Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Morgan Spurlock's 30 Days - Living on Minimum Wage

• 04-04-2006 8:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭

Did anyone see his program last night about surviving for 30 days on the US minimum wage?

How did it make you feel?

I was appalled!

I mean, I know poverty exists, but it's easier for me not to think about it, you know, avoids me feeling guilty.

I just couldn't believe just HOW difficult they found it to make the money last, & then 2 trips to A&E cost them over US$1000!!

How do people survive like this, or go through that type of living every day of their lives?:confused::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

How much was he getting per week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

He was signed up with a temp agency, so it could be a different job, different rates each day, but generally he seemed to be coming away with about $45 / day.
    The gf was on something similar.
    Morgan ended up needing to take on 2 jobs just to try & have enough for rent at the end of the month.
    One day he spent 11 hrs in total getting to /from work & working:- fo rthat amt of time is wages work out at just over $4 / hr

It showed a guy he was working with. He had to make do with the same wages as Morgan but had a wife & 4 kids to feed, clothe etc with the same amt of money.

I honestly couldn't say that if I was faced with that every day that I wouldn't just end it all!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Lindaloo

Saw it before, he's very good and it is shocking to think in this day and age that people are struggling like that. It's not only a few people either, it's vast communities. Can't remember how much he was earning but it was literally scraping the line

It was also interesting to see their attitudes change so drastically, initially it was all fun and games but then when it got down to it, it wasn't funny anymore. You could see the change in their relationship too, it was very easy to see the statistics proven when it said that those couples who earn little stand a good chance of ending in divorce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

That is america for you yet many people have the view that it is a great quality of life over there. I know people who walk with limps due to the health care they could afford at the time of accidents. I actually thought it was astyle thing with some people as they all seemed to limp. They were skateboarders so accidents happen but once they had accidents they couldn't get care.
    People work some horrible jobs for health insurance alone. THat includes rich people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

What really surprises me is that some people need a dumbass like Spurlock to point this out to them!
    I mean, do you guys ever read a book?!

E.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah I saw it, it was pretty good. It's bloody ridiculous, health shouldn't cost you $1000, ffs. Makes you feel a bit better about Ireland... at least, for a while :o

It really does highlight the amazing contrasts in American society, dunno how people could manage that every day.

mayhem# wrote:
    What really surprises me is that some people need a dumbass like Spurlock to point this out to them!

E.

I read lots of books, why?
    I don't think every book in existence deals with poverty issues.
    Like I said, although I know it exists, I choose to ignore it & pretend to myself that it can't be that bad.
    It's only when I sat down to watch the whole program did I open my eyes to just how tough life is for those who work their a$$ off just to keep their head above water.
    I didn't need it to be Morgan Spulock to show me this, it easily could have been a documentary following every day families living the poverty life.

Thing is, nobody found it worthwhile to make such a documentary. Only the "Dumbass" as you like to call him felt it was an issue that needs to be highlighted, & fair play to him!

mayhem# wrote:

I read lots of books - do I read books that deal with the minimum wage in America - no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Did you know in the USA a bag of blood costs around $2000? In Ireland, just over €200.

I do not know HOW they could explain that difference in price, other than greed.

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Thing is, nobody found it worthwhile to make such a documentary. Only the "Dumbass" as you like to call him felt it was an issue that needs to be highlighted, & fair play to him!

Spurlock is nothing but a media hungry slut who is only on a big self promotional trip. He cares **** all about the less priviliged classes in the US (or elsewhere). He's seen Michael Moore and decided that he coild do that too.....

E.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Errr, isnt that what america's all about? A bunch of money-hungry media sluts?
    So he chooses to do something about the poor. Sure, its probably all about playing our heart strings and getting more cash for himself, but maybe it isnt. Who the **** are you to know/decide what he's about?

At the end of the day, the guy is doing good from within a system that frowns on that sort of thing.

So get off your high horse and start campaigning for basic human rights/rights for the poor in America, or stfu!

