Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One thing you love about Ireland

• 31-03-2006 1:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭

As a musically creative person myself, I like the fact that my country’s official documents have a musical instrument as the emblem of the nation; the Irish Harp. And our punt currency before the Euro had nice animals on it. As a kid, I always though the bull on the 5 pingin coin was a pig (random memory). And I never understood the pound currency with the queen's face on it, as a kid it scared me a bit. :/

How many countries flaunt some randomer's head on their official 'things'? Loads. The Irish see beyond that and employ an animal or a musical instrument as their idol - sometimes a bit of celtic art. We don't aspire to one particular person.. everyone is equal, right? Animals, creativity & emotion have always been our masters.

Anyway, one thing you love about Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

I love donegal, tis class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Guinness. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Shamrock Rovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Leaving it........................

ok i know i always come back but still

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I do miss the punt, what a mistake it was to join the euro. Would have to say Im a fan of the harp also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

The smoking ban. Can enjoy a few pints and be able to breathe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I love ireland, for all its many faults i couldnt imagine being from anywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

The weather, no extremes. not too hot, not too cold. Juuuust right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Beer is Life

kc66 wrote:
    Quoted for truth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

that no matter how crappy things get, irish people will always find one more thing to complain about.
    class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Sure wouldnt it be a grand little country if ya could only put a roof over it....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Sure wouldnt it be a grand little country if ya could only put a roof over it....?
    lol
    Im going to say the scenery it would be great to have some mountains and coast where I am now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

the fact that its so acceptable to swear ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

The steadily increasing number of Polish and Hungarian women about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

The Taxi drivers are so intelligent:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Potatoes..

I love a good spud :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

When we talk about any of the Government fúck ups (port tunnel, e-voting, health-service, etc. ), we bitch, moan and then laugh about it, normally using the phrase Only in Ireland eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

I love the informality. Bertie as taoiseach, Pat the leader of the labour party etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

The fact there are no snakes.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

kc66 wrote:
    I'll go with that as well, quite a bold step that worked out very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Drumcondra - The Goose - Guinness - Howth - The Bots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Red Lemonade, for a Smithwicks Shandy siting outside the pub on a (the) warm summer's day in Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Galway
    Our culture of music
    Guinness
    The easy going nature that's sadly slipping away

Donegal, GAA matches, Real old country pubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

The ladies........... of course ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Our so called neutrality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

xzanti wrote:
    Potatoes..
    I love a good spud :D
    Yey..another girl like myself!!:)

..also GAA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Pints of bulmers, long neck bottles of bulmers & pint bottles of bulmers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

The comforting assurance of unreliability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Sleepy wrote:
    The easy going nature that's sadly slipping away

Took the words right out of my mouth.

Can i have them back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

An teanga.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Photi wrote:
    An teanga.

French kissing as gaeilge?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

smithwicks
    potatos
    red lemonade
    natural beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

how rubbish we are at most sports.

(and gaeilge)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

The view over Dalkey Bay from the window of the dart as it comes out of that tunnel - sunny days, balmy days, stormy days, calm days.

And the airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭smurfbaby

The Irish sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Jackie Lennox's in Cork. Potato pie and chips. With Fanta. Getting hungry just thinking about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭elurhs

Spuds. Who doesn't like spuds? Boiled, mashed, roasted, baked, chipped...

The GAA and all those who volunteer training underage teams, marking pitches, washing kit, etc.

No snakes is good. A little OT, but I was living with this American and we informed him there were no wild snakes in Ireland. He point blank refused to accept this. We assured him there were no snakes, but he just couldn't be convinced. Oh, how we laughed!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Sico wrote:
    The steadily increasing number of Polish and Hungarian women about the place.

You took the words right outa my mouth. Don't forget the Lithuanians :)

So, since that has already been mentioned, I'm going to have to go ahead and say Guinness. Oh dear god it's just not the same anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Gandhi wrote:
    Jackie Lennox's in Cork. Potato pie and chips. With Fanta. Getting hungry just thinking about it...

The Lennox's on barack street? Best chipper in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Best chipper in the world. Best chips, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Shamrock Rovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The fact that we are not perfect and we are ok with that. The fact that we are aware of our own flaws and prepared to get on with it.
    The fact that we can laugh at ourselves.

I really like that, its far more 'real' then the way people behave in the states, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Galway and Connemara, beautiful even when it rains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead loves all the Irish Sony widescreens in all the lovely Irish Pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭japanpaul

I love the way nobody carries an umbrella around with them and then look suprised when it starts raining. It shows what an optimistic bunch we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭redman

I've two

Sally O'Brien and the Way she might look at ya....

and

a wild wet day on the west coast, soaked to the skin after a long fresh walk followed by a walk to the local pub with a roaring truf fire, great seafood chowder with homemade brown bread, real butter, a fantastic pint of guinness and a pub full of good people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Rural areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

the craic. Even when yer away on holidays ye always try to find an Irish bar- why cos of the craic- can't be beaten especially if your locked and sunburnt to the hills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

because saying there were cattle on the road might still actually pass as an excuse for being late in some parts... (where else could you say that?)