Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs/Clubs on Thurs night (Good Friday etc)

• 11-04-2006 12:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Are they really closed at 12? Because I see on entertainment.ie loads of them are only opening at 11 like the pod, club m, etc.. thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I dunno what the situation is this week but I can only tell you that a club in Kilkenny was raided at 00:30am (an hour and a half after opening) in the early hours of Good friday, a few years back, and everyone was kicked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

That would be crazy, and I doubt those places plan on closing at 12. Feckin backwards country..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

All clubs and bars must have premises cleared by 12 on Thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

The guards came in and cleared my local at 23:55 last year, everyone has to be out by midnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fireblade1

I was in the Kings Head last holy thurs and we had to be out by 12 methinks !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

madness really that the backward laws in this country havent been changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

You can only legally but booze on good Friday on either a train or a pub in a train stations pub such as oslo in Connolly Station but you have to have a valid train ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

If they don't close by midnight then zombie Jesus rises from his grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Well I was in a nightclub for holy Thursday last year and they were open but just not serving e.g. bars were not open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Please leave this topic die quickly. I hate being reminded I live in such a backwards country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Well I was in a nightclub for holy Thursday last year and they were open but just not serving e.g. bars were not open.
    this is what most clubs will do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Most clubs will probaly close. Its the same as christmas eve/day. As soon as it hits 12 they will close. Dublin clubs wont risk there license or hassle to open.

However you could ring the club to find out. But i cant see them staying open when they cant serve drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

It's one day out of the year, sheesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Exactly ya still have Saturday and Sunday night so chillax the cacks :rolleyes: .... plus there is also the possibility of house parties :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭nuttz

Sleepy wrote:
    Please leave this topic die quickly. I hate being reminded I live in such a backwards country.

If so many of ye think you live in backwards country, why don’t you just emigrate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

indiewindy wrote:
    You can only legally but booze on good Friday on either a train or a pub in a train stations pub such as oslo in Connolly Station but you have to have a valid train ticket

So could I buy a single ticket from Conolloy to Clontarf or something cheap like that and get in? :p:o :eek: :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

...and the reason for the government trying to prevent me from buying a drink on the first day off* of the longest weekend of the year is?

I'm sure that pubs etc would have no problem being open on what would be a fairly busy day for them otherwise.

*The fact that it's not a proper public holiday should be sorted out as well, but thats another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

...and the reason for the government trying to prevent me from buying a drink on the first day off* of the longest weekend of the year is?

I'm sure that pubs etc would have no problem being open on what would be a fairly busy day for them otherwise.

*The fact that it's not a proper public holiday should be sorted out as well, but thats another thread.

Along with Christmas it is one of only two days in the year........do something different.....

I think this is one of possibly three threads opened on this topic, and I am sure the same threads appear on an annual basis.
    Kippy

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

kippy wrote:
    Along with Christmas it is one of only two days in the year........do something different.....

The something different that I want to do though might be to go to the pub though. Every other day of the year I'm stuck in an office so why should I not be allowed to spend the day how I want having a pint or two?

There is no reason for the pubs to be shut on good friday as far as the publicans or their customers are concerned. On christmas day they may possibly not get a whole lot of buisness so it might not be viable for them to open, but a good few pubs would be open then in the UK for a few hours and their drinking habits are not hugely different to Irelands.

kippy wrote:
    I think this is one of possibly three threads opened on this topic, and I am sure the same threads appear on an annual basis.

So there must be a good few people that think it's about time this rule was changed.

So you spend all the bank holiday mondays, paddies day, stephens' day, new years eve etc in your office-do you not think these are enough options to be away from your office....

Why do you feel the need to go to a pub on this day more than any other?

Frankly this is one of the things I do not want to see dissappear from modern Ireland.

Why? Do you like forcing your religious beliefs on others?

TBH, I'll be spending this friday hiking rather than sitting in a pub. However, I do not see it as anybody's right to tell me that I can't go for a pint that evening if I want to do so because of their belief that some guy rose from the dead two thousand years ago.

Sleepy wrote:
    because of their belief that some guy rose from the dead two thousand years ago.

That's Easter Sunday ;) we're allowed to get pished on that day :p:D:)

Uhm, I was referring to the entire basis of the religion, not the fact that this weekend is their celebration of nailing the same guy to the cross ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

But you'll happily take the day off. That bit of religious belief being forced on you doesn't seem to upset you as much.