Perhaps Mayhem#

I know nothing about Spurlock, so I'm not disagreeing with you, but, if while promoting himself he raises issues that need raising & are otherwise being ignored, then that has to be a good thing, doesn't it.

I mean, minimum wage in the US hasn't been increased since 1997 (I think he said), surely that's not right & the more pressure put on the government to do something about it should force them into doing something.

Also, last night he showed his A&E bill.
    He was charged $500 for simply walking into the A&E department.
    $40 for a small bandage.
    The gf was charged something like $400 also for simply walking into A&E.
    That's also ridiculous & it's good that it's being highlighted. (I think, anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

mayhem# wrote:
    Spurlock is nothing but a media hungry slut who is only on a big self promotional trip. He cares **** all about the less priviliged classes in the US (or elsewhere). He's seen Michael Moore and decided that he coild do that too.....

E.
    I can understand a dislike for Moore as he's so confrontational with people and his criticism and jokes on Bush are like shootin fish in a barrel.

Spurlock tends not to take himself so seriously, and is maybe not quite as preachy as Moore.

As I havent seen any of the series, I'm curious to know why you dislike Spurlock so much?... might be something I havent seen

mayhem# wrote:

E.
    Yeah I mean the type of people who marry vegan chief are normally just completely in it for the money and in it for the money. Micheal Moore is certainly in the class of media hore but he is using the same methods agasint the media and government that they use to trick people. His objective is to make people think not tell the truth

Spurlock is showing by example and a lot less bias than Moore and appears to be trying to show things as they are. Although as a teacher showed you could live on McDonalds healthly.

Ivan wrote:
    So get off your high horse and start campaigning for basic human rights/rights for the poor in America, or stfu!

So I can either campaign for the poor or shut up?
    Now that's a nice attitude!

E.

BoozyBabe wrote:
    I mean, minimum wage in the US hasn't been increased since 1997 (I think he said), surely that's not right & the more pressure put on the government to do something about it should force them into doing something.

But wouldn't these people get paid more if they were worth it?
    Isnt labour & wage levels not just a question of supply & demand?

Also, last night he showed his A&E bill.
    He was charged $500 for simply walking into the A&E department.
    $40 for a small bandage.
    The gf was charged something like $400 also for simply walking into A&E.
    That's also ridiculous & it's good that it's being highlighted. (I think, anyway)

Are you suggesting that hospitals are overcharging or that the government should subsidise it more?

E.

As I havent seen any of the series, I'm curious to know why you dislike Spurlock so much?... might be something I havent seen

I dislike anybody that states the obvious and then thinks they're great for having done so...
    He also "pretends" to have the greater good in mind while his real motive seems to be plain old self promotion....

E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

How did he show you could live healthly on McDonalds? He was in bits by the end of the documentary!?

mayhem# wrote:

E.

Ah now Mayhem#, are you just playing Devil's Advocate now to get a rise out of people?

Surely someone who works their ar$e off all day all week has earned the right to have enough money at the end of the month to provide for their family.

Aren't businesses all about profit, so they pay as little as they can get away with, regardless of whether the person is worth more or not.

Some people have no choice but to be on minimum wage & it should be enough to cover them.

I have no sympathy for those who comlain about not being able to survive on the dole (when they're on it for no other reason than laziness), but so many people on minimum wage are really really trying to make life better.
    How can they do that if their own government won't even help them:- cripple them by not raising minimum wage & then make health care inaccessible to them.

(A doc also said last night that basically, if you're poor, the only way you can get treated for a heart complaint, is to have a heart attack:- then you get treated free, you are not eligible for any cheap or free preventative treatment.)
    I mean, that's just fcuked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

mayhem# wrote:
    The same could be said of any film maker who makes popular films. I have seen the series so i'll ask you... What is it exactly about Spurlock that you don't like? Is it that he borrows heavily from the Michael Moore school of documentary making? You call him "nothing but a media hungry slut", yet he goes to fairly extreme lengths both personally and physically in his films. I'm wondering if you think he takes these personal risks because he wants to be a celebrity or because he's passionate about the things he makes films about.

