Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young guy nearly dead after being beaten up.

• 21-03-2006 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭

A guy who is about 20 is fighting for his life after 2 guys beat him up in Dun Laoghire.

This has upset me. It happened just round the corner from where I live and like all humans I'm affected by what is closer to home. Suddenly the world feels like a slightly nastier place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

what happened...any links / news items etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

frobisher wrote:
    A guy who is about 20 is fighting for his life after 2 guys beat him up in Dun Laoghire.

This has upset me. It happened just round the corner from where I live and like all humans I'm affected by what is closer to home. Suddenly the world feels like a slightly nastier place.
    You live there, but you can't actually spell where you live? mmm, interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

LundiMardi wrote:
    We all make typos. They're not actually interesting at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

LundiMardi wrote:

You spelled paradise wrong.

TimAy wrote:
    You spelt paradise wrong.
    It doesn't say paradise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

LundiMardi wrote:
    What the f*ck difference does it make? Why don't you stick to the topic?

DaveMcG wrote:
    What the f*ck difference does it make? Why don't you stick to the topic?
    I just found it strange.

Why don't you stay on topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Totaly off topic

But is the rampant use of "guy" pissing any other man off off or is it just me? hes a 20 year old MAN im a MAN not a guy.

Doubled post. Erased.

bizmark wrote:
    Totaly off topic

But is the rampant use of "guy" pissing any other man off off or is it just me? hes a 20 year old MAN im a MAN not a guy.
    It's just a word and it's use most definitely isn't rampant. Guy is the same as bloke is the same as man is the same as whatever. The point still stands.

This thread is under threat of being hijacked by people going unnecessarily off topic.

And one of them is a mod.

So what if I used the word "GUY"? So what if I made a typing error? Does that change anything that is even vaugely important or related to the point and meaning of my post? No.

It's not a post about our favourite ice pops from the early 90's. It's about a young man being beaten to within an inch of his life. You may ban me for saying this but I suggest that if you really must, then go hijack another thread. Mod or not.:mad:

relax, it happens everyday, the fact that it happened around the corner from you means you have to feel extra sensitive about it? Why don't you start about the two children that were killed in a road accident this morning, or the 2 girls in the UK who were tortured, one of which died, the other survived, even though she was shot in the head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

This is ridiculous... Smart-arse comments galore, what's the point? Just don't post if you don't want to discuss the topic at hand -- simple :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

I heard the Guards were looking for two guys dropped off by a taxi afterwards they mentioned the area they were dropped off at but it escapes me at the moment. I think they had a fair idea of where they were dropped or maybe they are just saying it so that someone might come forward.

PS: Alot of assholes have highjacked this thread and they should show a bit of maturity when discussing a serious matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Cop on lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Pimlico - that was the area mentioned on the news Dublin 8 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

muletide wrote:
    I heard the Guards were looking for two guys dropped off by a taxi afterwards they mentioned the area they were dropped off at but it escapes me at the moment. I think they had a fair idea of where they were dropped or maybe they are just saying it so that someone might come forward.

The two guys are allegadely the fellas who done it. From people i know who are close to the the young lad, he is being kept alive until his mother is contacted, it is very sad to hear. I was in dun laoghaire on that and drove past the exact spot about an hour before it happened. All i can say is im not surprised something like this has happened in dun laoghaire, anyone who goes out there on a fri/sat night will know what i am talking about, things can get out of control very quickly. As i say it looks like this man wont make it and my feelings go out to his family and his girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

muletide wrote:
    Pimlico - that was the area mentioned on the news Dublin 8 I think

Shanganagh heights in Shankill was the area mentioned on the news Dublin 18/Co. Dublin.

I'm from the area and I know who the guy they attacked was. I wasn't close but I knew his family from years ago. Apparently they are just completely destroyed.

The horrible thing about it is that it can happen to anyone so easily. I have had guys trying to start fights on me plenty of times. All it takes is one stray punch or to fall wrong on your head and you won't get up. Someone told me that there was a slight change in his condition this morning but that things are looking as bad as they can be and that even if he makes it he won't be in a normal state.

Dun Laoaghaire is a funy place. It's a nice area but has some nasty little pockets. I have also heard that one of the guys who did was as young as 15 and that the police know exactly who it is. Again, that's only what I have heard locally but I wouldn't be surprised either way. For his family's sake I hope there is a miracle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

If the attackers are rich kids / from wealthy middle-class families the media will have a field day.

If they're from underprivileged backgrounds we'll hear a lot less about it.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    If the attackers are rich kids / from wealthy middle-class families the media will have a field day.

If they're from underprivileged backgrounds we'll hear a lot less about it.

That is a horrible fact but very, very true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

frobisher wrote:
    That is a horrible fact but very, very true.

Another nail in the coffin of the myth that 'the middle classes get off more lightly'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

It's certainly not the first time something like this has happened in Dun Laoghaire. I remember a young man was attacked and killed outside the Purty Kitchen about 6 years ago. I've seen and heard of loads of fights in the area over the years. In my experience all were alcohol related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

LundiMardi wrote:
    Why don't you start about the two children that were killed in a road accident this morning
    Was that the accident in Tipperary? If it was, 13 year old girl and a 14 year old boy. Just up the road from me aswell.
    I think I know the family, but then again I'm not the most sensitive person in the world. Didn't even flinch when I heard about it tbh.
    frobisher wrote:
    Suddenly the world feels like a slightly nastier place.
    Have you been ignoring every single type of media for the past few decades?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

LundiMardi wrote:

You spelled mmm wrong

You can't actually spell noises. Best you can do is convey how they sound.
    Just thought I'd rain on your parade a bit. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

frobisher wrote:

i know the feeling.
    a woman was raped just down the road from my house a couple of weeks back. apparently the guy who raped her lives across the road from me. school kid. he was wearing his uniform at the time.
    it's a sick sad world we live in.

