Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Date!!!!

• 08-04-2006 9:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

hey everyone, bringin a girl out tonight for first date, just wanna know does anyone know a good pub for a first date in dublin, not an old mans pub, but not a skangers pub, somewhere great craic but good for first date its a saturday night too only nite both of us are available...please help its tonight!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Teh Porterhouse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭MonkeyWrench

Why not take her to a restaurant than a pub? Most pubs on a saturday night will probably be jammers and it will be hard to hear each other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭smokie78

see mates will be out in town more than likely temple bar so dont want them bastards seein me they scare her off!!! so thats that out of the question....restaurant ...maybe its just me but ithink i for a first date i would find that uncomfortable, its grand if ur going out a few weeks or maybe even a second date,....jaysus im so confused !!!

Go somewhere around Grafton St./Dawson st.
    Some nice pubs around there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Go the cinema and then go for a drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭In IRL

Sinnots across Gaiety is good if you can find seats.
    Sin is good
    Morrisson's is great
    Hairy Lemon is good
    Why not bring her to a cafe or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Capital bar is a nice spot.

what does head i melted mean? where did you meet her in the first place?

met her in capital bar.....hahaha god its so hard to pick the right pub...see i was in a relationship for 3 years so crap at this sort of thing

Go to Ron Blacks on Dawson St. It's a nice pub and pretty ideal for a date.

Maybe start off somewhere near the capitol bar and then towards the end of the night make your way to the capitol bar. it will help with the conversation if ye are both somewhere familiar. you know - do you remember when we were here the last time and that drunk guy fell over there etc... might ease the tension if the chit chat is hanging by a thread at that point!

orla wrote:
    Go the cinema and then go for a drink
    yeah i love cinema but think it would be awkward for first date.....cant really chat!!

Maybe start off somewhere near the capitol bar and then towards the end of the night make your way to the capitol bar. it will help with the conversation if ye are both somewhere familiar. you know - do you remember when we were here the last time and that drunk guy fell over there etc... might ease the tension if the chit chat is hanging by a thread at that point!
    ur a legend monkey wrench thats a good idea...might start at market bar or 4 dame lane

rb_ie wrote:
    Go to Ron Blacks on Dawson St. It's a nice pub and pretty ideal for a date.
    is that the smallest pub in dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

why do ya have to bring her to a pub?

anyway my suggestion, go to the village. you can chill downstairs in the bar for a while then head up to the club later.

smokie78 wrote:
    is that the smallest pub in dublin?
    No that's the Dawson Lounge.

why do ya have to bring her to a pub?

anyway my suggestion, go to the village. you can chill downstairs in the bar for a while then head up to the club later.
    any other ideas instead of a pub, i think its what us irish do.....id like something diff dont know if she would

rb_ie wrote:
    No that's the Dawson Lounge.
    so ron black is good yeah? i walked past before and it looked good

Alright Smokie, good luck man. Don't bring up the 3 year relationship on the first date either, can lead to all sorts of non comedic type situations...I take it the 78 means that you are 27/28?

so i think im sorted with a few pubs...what about clubs... im getting cheeky now eh??

smokie78 wrote:
    so ron black is good yeah? i walked past before and it looked good
    Yeah it's a good spot, great for dates.

Alright Smokie, good luck man. Don't bring up the 3 year relationship on the first date either, can lead to all sorts of non comedic type situations...I take it the 78 means that you are 27/28?
    ur on the money yeah im 28...

I'm 28 too. I'm just out of a 2 year relationship in the last few months and a bit rusty with the whole dating thing at the moment too.

you think i should meet her at the pub or at central bank?

I think if she is of a similar age she would probably appreciate a restaurant more than a bar and then a couple of drinks after. Its probably best to mix it up through the night, having a couple of hours of alone time and then determine if you want to meet up with your mates later on in the night. if they seem too drunk, probably best to introduce them some other time..

defo not meetin up with the friends and i dont know bout the meal i would prob find it a bit awkward for a first date...

first date dublin where to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Firstly dont go to the cinema, because you simply cant talk, and it doesnt get you relaxed in each others company.

I think the above ideas are good. Why dont you meet her outside the mercantile at eight o clock, have a few drinks there and relax. then could move over to dame lane depending on how the night is going. or you could head to fitzsimons in temple bar. or grab a bite to eat in one of the restaurants around the area,... acapulco on georges street is good and v relaxed.

I understand what your saying about the meal, but i dont think that would be aqward at all. there s obviously something that makes you both click with each other or you wouldnt be meeting up, so dont worry about the situation, just go in with a positive opinion , relax and see what happens. If anything you ll hopefully have an enjoyable night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

oooh tough One.Tbh I would say somewhere out of town as anywhere on a saturday night is gonna be mobbed.Ive been brought on first dates in madigans in Dnneybrook Mc Sorley In ranelagh or russels are great spots for the first date. If you plan on going clubbing i would say the odeon,cos you have comfy sofa upstairs where you can make your move if you like.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

smokie78 wrote:
    first date dublin where to go?
    How about a nice secluded place in the Phoenix Park? She'll be dead impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

How about a nice secluded place in the Phoenix Park? She'll be dead impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

panda100 wrote:
    oooh tough One.Tbh I would say somewhere out of town as anywhere on a saturday night is gonna be mobbed.Ive been brought on first dates in madigans in Dnneybrook Mc Sorley In ranelagh or russels are great spots for the first date. If you plan on going clubbing i would say the odeon,cos you have comfy sofa upstairs where you can make your move if you like.......

Great plan, my advice would be the same ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

alrite out with it!!!!

Where did you take her and how did it go???? :D