Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyres in Galway

• 19-04-2006 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭

anyone got any idea where to get the best price for tyres for the car ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Try francis Melia @ 087-xxx
    he's fairly good and can come to you to fit the tyres...If you can't get out to him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Now, that is humour.
    A question about tyres and "Hotwheels" answers.
    Class :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

www.eiretyres.com ftw

Unless you want real bargain basement Korean rubber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Robbo wrote:
    www.eiretyres.com ftw

Unless you want real bargain basement Korean rubber.

The problem there is some places won't fit tyres they dont supply themselves, and anyone that will charge a fortune... Know anywhere that will fit them for a reasonable price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,967 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

There's a place in Currandulla listed on their site

Seven Worlds will Collide

Just came back from yer man in Clonboo...

Francis is his name, 087-xxx

Have to say he's great. I got 2 17" Toyo Proxes... They were listed at 110eur each on eiretyres.com, he supplied and fitted them for that price! He's a nice chap, and not far out the road at all... It would have taken me just as long to get out to Kieran Farrel Tyres (Ballybane) with the traffic! He's got all the gear you need for changing tyres, he does it for a living (I thought he was just a handyman)

Yep you want it... Francis will likely have it... at a good price too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭tred

JohnCleary wrote:
    Just came back from yer man in Clonboo...

Francis is his name, 087-xxx

Have to say he's great. I got 2 17" Toyo Proxes... They were listed at 110eur each on eiretyres.com, he supplied and fitted them for that price! He's a nice chap, and not far out the road at all... It would have taken me just as long to get out to Kieran Farrel Tyres (Ballybane) with the traffic! He's got all the gear you need for changing tyres, he does it for a living (I thought he was just a handyman)

I bought 4 17ins from eyre tyres last week and he installed and tracked them for me. hes good allright. Idealt with him before and hes honest enough. Everyone swears by him, and hes keeping costs dwon with being a one man show id say..

Old thread Iknow (Googled cause I needed a number)

Can't recommend this guy enough. Just rang him there as im absolutily desperate (on a space saver) for an aqward size tyre - Told me he'd have them tomororw night for me... A rubber legend, he could put durex to shame!

Yep Francis is a real gent...I'll be getting new boots of him soon too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

need new tyres thanks to a slow puncture - anyone got a recommendation for a cheap (and good) tyre place?

Cheers

galah

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

ballybrit tyres just past windsor motors on old monivea road, alway clatter me exhaust straight for free while its up on the jack :p

Give Francis Melia a shout (see ad at bottom) @ 087-xxx
    he's a sound gent and should save ya a few squid...he can even get to you if you can't make it to him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭scart

Sponge Bob wrote:
    ballybrit tyres just past windsor motors on old monivea road, alway clatter me exhaust straight for free while its up on the jack :p
    Yeah I would recommend these guys. Got a new exhaust fitted by them, fast and efficient service and the price was very good as compared to the quote I was given by advanced pitstop. Nice guys too...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

And they do cheap cat convertors as well, /me never goes anywhere else but Ballybrit Tyres. I know I would only ever get a good deal off one certain operation (who shall remain nameless) if I was a Probation Officer :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭fish fingers

bohermore tyre centre. beside tonerys pub. very reasonable

Get a price on eiretyres.com

Then ring that Francis lad at Clonboo Tyres and ask if he can come anywhere close to that price. Last time I asked he matched the price, and charged €8 a tyre to fit. Can't beat that tbh I always go to him for my tyres now. Sound fella too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Hey all!

Thanks for all the tips! Got my tyres done in Oranmore now, very reasonable, and quick!

Thanks again
    galah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭cuculainn

Hi All,

Have any of you been to Kieran Farrell tyres and how does their prices compare. I need to get the tyres aligned also so need a place that does both

Thanks for the help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 KingJo

I found Kieran Farrell tyres to be quite expensive. Try Fahy's Freefit Centre on the Headford Rd- very reasonable prices and fast & friendly service too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 keithhammond

Hi

Theres a guy in Cloonboo. He does an evening tyre service from 7 - 10 pm. He will also come out to you if that is better for you. I have always found him good, and probably better price than the likes of Advance and some of the bigger companies in Galway. Details are in the Yellow Pages his name is Francis Melia. Good guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭cuculainn

Yeah a few people have recommended the guy in clonboo. Gonna give him a try, have to get the car aligned also so I think he does that too.