Think this calls for a proposition for a vigilante squad. I bags the Punisher tshirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

the last guy i knew who liked the punisher comic and all things related ended up shooting a woman and then shooting himself. the woman survived, but she lost both her eyes.
    i can't bring myself to watch that film.
    thank you, mr. xerxes.

Xerxes?
    Never can tell what people'll do. You can have the Spiderman outfit if you'd like?
    Also, I might swap the Punisher one for Batman..or possibly Blade.

Reminds me, does anyone remember that guy in Manhattan who dressed up as Blade (complete with sword) and did ninja poses for a while until cops started pelting him with bean-bags?
    Must find that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Mexicola

LundiMardi wrote:

Why is there alway some gimp like you waiting to jump on the misspelling of others. Have you nothing better to be doing... :mad:

Anyway, back on topic... This stuff happens everywhere - lived in Dublin for a couple of years - went out most weekends, never had any trouble - the first time I went out back home I ended up getting 2 punches to the face from some dirty scumbags walking down the street...

Mexicola wrote:
    Why is there alway some gimp like you waiting to jump on the misspelling of others. Have you nothing better to be doing... :mad:

If people actually read what i said, you'll see that i was more intrigued by the fact he couldn't spell the place name of where he lives, not the fact that he couldn't spell a certain random word. For reasons i won't go into, i have to write some letters to Dun Laoghaire* quite a lot and i always have to look the word up as i haven't a ****in clue how to spell it, but i have my reasons for this.

My apologies for going off topic, crime of the century so i hear. :rolleyes:

* yes i had to look it up then too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Mexicola

That is quite possibly the most elaborate excuse I have ever heard. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

julep wrote:
    he was wearing his uniform at the time.

A bit of a giveaway for identification that, isn't it?

NTM

Mexicola wrote:
    That is quite possibly the most elaborate excuse I have ever heard. :rolleyes:
    Well, i personally don't give a fúck if you believe my 'excuse' or not, deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

LundiMardi wrote:
    Well, i personally don't give a fúck if you believe my 'excuse' or not, deal with it.

You seem to have issues :D

I hope they get the two guys responsible - how anybody could beat up somebody to the extent of leaving them on deaths door is beyond me...but unfortunately these things happen everyday.

Sure we've all been in fights, or had someone trying to get us into a fight - but you really have to walk away, as someone else said all it takes is one hit on a bad location, or some psycho to suddenly produce a knife or something.....

Where in Dun Laoihtauir did this happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

it happened on the junction of corrig avenue and marine road in Dun laoire...why people insist on using the long version I'll never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭skibum

LundiMardi wrote:
    Where in Dun Laoihtauir did this happen?
    It happened about 30 meters from Dun Laoghaire Garda station / courthouse :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dilly1

LundiMardi wrote:

Nice, the way a silly typo takes centre stage over a guy fighting for life.
    (The most annoying people in life are those who correct 'typos' and grammer) :rolleyes:

Someone always knows who did this, The one thing is that someone usually starts boasting about a fight, then they get nabbed. I am sure these guys will get caught.

Dilly1 wrote:
    Nice, the way a silly typo takes centre stage over a guy fighting for life.
    (The most annoying people in life are those who correct 'typos' and grammar) :rolleyes:

I agree. No need to go on about it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Vinnie69

LundiMardi wrote:
    I agree. No need to go on about it. :D
    You started it by picking up your shovel and started digging. Might I suggest to you that you use Dun Leary or the older name Kingtown, it may save you getting hot under the collar?:D
    Back to the thread: is there any news on the young man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

LundiMardi wrote:

Pointless answer.

logik wrote:
    Pointless answer.
    pot. kettle. black.

So no word on this guy no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭tosh_thedude

To the Above Guys (YOU Clearly Know who you Are), Get a life you sad idiots!

As for the above topic, It's never easy living next door to thugs, All you can do is never walk home alone. Every Citys the same, not just Dublin, you just got to be careful and hope you never draw attection to yourself. Its a sad world we live in sometimes, but we also cant live like hermits!

Is there a link to this attack? The above one doesnt seem to work!

To the Above Guys (YOU Clearly Know who you Are), Get a life you sad idiots!

As for the above topic, It's never easy living next door to thugs, All you can do is never walk home alone. Every Citys the same, not just Dublin, you just got to be careful and hope you never draw attection to yourself. Its a sad world we live in sometimes, but we also cant live like hermits!

Is there a link to this attack? The above one doesnt seem to work!

No one here has resorted to personal abuse. Shame you couldn't either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭tosh_thedude

LundiMardi wrote:
    No one here has resorted to personal abuse. Shame you couldn't either.

Clearly you havent read the start on this thread then. Shame on you more like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

Could happen anywhere in Ireland not just Dunleary*

*Preferred choice of spelling

robz150 wrote:
    Could happen anywhere in Ireland not just Dunleary**Preferred choice of spelling

Completely. I live in Dun Laoghaire and while I have seen some nasty things there and in Dublin city center, some of the worst on street violence I have seen was in Cork city. It happens everywhere.

LundiMardi: People just didn't like where you brought the thread. It's no biggie but you're only making it worse by responding everytime and going even more off topic. Just leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Lads, does anybody know how the guy is as I haven't heard anything about this.

And to people compaining about spelling, STFU and stop ruining the thread.