Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Poker Open €300+€30 Side Event Qualifier

• 31-03-2006 7:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭

Below is the information for a qualifier into the Irish Poker Open €300+€30 Side Event Qualifier on Sunday, April 16th.

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.) ditpoker
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.) Qualifier for the IPO side event
    3. Date and Location of event Friday April 7th. DIT Aungier ST Ground Floor Canteen.
    4. Registration and Start time of event. Registration 1pm, Start 2pm
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc) no
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.) turn up on the day. no max.
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)NL hold em, one rebuy OR top up
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €30 for entry and rebuy/topup.
    9. Cost of registration €3
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. none.
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. only one. within first four levels of blinds.
    13. Starting Chips TBC
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. TBC
    15. Blind levels 25/50, 50/100, 75/150, 100/200, 150/300, 200/400,300/600, 400/800, 500/1000, 700/1500, 1000/2000, 1500/3000, 2000/4000, 3000/6000, 4000/8000, 5000/10000
    16. Blind timeframes 20mins minimum, however this has yet to be confirmed, likely 30mins.
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)no prizes will be cash. Ticket for every 330 in prize pool.
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill no, self deal.
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules yes.
    20. Is there a tournament director yes.
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. me.

please state your intention to play in this thread so we can get an idea of expected numbers.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Intention stated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

i'll be playing this too... there's a handful from dit that have expressed interest too... and some from poker.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I'll try and make it out for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I'll come out to...for a "laugh" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

ill probably be there.

just to clarify the max spend is €66. original buy in 30+3, and rebuy OR top up 30+3. Total 66. This is NOT unlimited rebuys like our usual events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

ditpoker wrote:
    just to clarify the max spend is €66. original buy in 30+3, and rebuy OR top up 30+3. Total 66. This is NOT unlimited rebuys like our usual events.

Why don't you make it that the max you can spend isn 99? It would generate a few more tickets I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

ditpoker wrote:
    and some from poker.ie

Theres the 'value' right there!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Daithio wrote:
    Why don't you make it that the max you can spend isn 99? It would generate a few more tickets I'd say.

True that it would generate more tickets but I think some of us poor students who would like to play in it need some drinking money after our shot at "The big win" which is the 300freezeout side event.

66 keeps it reasonably student friendly.. 99 is abit too steep for us kids! :p

i've attached dit_blinds.xls which is the proposed blind structure. I think if we have less than 30 players we can do 25 minute blinds (option A). let me know any thoughts on this. thanks.

Also maybe if you make it 33e buy in with no reg, that way there would be at least one ticket for every ten people playing.

shoutman wrote:
    Shouldnt the rebuy be as much as the starting stack?
    I cant see many( or indeed any) people rebuying when you get half the starting stack and will be well below average in chips. Especially when only the top few places get tickets....
    starting stack 5k, rebuy 6k, topup 7k... i dont get what your saying here. :confused:
    shoutman wrote:
    Also maybe if you make it 33e buy in with no reg, that way the winners wont be stuck having to fork out thirty quid in a reg fee. :)
    each prize will be 330 euro from the prize pool (not just the 300 entry). so no one wil have to fork out 30 reg fee on the day of the side event. :)

EDIT* in the excel sheet where it says 12000 per player, that is 5000 buy in + 7000 top up... i.e. max 12000 per player on average.

That bit confused me too. I was going to post about it until I did me sums :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

Would like to give it a go but be working at 2pm, y so early a start time?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

ditpoker wrote:
    each prize will be 330 euro from the prize pool (not just the 300 entry). so no one wil have to fork out 30 reg fee on the day of the side event. :)

So the €3 reg will be going into the prize pool as well then? Might be easier to advertise it as a €33 event with no reg and all money going to the prize pool.

eggie wrote:
    Would like to give it a go but be working at 2pm, y so early a start time?:confused:

this is to ensure that there is plenty of play and that no one can complain about blinds killing them etc. 2pm is student friendly. The game must be over by 9pm as this is when the college closes.

Iago wrote:
    So the €3 reg will be going into the prize pool as well then? Might be easier to advertise it as a €33 event with no reg and all money going to the prize pool.

No, this is a 30+3 game. the 30 will be going into the prize pool. the 3 will not, this is a reg fee. for every 11 players (11players x 30euro=330euro full entry fee) there will be one ticket. This could be 7 players with 4 rebuys, or 8 players and 3 rebuys etc etc... The 3euro reg fee will not be in the prize fund.

ah I see, so what's the reg fee for then? and why is it on the rebuys/topups as well as the buyin?

thats for myself and a colleague who will be promoting/running the event from 1pm through to 9pm.

ditpoker wrote:
    thats for myself and a colleague who will be promoting/running the event from 1pm through to 9pm.

