Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greatest Movie Villain

• 24-03-2006 5:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Your nominations please...

Blofeld

Mr. Darth Vader

Pinhead

Freddy Krueger

Agent Smith

Alex DeLarge

Boba Fett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

1. Hannibal Lector (Anthony Hopkins) - Silence of the lambs
    2. Chucky (himself ?) - Childs Play
    3. Freddy Kreuger (Robert Englund) - Nightmare On Elm Street
    4. John Ryder (Rutger Hauer) - The Hitcher
    5. Chucky's Missus (herself ?) - Bride of Chucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

T-Rex - Jurassic Park, ohoho yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

The Sheriff of Nottingham - Robin Hood Prince of Thieves

Archetypal bad guy, stabs his cousin (at least he didn't use a spoon!), trys
    to rape Maid Marion and kicks poor people.

Hans Gruber - Die Hard

Pretty much a more clinical and sophisticated version of above

John Doe - Seven

Pants s**tingly frightening

James Bond

He's a double agent working for the KGB, thinks he has everyone fooled, except me, i hate that commie traitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I'd like to add Alien to this list...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Catullus wrote:
    Alex DeLarge

He's not a Villain! He's one of the greatest heroes of our time! A shining example to follow.

In seriousness, I'd say it's hard to top Gary Oldman in Leon. "I take no pleasure... In taking life... From those who do not enjoy it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

The Sheriff of Nottingham - Robin Hood Prince of Thieves

Archetypal bad guy, stabs his cousin (at least he didn't use a spoon!), trys
    to rape Maid Marion and kicks poor people.

Hans Gruber - Die Hard

Pretty much a more clinical and sophisticated version of above

Why dont we agree that its anything played by Alan Rickman or Jeremy Irons (Scar...greatest animated villian ever!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

oogie_boogie.jpg
    :p

Emporer Commodus was pretty darn evil in Gladiator, great performance by Joaquin Pheonix.
    Oh yeah, and Brick Top in Snatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    Why dont we agree that its anything played by Alan Rickman or Jeremy Irons
    ahem... Dugeons and Dragons... ahem...

I'm going to go with Fiona in Josie and the Pussycats.

mptv1.gif

I'm a big Parker Posey fan and it's a hugely under-rated film.

I've got really high hopes for Philip Seymour Hoffman in the new Mission Impossible movie though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭muesli_offire

Jaws

Biff Tannen

Buford 'Mad Dog' Tannen

Griff Tannen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

'Preacher' Harry Powell (Robert Mitchum) in 'The Night of the Hunter'. Scary scary man. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

NUrse Ratched from One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest scared the **** outta me tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Frank Booth (Dennis Hopper) in Blue Velvet. Now he's the pants-****tingly frightening one.

Max Cady (Cape Fear). Not sure whose portrayal was scarier - De Niro's or Mitchum's. I'm thinking possibly De Niro's. Both damn terrifying performances, though.

Gary Oldman would definitely top the Jeremy Irons/Alan Rickman Always Play Baddies list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

agent smith
    darth vader
    alien queen

Dudess wrote:
    Frank Booth (Dennis Hopper) in Blue Velvet. Now he's the pants-****tingly frightening one.

Oh yes! Easily one of the greatest screen villains of all time, and I'm shocked I didn't mention him myself. I'm going to go and watch Blue Velvet right this minute!

It's strange, because normally a villain that OTT camps it up and adds a bit of humour and would be viewed as evil but a bit of a joke. However, not our Frank. Nothing funny there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 The Equalizer

Orson Wells' Harry Lime(I think) in the The Third Man!! When it is explained to a central chracter and indeed,you the viewer,why this man is being sought it becomes clear to you that this man had become morally bankrupt a long time ago!!
    Dick Jones..Robocop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

The only one springing to mind now is T1000...he was pretty badass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

The Girl from Audition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

As mentioned, the Emperor in Gladiator was a scummy baxtard alright.
    Yer man from Schindlers List, shooting Jews from the balcony of his house, cant remember his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Ruu wrote:
    Yer man from Schindlers List, shooting Jews from the balcony of his house, cant remember his name.
    Goethe, played by Ralph Fiennes. Fine acting performance indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Agent Smith (From the first Matrix only)

[edit]: okay, mentioned already. But yeah, that's my pick. Freakin' terrifyin'.

Ruu wrote:

Amin Goethe, played by Ralph Fiennes. An evil piece of work indeed.

Well, Karl Hungus, has Blue Velvet lost its ability to disturb you yet?
    Have to say, David Lynch is the man. In the 15 years or so between Blue Velvet and Mulholland Drive, he has created an array of top-grade warped villains - obviously Frank Booth, also Dean Stockwell in Blue Velvet, Willem Defoe in Wild At Heart, that Bob guy in Twin Peaks, Robert Blake in Lost Highway (*shiver!*) and loads of others. A twisted kinda guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 The Equalizer

Ash/The Company. Alien.
    Somebody mentioned Lecter earlier by the way,I saw some production pics from the new movie Young Hannibal!!

