Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever ask a total stranger out?

• 31-03-2006 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭

Saw a girl on the bus today that I was instantly attracted to, which rarely if ever happens. I was seriously contemplating asking her out, but the sane part of me kept insisting: "She'll think you're a nutter."

So has anyone ever done something similar? I know in America it's supposed to be more commonplace, but I don't think I've ever heard of anyone just asking a complete stranger out here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've often wanted to and have come close to turning around while walking down the street and getting a smile from some cute girl but the sane part of my brain always takes over too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Ive been tempted once or twice before, although if she's a regular user of your bus route then maybe smile and say hello the odd day before actually asking her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

super furry just ask her out, all she can do is say no. Its better asking and knowing than not :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Never a complete stranger, as in, just having seen them there for the first time.
    Sometimes, hanging about galway or moreso, dublin, I really would like to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I'd never have the balls for that. If only that mars bar advert were true eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Who knows, you might get lucky and the barring order may still allow you on the same bus in the future.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Anybody else thinking supper furry is looking like his avatar right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Ive been asked out by a complete stranger before, wanted to attempt the same myself but ive never had the gutts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Anybody else thinking supper furry is looking like his avatar right now?

haha, that's evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Yes, but it was always after a while chatting to them tbh. I wouldn't have the confidence to just go up and ask. Have a need to "test the waters" first with an attempt at conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

I've been asked out by strangers the lenght and breadth of this beautiful country. I put it down to the slight masculine slightly sensitive strut which I swan around the streets with. Women should really learn to control their most primitive urges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

I have and sometimes it's led to great things.

Firstly, the more you do this, more free you feel, it's worth it just for the personal buzz you get.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

When I worked in Dublin, I saw a girl at the bus stop beside the shopping centre there. I couldn't take my eyes off her. I didn't say anything to her, but I keep thinking about her to this very day. There was just something about her, she looked to cute and dead on and friendly.

Dammit.

Everybody, just do it, better to get rejected and get a kick out of doing it than keep thinking about what could have happened!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Just go for it..hell you only live once...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Aporia

Actually about 6 months ago I was sitting on the bus while people were getting on. In front of me there was a girl sitting on here own and a guy decided to sit next to each other. She dropped her bag and everything fell out and they were both just laughing and he helped he to pick everything up and they started talking. They were such a cuuute couple and at the end just before your man gets off he asks for her number!

There's loads of hot college guys that get on the bus every morning. That makes the journey worth while! I'm such a flirt though :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Aporia

spiderlegs wrote:
    Just go for it..hell you only live once...

Yeah I was thinking that too. You might aswell find out and just take the chance it'll probably be worth it. Don't rush into it straight away just smile at her a couple of more times and see how she responds. She might not be single!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

yeah just do it, however, putting a complete stranger on the spot like that, it's unlikely to get a yes in return, and what are you gonna do then hot shot? Huh?

Go up to her, say what you got to say and then hand her YOUR number, tell her to send her a text if she's interested, then just leave. Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I ask out three random strangers a day, but they always say no...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭mazroo

well I would love to have the guts to do it BUT.... If a guy jsut asked me out I would be TOTALLY attracted to his confidance and would say yes at the drop of a hat... Anyone who can do that is the **** in my eyes.... I have only once had this happen me ... I went out with him for 4 years... He was not my usuall type but he was confidant and friendly and dam.. thats hot.. Im not short on offers by the way just incase you think I am sitting waitin at bus stops for random men to ask me out.. Go for it.... u wil make her day regardless, what a nice feelin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

I keep saying "Next time I get a smile I'll try something" but I never do. Last time I got a smile in town by the time I made up my mind to go after her I was a few streets further on! Next time for sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Oculatum

I personally dislike being approached by strangers, even the handsome variety.
    It instantly highlights that the guy is only concerned with my appearance, as up to that point there's obviously been no conversation.
    And though a compliment it's also a turn off, especially as I find people attractive solely(:rolleyes: ) by personality.
    It's risky, but in saying all that I'd go for it...as not many people share my views.
    Eye contact is a useful tool, gradually build up to it.
    The fantasy will be better then reality anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

It happened to me once on a bus. And I couldn't stop thinking "Right, how do I approach her without looking like a freak? Do I just pay her a compliment and see how she reacts? (Although I really don't want to look like a tool if she just slaps me across the face or something...) Do I write my phone number and a small note on a piece of paper and give it to her?"

But everything I was thinking off made me think "She'll think you're a freak!" So I didn't do anything...

Still, should try doing it sometime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Jeez lads, if yee had seen the French girl I saw on the boat over to Wales one time. She kept coming up to the arcade where me and my mates were hanging out.

The language barrier got in the way though, her English wasn't great and my French doesn't work well under pressure! Christ she was hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I don't have the guts to go up to a stranger and ask her out unfortunately!

