Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You have a Posh Accent

• 24-03-2006 11:48am
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

How would you describe your accent?? (If your from Dublin) do you speak with a thick Dublin brogue? Or are you more D4 type? Or somewhere in between.. Id say Im somewhere in between myself

For Example...Do you say roundabout or raindabaish?? Or roundabou'??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Yipper

Erm!
    Oi'd say moy accent is like totally focking normal.
    Not posh, but, defo nosh skobie.

As for the Roundaboush thing...isn't there like, just one way to pronounsh it?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Elara Lady

im with the yipper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

I have no accent at all. I'm a bond villain. At least I'd like to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'm a posh scobie. Dont sound like a complete "howya, stoooorrrreee bud" but a long way off the "heino roish?" people. When I'm talking to mates I still tend to drop the last T or D off most words, and I do say deadly a lot. In work, i try to be neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Typically no accent...Until I moved in with a load of Norn Iron heads...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Round these parts I'd be accused of having a posh accent, but when around my parents or back where I grew up I'd most defiantely not be considered posh. My accent is just different from the norm where I currently reside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭shroomfox

I grew up with a posh upper-class English accent.
    In Cavan.
    We don't know why.

My parents aren't posh or English.
    There were no posh or English people in the vicinity.

We put it all down to the BBC. Goddamn BBC. Do you know how annoying it is when you've got a posh English accent in a strongly Republican area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

posh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I have a country accent according to the Dubs and a posh accent according to the country folks.

shroomfox wrote:
    I grew up with a posh upper-class English accent.
    In Cavan.
    We don't know why.

My parents aren't posh or English.
    There were no posh or English people in the vicinity.

We put it all down to the BBC. Goddamn BBC. Do you know how annoying it is when you've got a posh English accent in a strongly Republican area?

lol, a friend of mine from Cavan (Virginia) also has a posh upper-class english accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Flush Phill

My Dads from cavan and if turf could speak.. it'd sound like my dad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

Bit of a scumbag accent, drop off the endings of words all the time, and "th" is pronounced pretty much as a soft "d".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Yipper

Elara Lady wrote:
    im with the yipper

Totally, babes....any toime!

But this is, like, a totally open relashionship. If you need space, I can totally, like give it to you.
    :cool:

I am One totally smug bast*rd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

Mix of Dub/ n.ireland. Bit weird really at times. cant stand posh accents!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

definitely in between. Some have said I have a dublin accent, but then I used to get lots of scumbags asking "are you posh??" when I was younger, i.e. looking for a fight, so obviously they thought I had a posh accent. Some scum would try and mimic me putting on a D4 accent, conversely country people would mimic my accent to sound like a thick accented dublin scumbag.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

My Dads from cavan and if turf could speak.. it'd sound like my dad.

Rofl :D thats a new one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I've been told I have a posh accent, I'm a Northerner though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭birdwatcher

I am mute......does that suck, or what!

luckily you have boards.ie to communicate with the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Fock yesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

sinecurea wrote:
    I've been told I have a posh accent, I'm a Northerner though.

Same here. Although I would prefer to think my accent was "neutral".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

i have`nt a posh accent,more so a mild manchester accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭HomesickAlien

despite having been born and raised in dublin i have a slight american influence on my accent. boggles the mind really....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I'm kinda neutral I think. People tell me I've more of a country accent than a Dublin one, nice and non-specific. I tell you what accent I hate the most tho - the "posh northside" accent. For examples, see Charlie Kelly from Fair City or Simon Delaney doing radio ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

No way am i Posh..........:D

I wouldn't say i sound like a scobie either..........I have thick Dublin accent but nothing like "ahhhhhhhhh howayyyyyyyy Chungone"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

i speak with a Dublin accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I just have a normal Dublin accent but it really depends on who I am speaking too. The posher the other person is the posher I tend to be. I really hate the D4 friends accent, especially in people from the country!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Where I come from I don't have an accent, but you do.;)

Lux23 wrote:
    The posher the other person is the posher I tend to be. I really hate the D4 friends accent, especially in people from the country!!!!!!!