Why? Do you like forcing your religious beliefs on others?

TBH, I'll be spending this friday hiking rather than sitting in a pub. However, I do not see it as anybody's right to tell me that I can't go for a pint that evening if I want to do so because of their belief that some guy rose from the dead two thousand years ago.
    You've probably also no problem taking Paddies, Christmas etc off from work either even though they too are linked heavily with "religious beliefs"...
    Do you think that these holidays should be forced on you as well.....because someone believes in St Patrick or that Jesus was born.....

I am not forcing anything on anyone, just wondering why some many people cant just accept it.....its a part of Ireland, linked with religion of not if the pubs were open it would be the same as any other day of the year.....(baring Christmas)

So how many of you are buying Easter eggs and christmas presents?

kippy wrote:
    You've probably also no problem taking Paddies, Christmas etc off from work either even though they too are linked heavily with "religious beliefs"...
    Do you think that these holidays should be forced on you as well.....because someone believes in St Patrick or that Jesus was born.....

I am not forcing anything on anyone, just wondering why some many people cant just accept it.....its a part of Ireland, linked with religion of not if the pubs were open it would be the same as any other day of the year.....(baring Christmas)

But on any other public holiday day (ignore christmas) no one is trying to tell me how I should be spending that day so someone is trying to force their view point on me. Every country gives it's citizens various national public holidays but why should this one day have different restrictions on what you can and can't do from any other public holiday?

My main problem is actually that the day is not a proper holiday day so I have to go into work, although I won't be staying for long, but because every where is shut there is nowhere for me to go to get any lunch.
    bluewolf wrote:
    So how many of you are buying Easter eggs and christmas presents?

No and no. Bah humbug.

Although I might buy myself an easter egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I don't drink an awful lot, or rather I don't drink frequently ;) But the fact that they tell me I can't... doesn't my head in, so I'm having a big house party! \o/

All welcome btw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

robinph wrote:
    My main problem is actually that the day is not a proper holiday day so I have to go into work,
    Thats what gets me. The government refuse to think it is special enough to make a public holiday, so I have to work. But they think it is special enough to close pubs for? why is that? whats the logic behind it? did jesus say "put down ye flagons" while he was nailed to the cross or something?

I have to work yet cannot enjoy a simple pint after work like I do every other friday.

And people always say "its only one day a year", same with christmas, so its 2 days a year. When could we start moaning, 5 days, there are 100's of other holy days that also are not public holidays? if your birthday was deemed a no-drinking day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Chris P Duck

I dont see what the problem is. This country seems like it can not operate without alcohol. Its so funny. Holy Thursday is one of the busiest days of the year apart from christmas time for off licences. Its only 24 hours for god sake. You will still be alive on Saturday, and you can have a drink then.

Have any of you ever thought about the publican. Is he not entitled to a holiday? Im sure they are happy to close on good friday.

I dont see what the problem is.
    people drink most on fridays and saturdays, simple as that. It is not a public holiday, so why should it be closed. The banks have chosen to be closed as a bank holiday but no other business is forced to close. I can still buy cigarettes on good friday and various other recreational drugs.
    Have any of you ever thought about the publican. Is he not entitled to a holiday? Im sure they are happy to close on good friday.
    Are you joking me!!?? the barmen maybe, but the publican would be well pissed off about lost revenue from a friday night. If it was holy tuesday they were forced to be closed on they wouldnt mind so much.

Theres nothing to stop any pub closing on ANY friday, so why dont publicans close on any other friday, if they are free to do so and would be so happy about it?

Off licenses may make a killing on the thursday due to people stocking up on the illegal alcohol, but pubs/ clubs are loosing out big time as they have a reduced turnover on the thursday due to early closing and then no business on the Friday. Even without the friday being a proper public holiday they would still be in for a lot of business on any other weekend that is then followed by a public holiday on the monday.

Pubs and clubs are loosing out on buisness, we are being told that we cannot do the same on this friday as we would any other weekend, and people end up drinking more than they would otherwise as a result becasue they have been told that they should not be drinking. There is no good reason for alcohol sales to be banned on this day more than any other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Good Friday is the official 'repaint the pub' day in my parent's place. All the staff come over, we spend the day painting the place, then usually sit down to a feed of pints and a steak. Many pubs use Good Friday to do those niggly bits of maintenece you can't manage when the place is open.