Will let you know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 gossip girl

got my tyres done in Fahy's Garage last week they were quite cheap and really friendly. I'll be going back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭rco2000

this famous guy in cloonboo is gone up to e45 for 4 tyres fitted. I asked him why he was quoting e7 per tyre on eiretyres - he said "oh that's 4 years old". Rip of Ireland is alive a well even in recession!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 quattro 1

rco2000 wrote: »
    this famous guy in cloonboo is gone up to e45 for 4 tyres fitted. I asked him why he was quoting e7 per tyre on eiretyres - he said "oh that's 4 years old". Rip of Ireland is alive a well even in recession!:mad:

Have any of ye ever tried this .? Take a packet of soup 2 t bone steaks 6 patatoes 1 onion and some ice cream into a restaurant and ask them how much to cook them.What do u u think would tell u ?
    This guy in cloonboo will fit tyres from 8 euro up to 12.5 depending on tyre size and if u take away u old one. he is also open in the evening time which is worth alot no need to take time of work for a lot of people.Also he does a first class job any time i used him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Have any of ye ever tried this .? Take a packet of soup 2 t bone steaks 6 patatoes 1 onion and some ice cream into a restaurant and ask them how much to cook them.What do u u think would tell u ?
    This guy in cloonboo will fit tyres from 8 euro up to 12.5 depending on tyre size and if u take away u old one. he is also open in the evening time which is worth alot no need to take time of work for a lot of people.Also he does a first class job any time i used him

If the restaurant was advertising a "bring-and-cook" service with a price on a website, I would expect them to honour the price. Would you?

So why does he (or you:rolleyes:) not contact eiretyres.com and ask them to remove his 4yearold price?

On another point for other posters, once ye get a price from eiretyres, check out camskills.co.uk for a comparison. Add £23 for delivery of 4.

quattro 1 wrote: »

I'm sure the guy is very professional to deal with & very good at what he does (like all tyre fitters I'd expect) & the last thing I would want to do is damage someones hard earned reputation . However
    - the guy is advertising in Ireland's busiest online tyre selling website for e7 per corner. Is that against the law? The size of tyre I wanted was just a 145/65r15 which is small/basic enough. I
    - He also told me that the e7 price was 4 years out of date, yet he was charging this rate 18 months ago?
    - you are not comparing like with like. Big diff between tyre FITTING & t-bone steaks.
    - crown the customer - the customer (you, us, we) are always right (even more so in recessions).
    Anyway I got them fitted with another operator near Athlone for just 7.50 per corner. He was very good to deal with & my wife's family in the midlands deal with him all the time & highly recommended him.

Andrea B. wrote: »
    If the restaurant was advertising a "bring-and-cook" service with a price on a website, I would expect them to honour the price. Would you?

So why does he (or you:rolleyes:) not contact eiretyres.com and ask them to remove his 4yearold price?

On another point for other posters, once ye get a price from eiretyres, check out camskills.co.uk for a comparison. Add £23 for delivery of 4.

Bump! Could not agree with you more Andrea_B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭whitelightrider

Folks,

I need to get my car tyres tracked and balanced. Can you tell me where the best place to go in Galway city is?
    Also what price would it be?

Best place i've found was Galway Car Service Centre, moved out just to the left of Lidl Doughiska (inside the fencing)

They did a savage job on my car. They've a new machine out there that does a 3d image of your car so they can get everything spot on... some places (eventhough they've good machinary) will only to toe in/out and read your camber (as I found out when I wasted money getting it done)

Cost me 40euro at Galway Service Centre, and they ended up spending 1.5 hours getting it spot on :eek: - It was like a different car it drove so much better after. No affiliation but prob the best tracking service i'd ever gotten in Ireland, nevermind Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭whitelightrider

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Best place i've found was Galway Car Service Centre, moved out just to the left of Lidl Doughiska (inside the fencing)

