Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Temple Bar to get its own A&E unit

• 26-04-2006 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭

Sad sign of the times:confused:

Maybe they could get around all this nonsense by not pouring thousands of drunk rowdy people onto the street at the same time. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Cianos wrote:

Maybe they could get around all this nonsense by not pouring thousands of drunk rowdy people onto the street at the same time. :rolleyes:

Or not drinking so much you require hospitalised care in the first place...! I think the people using it should be made ot pay for it, too.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Cianos wrote:

yer.

they introduced 24-hour drinking in scotland or somethin didn't they? how's it workin out?

here's hopin that goes on the government's agenda! (and by government I mean the one elected in 2007, not FF/PDs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

doors of hospitals should be closed to people who have taken too much to drink all they are doing is sobering them up and giving them a hangover free day after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

tintinr35 wrote:
    doors of hospitals should be closed to people who have taken too much to drink all they are doing is sobering them up and giving them a hangover free day after.
    oO
    Aye. That's all they're doing...not stitching them back together so that they don't bleed to death ....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Give it it's own clap clinic and then you'll never need to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Rockdolphin

Cianos wrote:

If our nanny state government let people drink when they want to drink instead of forcing them to drink within limited hours they lay down, then we wouldn't have the cattle mart we have on our streets at closing time.

In the UK they introduced 24 hour licensing which the nanny staters said would lead to increased violence and problems only to be dramitically proved wrong. Late night violence has seen a huge decrease proving if you treat adults like children that need to be told when they must stop drinking expect them to behave like children when they get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

i hope by A&E they mean Assholes & Eejits . waste of money tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

prevention is better than cure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 maxruby

Unfortunately this A+E would not be just for drunks to recover.
    But for the idiots that feel the need to fight after drink and end up in s**t.
    Maybe it be a good thing and keep the other A+E's free for the really sick people.
    Ever sit in the waiting room for hours because of some idiot cant handle their drink, or because someone is to tight to pay for a G.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,086 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I go out every Friday and Saturday. I drink a hell of alot at the weekends, I get very drunk indeed...however, Ive never gotten in a fight or been violent towards anyone....never had any urge to be either. Ive never drank soo much that I have collapsed or needed medical assistance. Maybe its time to stop blaming the drink and start blaming the ****ing eejit scumbags who cause all this trouble ? I do think 24 drinking laws would help though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 maxruby

Tusky wrote:
    I go out every Friday and Saturday. I drink a hell of alot at the weekends, I get very drunk indeed...however, Ive never gotten in a fight or been violent towards anyone....never had any urge to be either. Ive never drank soo much that I have collapsed or needed medical assistance. Maybe its time to stop blaming the drink and start blaming the ****ing eejit scumbags who cause all this trouble ? I do think 24 drinking laws would help though...

Tusky I agree totally.
    And as someone who can only drink so much before falling over I know how to control it.
    But like you say its the idiots that cant do this that cause the problem.
    And I would be 100% behind PROPER drinking hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Tusky wrote:

Fair, enough you can handle it then, but others can't. No one's balming the drink, but the fact is, these guys may have had exactly the same as you have and wind up in a police cell. I think it's a cultural thing: we think it's ok, we accept it, sometimes people evne see it as a badge of honour.

Don't think 24 hour licencing would have any effect one way or the other. It'll just stagger the drunks (if you'll pardon the pun :D!), so that they come in at different times. If you're gonna get pissed senseless, you're gonna get pissed senseless.

Bring in the a&e unit, but charge them something like 100 euro a visit and then force people require hospitalisation should be forced to attend AA meetings. That'd work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sharza-

If our nanny state government let people drink when they want to drink instead of forcing them to drink within limited hours they lay down, then we wouldn't have the cattle mart we have on our streets at closing time.