That said, it's utter nonsense that we don't have the option to open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

I would have to say, since I've lived in Ireland I have found the whole pub closing thing a bit annoying, but I have also been to some of the best parties on Good Friday. Maybe it's just me, but people seem to push the boat out a little bit more because it's the one day they can't go to the pub. It's like "Quick, it's Holy Thursday...buy an entire off licence's worth of booze and half the contents of a supermarket, and let's have a REAL party!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

I'm heading to Belfast for Good Friday. Supposedly quite a few Southerners do, should be good craic.

Okay, so most people here are of the opinion that its not really the pubs being closed thats the problem, its the fact that they dont have a choice in the matter. They dont like the fact that someones else's views or opinions are faced on them.
    I would suggest that we do away with all the other holidays we have related to religion also-seeing as all are based on "Someone forcing their views on us"

There is no good reason for a lot of laws/decisions in this country however on this day I think there is not problem with it......

kippy wrote:
    There is no good reason for a lot of laws/decisions in this country however on this day I think there is not problem with it......

Feel free to not have a drink on friday then. If you have a drink or not is nothing to do with the rest of us, but preventing the rest of us from having a drink when we want one is when there is no reason for preventing us to do so. If the aim of this daft rule is to try and cut down on drinking by the population as a whole for our own good then they have got things so wrong, the best way to reduce drinking on this friday is to let the pubs open as per usuall and nobody will care and will probably just sit at home with a cup of tea and watch some TV. To tell us that we can't have a drink becasuse someone in a silly hat said so is not going to get the desired result.

kippy wrote:
    Okay, so most people here are of the opinion that its not really the pubs being closed thats the problem, its the fact that they dont have a choice in the matter. They dont like the fact that someones else's views or opinions are faced on them.
    I would suggest that we do away with all the other holidays we have related to religion also-seeing as all are based on "Someone forcing their views on us"

Fine, do away with all religious holidays and declare the same number of public holidays. Public Holidays are a necessary thing (and as Fine Gael pointed out during the last General Election we actually have less of them than most of Europe). Choosing Christian holidays as the framwork for deciding which days to grant these public holidays is a concession to the fact many people in this country are Christian and that's all it is. Your beliefs are not the reason we get the public holidays and that assumption is simply arrogant tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

I know what is wrong here.
    It is like being told not to press the big red button that says if you press this you will die so Do not press. Some people just gotta do it. Similarly, we are told not to go out on Good Friday and we cannot so it just makes us wanna do it more.

Just some peoples problem with authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭nuttz

Next Tuesday, the people complaining in the two/three threads here, won't give a **** if the pubs are closed on Good Friday until next year, when the same complaints will be heard again. blah, blah,blah...

nuttz wrote:
    Next Tuesday, the people complaining in the two/three threads here, won't give a **** if the pubs are closed on Good Friday until next year, when the same complaints will be heard again. blah, blah,blah...
    I don't think anybody would disagree with that... but so what?

As for this defying authority thing by drinking more. I think it is just the simple fact that fridays and saturdays are peoples usual drinking days, especially with a long weekend. Since everybody knows pubs will be closed, so parties are planned well in advance. They usually drink more since more people are off work on the friday, so they start earlier. The house is stocked to the walls with drink since they do not want to run out, and it will not go to waste as it could be drank the next day/week. There is no closing time in the house so people will tend to drink more, it is far far cheaper too.

In my drinking calendar good friday is usually worse (better?) than paddys day, or new years eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

The fact we can't buy alcolhol before 11am , does that wreck everyones head too ? ;):confused::p

Thats been forced on us too !

Fine, do away with all religious holidays and declare the same number of public holidays. Public Holidays are a necessary thing (and as Fine Gael pointed out during the last General Election we actually have less of them than most of Europe). Choosing Christian holidays as the framwork for deciding which days to grant these public holidays is a concession to the fact many people in this country are Christian and that's all it is. Your beliefs are not the reason we get the public holidays and that assumption is simply arrogant tbh.

Yes lets do that-but lets also leave the law regarding pubs as it is for Good Friday-which will no longer be any form of a holiday-just a normal day that the pubs are not allowed to open.....

Public holidays are needed, I didnt say they weren't.....I love getting them, in fact there should be more....
    I do realise that my beliefs are not the reason that we have holidays.....and I never said such a thing. I was pointing out that if we did away with all holidays associated with Christianity would there be an outcry? Sure there would. Even if we replaced them with standard holidays there would be a majority who did not agree.