So this means you and your anonymous colleague wont be playing in the tournement as they are running it yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

i would agree with shoutman there if there is a reg fee someone should be running it correctly. anybody see the tourni of champions 2004 the other night they are just great. cant wait to qualify for this event.:cool: :cool: :cool:

There will be a tournament director. A combination of me and my anonymous colleague. We will both be playing aswell. We have done this all year and there has never once been a problem. If people feel a 10% reg fee is far too much you are welcome to buy into the Irish Poker Open for 300+30 all by yourself. This is a qualifier. It will cost 30+3 (or 60+6). If you don't like it, don't play, but 10% is very fair and predominantly less than most games of this value. Rememember you are getting up to 12,000 chips with 25 minute blinds. This is good value in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Good man Jeff, I love dictators as well.;)

I'm just curious to see who this anonymous colleague is.

shoutman wrote:
    I'm just curious to see who this anonymous colleague is.

aodea ...

ditpoker wrote:
    There will be a tournament director. A combination of me and my anonymous colleague. We will both be playing aswell. We have done this all year and there has never once been a problem. If people feel a 10% reg fee is far too much you are welcome to buy into the Irish Poker Open for 300+30 all by yourself. This is a qualifier. It will cost 30+3 (or 60+6). If you don't like it, don't play, but 10% is very fair and predominantly less than most games of this value. Rememember you are getting up to 12,000 chips with 25 minute blinds. This is good value in my opinion.

10% for no actual dealers or tourny directors is not fair it is rip off. you have no overheads of room cards or chips as the su will be paying for these and as youre playing while directing this 'tourny' your not even giving up any of your time. this is a scabby tourny so you an your friend get a free shot at a ticket. i withdraw my interest and will be going to the merrion sattelites for this where my 10% actually goes somewhere.

As much as I hate to say it to a regular poster I agree with de deraco. It seems that this is a brainwave to get yourself and your mate a cheap entry to the €300 game by charging people €6 a pop to have a shot at getting into the tournament themselves.

Self-deal and no TD means that you would be as well getting 10 people you know into a room and paying €33 each with the winner taking a ticket. It would take far less time and be just as organised but better value.

I was going to play in this, but in this format I've no interest. I think I'll take you up on your offer and pay directly in.

I also agree with the two previous posters. Jeff this is not the DIT way tut tut tut.
    I shall not be playing if the reg fee stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I agree with the last three. I was gonna play. Not now.
    Iago wrote:

Self-deal and no TD means that you would be as well getting 10 people you know into a room and paying €33 each with the winner taking a ticket. It would take far less time and be just as organised but better value.

We're four tenths of the way there...

Was actually thinking of taking a day off work for the craic, but not to pay a free ticket for Jeff and the anonymous friend (who i think i know). Bad karma, reg free and a chance of winning which would possibly take away a ticket from another entrant, having your cake and eating it:p !

How can you direct if you are playing? Bit like being a manager of a pub and taking weekends off!

I'm open to suggestions on this. I disagree that i am not giving up my time. If get knocked out on the first hand I am not free to go home until the tournament is over. I believe it is perfectly fair to charge a reg fee, however i do appreciate that there has been objections to it. I am open to suggestions... and when making suggestions please consider that I will be giving up the majority of my friday afternoon/evening; i do wish to participate; i have promoted the event; i have conceived the event; i will be providing all the equipment (although yes this will be through DIT) and a venue.

Options:
    • The tournament stays as is... 30+3, like it or lump it, play if you wish.
    • 30+5 , i sit out and act as tournament director.
    • 30+0 , but i do not pay to play.
    • 30+0 , but i do play (i dont like this one!) :p
    • 33+0 , same cost, more money in prize pool... do i take a rake???
    • other....!!??

i have no interest in ripping people off, as i think i have shown throughout the year to all dit students. However, given that this is not a DIT Society event and indeed is a "is a brainwave to get yourself and your mate a cheap entry to the €300 game" i do wish to benefit it someway from organising, running and promoting this qualifier.

EDIT: just got a text from shoutman saying there was a bit of neagtive feedback to the reg fee... he wasnt kidding!!

eggie wrote:
    How can you direct if you are playing? Bit like being a manager of a pub and taking weekends off!

classic if he has to make a ruling of a hand he or his friend is invovled in.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 sed

Ive played my fair few games at DIT, even though im not a student there, and i have to say that it is always well run even when the lads are playing. I dunno what all the fuss is about, jeff and "anonomous" dont last very long anyway :D
    Out of a few colleges like my own and trinity, which i play at, i enjoy dit the most and am pleased at how its run.
    I'll be there. stick to yur guns Jeff.

firstly i would like to say i have fought with ditpoker about this as i think if we wanna charge a fee we cant play i was planning on paying the fee and playing but if it is required i will run the tourni with me dealing the final table and if possiable we may have friends out who will deal the others. i will qualify another way does this suit more people?

so to run this properly you want a €5 of each player. ill settle for €30+0 you have to pay in like us all. how much money is costing you to set this up my guess is exactly 0.00 . with maybe half an hour organising.

