Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever met somone famous.......

• 15-04-2006 5:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Bertin Aherns Wife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

whiskeyman wrote:
    who?

exactly. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Met Colin Farrell in Café en Seine before..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Repli wrote:

Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

WoW! It's like living in hollywood around here! :eek:

I pulled Mary Harney in one of our many trndy, star studded bars before! I was a bit star struck at first, I admit, but she's really down to earth and just like the rest of us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Very funny :p Went for a smoke with him and all.. nice guy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Bertin Aherns Wife

Daughter, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Bertin Aherns Wife
    swing and a miss

Oh lol, I only read the 1st line of topics before replying..

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Repli wrote:
    Been afraid of him since the opening scene in intermission :eek:

I dont move in the same circles as the beautiful people so the only famous people Ive met were Paul Daniels (the magician) and his 'lovely' wife Debbie McGee... Knew them at the time but not something I boast about :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

zabbo wrote:
    swing and a miss

I apologise on his behalf PowerhouseDan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I served some guy from Fair City, Dermot I think his characters name is, in work last summer. Des Bishop has been in the shop a few times when he's in the area. Also some woman from TV3 was in too.

Another time I met Dana when she was campaigning to be president, I was only like 12 or somethin, hadn't a clue who she was , she told me to tell my mam and dad to vote for her.. heh..

Repli wrote:
    Another time I met Dana

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

everytime i go to a concert i end up meeting the bands. the most famous was probably james from metallica, even though it was for a mere 2minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 BanSouthpaws

Met jerry springer when I lived in chicago,cool guy,hes more amazed than anyone that he got such fame and press and such stick for the show.I think he has a pretty good bead on things.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭skye

Seamus Heaney - lovely man...
    Brian Kennedy - also very nice
    Dan Rather - meh...
    Mary McAlesse - again nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

What worries me is that the OP allowed her to sign for her goods rather than use her PIN and didn't bother checking the name on the card, my first thought would be to check that the name on the card matched the gender of the customer... or is that just showing my age?

everytime i go to a concert i end up meeting the bands. the most famous was probably james from metallica, even though it was for a mere 2minutes

I think someone better remind all posters the OPs post was
    Ever met somone famous......and not know they were famous at the time?

There's been too many "ever met someone famous" threads on AH...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

I met that footballer, Vinnie Jones I think is his name, when I was about 8 on a late flight home from England. My sister and I were the only children on the flight and on the shuttlebus from the plane to the main building he did some magic tricks for us involving coins and ears. I didn't know who he was until my mum told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Met Damien Duff on a plane over to London, the day after the France match ;_;. I recognised him of course, but when I turned around to tell my mum she said "Damien Who?". Cue jaw dropping. My mother knows zero about football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

I think the only famous person I have seen is Gordon Ramsey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

whiskeyman wrote:
    I think someone better remind all posters the OPs post was

There's been too many "ever met someone famous" threads on AH...

woops didn't spot that, apologies

And I reitterated it..... but
    Willem D wrote:
    I think the only famous person I have seen is Gordon Ramsey.

Ever get the feeling no one reads the original post, let alone previous posts anymore? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

whiskeyman wrote:
    And I reitterated it..... but

Ever get the feeling no one reads the original post, let alone previous posts anymore? :D

I am so so so sorry . :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Mate of mine's Uncle spent a flight sitting next to this South African Gentlemen. They made small talk, then my mates uncle brought up his favourite hobby: Golf. The South African Dude turned out to be very interested and talked alot about golf. As the plane landed my mates Uncle realised he didnt know the gentlemens name so he stuck out his hand and said his name. The South African responded "Hi .... I'm Ernie. Ernie Els"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WallysWorld

Nightwish wrote:
    I served some guy from Fair City, Dermot I think his characters name is, in work last summer.

Define famous for me? I wouldnt know someone from Fair City if they came up slapped me and roared IM IN FAIR CITY to my face.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

I saw john Torturro (Jesus from big lebowski) in southampton airport once - think he had gotten off a flight from Nice.

Didnt speak to him though I spent about 5 mins thinking about a big lebowski joke then decided that that could end badly. Also sat opposite that astrologer guy (patrick something) from Sky at night once on a tube years ago.

DOH - after re-reading the original post

....and not know they were famous at the time?

What ~I meant to say was No - never did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

You work in NEXT.
    lol.

