Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camoflage Hunting Clothes

• 28-03-2006 4:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

Just wondering can anyone recommend a good shop for hunting clothes including camo gear, combats, camo nets and the like. I was at the game fair last year in Emo and even at that the range was limited..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭scout

old army surplus and if adventurous you can get heshen and the like,,

have you a location and i'll try to do better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

ebays the best place i picked up a pair of camo combats for £2 and gortex slient waterproofs for £20 as well as alot of other stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 KerryShooter

i sell army surplus & outdoor supplies, i'm vat reg'd & reg'd with CRO, PM me your name & address and i'll post you up a catalog. 10% discount for Gards, Defence Forces, Scouts and members of this forum.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

i sell army surplus & outdoor supplies, i'm vat reg'd & reg'd with CRO, PM me your name & address and i'll post you up a catalog. 10% discount for Gards, Defence Forces, Scouts and members of this forum.

Kerry, Boards doesn't allow commercial selling on the board so you will have to refrain from this kind of stuff im afraid.

he is not selling only informing that there is a buisness out there for what PAIMEI is looking for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I agree with scout he isn't selling anything only offering info and he told him to send a PM anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 KerryShooter

Rew wrote:
    Kerry, Boards doesn't allow commercial selling on the board so you will have to refrain from this kind of stuff im afraid.

Thats grand, i thought i was doing PAIMEI a favor, i never mentioned by business name or web address, and requested that he PM me his contact details.

Yeah I didnt remove the post because its borderline but the simple fact is he is premoting his own comercial busniess and that isn't allowed. Not my rules there the Admins rules.

so if we go "i hear kerryshooter does dabble in that sort of thing" am i wrong for providing info.

this is no diff to sugesting a gun dealer

You can recomend a him (not by their boards name but there real details) but he cannt come on here and premote him self or his product/service. He he wants to premote him self here he has to pay boards.ie for the privalige. If in doubt contact the admins about it they handle any comercial stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

Cammo has been proven to be of no benefit to concealing oneself from animals, they get spooked by your face and hands. Think of the nonsense of Americans wearing Realtree Cammo and a dayglo orange vest.

Besides this I have a problem with Cammo for hunting due to it's military/paramilitary connotations. Wearing dark greens or brown surely is better PR for our sport than looking like a member of some crack SWAT team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jaycee

Think of the nonsense of Americans wearing Realtree Cammo and a dayglo orange vest.
    There IS actually some logic to this , apparently deer are colour blind ,
    The orange vest is so you don't get accidently shot by another hunter.
    (Just pray there aren't too many colour blind hunters out there ..:eek: )

The idea behind Cammo of one type or another is to help you blend in to your surroundings . I used to wonder why deer shooters don't therefore use an orange cammo pattern. I figure it's because Deer may be colour blind , but people who hunt often hunt more than one species..
    Not all quarry views the world in monochrome.

I fish and hunt , a cammo jacket helps reduce your chances of being seen.
    Try skirting along a hedge wearing even a solid green or brown outfit and
    you will quickly find that you "Spook" stuff fields away from you.

As to it's political correctness... I'm unconvinced that we gain anything by over sensitivity to clothing and would put the counter argument that serious target shooters often wear a type of brightly coloured " Patchwork" .. So do clowns ..
    Are we to worry that target shooters will be thought of as "Clowning around with firearms" . I'm sure they would be deeply offended , and rightly so.
    What about thugs who wear leather jackets , hoodies, trainers and jeans..?
    Do we call for a ban on casual clothing ..?

In a wet and cold climate , a warm dry jacket ..is just that..!
    A jacket..!

If I was interested in fashion ..I'd be on some other forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Army Bargins, 30 Little Mary Street, Dublin 1, just off Capel Street (which is south of the "green" bridge on the quays). Depending on the time of year, you can sometimes get the ex-army combats (which are very warm, and comfortable) which are excellent for hiking, or standing still in the back-arse of nowhere. Otherwise, I'd recommend getting a pair of Katz combats.

