Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TCD Boards Awards - REVOTE, new list - Check Myths post 107

• 26-04-2006 7:14pm
    Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Thats Right.....

The second Trinity Forum awards show!

Where: The Pav?
    When.... Only you can choose.....

Catagories
    1. Poster of the Year
    2. Thread Of the Year
    3. Best looking Poster
    4. Best Comeback
    5 Best picture posted
    6. best " its 5 am and i'm pissed" post
    7. Best new poster
    8. best mod

Can this be Stickied and People add to it? Ya Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I, of course, nominate myself for the best lurker award....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I put myself forward for Best Looking...

RuggieBear, there are better (or worse?) lurkers than you. Perhaps you should propose a best Alumni Lurker award.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

1. Poster of the Year - me
    2. Thread Of the Year - my aram thread
    3. Best looking Poster - me
    4. Best Comeback - your ma.
    5 Best picture posted - mine
    6. best " its 5 am and i'm pissed" post - Dec, and the fight iwth the bus stop
    7. Best new poster - Kev :rolleyes:
    8. best mod - me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!
    Stolen from UCD!
    Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

I think there should be a "kid gloves" award. A few nominees spring to mind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

is this not our second one of these?...and didn't ucd copy our first?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

yes..... this is the second one...

can this be stickied?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Catagories
    1. Poster of the Year - Myth, for his sheer "i dont want this to be an SU board fanaticism
    2. Thread Of the Year - Gloryhole, its gotta be (had to change this)
    3. Best looking Poster - i'll go with susan, she's the only female one that
    comes to mind atm - and all yee lads are mi
    ngers like.
    4. Best Comeback - still to be decided
    5 Best picture posted - the pig invasion
    6. best " its 5 am and i'm pissed" post - Dec and the lamppost, has to be.
    7. Best new poster - i'm thinking europerson
    8. best mod - Dec, for his Sheer hilariousnessness

Irland, No points...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

1. Poster of the Year - Dead Ed for his continued contribution to Dada and Surrealist art
    2. Thread Of the Year - Gloryhole
    3. Best looking Poster - Myself, obviously
    4. Best Comeback - I had two in one thread but it was deleted. It was one of those spanners who join only to be a tnuc and he posted a thread asking "Have any of you trinners ever had sex" and I replied "Yes and your mother was delighted with all of us" and someone else replied with "I love it" and I replied "So did she..." You all missed out. Apart from the mods.
    5. Best picture posted - Army of pigs and/or Dónal getting kidnapped (which got stolen by those newspaper folks)

copyofdscf00201tt.jpg

dscf00054ll.jpg

6. best " its 5 am and i'm pissed" post - Dec's recent smashy smashy Gardaí one
    7. Best new poster - ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI for having a cool sig
    8. best mod - They've all got lovely bottoms

4. Best Comeback - I had two in one thread but it was deleted. It was one of those spanners who join only to be a tnuc and he posted a thread asking "Have any of you trinners ever had sex" and I replied "Yes and your mother was delighted with all of us" and someone else replied with "I love it" and I replied "So did she..." You all missed out. Apart from the mods.

No, I remember..it was classy.
    I've said so many witty, high-brow and devastatingly efficient comebacks that they've all blurred together, unfortunately.

1. Poster of the Year: Dead Ed, for writing hilarious rants
    2. Thread Of the Year: gloryhole thread.
    3. Best looking Poster: i won't vote for myself. so based on second-best hairstyle, I say ronny mitchell.
    4. Best Comeback: any of mine, of course.
    5 Best picture posted: naturally, my "i'm going ****ing crazy" one. it was art, sheer art.
    6. best " its 5 am and i'm pissed" post: probably one of Dec's, maybe the smashy one.
    7. Best new poster: dunno, maybe europerson
    8. best mod: Dec, crash is too new and ian, your spelling is atrocious. :D

John2 wrote:
    dscf00054ll.jpg

That seems like such a long time ago.

[edit] I'll tell you what. Someone organise a date, venue and time and I'll sort out prizes for the 8 catagories.

I never got my pink, fluffy pencil case by the way.

Well you got a pink pig.

I shall sponser an award if I can go. Damn work. I'm in at 5pm today. For f*ck's sake. 5PM! I'm in College! I can't be doing that sort of thing.

But I am also playing football for the first time in about two years at 2pm :D.

I put myself forward for Best Looking...

RuggieBear, there are better (or worse?) lurkers than you. Perhaps you should propose a best Alumni Lurker award.

235601036a412103281b686266990l.jpg

Indy wins Both awards....

( also ignore stargal on his sholder)

Indy isn't a lurker though...

Well, not in the message board sense anyway.

But in the "outside the teenage disco with chloroform" way, certainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Pet wrote:
    But in the "outside the teenage disco with chloroform" way, certainly.

LOL! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

OI! :D

I'm also laughing because I was intrinsically involved in both Donal's kidnapping and the piggery in DURNS!

Boards awards is a good idea, we need to see if it clashes with my on calls. Every Boards and TCD event in the last 6 months has fallen on an On Call day...... :(

perhaps its a sign....