I once met Charlie Haughey without knowing who he was.

(in the kilkenny sense of the word)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Little Goose

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    You work in NEXT.
    lol.

What is funny about working in Next?

Sorry, that one went over my head..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭branners69

Bought Harvey Keitel a pint in Toner's, sh1t cool bloke..

For you movie philistines he was Winston 'The Wolf' Wolfe in Pulp Fictions and Mr. White in Reservoir Dogs;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Little Goose

Thats what I just asked!! :confused:

Its a fcuking ****e kip tbh....that what he meant tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

Crash and burn... Excellent.

While working in JD Sports (anyone want to make jokes about that one? Its a hole, get over it) I served shoes to Ken Doherty (he was buying astroturf boots for his nephew, I think). I also managed to be (allegedly - according to her) quite rude and unhelpful to (I found out afterwards) Samantha Mumba. Man, she was a minger.

Thats about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

NotWormBoy wrote:
    Man, she was a minger.
    I hear you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

i serve georgina ahern quite regularly. lovely girl. prettier in real life than on tv/in mags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

I was walking the Sheeps Head penninsula down in west Cork last september and was doing a bit of map reading on the side of the road before heading up into the hills when this fancy ass lexus pulled up alongside me. The guy waved me over so I ran to the car and opened the passenger door. He offered me a lift, so I explained that I was walking the whole circuit so he was alright. Besides he was kind of giving me the glad eye. We chatted for a bit and I thanked him for stopping by to offer me a lift.
    It was only when he drove off that I realised that it was Christy Moore. I think I didn't recognise him 'cos he wasn't covered in sweat.
    Still fair play to him for stoping off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

branners69 wrote:
    Bought Harvey Keitel a pint in Toner's, sh1t cool bloke..

For you movie philistines he was Winston 'The Wolf' Wolfe in Pulp Fictions and Mr. White in Reservoir Dogs;)

*grabs a rabbit*

"Would ya look at this one, he looks just like your man, Harvey Keitel"

Ive met/seen/or shook hands with (excluding concerts) Anne Doyle (seen about 3 times round town), Joe Duffy (saw him from top of a bus), Ray Darcy (team won a schools thing, he presented prizes, sound lad), Gerry Fleming from the weather (his son was in the competition Ray presented prizes at. Yer RTE influence got you fcuk all that day Gerry!), John Bruton (at the opening of the Blanch shopping centre, must be 10 years now, shook his hand) Mary McAleese at.....something, former German chancellor Helmut Kohl, the weatherman off UTV weather, Father Stone from Fr Ted, and I could swear I once saw Ricky Tomlinson (Jim Royle), if it wasnt him it was his twin brother.

God, it must be 4- 5 years since I saw anyone famous, bar at gigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I went for dinner with a few friends once, and with us was the lead singer of Powderfinger. (aussie band). I'd never heard of them at the time. Thats about the height of it for me. HOWEVER a girl I knew in college came in one morning and told us she had been with a guy the night before who was an Irish soccer player. She didn't believe him, and couldn't remember his name (which she assumed was fake anyway - classy girl!). Anyway, one of the lads in the class was reading a paper and she saw the back page and went mental - she saw the guy (for obvious reasons, I'm not saying who it was) and couldn't believe he was who he said he was. If she was lying, she's the best actress I ever met - she was really shocked.

anyway, this thread just reminded me of that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

I met Beyonce about 5 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

Katykaboom wrote:
    I met Beyonce about 5 years ago

What was she like ? Did you get a photo ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

i met nigel planner when i was 4. obviously before i knew the difference between famous and normal people :rolleyes:

Met Lenny Henry while he was filming the skit about the pirate radio station, i was wearing street hockey gear and he made a joke about me being scared he was going to hit me.

i met andrew fletcher when i was 11, again didnt really cop who he was till a few years later.

Met john hurt in 1999, kind of knew he was famous :)

ive met other famous people but i knew they were famous. (most recently the Dirty Sanchaez boys)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

it was a load of gay really was mad into destiny's child back then, went to concert, won a backstage pass, met all three of them, she is really small, absolutley caaaaaaked in make up, yer wan Michelle was a snooty cow, and Kellie, prettiest out of lot of them and was bang on.

We werent allowed take any pictures, or even bring cameras they took a picture and told us they would put em up on a website, but I lost my password blah blah blah, my friend printed me a copy I have it at home somewhere...