Good Friday is a massive part of the religion of the majority of the people in this country and as such laws made about pub closing should remain....whether or not a few people disagree with it or not. Its the law of the land-every day you obey the laws of the land whether or not you agree with them or not.

kippy wrote:
    Its the law of the land-every day you obey the laws of the land whether or not you agree with them or not.

Not this Friday we won't be. ;)

So anyone know what the story is in the Oslo Bar in Conolloy station :confused::)

kippy wrote:
    Yes lets do that-but lets also leave the law regarding pubs as it is for Good Friday-which will no longer be any form of a holiday-just a normal day that the pubs are not allowed to open.....
    It already is a normal day that pubs are not allowed to open (banks close to). It is not a public holiday, thats the whole point, why is drink not allowed to be sold, what is so special about this particular holy day out of the 100's of them? it is not even special enough to be a public holiday.
    kippy wrote:
    Good Friday is a massive part of the religion of the majority of the people in this country and as such laws made about pub closing should remain....
    What other items would you like to see banned for sale on good friday? what other businesses should be forced to close? what other holy days do you think stuff should be banned on? and what items?

Hows about banning the sale of cigarettes on ash wednesday, or coffee on st stephens day?

I didnt make the laws, I just respect them.
    I dont know what the numbers are on this but I would doubt that the majority of the population would agree that the law should be scrapped on Good Friday. (Dont say the majority believe it should be scrapped based in the posts in here as this is not a fair representation of the population)
    Whats special about this day is that pubs are not allowed open....so it should make us think that bit more about Our Lord dying.....as Christmas Day should make us think that bit more about Our Lord being born. Two pretty big events in the beliefs of the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Alli Babba

yea I have never been out on a Thurs night and the palce has stayed open on the Fri

However wat about Fri night last year Spirit opened at half 12 on Sat morn a few places do that
    You swear the pubs were never opening up again hehehehehe!!!!!!!
    Alli x

kippy wrote:
    Whats special about this day is that pubs are not allowed open....so it should make us think that bit more about Our Lord dying.....as Christmas Day should make us think that bit more about Our Lord being born. Two pretty big events in the beliefs of the majority.

Can I just add '******** to that'.

The census may well show that the majority of the population consider themselves catholic or some such other twaddle, but I'd be fairly certain that there will be more people drinking alcohol on friday than going to church.

kippy wrote:
    Yes lets do that-but lets also leave the law regarding pubs as it is for Good Friday-which will no longer be any form of a holiday-just a normal day that the pubs are not allowed to open.....`
    Well that's not exactly changing the status quo if we do that on Good Friday now is it? You'd still be inflicting religious beliefs on others. Would you support making Ramadan fasting compulsory? Ensuring that all shops selling food or resteraunts were closed during daylight hours for that period? It'd seem a little unfair on non-muslims to me...

And as has already been pointed out, 'Holy Thursday' is the second busiest day of the year for off-licence sales so banning the sale of alcohol for any other Friday of the year for health reasons would be a bit stupid.
    Public holidays are needed, I didnt say they weren't.....I love getting them, in fact there should be more....
    I do realise that my beliefs are not the reason that we have holidays.....and I never said such a thing. I was pointing out that if we did away with all holidays associated with Christianity would there be an outcry? Sure there would. Even if we replaced them with standard holidays there would be a majority who did not agree.
    I think you'd find the uproar would be over the messing with people's holidays rather than any religious factors. If you were to replace them with standard holidays with 2 extra days, most Irish 'Catholics' wouldn't give a fcuk.
    Good Friday is a massive part of the religion of the majority of the people in this country and as such laws made about pub closing should remain....whether or not a few people disagree with it or not. Its the law of the land-every day you obey the laws of the land whether or not you agree with them or not.
    I'd question how 'massive' a part of the religion it is to most Irish Christians tbh. Irish 'Catholics' that don't seem to understand that their religious beliefs are actually protestant ones rather than Catholic ones (though I can understand the historic reasons for this, I still consider it ignorant to profess belief in something one doesn't understand or practice). I think you'd find most of the Irish 'A lá carte Catholics' would support the opening of pubs on Good Friday.

Surely even a devout Catholic should be able to respect my right to drink on a Good Friday if I wanted to?