Personally I can take or leave his work, but I don't doubt his motivation for a second.

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Aren't businesses all about profit, so they pay as little as they can get away with, regardless of whether the person is worth more or not.

That depends; if the person is valuable enough to the company and cannot be replaced by a person of equal value for less money that he/she will probably get whatever wage they request.
    However they will actually have to stand up for themselves and ask for a wage increase. If however they are un-schooled and there are hundreds or thousands out there with the same level (or lack of) education than they will probably just have to take what is offered.
    Supply and demand.....

E.

mayhem# wrote:
    So I can either campaign for the poor or shut up?
    Now that's a nice attitude!

E.
    Well, otherwise you're just leaving yourself open to being called a hypocrite tbh.
    mayhem# wrote:
    Well, if their government had provided them with a decent education they probably could earn more...[/QUOTE]
    Are you suggesting that hospitals are overcharging or that the government should subsidise it more?
    If you can provide a decent argument as to why a hospital should be charging AT ALL, I'd like to hear it.
    mayhem# wrote:
    I dislike anybody that states the obvious and then thinks they're great for having done so...
    He also "pretends" to have the greater good in mind while his real motive seems to be plain old self promotion....

E.
    So, the guy puts his own health on the line during the making of Supersize Me, puts his relationship with his partner on the line during the making of both that and '30 Days' and you still feel the need to knock him for being successful? Go back to the parish pump and whine about the local publican having a merc tbh. You're the perfect example of the Irish resentment of anyone who's remotely successful.

Sleepy wrote:
    How did he show you could live healthly on McDonalds? He was in bits by the end of the documentary!?
    Another person (a teacher) proved it to his class. By watching your calorie intake and excercising appropriately it can be done.

Lodgepole wrote:
    I'm wondering if you think he takes these personal risks because he wants to be a celebrity or because he's passionate about the things he makes films about.

Personally I am fairly sure it's the former...

E.

Interesting, was that another documentary or what? Got some linkage? (not challenging what you're saying, just curious)

mayhem# wrote:
    If however they are un-schooled and there are hundreds or thousands out there with the same level (or lack of) education than they will probably just have to take what is offered.
    E.

My point exactly. These people obviously have to accept what they're given, but what they're given currently isn't enough & that's why the government needs to up the minimum wage so that it is enough.

I seriously hope that for whatever reason, you never find yourself in that position.
    Some people have no choice than to be un-schooled.

Though we give out alot about this country, we are very lucky in a lot of ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Freelancer

Lindaloo wrote:
    I read lots of books - do I read books that deal with the minimum wage in America - no

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0805063897/102-4825450-0396930?v=glance&n=283155

Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
    An excellent look at minimum wage jobs in america

Sleepy wrote:
    Well, otherwise you're just leaving yourself open to being called a hypocrite tbh.

Care to explain why? Are only people who campaign for the poor allowed to have an opinion?

Well, if their government had provided them with a decent education they probably could earn more...

Why did other people get an education then? Did those that did get an education specially gifted?
    If you can provide a decent argument as to why a hospital should be charging AT ALL, I'd like to hear it.

And who will pay for the cost of healthcare then? The government? And where do they get their money?
    So, the guy puts his own health on the line during the making of Supersize Me, puts his relationship with his partner on the line during the making of both that and '30 Days' and you still feel the need to knock him for being successful? Go back to the parish pump and whine about the local publican having a merc tbh. You're the perfect example of the Irish resentment of anyone who's remotely successful.

I would be the last person to knock anyone for being succesfull. But if you had actually applied a basic understanding of the English while reading my posts you might have noticed that I am not critisising him for being succesful but just have a problem with believing that he is doing this for the greater good of mankind....