They also stock the rest of the items, such as boots, jackets, balaclava's, etc. Personally recommend it, as I've been getting my boots there for the last 3 or 4 years, get my combats there, and hats there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Hunting camo usually looks something like this:

04-camoclothes2x.JPG

While military camo usually looks something like this:

US%20woodland.jpg

As you can see, the idea of hunting camo is to make you look like you are part of the background when you are staying still. Move and it doesn't work anymore. Try to use it somewhere where the background is a different colour, and you stick out like a sore thumb. Military camo works on different principles. Instead of making you look like the background, it instead makes you look less like a person by making parts of your silhouette appear to be part of the background at long distance, thus making it look like large parts of your shape are missing. Someone looking for a person shape might not register a partial person shape. It's not perfect, but it works a lot better than hunting camo when moving, and works in a lot more places. But if you're up close, staying still, hunting camo is a lot, lot better, and is more likely to work against animals, who naturally have to be able to detect threats, and can do it a lot better than humans can.

If you're serious about camoing up, buy some proper hunting camo that matches the area you'll be in. Buy gloves and some form of face veil that blend in with the camo, and make sure to minimise the amount of things that don't blend in with your camo that are on show (not as easy if you decided to go for the anodised pink scope). Don't wander into an army surplus shop and buy the nearest green/brown/black combo, and a black balaclava to match - it's useless against animals, and is extremely bad PR.

And if you're fully camoed up and on your own/with others who are also camoed up, carry something very bright on an inside pocket, like a dayglo orange survival bag. If you get trapped/stranded somewhere, it's a lot easier to find dayglo orange than it is to find camo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

It should probably be noted that if you're not hunting, but showing up at a range, some ranges don't allow camo to be worn except by serving members of the RDF/PDF.

Sparks wrote:
    It should probably be noted that if you're not hunting, but showing up at a range, some ranges don't allow camo to be worn except by serving members of the RDF/PDF.

Does this include real tree camo??

Real tree camo?

The camo the bow hunter is wearing in the above pictures!

For a moment there veg, I thought there was a paper target camo joke on the way :D
    No, the rule generally says "camo" and is a blanket rule. On a rifle range it just looks dodgy is all. Doesn't apply to all ranges though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Chopperdog

Sparks wrote:

This rule definitely applies with Courtlough where no camo or paramilitary style apparel are permitted.
    Why do people feel that they have to hide from in-animate targets that actually come out when you call pull?
    I am a member of another shooting club where in addition to the above rule no football jerseys are permitted as they appear to be divisive and tribal.

Cammo is purpose made for a particular purpose (concealment) and is fantastic stuff when in the pigeon/duck etc. hide and this is where it should be left.

The cammo on the range crew seem to be from the Walter Mitty brigade in my opinion and do nothing to forward the public image of shooters.

Chopperdog wrote:
    This rule definitely applies with Courtlough where no camo or paramilitary style apparel are permitted.
    Why do people feel that they have to hide from in-animate targets that actually come out when you call pull?
    I am a member of another shooting club where in addition to the above rule no football jerseys are permitted as they appear to be divisive and tribal.

Cammo is purpose made for a particular purpose (concealment) and is fantastic stuff when in the pigeon/duck etc. hide and this is where it should be left.

The cammo on the range crew seem to be from the Walter Mitty brigade in my opinion and do nothing to forward the public image of shooters.

Paying 250 euro for a water proof jacket that is very warm on cold days might be nice to wear to the range if it is cold and damp. If said jacket jus so happens to have a camo pattern on it i don't think it should matter.

If shooters had something to hide (the were in some sort of militia) they'd hardly join a club to practice where everyone could see them.

This rule kind of reminds me of our gun laws, out of date!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 PAIMEI

Cheers for the replies lads, must check out that palce on Mary Street. I'm a game/wildfowl man anyway so I wont be hanging out on ranges. As for the benefits of camo I've been hunting and shooting since I was a nipper and find camo to be beneficial but not essential, I find army surplus tends to wear better than the modern american camo stuff and was having difficulty locating a decent supplier with a good range..

Vegeta wrote:
    Paying 250 euro for a water proof jacket that is very warm on cold days might be nice to wear to the range if it is cold and damp. If said jacket jus so happens to have a camo pattern on it i don't think it should matter.

If you pay €250 for your warm camo jacket, good for you!
    If you want to come and shoot at our range you play by our rules i.e. No Camo. It is an executive decision made by the club in the best interest of the club as we see as a fit and proper image to portray of our sport.