, jeff and "anonomous" dont last very long anyway :

harsh i have 6 final tables under my belt

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Advertise on boards for a person, who knows what they are about, regular player, dealer etc to be the TD for the whole event.

They get maybe 50% of the reg fee, the rest goes to some DIT poker fund, but has to be used to organise some other event in the future or buy new equipment etc.

Just a suggestion, may not be practical, but I won't be playing in this anyways. Just trying to get all Kofi Annan on this situation.

Jeff I think the people have spoken.
    This game is not going to get the numbers to provide even a single ticket if you stick with your "Like it or lump it attitude"
    I know and you know that both you and your anonymous colleague can well afford thirty euro to play a game of poker. Sure you have just posted about playing in the 50+5 in the fitz this evening.
    I have no problem taking charge of this sat without charging a reg fee. I am more then willing to stick around till it ends even if I'm knocked out first hand so you dont have to worry about that.

As far as TD goes, if you play we just use common sense to direct the tourney. If there is any problem we can have a quick show of hands to possible solutions or something like that.
    By the looks of things the majority of people who expressed an interest in playing this we will know anyway.

So the ball is in your court Jeff.

Reg fee = No Game

No Reg fee = fun for all.

[edit] Ah 5star you beat me to the Kofi Annan post... haha [/edit]

to be fair, it takes a good bit more than 30 mins to organise. proof of that pudding is the fact that this post has been up and running a few days alone. someone has design the posters for the event, stick them up around collge, do the sign up, be responsible for the cash, balance tables throughout, keep an eye on blind levels etc etc. so "maybe half an hour organising" is very wrong...

my NEXT proposal, although i have not discussed this with anyone yet is 30+3, keep the initial reg fee... rebuys are 30... no reg fee. in effect youa re paying 3 euro for use of the equipment and for a quality value tournament (12,000 chips, 25min blinds.) your max spend is 63 euro, 60 of which goes into the prize pool. in effect there will be 2 TD's helping each other out... this works, it has worked before and will work in the future. If you think it is unreasonable to ask for additional 3 euro on top of 60 euro after you are being provided with a quality poker game and all you have to do is turn up, then you're being as greedy as i am... THIS IS ONLY A SUGGESTION... and i am very open to negotiations...

PS: aodea is the anonymous partner... he's a newbie, so be nice!

EDIT: just saw shoutman's post: There is demand for this tournament in its current format from boards, poker.ie, dit, and external people. There will be a game regardless... i predict approx 20 players... the demand is not from boards.ie alone.

But wouldnt you like to include these people?

I mean its not like you can't afford the thirty euro?

And as I have said I am more then willing to take over the running of the tournement if thats what it takes to have more people playing and as a result have more tickets available to win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 davfromnass

i have no problem paying €30+3, i also dont mind jeff taking the rake, but dont think he should be allowed play, as he really gets a free chance to qualify, as well he is not as good as me anyway so i dont need more bad beats from a usual calling station (",)

Hey I hold the exact same opinion as you. I have no problem with paying a rake if he doesnt play and acts as TD etc. But I dont see why he should be getting a free chance to play.

so what do people reckon to the 30+3 but no reg fee on the rebuy. I will pay in to the tourney like everyone else. all the 3 reg fee's, i'd say approx 50 euro will be used for DIT Poker Society purposes... can everyone agree that this is fair? I will discuss what these purposes are with fellow DIT Poker Society committee members, noteably aodea and shoutman. Is this fair?!?!? is everyone happy to play now???

Ok, I drew the wrong conclusion about the "+3".

My original understanding was that this was a cooperative style satellite to give people an affordable chance at a game. Charging one registration fee seems a bit at odds with that but if you can detail where the money goes then people can come to their own decision regarding value for money etc. Charging another registration fee when someone rebuys or tops up is just taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 davfromnass

what may i ask will you buy with the €rake, another table, more chips, more magazines????? the committee, you anto and luke, will poket the money, and i think the people should no the truth, you thiefing jypsey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 davfromnass1

That davfromnass is a fake i'm the real davfromnass but actually agree wit what d fake davfromnasss was sayin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Who the **** is luke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

shoutman

this tournament will (currently) be 30+3, with 30 euro rebuys. the +3 reg fee will be used for society purposes. If people want to know what these are i will provide the whole bleedin' years accounts for everyone to scrutinise upon request for friday... WILL THAT KEEP EVERYONE HAPPY!? :)

shoutman/luke is the fella you lose hlaf of your stack to every time you play gary!

sounds better, what about giving whoever goes out onthe bubble a refund for compensation from the reg fees, if there is enough:)