They did a savage job on my car. They've a new machine out there that does a 3d image of your car so they can get everything spot on... some places (eventhough they've good machinary) will only to toe in/out and read your camber (as I found out when I wasted money getting it done)

Cost me 40euro at Galway Service Centre, and they ended up spending 1.5 hours getting it spot on :eek: - It was like a different car it drove so much better after. No affiliation but prob the best tracking service i'd ever gotten in Ireland, nevermind Galway

Im working up beside the racecourse so thats perfect. Thanks John. Ill give them a call and book it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 KingJo

Fahy's Tyre Worx on Headford Rd (beside Fahys Garage)
    They will track and balance them for you. And they are very reasonably priced. PM me if you want number..:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭biomech

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    +1...:D top lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭biomech

JohnCleary wrote: »

i think its the same machine in most places but some dudes dont know how to use it correctly and others dont know where to make the adjustment on the cars.... i had to show a guy who tryed to drop the rear subframe off my vecci....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭jkforde

Can someone recommend best place based on experience to get a car puncture repaired in town...

Thanks for any help.

🌦️ 6.7kwp, 45°, SSW, mid-Galway 🌦️

"Since I no longer expect anything from mankind except madness, meanness, and mendacity; egotism, cowardice, and self-delusion, I have stopped being a misanthrope." Irving Layton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

place across from elverys in liosbaun industrial estate-- always forund them reasonable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 hamlet01

Might be a bit out but AC Tyres, Galway Rd Headford do a top notch job at really competitive prices. 09336027 is the number.

He was found to be cheapest for a car tyre for a family car in this region by the Irish Times pricewatch thingy a while back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

while we are on the subject of cars, where in town can you get a fault read and cleared in your car (engine light flashing on dashboard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

What make?

skoda octavia

If its in warranty trip into Monaghans on Tuam rd as they are main Skoda Dealer... Failing that, Advance in Ballybane or Headford Rd should be able to sort it.... Some smaller garages have the diagnostic equipment now, but if its an engine light, best to get it dealt with and diagnose the fault properly!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭moikey

Anyone know of any cheap tyre repair places?

thanks

Merged with other tyre threads so you can find suggestions already made.

AC Tyres, Galway Rd Headford, 093 36027... Found cheapest for family saloon cars at some point by Irish Times pricewatch....

I got tyres off the Francis Melia chap about a month back, came across his details here after a google search. Couldn't fault the service, nice chap too. Highly recommeded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 summer

Hi guys, sorry for hijacking your tread, but just pricing some tyres, for a Audi A6 the other day, and rang Advanced Tyres Athlone, got a price of them for 4 Continental 225/55/16 and the said €220 each, fitted and balanced. Do you think i am been over charged for these.

summer wrote: »
    Hi guys, sorry for hijacking your tread, but just pricing some tyres, for a Audi A6 the other day, and rang Advanced Tyres Athlone, got a price of them for 4 Continental 225/55/16 and the said €220 each, fitted and balanced. Do you think i am been over charged for these.

THose tyres are €142 EACH on www.eiretyres.com

So your been charged (based on this price) €78 per tyre for fitting and balance. Sounds allot !

It does seem a lot alibabba, i gave them a ring in at Athlone, as i live near Ballinasloe, and said to him, that i could get 225/55/16 Bridgestone, Pirelli P7's for around €130 each, fitted/ balanced, and got a quote for Continental's, in or around €135 fitted/ balanced. He did not seem to care, in other words, take it or leave it, thats the price €220. I did ring AC Tyres, Galway Rd Headford, and was talking to a chap called Andrew ('absolute gentleman') and he said, that because of where i am living, the cost of the Bridgestone or Pirelli P7s would be around the price of my first quote, but he said that their ''aim is to be competitive'' . The ony thing i will say about Advanced Tyres Athlone, '' NOT COMPETITIVE'' I deff........ never never will try those shower again. And thank's alibabba for your reply.

Hi Guys, I am back again to let you know, that i got 4 Continental 225/55/16 for my Audi A6, from a Dealer in Eyrecourt in Co Galway Price fitted/balanced €420. I think this was a bargin. Anyone wants his name, i will put it up.