I also have some nice warm camo gear but I know I would be in breach of protocol by wearing it to the range so I dont do it. I also have bike leathers, yet I dont dress up in these to go shooting because they keep me warm. i.e. appropriate clothing for appropriate situations and an in-animate target range is not an appropriate place for camo gear.

Like it or not, when Joe public sees camo gear he thinks Rambo, IRA, gung- ho 'kill em all' subsersives. We do not want to further fuel the fires of the antis by playing into their hands with this type of imagery,
    Therefore we project the image of shooters dressed as they would for golf, walking or shopping i.e. a leisure activity that can be enjoyed by all.

We will have to agree to disagree on the camo on range issue but if you are coming target shooting up my way, please leave the camo gear at home.

Chopperdog wrote:
    If you pay €250 for your warm camo jacket, good for you!
    If you want to come and shoot at our range you play by our rules i.e. No Camo. It is an executive decision made by the club in the best interest of the club as we see as a fit and proper image to portray of our sport.

I also have some nice warm camo gear but I know I would be in breach of protocol by wearing it to the range so I dont do it. I also have bike leathers, yet I dont dress up in these to go shooting because they keep me warm. i.e. appropriate clothing for appropriate situations and an in-animate target range is not an appropriate place for camo gear.

Like it or not, when Joe public sees camo gear he thinks Rambo, IRA, gung- ho 'kill em all' subsersives. We do not want to further fuel the fires of the antis by playing into their hands with this type of imagery,
    Therefore we project the image of shooters dressed as they would for golf, walking or shopping i.e. a leisure activity that can be enjoyed by all.

We will have to agree to disagree on the camo on range issue but if you are coming target shooting up my way, please leave the camo gear at home.

I have no gripe with your range after all its a free country (relatively) and you guys can have whatever rules you want. Doesn't mean I have to like/agree with them though.

Also everyone knows rambo likes to be topless :rolleyes: :D

I personally like to practice in my hunting jacket so I don't feel uncomfortable wearing it when I go into the field which is part of the reason why i think it a pointless rule. Different strokes for different folks.

If i wore a T shirt that said I shot JR would I be allowed to use the range

Have you had many antis (journalists, local government) visiting the range?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 whatif?

A Danish company called Seeland stocks a wide variety of camo clothing and accessories. Tallaght Rod and Gun holds alot of their products and if they don't have what your looking for you can pick whatever you want from the catalogue and they'll get it in for you. Any time I order anything from them they are quick to get it in and alot of this stuff comes with a guarantee of 100% waterproof. If you get wet just bring it right back they send it back and get you a replacement. Thankfully I've never had that problem I find the clothes brillant and the service excellent.

Vegeta wrote:
    Have you had many antis (journalists, local government) visiting the range?

The nature of Courtlough is that it is both a club and an 'open' shooting grounds, in that the general public may come down and book a shooting session (supervised obviously).
    We do not know who is who, whether they be legitimate people wanting to learn to shoot or if they are anti gun merely out 'spying'.

On this front we do all that we can to portray shooting in the best light possible and try gain the best image possible. We would like to think that we are doing our bit to encourage and promote shooting sports to the best of our ability and to give people an initial entrance that has previously been seen to be a closed shop.
    We know that anti shooting bodies have been to our range yet gave them no stick to beat the shooters with, if anything they probably saw us as disciplined, professional and courteous, which leaves them nothing to gripe about.
    Maybe now you can appreciate why we play everything so safely.

We try our best, of course we cant please everybody all of the time but sure who can anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

whatif? wrote:
    A Danish company called Seeland stocks a wide variety of camo clothing and accessories. Tallaght Rod and Gun holds alot of their products and if they don't have what your looking for you can pick whatever you want from the catalogue and they'll get it in for you. Any time I order anything from them they are quick to get it in and alot of this stuff comes with a guarantee of 100% waterproof. If you get wet just bring it right back they send it back and get you a replacement. Thankfully I've never had that problem I find the clothes brillant and the service excellent.
    Going a bit off topic here, but am I correct in thinking that this is the first bit of positive feedback we've seen here for Tallaght Rod & Gun?

Rovi wrote:
    Going a bit off topic here, but am I correct in thinking that this is the first bit of positive feedback we've seen here for Tallaght Rod & Gun?