No, this is a sign:

gandalf-sign.jpg

It's a warning to all those who don't study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

3. Best looking Poster

I'm going to nominate agent smith himself for this award as he looks very cuddly. Also, he's tall which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Pythia wrote:
    I'm going to nominate agent smith himself for this award as he looks very cuddly. Also, he's tall which is nice.
    Did he ask you to nominate him?

Pythia wrote:
    how much is he paying you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

1. Poster of the Year,
    there's too many to choose from...

2. Thread Of the Year,
    Glory Hole. Ah, the tangents....

3. Best looking Poster.
    there's too many to choose from....

4. Best Comeback,
    ETA: pet's many, many "that's hot". i always picture him with his hair bleached, and wearing a short dress, fake tan and high heels when i read one of them. ETA #2, but not in a weird, it puts the lotion on its skin way

5 Best picture posted,
    kidnapped myth.

6. best " its 5 am and i'm pissed" post,
    any of apexaviour's.

7. Best new poster-
    awayindahills, those long rambling posts, good reading.

8. best mod,
    ETA: Dec/ape - benevolent Papa Smurf of the mod ranks.

Oi, you can't wuss out like that. Pick your nominations and post them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

There should be a "best outsider" category.
    Goddammit we gave an award to Neil, the least Trinners can do is return the favour!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

i think we're supposed to take a hint....:p

but onto more important things such as when we're going to have this. now taking into account the general hackery which prevades here last council is on tuesday so that involves a fair few peopel here, after that fridays are universal pav days but theres only one left before the end of term, wait is that the end of term well bar trinity ball,so how about thursday this week?

or monday or tuesday of next week?

6 at the pav to give people who want to study time to do so

nah we always have it after exams.... well we did last time, led to a real decent(ish) turnout....

Yes, after exams. Please.

I'd say the turnout anytime from now to exams would be pitiful.

Yes I agree. Myth, John2 and Smithy are right.

SebtheBum wrote:
    Goddammit we gave an award to Neil, the least Trinners can do is return the favour!!!

Seb, you have the best ideas!

SebtheBum wrote:

Wouldn't Kev get that too?

ooo lots of competition for that award so.......

vs. the mod award, dec's gotten all the votes, should we be insulted neil?

No, you just need to try harder. I couldn't pick one of you though, you're all crap! ;)

try harder? i'm sure if we had stats i've the highest number of bannings, edits, thread closures and everything else on this board :)

though does that make me more of a power mad dictator than the benevolent figure that dec is? ;)

Ian, when I read the first line, I was going to respond that it just means you're meaner than the others. But then I read the second line and saw that you'd attained enough self-awareness to ackowledge your own despotic tendencies :D

Dec's not benevolent, he just controls his evil urges slightly more :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

I count two. Pet doesn't count (cos he's my bitch) and Crash was just bein modest.

I do however, apparently claim best "its 5am and I'm pissed" post. A title I'd really really rather not be associated with. It's very very bad and embarrassing. Infact I claim no credit or responsability for them since I rarely remember it. If anyone should get that award it should be the demons tbh and not me..

(cos he's my bitch)

I would have ended up "walking into a door" if I hadn't voted for him. :(:(

ApeXaviour wrote:
    I do however, apparently claim best "its 5am and I'm pissed" post. A title I'd really really rather not be associated with. It's very very bad and embarrassing. Infact I claim no credit or responsability for them since I rarely remember it. If anyone should get that award it should be the demons tbh and not me..
    Actually i want an award for un-deleting all dec's threads and posts that he makes when drunk :p

1. Poster of the Year - I'm going to go John2, or Dead Ed.
    2. Thread Of the Year - Glory holes.
    3. Best looking Poster - See 8.
    4. Best Comeback - Can't 'member any.
    5 Best picture posted - Definitely the DURNS kidnapping. Though did anyone ever put up that pic of agent smith with the nail polish on?
    6. best " its 5 am and i'm pissed" post - Dec and his amazing multi-coloured bus-stop fight.
    7. Best new poster - I'm going to go with awayindahills too.
    8. best mod - I'll go with the lovely bottoms too for $200.
    9. Biggest hack - I'm going with Neil, Joe or Rob.

Hermione* wrote:
    Ian, when I read the first line, I was going to respond that it just means you're meaner than the others. But then I read the second line and saw that you'd attained enough self-awareness to ackowledge your own despotic tendencies :D
    self what now? hrmm arts student phsycobabble :p

The 'I'm drunk' award HAS to go to Dec's Guards and the sign incident, funniest thing I've heard in months! Anybody trying to top that will just have to resign themselves to failure.

I suspected Neil was a hack and he denied it ... see, I knew it was very odd for me to be wrong. That's because I wasn't :D

Hermione* wrote:
    I suspected Neil was a hack and he denied it ... see, I knew it was very odd for me to be wrong. That's because I wasn't :D

This proves it.

I saw that, it's what proved to me I was right!

Did joe get access to Pythia's account? or is she taking some great drugs?

Pythia wrote:
    See, and thats why you have no say.