Has any guy been asked out by a random girl on the street?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Oculatum wrote:
    I personally dislike being approached by strangers, even the handsome variety.
    It instantly highlights that the guy is only concerned with my appearance, as up to that point there's obviously been no conversation.
    And though a compliment it's also a turn off, especially as I find people attractive solely(:rolleyes: ) by personality.
    It's risky, but in saying all that I'd go for it...as not many people share my views.
    Eye contact is a useful tool, gradually build up to it.
    The fantasy will be better then reality anyway.

i have to agree, i dislike being approached by strangers.. i remember sitting in an internet cafe in sligo and the guy sitting next to me just turned around and asked me out! i sat there think for a few secs "this guy cant be serious!", eventually realising that he was and feeling really crap cos i wasn't interested! so i politely told him i was busy and he left is name and number for me!
    i think you should at least try to start a conversation first! break the ice! introduce yourself at least lol! :rolleyes:

takola wrote:
    i have to agree, i dislike being approached by strangers.. i remember sitting in an internet cafe in sligo and the guy sitting next to me just turned around and asked me out! i sat there think for a few secs "this guy cant be serious!", eventually realising that he was and feeling really crap cos i wasn't interested! so i politely told him i was busy and he left is name and number for me!
    i think you should at least try to start a conversation first! break the ice! introduce yourself at least lol! :rolleyes:

Will you marry me? Haha, just kidding. Or am I? ;)

Jeez asking someone out in an internet café really reeks of desperation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Will you marry me? Haha, just kidding. Or am I? ;)

Jeez asking someone out in an internet café really reeks of desperation!

Probaly had to pause his game of counter-strike aswell.

I wouldnt too it. NOt on a bus anyway. If your doing it on a bus, just walk by and hand her your number. dOnt stop and ask her out. If the bus is busy everyone will be listening and if you get shot down you will feel like a right tit.

oh thanks very much!!! :p

and no, i wont marry you! I'M not that desperate! :p

I wouldnt too it. NOt on a bus anyway. If your doing it on a bus, just walk by and hand her your number. dOnt stop and ask her out. If the bus is busy everyone will be listening and if you get shot down you will feel like a right tit.

Reminds me of that time in The Office when Tim asked Dawn out, much cringing and laughing ensued! Might watch it now actually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

excactly. And if your a regualer on the bus at that time, might bump into her again or other people who saw it.

Better off getting off at her stop, following her home, then asking her out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Better off getting off at her stop, following her home, then asking her out...

is this before or after she calls the police :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

ooh i read the title wrong i thot it said 'ever ask a total skanger out'...

well to answer both questions, no i've not.

but i would if i felt so inclined. ;)

OP go for it, you've nothing to lose and perhaps a fab relationship/fling to gain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

takola wrote:

Aine is that you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

One of the (very few:rolleyes: ) interesting threads on here in a while,i actually done it before,coming back from England on a flight with some mates we'd had a good few gargles,on the plane and some stunning trolly dolly was on it i thought fu*k me she's a ride big time,as she passed by me i said to her "how's it goin,if you don't mind me asking are you married" she said " no but i have a boyfriend, why do you ask" i said ah no problem love i was gonna ask you out for a date":D she laughed and said "thanks for the offer if i wasn't with someone maybe it would be different" or something to that effect,as i said i was full of gargle usually i wouldn't be into asking random mots out for a gargle think this was a one off although u never know, but any geezer who does i take my Armani hat off to them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

BrynW wrote:
    I don't have the guts to go up to a stranger and ask her out unfortunately!

Has any guy been asked out by a random girl on the street?!

i was asked out a cupla times by random girls. one in particular was a spycho. i also get teenage girls comin onto me. it wrecks me hea! feckin 15 yr olds! if only they were a few yrs older! grr! haha

ye i've also asked some girls out on the streets too. grafton st is a good place to do it. i used to always ask them collectors out. soem of them were hot! tho i remember this one time, i asked this kinda innocent kinda posh-ish girl (wasnt a tallaght skanger anyway) out and she musta been nervous coz she ended up bringin bout 3 mates wit her. she was all dressed up n all! haha that was woeful! thats when i learned that women talk **** when they're together! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Sheera

takola wrote:

I was asked out twice in Sligo by the same guy (I only go there in the summer - first time was in 2004, and then again last summer - I remembered cause I don't often get asked out by complete strangers in the middle of the day ;) ) once in a shop and once on the street. I wonder is it the same guy (smallish and slightish, brown hair, early thirties?!) - I just have a vision of him wandering the streets of Sligo asking random girls out hoping to get lucky some day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

I have told a few random strangers outside pubs that they are rather appealing....in a classy way like. No ron burgundy stuff....I've never had the balls to just ask someone out though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

No way. I wouldn't have the guts to do it tbh and I'd probably be a little freaked out if someone did it to me.

Sheera wrote:
    I was asked out twice in Sligo by the same guy (I only go there in the summer - first time was in 2004, and then again last summer - I remembered cause I don't often get asked out by complete strangers in the middle of the day ;) ) once in a shop and once on the street. I wonder is it the same guy (smallish and slightish, brown hair, early thirties?!) - I just have a vision of him wandering the streets of Sligo asking random girls out hoping to get lucky some day...

LMAO!!!!!! :D
    I'm not sure, i just remember thinking god he's way too goodlooking for me!! and he was foreign! german i think?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

It's simple .. just say "I'll be kicking myself if I don't do this so, you're gorgeous, could I call you sometime?" If the girl/guy thinks you're weird, well you're never going to see them again so what's the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Have thought about it soooo many times, but never actually had the guts to go ahead and ask...