Whatif...... Is that you Stephen???? :D:D:D

Chopperdog wrote:
    The nature of Courtlough is that it is both a club and an 'open' shooting grounds, in that the general public may come down and book a shooting session (supervised obviously).
    We do not know who is who, whether they be legitimate people wanting to learn to shoot or if they are anti gun merely out 'spying'.

On this front we do all that we can to portray shooting in the best light possible and try gain the best image possible. We would like to think that we are doing our bit to encourage and promote shooting sports to the best of our ability and to give people an initial entrance that has previously been seen to be a closed shop.
    We know that anti shooting bodies have been to our range yet gave them no stick to beat the shooters with, if anything they probably saw us as disciplined, professional and courteous, which leaves them nothing to gripe about.
    Maybe now you can appreciate why we play everything so safely.

We try our best, of course we cant please everybody all of the time but sure who can anyway?

I was just wondering as I have never been in the company of an anti shooting person/persons in all my hunting/shooting life. I do get the usual killing animals is so cruel from just about every girl I have ever met. Never met the guns should be banned in Ireland cos you're unsafe/militia types. i jus think there's a big difference between military surplus and modern hunting clothing with camo patterns.

I suppose better be safe than sorry, I should really direct my attention to those who force you to make rules like that

Chopperdog wrote:
    Whatif...... Is that you Stephen???? :D:D:D
    Afraid not chopperdog.......Only new to boards didn't know anyone had a problem with Tallaght Rod and Gun........although I probably am a bit biast I'm buying off him years so I've become quite friendly with him. Over the years he's ordered in scopes and rifles for me that I couldn't get anywhere else and didn't screw me on the price either so I suppose I haven't had reason not to like the chap

Glad your experiences with have been good, not too many folks here had such luck with this outlet.

P.S. Welcome on board !

Chopperdog wrote:
    P.S. Welcome on board !
    I second the motion! :D

Glad you've had good experience there whatif?, have a look at the Gunshop Reviews thread to see what Chopperdog and I are talking about.

one of the main reasons people but surplus is cost i have a british DPM at the moment and it is fine for the field cost €13 and that suits me i would be always on the look out if i had agood coat on in the field it might rip and be a waste of 300-400

by the way the IRA dispanded get over it!!!

however DPM and the advantage timber camo is different and so is its perception

how do ye feel about green pants with combat pockets

scout wrote:
    by the way the IRA dispanded get over it!!!

however DPM and the advantage timber camo is different and so is its perception

how do ye feel about green pants with combat pockets

Did you even read my previous posts?
    I am not referring to my own perception of camo gear but to that of the non shooting public.
    Do you honestly think that if you put DPM and Realtree/Advantage in front of Joe Public that he would tell you that one is civilian and one military?
    For gods sake, alot of shooters probably wouldn't know the difference.
    Camo gear is banned on many ranges not just where I shoot, therefore it is not just me being a krank.
    Open your eyes scout and try be a little pro-active towards promotion of our sport rather than playing into the hands of antis and then having to run around fire-fighting after the damage is done.
    Prevention is better than any cure.

Rovi wrote:
    I second the motion! :D

Glad you've had good experience there whatif?, have a look at the Gunshop Reviews thread to see what Chopperdog and I are talking about.

Your right just checked out the thread doesn't paint a very good picture for Tallaght Rod and Gun but then again different strokes for different folks. I think its great that I can go in and look around without anyone giving me the hard sell so I can brouse and buy at my leisure but again everyone is different:)
    Think boards.ie is great can see myself getting addicted to it keep those threads coming!

it was not directed to you or your range but camo is now even a fashon style

and yes i think most people can tell the army DPM as being from a army but see the others as a camoflage tool not because they are not used by armies btu they are not seen on "bad guys"

i can see where you are coming from and agree to a point but a coat/pants on its own with a civy tye accopement would be ok

But where would you draw the line scout? Go down that road and next thing you know, people are showing up in belgian army uniforms or wearing crossed bandoliers or a ghillie suit or any one of a dozen other PR nightmares. And also, it's not just anti-gun people or the press you have to worry about, it can put off new members who aren't quite as robust towards such things as seasoned hunters would be. I mean, I've been shooting for twelve years and I'd still look a bit askew at someone who showed up on the range to do target shooting in camo. It just looks out of place, you know?

