,Japan,Paraguay,Poland,,Saudi Arabia,Serbia & Montenegro,South Korea,Switzerland,Trinidad & Tobago,Tunisia,Ukraine,United States

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Well done Paul you played a blinder. This has been tougher than I thought but I just can't see past Brazil after reviewing the groups and early knock out stages. So......Brazil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

You took your time big D but no shocks there anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

slowrolling fecker :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I was afraid you were going to say that dave...:( It was a great Tournament and well done to all.

Now for my team,If Dave is set on Brazil then I have to go with England.I have said I will taken them all along and even with Shrek out I think they will do well.When you look at the bunch after Brazil there is not much between them.

So Dub13 takes England

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Dub13 wrote:
    So Dub13 takes England
    You might as well have finished 15th instead of me. Without Rooney they have no chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I was worrying Id end up with England after finishing 20th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

slowrolling fecker :D

:D;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

well done Dave, played a stormer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

Top marks Catherine :D

Maybe she should play more often .:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I can't wait to see what i'm left with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I wonder will Poker Bratt (Ste05?) pick the team we both wanted, now that he reached the dizzying heights of 3rd?

EDIT By the way Paul, once people have made their selection, you should edit your 1st post adding their team beside their player name. And delete the team from the list of countries at the bottom of the post. Much easier for us to keep track of who has been taken and who is left.

P.S. No more slagging my stunning avatar, the PokerStars ladies* love it!

* These may not be real ladies, or even ladyboys. Damn inter-web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

I think my 2 minutes of fiddling with ms paint avatar of a parrot being shot with an arrow needs to be improved
    Or at least resized to fill the circle....
    p.s did anyone cry when they got to the final table?

I'm not one to hold grudges, accuse people without reason or be a sore loser, so all I'll say is that those who finished 8th and better are damn dirty apes who may or may not have sold their souls to the devil for a temporal reward. I also have it on good authority that they each like to kick puppies and were involved in the sinking of the Titanic AND the taking of Pellham One Two Three, amongst other atrocities.

Other than that, they are decent skins who played a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Sorry for the delay lads, just want to take a look at the groups and then I'll give you my selection. Just have to find a spare moment in work this morning.

P.S. Well Played Dave and Paul...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

OK, I suppose this one was inevitable really. I'll take Argentina, I've been saying them all along so better stick with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

No surprises there Ste, was hoping you might go for someone else as i fancy argentina.

Just had a quick look at groups and knockout stages and it has to be France for me. Hope Henry gets there fit and gets some goals.

Congrats Dave on winning last night.

Still a good few top teams left. Paul, picking the team that can't win a penalty shootout at least means you'll face some conflicting emotions watching the matches in the pub! I hope they do well just because it brings a good bit more excitement to the whole tournament.

Now girls you lot can slag me all you want about picking England but I am telling you they are strong this year and I have said all along I think they will do good this year.I just hope the grinning gigolo can get them playing well and "becks" and co don't take over the England.And Mr Paddy Power seems to agree with me and has England down as second favorite after the Samba Boys.

ionapaul wrote:
    EDIT By the way Paul, once people have made their selection, you should edit your 1st post adding their team beside their player name. And delete the team from the list of countries at the bottom of the post. Much easier for us to keep track of who has been taken and who is left.

Thats what I am doing but you can only edit a post for 24 (maybe 48) hours.

ionapaul wrote:
    P.S. No more slagging my stunning avatar, the PokerStars ladies* love it!

All I will say is it took me a while to get to sleep last night,scary stuff indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

England without Rooney or possibly Owen? Not a chance. Cheers for picking them though. Maybe I will get a half decent team after all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

If I was in the top 16, I wouldn't pick
    BRAZIL, ARGENTINA, ENGLAND, GERMANY OR ITALY :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Italy will win it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Decisions, decisions :mad: :mad: :mad:

Angola, Togo, or Trinidad & Tobago :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

sorry guys... just got out of a 5 hour meeting... absolute torture.

..... hmmm.... its not an easy choice at this point, but I think I'm going to go for Italy. They've been in great form, and just have a feeling they could do well this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Holland

Culchie wrote:
    Holland
    a pox on your head ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

This is gonna take a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Deutschland uber alles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Deutschland uber alles

I think that's ANGOLA gone ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Viva L'Espania !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

its like watching the draw for the FA Cup .. :o

So its between the Czechs and Portugal for me...head says Portugal...but heart says the Czechs! Get in there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

So that's the Czechs then Paul? I'm gonna have to go with Portugal so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

I'll have Sweden, do their women come with the package?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Do you like women who come with a package?

It's the Saudi Arabian women with packages you want to watch out for in this world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

AKA : HOWTOBEDEAD

Sorry for the delay lads.

Its Croatia for me.

Congrats to Dub13 on organising the comp.
    Looking forward to the next one.

That's the good teams gone I think, other than arguably Mexico. So who's going to be the first to pick one of the Minnows and try to win the bogey prize?

We have to have a prediction thingy going as well... this is sad.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

ionapaul wrote:
    That's the good teams gone I think, other than arguably Mexico. So who's going to be the first to pick one of the Minnows and try to win the bogey prize?

Dub13 already did :)

Culchie wrote:

I already run one of those at work so I have spreadsheets already set up if there is interest in this idea. I am sadder it seems Mick :o

ah yeh, lash it up there Dom, it's only once every 4 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Culchie wrote:

I say we all use this one

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/spl/hi/predictor/html/football/world_cup_06/default.stm

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

I'll take Mexico then

hmmm
    after lenghty deliberation I propose Togo to be this years surprise package in the World Cup ;)

Well I will go for the mighty Costa Rica to shock the world and win it.

Shortstack wrote:
    Dub13 already did :)

You will all be proved wrong come the final.Does one of the crowns subjects not have faith in his mother land Mike...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Dub13 ..... England ..... I can't believe it.

Great goalkeeper, ok defence, good midfield (if they drop Becks), and ....... I can't find their attack

Goaks scored in the qualifiers by the forwards ...... Crouch (0) Defoe (1) Owen (3) Rooney (0) Smith (0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

England would be far worse off without Beckham. If he finds his form for the world cup England will have a great chance of making the quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

I was going to pick the aussies I dont know why but I reckon I may as well aim at the whipping boy prize instead, still could pick the aussies for that too, but will go for the obvious Trinidad.

There is a whipping boy prize isn't there

gerire wrote:
    I was going to pick the aussies I dont know why but I reckon I may as well aim at the whipping boy prize instead, still could pick the aussies for that too, but will go for the obvious Trinidad.

There is a whipping boy prize isn't there
    I sure hope so ;)