Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inaugural Irish Student Poker Masters - 22nd April

• 20-03-2006 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 45

DCU PokerSoc proudly presents the

IRISH STUDENT POKER MASTERS
    €50 FREEZEOUT (€45buyin + €5reg)
    in the Merrion Casino Club, 22/04/2006
    Inaugural Poker Intervarsity
    Est. €6500 + Prize-pool

Type: No Limit Hold ‘em Freezeout
    Date: Saturday 22nd April 2006 – Merrion Casino Club, Dublin
    Start: 4.00pm

Student Only Event. Valid Student ID will be required. Players must also be members of the Merrion Casino. Membership available on the day, however, Government ID will be required by the club.

Tickets can be pre-booked by emailing pokersoc@redbrick.dcu.ie with your NAME, COLLEGE and CONTACT NUMBER. Places are limited to 200 so early booking is advised. Tickets will be available at the door if the event is not sold out. (Some college poker societies will receive tickets to sell on, please check with your society to confirm)

Entry Fee - €45
    Reg Fee - €5
    100% of the Entry Fee will be going to the Prize fund.

Starting Stack – 5000 in chips

Blind Structure: (subject to change)
    Level / Blind / Ante / Duration

1 25-25 / - / 20 min
    2 25-50 / - / 20 min
    3 50-100 / - / 20 min
    4 75-150 / - / 20 min
    5 100-200 / - / 20 min

Break 20 min

6 100-200 / 25 / 30 min
    7 200-400 / 50 / 30 min
    8 300-600 / 50 / 30 min
    9 400-800 / 75 / 30 min
    10 500-1000 / 100 / 30 min

Break 15 min

11 800-1500 / 100 / 30 min
    12 1000-2000 / 200 / 30 min
    13 1500-3000 / 200 / 30 min
    14 2000-4000 / 300 / 30 min
    15 3000-6000 / 400 / 30 min

Break 15 min

16 4000-8000 / 500 / 30 min
    17 5000-10000 / 500 / 30 min
    18 6000-12000 / 1000 / 30 min
    19 8000-16000 / 2000 / 30 min
    20 10000-20000 / 2000 / 30 min

Break 15 min

21 15000-30000 / 4000 / 30 min
    22 20000-40000 / 5000 / until finish

Places paid will depend on number of runners but will follow the payout structure similar to that found at http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/t_payoutstructure.php.

Normal poker room rules apply. Contact the Merrion poker room for more details on rules.
    There will be at least 8 casino dealers rotating throughout the whole of the tournament.
    Tournament Director will be Mags Manton - Merrion poker room manager.
    TD has final say.

Cash games will be available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

well put

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Wallko

Me likes the looks of this tourny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

count me in too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Definately on for this one, i am liking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

this sounds quality... fair play!

Out of interest what is the €5 reg fee for? where is it going? to DCU or to the merrion? If it is to the merrion i'd suggest having a word with them as they will be getting easily 50+ new members out of this and cannot justify taking €5 a head even if it is to cover dealers etc... if it is possible it should be 50+0 in my opinion...

DIT will be running a €5 MultiTable rebuy satalite on Thursday 20th of April with a ticket being awarded for every €50 in the pot.
    DIT will be running €5 10seat satalites on Friday 21st of April

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DCU PokerSoc

The €5 reg is all going to the Merrion. I know where your coming from about the new members and we did include this when talking to them but the GM insisted that they get to keep the Reg fee. Which isn't bad when you think that the dealers (8-10) are working €15p.h. some for up to 8-9 hours and we also have a Tournament Director. Normally they charge for the rental of the rooms/tables but they overlooked that due to the "new members". Hope this clears things up.

yea.. that makes perfect sense! cheers!
    I also assume you dont mind dit running satalites!! :) i'll be in touch re getting tickets from you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭POKERKING

15 an hr???its either gone up or thats wrong i supposed to get a job there a wile back and it was about half that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

POKERKING wrote:
    15 an hr???its either gone up or thats wrong i supposed to get a job there a wile back and it was about half that!!