Well I know one or 2 posters here who could comment on this subject? You know who you are ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭SteveS

Cammo has been proven to be of no benefit to concealing oneself from animals, they get spooked by your face and hands. Think of the nonsense of Americans wearing Realtree Cammo and a dayglo orange vest.

Most states, including mine, require that you wear some orange. I wouldn't wear it all if I could, so I wear the minimum. A vest works best because deer can easily detect motion and you are most likely to be moving your head and arms than you torso.

As for no benefit, I didn't know there was proof that it didn't work. I know dozens of bow hunters that would fervently disagree.

My brother has gone to the bank in his realtree/advantage camo parka and they didn't seem to even notice.

I think the line should be drawn on any military clothing, camo does not equal military.

I wouldn't even bat an eye if I saw a guy wearing camo at a range, I've said it before its your club do what you want.

I personally believe if we start dressing differently because of what antis think then they have already won.

I think the line should be drawn on any military clothing, camo does not equal military.
    I'd agree, except for serving military personnel - but strangely enough, I've never seen them show up at a range to shoot in camo or fatigues...
    I personally believe if we start dressing differently because of what antis think then they have already won.
    If it was only because of what antis think, I'd agree strongly. But when it can put off new members and generally looks a bit off, well, no, I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Sparks wrote:
    I'd agree, except for serving military personnel - but strangely enough, I've never seen them show up at a range to shoot in camo or fatigues...
    Because it is a uniform, for wearing when on duty/training and on the way to/from duty/training. Not for wearing when you're kicking back on a civvie range.

Which would have been my thinking on it Barry...
    (there have been times that RDF/PDF personnel have been down in fatigues because of time pressures, though not to shoot - for them, I'd make the exception for obvious reasons).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 176 ✭✭Leupold

Why do some people get so uptight when it comes to the association of cammo and shooting? The reasons many people wear surplus cammo clothing are amongst the following:
    1. It is generally designed for wearing outdoors in all weather and thus gives protection from the elements.
    2. It comes in hot and cold weather versions.
    3. It is designed for hard use.
    4. It is often designed especially for shooters, e,g. elbow and shoulder pads
    5. It is designed for concealment, valuable for hunters
    6. On top of all of this, it is cheap and available. A surplus suit usually costs less than a tenth of the price of a commercial version.

I do not understand why strange motives and "aspirations" are often ascribed to shooters who wear cammo. perhaps it reveals more about the commentators than the subject.

I think the prejudice is more due to the darker side of our national history from the past thirty years than from any character flaw, Leupold.

So if I understand you correctly Sparks, there may be more prejudice against some cammo patterns than others?

No Leupold, just prejudice against camo because not only do most people (me included after a decade of shooting) not know enough to distinguish between different types of camo, those that gave it the bad rep in the first place didn't exactly have a uniform type anyways...

Just in case anyone needs reminding why cammo gear has paramilitary connotations in this country (links to images of paramilitaries in their 'uniform') -
    http://img455.imageshack.us/img455/8825/iraman6he.jpg

http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1471/iramanwithhmg5bh.jpg

http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/1572/blackburn6oz.jpg

http://img160.imageshack.us/img160/5725/348008thumb0pb.jpg

Any sort of implied association or 'support' of this aspect of our very recent history(?) would be a PR disaster of biblical proportions for the shooting sports in this country.

As far as the vast majority of people are concerned, cammo is cammo. We can go on all we like about the difference between Realtree and military stuff, in the real world in which we live and pursue our pastime, it's immaterial.

Do you think that posting those pictures on this board was wise Rovi? We have seen many examples of items taken out of context before.

Leupold wrote:
    Do you think that posting those pictures on this board was wise Rovi? We have seen many examples of items taken out of context before.

It appears that extreme measures such as posting the pics had to be taken to get a point accross to those who cannot get their head around the fact that these are the images conjured in the public mind when they see camo gear. Like it or not, it is a fact of life.
    These are the images we want to distance our sport from and by running around a range with guns and camo gear we are doing the complete opposite.
    When going to the range why not wear a jacket to keep keep warm and comfortable etc, yet without the camo pattern or am I to believe that they have to have a camo print to fulfil these criteria?

..There are none so blind as those who do not want to see...