Plane, bus, train journeys, etc....once at a PR company I went to for a job interview, the receptionist was hot and I regret every day not asking her if she wanted to get a coffee with me or something...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 misguided_fool

takola wrote:

ok takola was that about two years ago by any chance? if so that could have been me!! :o

firstly id like to apologise for puttin u on the spot like that (if it was indeed u!). i only did it cos (a) u were hot and (b) im useless at 'chatting up' (really hopeless) so it was a hell of a lot easier for me to give my number and run:) in fact it was a huge achievement for me to do that!! so sorry again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭r3boot

Just ask ... and then end it with, "sorry about that just trying to break the monotony" if you feel wierd afterwards.

Or you can go for the "sorry for the completely random converstation, I'd really like to take you out sometime "

either way you are aknowledging the fact that it is kind of awkward whilst still "putting it out there" as it were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

ok takola was that about two years ago by any chance? if so that could have been me!! :o

firstly id like to apologise for puttin u on the spot like that (if it was indeed u!). i only did it cos (a) u were hot and (b) im useless at 'chatting up' (really hopeless) so it was a hell of a lot easier for me to give my number and run:) in fact it was a huge achievement for me to do that!! so sorry again.

lmfao , signed up again and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I've wanted to do it a load of times in the past, but just couldn't push myself to do it, especially if there was a chance that I could run into her again.

I'd actually be pretty freaked out myself if a complete stranger did it to me. I'd probably think it was Maeve Higgins (alá Naked Camera) taking the p*** with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I have been asked out by strangers on the street which freaked me out a bit. If I met them in a shop or something and they talked to me for a while I wouldn't mind and if I liked them I would say yes. But these two lads just walked straight up to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

When I was growing up I had little or no confidence at all really and when it got to the stage of going out with my mates I never got to the stage of going up to girls or ever really instagating anything myself. Then again I never really had to because girls always came up to me, but, I always thought it was just random or they were just wierd for likeing me. However, over the years I have realised that a smile, eye contact and a good manner mean an awful lot more to girls than being great looking or anything.

Now over the years I have realised that im not a bad looking chap, but, I have also realised that this doesn't really count for all that much, which if anything has increased my confidence. In answer to the thread the first time I did anything like this was in Austrailia.

I was out with a few of the girls I knew and one of them was trying to get me a girls for whatever reason. She asked me what girls I'd like to talk to and I was all like there no point. So I looked around the club and picked the most impossibly beautiful woman that I saw there and said her, believing that she wouldn't even look at me twice. My frind truned to her and said would you like to talk to my friend. She said she had a boyfriend and that was that.

However, when I went out side for a smoke I saw her out there and thought ah what the heck. I went up and started chatting to her for a bit and explained that my friend had asked me to pick someone out and I had just said her as the prettest girl I had seen. We chatted for a while and she gave me her number. We ended up chatting on the phone and all that and ended up meeting for lunch and in the end notthing happened, but, she came to a party at my house and said to a few of my friends that she thought I was a great guy and a very special person. I didn't persue it too far, but, her boyfriend it turns out was an asshole and she was deffinatly interested.

My point is nearly every one else is just like you and would love to meet someone new. I would 100% do this again. If I saw a stanger that I liked and I thought the moment was appropriate I would go up to them and say " Hi there I just noticed you and was wondering if maybe I could chat to you for a bit. Don't get me wrong it just I think that you look very attractive and thought that maybe we might even get along as well so I thought if its not too much trouble I might come over and see. Then again maybe you will think that Im a total asshole or I might end up thinking your a total bitch, but, at the very least, chances are I could end up another friend." Smile and see what they say. If the person blanks you or is rude I don't think they are much of a person at all and not worth it in the first place. They might not see you as a potential partner, but, then again I'm sure most time they would be at least willing to find out what you are like.

People should reach out to others more. The big thing is do it honestly. Try to make a new friend and see what happens. Worst case most times is that you will end up with a new friend and whats wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 PeterGriffen

Everybody is advising to just go ahead and do it, but the fact is, rejection is horrible and humiliating and thats why we don't do things like that. Nobody wants the crap feeling that comes as a result of being knocked back, so we prefer to play it safe and not make the attempt to chat random strangers up. It's easy to say "Oh well, you've got nothing to lose, so you should go up to her and ask her out.", but thats not realistic. The fear of rejection is too powerful to overcome, without a few drinks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Rejection is awful when it is someone you have already being out with or slept with. It isn't that bad when its a complete stranger, let it hurt for about five minutes and then carry on. There's no point getting upset over something like that although I realise that its easier said then done.

Its funny though but I would have no problem going out with someone I met in a pub but I would in the street. Stupid really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I guess its acceptable in a pub because people expect it more.

One of my mates met his long term girlfriend by walking up to her at a bus stop and telling her that "her beauty inspired him" to do it. She must have liked him, i guess :)
    Lux23 wrote:

ts funny though but I would have no problem going out with someone I met in a pub but I would in the street. Stupid really.