Working as a dealer has become far more profitable now than a few months ago as far as I know. The tips can be quite good even though the wage itself is not great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

POKERKING wrote:

i worked there - its not that - maybe about 12 an hour - still good though

like the idea of this tourney, must remember to turn up to it - have you contacted Trinity Poker Soc, so they can email their members?

(as you prob know - about 700 members, of which about 100 regularly turn up to poker games).

might get a few more players there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Humer

Trinity Pokersoc will be bringing as many as possible. A good few dozen hopefully. We'll win it in numbers. Our 700 members will be contacted closer to the event. Sounds like it's gonna be a great tournament.

Humer wrote:
    Trinity Pokersoc will be bringing as many as possible. A good few dozen hopefully. We'll win it in numbers. Our 700 members will be contacted closer to the event. Sounds like it's gonna be a great tournament.

STT after we're all knocked out, 4 Trinity Poker Soc committee members and 4 DIT Poker Soc committee members, 5e game or something cheap and cheerful? Bragging rights up for grabs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭ChipLdr

ditpoker wrote:
    STT after we're all knocked out, 4 Trinity Poker Soc committee members and 4 DIT Poker Soc committee members, 5e game or something cheap and cheerful? Bragging rights up for grabs?

Jeff for all the poker you play i'm yet to be convinced that your Bankroll can handle the €5 loss and the nice guy i am, i'd let you rebuy and take that from you too....I just dont know if i have the heart in taking your money

ChipLdr wrote:
    Jeff for all the poker you play i'm yet to be convinced that your Bankroll can handle the €5 loss and the nice guy i am, i'd let you rebuy and take that from you too....I just dont know if i have the heart in taking your money

aren't you meant to be banned....? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭ChipLdr

As always with being a student you can find flaws with legislation and exploit them to your own advantage and hence i am now unbanned.Back to the point though i think you should come along and play in some cash games in the fitz.It'll be interesting to see where the money goes :)

ChipLdr wrote:
    As always with being a student you can find flaws with legislation and exploit them to your own advantage and hence i am now unbanned.Back to the point though i think you should come along and play in some cash games in the fitz.It'll be interesting to see where the money goes :)

NL or PL? played one cash game in my life, sat down with 80e, third hand i get QQ, flop comes Q34, there's all the usual raise re raise all in stuff, fella turns over A5 and takes down 190pot with 2 on the river! so i'm reluctant to play cash games at the mo! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Nice one lads looks great . . . . . . . i'll have to take part in a few more 5 euro bonanza games in preparation for this ;)

Just to tell you all, there will be satilites every monday and thursday in the Merrion Casino Club, so if ya get knocked out of the Freeroll on Monday or the €20 Freezout on Thursday you can partake in a satelite, these will be €10 satalites were the top two people will win entry into the ISPMs!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

tourny sounds very good, besta luck in organising it, and ill see ya der

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭[DM]Frink

Im am a cheap student with not that much money, are there any satalites on? It sound really cool!!! Also how many people will you be payin out???

DIT are holding satalites on the 20th and 21st of this month, its only €5 buy-in!! Also there are satalites every monday and thursday in the Merrion Casino Club!

If you wanna know how much we are paying out just look at this link;
    http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/t_payoutstructure.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

as always i am going to be very arrogant and presume i will easily come in the top 199 of this tourni but im well up for it playing well at mo so hopefully will have momentum and lay off jeff he is not able to cope with the five euro swings he takes on a weekly basis its hard for the litlle guy.

Don't talk to him about VBP if you think thats the case, lost a lot more then 5 euro there.....

Whats VBP??? What ya lose €5 at? Is anyone goin to these satilites on in DIT??

sorry that was very much off thread, VBP=Vegas baby poker. And i shall be playing in dit.

forget i'd say we'd run sats... think we're on easter break tho at moment (you'd think i'd know that!) but im sure i can come up with something, or shoutman or aodea could do it....
    also, if anyone finds culchie tell him VBP is dangerous... im a very upset jeff.