E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭jsr

Anyone got a camera? Ireland is the second most unequal nation in the developed world when it comes to wealth (UN). Who knows we could be typing about the merits of "Paddy Murphys Poverty Experience" soon. I know that "Rip Off Ireland" delt with how much was been taken off us but not really with how little some have to live on when..... and when you factor in costs of essentials:eek:
    As for M.S. he puts himself through the issue he wishes to highlight so even if you question his reasons for doing so you can't question his devotion to his subject matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Freelancer wrote:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0805063897/102-4825450-0396930?v=glance&n=283155

Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
    An excellent look at minimum wage jobs in america
    Good choice Freelancer. Lindaloo, try Fast Food Nation too if you're curious about the way minimum wage American employees are treated. They are both great reading.

However, Mayhem#, there's no need to be so elitist. If these movies bring awareness through an unfortunately more accesible media, then all the better. There are bound to be some people who had their curiousity piqued by the documentaries, and went out and read some books/articles relating to American social issues.

BoozyBabe wrote:
    I seriously hope that for whatever reason, you never find yourself in that position.
    Some people have no choice than to be un-schooled.

I have been in that position and without patting myself on the back I've managed to "better myself"....
    And seeing that I do not consider myself any better, stronger or smarter than the next person I do not see why someone else should not be able to do the same...

E.

But if you had actually applied a basic understanding of the English while reading my posts you might have noticed that I am not critisising him for being succesful but just have a problem with believing that he is doing this for the greater good of mankind....
    You just come across as someone who wants to knock the guy because he's made money out of doing some good. Typical Irish begrudgery tbh.

It's also a good idea to check your own grammar before criticising someone else's command of the English language...

Sleepy wrote:
    Interesting, was that another documentary or what? Got some linkage? (not challenging what you're saying, just curious)
    a quick search and I found another case

http://www.azcentral.com/home/food/articles/0712mcdonalds0712.html

jsr wrote:
    Anyone got a camera? Ireland is the second most unequal nation in the developed world when it comes to wealth (UN). Who knows we could be typing about the merits of "Paddy Murphys Poverty Experience" soon. I know that "Rip Off Ireland" delt with how much was been taken off us but not really with how little some have to live on when..... and when you factor in costs of essentials:eek:
    As for M.S. he puts himself through the issue he wishes to highlight so even if you question his reasons for doing so you can't question his devotion to his subject matter.
    Eh, didn't Des Bishop already do that?

Sleepy wrote:
    You just come across as someone who wants to knock the guy because he's made money out of doing some good. Typical Irish begrudgery tbh.

You really do not get the picture, do you?

It's also a good idea to check your own grammar before criticising someone else's command of the English language...

Well it's not my first language, is it yours?

E.

Not meaning to be overly critical but that woman isn't necessarily healthier from eating McDonalds all the time, just lighter...

mayhem# wrote:
    You really do not get the picture, do you?

Well it's not my first language, is it yours?

E.
    Not the picture you're trying to paint, no. The one you are actually painting I think I can see quite clearly.

Yes, English is my first language. However, I've not insulted your command of the language, just your stupidity in questioning others command of the language in grammatically incorrect sentences.

jsr wrote:

Can you post the indo that says ireland is the 2nd worst. It sounds likeyou are talking about the poverty gap which isn't a great indicator of much. Poverty compared to average is a lot more accurate.
    WE had a show with Des Bishop all about the minimum wage here.
    Rip oFF Ireland was a propeganda show for the stupid. Facts such as the campaigners managing to over rule the council to let a lidl open up were proved to be wrong. Compaing the sandwitch price in an airport with one in another country out of airport is a huge distortion.

Eddie Hobbes show was cheap,condesentding and ultimately non factual.
    jsr wrote:
    I think he has made a good stnad and shown fact even though a little skewed at points . Please do notrelate Eddie Hobbes to him as his show was completely bias and inaccurate. Tabloid telly

Sleepy wrote:
    Not meaning to be overly critical but that woman isn't necessarily healthier from eating McDonalds all the time, just lighter...
    Lighter to meet you BMI is healthier. You don't know it did any other damge and all the other symbtoms MS showed were really as a result of excesive amounts of food not isolated to McDonalds. He simply over ate on a theme and implied it is simply bad to eat McDonalds rather than that amount calories. A little bias is all I am saying

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Uh mayhem, there is NO national health service in the US.THe governments don't subsidise hospitals at all.
    I have been in that position and without patting myself on the back I've managed to "better myself"....
    And seeing that I do not consider myself any better, stronger or smarter than the next person I do not see why someone else should not be able to do the same...