Thats waffle, you'd all still be roaming around going from pub to pub locked, puking on the streets, for proof, just walk around town on a friday saturday night before the pubs close and see the locked eejits pissing everywhere and fighting, doesnt just start at 2am.
    In the UK they introduced 24 hour licensing which the nanny staters said would lead to increased violence and problems only to be dramitically proved wrong. Late night violence has seen a huge decrease proving if you treat adults like children that need to be told when they must stop drinking expect them to behave like children when they get drunk.

Thats also waffle, I just watched a documentary on this last week, it was a town in Wales that had the new drinking hours, and what they had now was what they called "mad saturday" where from the time of 11pm to 6am, the mainstreet of the local town was like bagdhad, police had to take on extra staff, and bring in a on the spot fine for urinating in public, or the option to clean it up then and there.

Maybe if the country wasnt so highly populated alcoholics in denial retards who insist on getting locked every bloody weekend.

Yes now go about the usual shoot me down because im acting high and mighty, fact is im not, I drink, but I dont get hammered, you will find me in the pub once most weekends, you will also see im enjoying a pint, but I have a limit, and I know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 TheTruthFairy

Cianos wrote:

Exactly.

www.giveusthenight.com

Give Us The Night are a volunteer group who are campaigning to change our current stupid closing times. Go to their website and see how you can support them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 TheTruthFairy

Sharza- wrote:
    Thats waffle, you'd all still be roaming around going from pub to pub locked, puking on the streets, for proof, just walk around town on a friday saturday night before the pubs close and see the locked eejits pissing everywhere and fighting, doesnt just start at 2am..

There will always be idiots who drink too much. Changing closing times will ensure the idiots go to hospital in dribs and drabs rather than all fall in the door at 3 in the morning.
    Sharza- wrote:
    Thats also waffle, I just watched a documentary on this last week,

So you are an expert on the subject because you saw a tv show?
    Why don't you try reading some UK government and police reports which have proper research rather than "some documentary" on sky.
    Sharza- wrote:
    Maybe if the country wasnt so highly populated alcoholics in denial retards who insist on getting locked every bloody weekend..

Alcoholism is a rather different matter to what is being discussed here. My parents are both alcoholics, but they don't go out injuring themselves or scrapping with people on the street. It is the social acceptance of binge drinking and fighting that is the problem here.

By the way I find the use of the word "retards" rather offensive, it hardly adds to your argument.
    Sharza- wrote:
    Yes now go about the usual shoot me down because im acting high and mighty, fact is im not, I drink, but I dont get hammered, you will find me in the pub once most weekends, you will also see im enjoying a pint, but I have a limit, and I know it.

Well I don't drink alcohol at all but I fully support staggered closing times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Well lets look at the pros and cons of having 24 hour licensing or even staggered closing times.

Some immediate thoughts;

Pros
    -far less people on the streets at any one time
    -less power drinking for last orders
    -less fights
    -no communal gatherings outside nightclubs shut doors (where most of the fights start)
    -more distributed demand for nightlinks/taxis
    -less pressure on Gardai between the hours of 12 and 4am
    -less chaos at late night take aways

Cons
    -prolonged noise pollution
    -need for (reduced number of) Garda to be on streets til early hours

anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

i believe they key word in the article is 'may'.

not gonna happen.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Rather than all-night drinking, I would support "instant electrocution" for all drunk assholes. What you have is the new Garda Reserve equipped with Tasers, and all they do is go around town asking "going into temple bar tonight?" Anyone that answers in the affirmative is tasered. And denied hospital treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Rockdolphin

Cianos wrote:
    Well lets look at the pros and cons of having 24 hour licensing or even staggered closing times.

Some immediate thoughts;

Pros
    -far less people on the streets at any one time
    -less power drinking for last orders
    -less fights
    -no communal gatherings outside nightclubs shut doors (where most of the fights start)
    -more distributed demand for nightlinks/taxis
    -less pressure on Gardai between the hours of 12 and 4am
    -less chaos at late night take aways

Cons
    -prolonged noise pollution
    -need for (reduced number of) Garda to be on streets til early hours

anyone?