Hey DIT, can you send an email to your college this week and next week just remindin them bout the tourney so we keep the numbers up! Can ya also tell them that there are satalites on in The Merrion on mondays and thursday!

Which DIT are you part of? Will everyone else get emailed from the other DITs?

what no satilites in DIT?????? how will i get in for cheap? DIT can you not have them anyways? people wud go to the €5 thingy if you email them!? You could see if there was any interest on thursday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭kickintheteeth

count me in. C'mon UCD!

forgot that this is NEXT week, not this week, so yea, sats back on, probably just the MTT on thurs... and lets face it the STT on fri will prob happen to cos its not like i'll be studying..

DCU, if u pm the text u want me to send i'll fire it off to all our members and the bolton st lads... im in aungier st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭nuttlys

count me in. C'mon UCD!

Is there many from UCD going? I haven't heard much round campus in the way of posters or anything, just lucky I saw the thread here.

Really looking forward to it tho, best blinds i've seen for €50, possibly ever :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

yes defo going to play this sounds like a nice game. Id say there will be at least ten from ucd playing this-fully expect one of us to take it down!

Hey do you guys have an email address for UCD, we emailed them before but they never got back to us!

And DIT whats pm? Can you send your student and the other DITs a email with the original thread we posted, like copy and paste it?

Hey do you guys have an email address for UCD, we emailed them before but they never got back to us!

And DIT whats pm? Can you send your student and the other DITs a email with the original thread we posted, like copy and paste it?

pm is private message, see where it says welcome, dcu pokersoc. Well click on the blue private messages underneath it and that will bring you to your private message inbox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Idoubtit

Think Ucd pokersoc e-mail is pokersoc@yahoo.ie, you'd probably be better posting on the forum on www.pokersoc.com, there's already some talk of the tournament on there.

If anyone is looking to purchase a ticket before the event we just got them there yesterday.
    Also I got in contact too with a member of UCD PokerSoc.

Dont forget there are goin to be satalite in DIT this thursday, €5 buy-in with rebuys, ever €50 in pot will equal a ticket for the ISPM. Also which DIT is it in does anyone know?

There are also satalite for the event in the Merrion Casino Club on mondays and thursdays.

Hey

What time are the satalites for this event on at in the Merrion on mondays and thursdays ?

Tks
    OPR

On Monday there is a freeroll which start at 9pm and on Thursday the tourney starts at 9pm too, when people get knocked out of these tournaments they play the satalites. Enough people are usually there to play by about 10pm so thats about when they start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭nuttlys

On Monday there is a freeroll which start at 9pm and on Thursday the tourney starts at 9pm too, when people get knocked out of these tournaments they play the satalites. Enough people are usually there to play by about 10pm so thats about when they start.
    Isn't the Merrion closed on Monday cause of the Irish Open?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

this is conveniently on the day after the ucd ball! Clearly an effort to thwart ucd's eventual victory in this event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 rayfitz

Clearly not Rnger, I would imagine ucd's poker skills and not their hangovers would thwart their efforts for victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

we'll see on saturday!

Hey anyone hear how many people will be at this thingy? Is it sold out? I havent got a ticket yet!

As far as i know thier is alot of interest but nearly sure you will be able to buy tickets on the day of the event.

Email the pokersoc address in DCU if you want to be sure think the address is on the first page of this post.

OPR

[DM]Frink wrote:
    Hey anyone hear how many people will be at this thingy? Is it sold out? I havent got a ticket yet!

I don't think it is. They're expecting to sell most of the tickets on the day, so just turn up early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

I just got told I have to work Sat afternoon. Soooo pissed off, was looking forward to coming to this

DIT will have a few bodies at this... but my money is on a winner from Maynooth!!!

I'll call that bet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Anyone up for a last longer bet of some sorts?