Because 'someone else' may not live in the same country as you, and therefore may not benefit from the same social welfare system that you enjoy. Don't compare apples with oranges.

Shabadu wrote:
    However, Mayhem#, there's no need to be so elitist.

Why, thank you! That's the nicest thing anyone has said to me today!

E.

Sleepy wrote:
    Eh, didn't Des Bishop already do that?

Not sure what that show contained as I didn't see it. Did he try to pay his rent/medical/food/etc on the money he earned or was it just him in lots of different crappy paid jobs?

mayhem# The State should foot the bill to healp its citizens and yeah I know it comes from tax, I don't mind helping my fellow man if they are sick, broke whatever. The State has a duty to its citizens and the state is in dereliction of its duty if it refuses to help. How can a nation demand people adhere to their responsibilities when it refuses to provide for basic rights/services?

taconnol wrote:
    Because 'someone else' may not live in the same country as you, and therefore may not benefit from the same social welfare system that you enjoy. Don't compare apples with oranges.

Social welfare system?!
    Is that how you think I bettered myself?!

E.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

mayhem# wrote:
    Social welfare system?!
    Is that how you think I bettered myself?!

E.
    Sorry, Im not just talking about social welfare systems, Im also talking about education,etc. So how did you better yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Freelancer

Ah but did she limit herself in the form of what exercise she took?

Spurlock was anal about only taking the average amount of exercise that the average american takes a day. Furthermore Mc Donalds introduced their "healthly" options menu, in a near rebuttal of the documentary, after Spurlock had finished. I imagine the damage done to Spurlock would have been significantly less if he went and worked out in the gym for two hours a day. But most americans' don't do that.

Furthermore she specifically limited the calore intake she would allow herself, Spurlock on the other hand, made a rule that he, must if offered take the super size option Mc Donalds offer. In only one or two cases in Mc Donalds he was not offered the supersize option. He was highlighting how Mc Donalds pimp high calore high fat food in excessive portions. What was the trimuph of the Documentary? Mc Donalds stopped "Supersizing".

Mayhem. Give over Spurlock was a low budget filmaker who came up with a very intelligent film, and, oh look you're begruding him success.

And what was it you said

He's getting success and fame, because he's worth it
    have a problem with believing that he is doing this for the greater good of mankind....

He made a funny thought provking film that created some social change, and created debate.

If it was purely motivated out of "self promotion" he'd just have been on Jackass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Chrissie

taconnol wrote:
    So how did you better yourself?

Who cares!!!?

taconnol wrote:
    Sorry, Im not just talking about social welfare systems, Im also talking about education,etc. So how did you better yourself?

By using my head, working hard, taking certain calculated risks and by not depending on anyone else (or the governement)...

E.

Can you post the indo that says ireland is the 2nd worst. It sounds likeyou are talking about the poverty gap which isn't a great indicator of much. Poverty compared to average is a lot more accurate.
    WE had a show with Des Bishop all about the minimum wage here.
    Rip oFF Ireland was a propeganda show for the stupid. Facts such as the campaigners managing to over rule the council to let a lidl open up were proved to be wrong. Compaing the sandwitch price in an airport with one in another country out of airport is a huge distortion.

Eddie Hobbes show was cheap,condesentding and ultimately non factual.

I think he has made a good stnad and shown fact even though a little skewed at points . Please do notrelate Eddie Hobbes to him as his show was completely bias and inaccurate. Tabloid telly

No link at the moment, sorry. It was a UN study on the standard of living in the developed world, it could well be over a year old. Was not trying to imply Eddie's show was like M.S. As I said Eddie just harped on about what was charge and not how little some people had to scrape by on

Chrissie wrote:
    Who cares!!!?

Hey, do I look like I care if you care?
    Biatch. (better now?)

E.