How pathetic is that :rolleyes: be yourself for fu*ks sake i don't care who im talking to even in work on the phone i aint gonna change my accent for no cu*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

My melodious vocalisations inspire tears of happiness from heavenly creatures that beam through the clouds and kiss me with gratitude

That's only on sundays though

The rest of the time I'm fuokin ma' ou' ov it

My melodious vocalisations inspire tears of happiness from heavenly creatures that beam through the clouds and kiss me with gratitude

That's only on sundays though

The rest of the time I'm fuokin ma' ou' ov it

Proper order as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

jonny68 wrote:
    How pathetic is that :rolleyes: be yourself for fu*ks sake i don't care who im talking to even in work on the phone i aint gonna change my accent for no cu*t

I bet you're a taxi driver

tbh wrote:
    I bet you're a taxi driver
    #
    you couldn't be further from the truth im an office worker :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

pretty neutral i think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

in dublin - my friends say i'm posh because i try to annunciate my words and i use words like "annunciate" lol.

In carlow - the call me a dublin skanger

In london - they say i sound like a paddy

so i guess i can't win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Roundaboush?
    I wouldn't know how to pronounce that word as I don't use public transport and daddy brings me to college in the chopper.He'll buy me a Jag soon if I'm good so I might know then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

It's roundabou' for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Dunno - I've lived in Dublin (Blanch/Huntstown area) for 15 years out of 17 being alive and I just had a Taxi driver the other day tell me I don't sound like I'm from Dublin. So I dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭ivan087

im from bray so i have a dublin accent with a wicklow influence - which makes it a horrible accent something like a dublin/wexford hybrid. but not as horrible as the dundalk accent!

its amazing that in a country so small we have about 32 accents!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

xzanti wrote:
    For Example...Do you say roundabout or raindabaish?? Or roundabou'??

Neither. I pronounce my 't's. I dont have the rounded americanised chat that would be regarded as posh Dublin either.

My mother would have killed me for not pronouncing things properly. So theres no how'ye, alrigh' or rapi' here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭declanoneill

I've often been told I have a posh accent. When I was younger my dad always pulled me up on pronouncing my th's and d's. Sometimes, when I tell people I'm from darndale, they don't believe me (including one very condescending garda when I was 19 and trying to get an age card). That said I don't use dort speak, cause I'm not a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Well i'm from the sticks so I have a bit of a bog accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

ivan087 wrote:
    its amazing that in a country so small we have about 32 accents!

In county Antrim alone there could be at least 32 discernable accents. Some, like Ballymoney (the region from where the great Joey Dunlop hailed) are completely unintelligible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

xzanti wrote:
    roundabou'

Me :)

Tallaght accent pretty much! I tend to soften it a bit when I'm talkin to 'posher' folk, though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I went to a private school on the Southside so I have a D4 accent which sometimes borders on rather posh British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Pythia wrote:
    I went to a private school on the Southside so I have a D4 accent which sometimes borders on rather posh British.
    Or at least you're hoping you do.
    I'm told that I've a posh accent though always regarded it as neutral myself. I don't particularly care however, unlike the thousands of retards who think it's some sign of affluence to pronounce "right" as "roysh". It's not even confined to Dublin, you've boggers thinking they're "D4" for pronouncing their words in that way. Thank you very f*cking much Paul Howard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

I've often been told I have a posh accent. When I was younger my dad always pulled me up on pronouncing my th's and d's. Sometimes, when I tell people I'm from darndale, they don't believe me (including one very condescending garda when I was 19 and trying to get an age card). That said I don't use dort speak, cause I'm not a knob.

Exactly my problem! I was brought up to speak very very properly, and that's quite often interpreted as posh/ English. Even at school in Limerick, lots of people commented on where I was from 'because you don't have a Limerick accent!' (neither does my dad, and he's the third generation of his family to be born and raised in Limerick city). I get that response up here too, although a lot of people here presume I'm from Dublin 4 from my voice. My accent may be slightly different now since I do live in Dublin 4, but it's not dort at all.

I think both the skobie accent and D4 accent are very similar; they both have more to do with mispronouncing your words then with where you're from! The D4 accent makes intelligent people sound like idiots imo, I'd prefer to have an English accent than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I had a pretty neutral bogger accent when I lived in Offaly, but when I moved up to the big smoke - it all changed (bright lights, dancing girls etc). So now I can pretty much sway from an educated neutral Dublin accent, to a working class North Dublin accent, and back to the bogger accent - all within the same conversation... which pisses people off to a great degree :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭birdwatcher

luckily you have boards.ie to communicate with the world!

BOARDS.IE????
    What....aw no!
    There goes my sight!
    Next thing y'know i wont be abl eto dee the keyboafd propewrly