Agree with you on all of the above. Alcohol gets a value it doesn't have by imposing restrictions on it's availibility. A pint of beer becomes a much more precious commodity 30 minutes before closing time than it was hours earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

i think the a & e unit for temple bar is a good idea.

facing facts it would reduce over crowding at the hospitals in the city centre area.

i would also support fines for those found to be so drunk they can't walk etc. about €500 sounds good to me.

€200 plus costs of care for drunken injurys.

I would also support 24hr drinking. But the bars/clubs should have an onus to refuse drink to those who are already smashed.

To qualify my above statements, I myslef drink a lot prob 2 sometimes 3 times a week. but i never get in fights or injur myself or others.

yesterday i filled in a survery going on here in UCD. There were good questions and I am interested in seeing the results.

Anyone who is in ucd i suggest you do the survey. there are 10 chances to win €1000. and thats a lot of tuborg, or bucky, or mars bars whatever your into :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

first off i'd agree with the idea that the drunks on the weekend take up space and time in the A&E depts, but actually not as much as people constantly make out.

Secondly, you can't just turn people away from A&E, just because they are pissed, its only this week that alochol induced apnoea (stopping breathing basically because of too much alcopops for the unwashed :D ) has been in the news. I've seen several cases of people having to be intubated due to this.

As for charging €100 a pop to get in.....well thats a fine idea in theory, but where will the 19 year old lad/girl who is wrecked come up with the said money? esp after a night on the tear? what do we do? not treat them til they cough up?

as per usual in this country the government miss the point, instead of spending lots of money on an alocohol education programme for 1st and 2nd years, shoing them the dangers, and promoting responsible drinking among the adult population, they mess about and crow about licensing etc etc. They aren't really a nanny state,IMO, they want to be but they don't actually have the balls to carry through on anything

Agree with you on all of the above. Alcohol gets a value it doesn't have by imposing restrictions on it's availibility. A pint of beer becomes a much more precious commodity 30 minutes before closing time than it was hours earlier.

Rubbish - Alcohol in this country is valued for itself, not its rarity. The simple test of this is to ask your colleagues if they had a good weekend - the answer will inveitably be "Yeah went on a mad one got totally trashed can't remember a thing". If licencing was to blame for the binge drinking culture, then the response would be "Yeah tried to go out on the beer but had to down 4 pints in 5 minutes coz the bar was closing". Most Irish people are very drunk WELL before closing time. Paddies day is the perfect example - people start drinking early in the morning. That means they have 12 solid hours to drink - do they drink moderately, and leave when they've had enough? Do they balls. They drink just as quickly as at night time, only they do it all day instead. Look at the queues at off-licenses before good friday and christmas day - it's pathetic. Two days a year they can't drink and they go into a massive panic. You don't see those scenes in other countries, with the exception of parts of England where we have a shared drinking culture.

nurse_baz wrote:
    first off i'd agree with the idea that the drunks on the weekend take up space and time in the A&E depts, but actually not as much as people constantly make out.

Secondly, you can't just turn people away from A&E, just because they are pissed, its only this week that alochol induced apnoea (stopping breathing basically because of too much alcopops for the unwashed :D ) has been in the news. I've seen several cases of people having to be intubated due to this.

As for charging €100 a pop to get in.....well thats a fine idea in theory, but where will the 19 year old lad/girl who is wrecked come up with the said money? esp after a night on the tear? what do we do? not treat them til they cough up?

as per usual in this country the government miss the point, instead of spending lots of money on an alocohol education programme for 1st and 2nd years, shoing them the dangers, and promoting responsible drinking among the adult population, they mess about and crow about licensing etc etc. They aren't really a nanny state,IMO, they want to be but they don't actually have the balls to carry through on anything

Re: Those with no nomey. Not at all - they part company with a deposit - driving licence (they're not going to be needing to tonight) passport (might require a bit of thinking ahead, but shouldn't be a problem) or whatever, and get billed at a later date. Those without ID can be escorte to a police station or holding cell until processed by the Gardai, where they can stay until such time as the garuds have colleteral. Even if it takes until the next afternoon - people might remember it next time on the tear.