Dudess wrote:
    Well, Karl Hungus, has Blue Velvet lost its ability to disturb you yet?

I don't think it's ever disturbed me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Alex DeLarge (Malcolm McDowell) in Clockwork Orange was a bit of a looney too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Apart from Darth Vader, clearly...

Baron von Rotton, a.k.a. "Judge Doom" (played by Christopher Lloyd) in Who Framed Roger Rabbit
    Vincenzo Coccotti (played by Christopher Walken) in True Romance

I don't think it's ever disturbed me.
    Not even the "baby wants to ****" bit?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shatners basoon

Ol' Adolf in downfall (or any film he is portrayed in, excluding when he is mimicked by Chaplin - classic) though Mrs. Goebbles really takes it in that film, poor kids!

Maybe the old witch woman in the cellar in the evil dead series, i've never wanted someone to be chainsawed so much!
    Girl in Audition gets my vote too that psycho minx!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭tvbrat

Norman Bates form Psycho - 1965
    The way he spoke to his dead mother

Oh yea and The Shower Scene of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

hmm Agent Smith, terminator prob

christopher walken in True Romance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Tommy DeVito (Joe Pesci) - Goodfellas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

Playboy wrote:
    The Girl from Audition

She was scaary biscuits alright - a leather smock and a couple of hundred accupuncture pins are not a good mix.

Also on my list would be Henry Fonda for Once Upon a Time in the West (for the first 15 mins of that movie alone).

Denzel washington in Training day was pretty cool.

*Malcolm McDowell in Caligula was pretty twisted too and that film left out some of the harsher/wierder anecdotes.

Dudess wrote:
    Not even the "baby wants to ****" bit?!

Ok, maybe a bit. ;)

ChityWest wrote:
    Also on my list would be Henry Fonda for Once Upon a Time in the West (for the first 15 mins of that movie alone).
    Oh my God! I'm so obsessed with that film. How could I forget him?! What a sinister, evil sonofabitch! You know that first scene with him and the kid? Jebus! It was one of the most shocking things I've ever seen! And those ice-blue eyes! Good old noble, honourable, reliable Hank Fonda, eh?
    ChityWest wrote:
    Denzel washington in Training day was pretty cool.
    Good old noble, honourable, reliable Denzel Washingon, eh?
    ChityWest wrote:
    Malcolm McDowell in Caligula was pretty twisted too and that film left out some of the harsher/wierder anecdotes.
    That film is ****ed up.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Wouldn't be the greatest movie villain but still worthy of a mention I think... Magneto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

Darth Vader is an icon, still though chucky from the first two child's play and hannibal lecter would be my choices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I'm gonna go with Castor Troy from Face Off.

Sorry but he just made being Bad so F*cking Cool!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shatners basoon

Reese Witherspoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Gary Oldman in Leon.
    Stansfield wrote:
    I like these calm little moments before the storm. It reminds me of Beethoven. Can you hear it? It's like when you put your head to the grass and you can hear the growin' and you can hear the insects. Do you like Beethoven?
    Norman Stansfield: Bring me everyone.
    Benny: What do you mean "everyone"?
    Norman Stansfield: EVERYONE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

He may not strictly be the villain, but for being a sheer bastard, Sgt Barnes in Platoon is hard to beat.
    He was such a mean son of a b.tch one of his own men had to shoot him. He had to die in the jungle. He would have turned out a serial killer otherwise.

Well thanks for spoiling that part of Platoon, which I was looking forward to watching at some time in the future.

Gunnery Sergeant Hartman in Full Metal Jacket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭BlackSabbath

obviously the sergeant in full metal jacket.

Has the teacher from "The Breakfast Club" been mentioned yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

"Don't mess with the bull, young man! You'll get the horns!"

"... that man is a brownie hound"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭_Turismo4

Jack Nicholson as The joker would be my choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

How about Casanova Frankenstien?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

King Edward 1 (Longshanks) - Braveheart

"Beg your pardon sire, but won't we hit our own troops ?"
    "Yes... but we'll hit theirs as well. We have reserves... attack"

"Arrows cost money. Use up the Irish. Their dead cost nothing."

EVIL! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Well thanks for spoiling that part of Platoon, which I was looking forward to watching at some time in the future.

Well in fairness, it's your own fault for not having seen a decades old movie. Should we not talk about Darth Vader being Luke's father too, in case you haven't seen that?

Should we not talk about Darth Vader being Luke's father too, in case you haven't seen that?

He is? You spoilsport! Are you going to ruin the end of Planet of the Apes now? Damn you to hell!