If care needs to happen first, then so be it, but that doesn't mean you can walk away without responsibilty.

I don't think the government's to blame, it's a social one not a legal one. Attitudes have to change, not laws.

it's a social one not a legal one. Attitudes have to change, not laws

hit the nail on the head, and maybe through proper education these attitudes may change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

A pint of beer becomes a much more precious commodity 30 minutes before closing time than it was hours earlier.
    So how do you explain the untouched pints of beer you see scattered around a busy pub at shoving out time? Surely if it was that precious it would be drunk and not wasted because the person in question is too inebriated to consume it. It has more to do with the fact that a lot of people feel they need to get absolutely banjaxed before leaving the pub regardless of whether it is 3pm or 3am.

Ireland is one of the few countries in the world where it is acceptable to see drunks wandering around the streets at ANY time during the day. Unfortunately as a result Australians and many other nationalities view Irish people as being a nation of drunks and don't really take them seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

themole wrote:
    i think the a & e unit for temple bar is a good idea.

facing facts it would reduce over crowding at the hospitals in the city centre area.

i would also support fines for those found to be so drunk they can't walk etc. about €500 sounds good to me. €200 plus costs of care for drunken injurys.

and how would a policeman fine someone on the spot who is so drunk he can't walk?

any talk of refusing healthcare to people who are drunk is dangerously stupid... when of those guys dies after being refused healthcare you will rue the day...

No I won't. Not to be evil, but I won't. Just like I don't rue the day base jumpers hit the ground, or extreme solo adventurers get lost when the weather changes. You make your choice and you pay the consequence.

unfortunately in my profession and anyone who is a doctor, we don;t have that liberty.....

and how would a policeman fine someone on the spot who is so drunk he can't walk?

any talk of refusing healthcare to people who are drunk is dangerously stupid... when of those guys dies after being refused healthcare you will rue the day...

How would a policeman enforce the law? Hmm... tricky one that...

Now, to repeat, I am NOT proposing the refusal of healthcare to drunks. I am against the the refusal of responsibility by those who are drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

themole wrote:
    i would also support fines for those found to be so drunk they can't walk etc. about €500 sounds good to me.

€200 plus costs of care for drunken injurys.

Please €500 for being drunk? How are you gonna decide the level of drunkness? Yeah it sucks people get drunk and end up wasting hospital time but what are you gonna do if they can't pay? Jail them?
    Most people will probably get so drunk at least once that they're walking funny but i don't think it deserves a €500 fine.

Please €500 for being drunk? How are you gonna decide the level of drunkness? Yeah it sucks people get drunk and end up wasting hospital time but what are you gonna do if they can't pay? Jail them?
    Most people will probably get so drunk at least once that they're walking funny but i don't think it deserves a €500 fine.

At this point, I think we need to differentiate between 'fines' and 'costs'. I don't know off hand what the fines/penalties are for being drunk and disordlerly, nor are they relevant. I'm saying the COSTS should be high and paid for by the 'drunk'. If you're not so drunk you need medical help then you won't to pay for it, now will you? If you are, then you need to be held responsible for such costs, end of story.

okay i see your point alright....but what if

i'm a chronically depressed 40 year old man, borderline personality disorder as well. who uses drinking as a means of solsace to take the pain away? I'm homeless by the way too.....who'll pay for me? do i deserve to get it free? if i do, doesn't that leave the state/HSE open to claims of discriminatory treatment?

i'm just playing the devils advocate on this, so you know. I agree that drunks coming in to A&E are an issue, but we can't be turning our backs on the real issue (which u pointed out) and thats the social acceptability of being locked and falling over.

and can i just add that these drunk people aren't really the ones who clog up the A&E's causing the crisis we're in now, its mainly people who could go to their GP or local pharmacy and get seen that take up spaces in the waiting room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Yeah thats true. I wish there was somewhere you could get smaller things looked at, like when you need stitches or like when ive an asthma attack, all i really need is a nebulizer and a plug socket you know?