Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Street and Urban Photographs

• 16-03-2006 8:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭

Hi All,
    At the risk of being ripped apart again;) please see the below link for more Street and Urban photography.

Comments ALL welcome ( that includes you to Shrimp!)

http://brooks-photography.blogspot.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

Some excellent shots there, I like the B&W. Thanks for sharing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭BrookieD

cheers dimy, pleasure

I just created a Flickr group for Street photography around dublin. If anyone is interested in joining pop over to here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Nice shots!

Joined your group...Have to wait til next month before I can upload more...

Glad your onboard Fajitas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

Maybe I join too, I don't have a Flickr account yet though. Also I'm not very confident to make candid pics of strangers on the streets of Dublin :). But maybe when I'm finally getting my bigger zoom lens I can take some shots at it. Still saving money though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Omg, theres a picture of my friend in there

LiouVille wrote:
    Omg, theres a picture of my friend in there

no way...lol:)

Any one can join the Flickr group, if you can not post a photo then join or start a post.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

The pictures are really good, what did you take them on/lens?

Nikon D70 with a Nikon AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6D ED
    I also use Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX Macro for Nikon; Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D

Cheers for the comments
    D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShayHT

Very good, particularly liked

Still in love
    miss selfridge
    "I wish this was hotter!"
    Going home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

BrookieD wrote:
    cheers dimy, pleasure

I just created a Flickr group for Street photography around dublin. If anyone is interested in joining pop over to here
    Well, I have finally created my flickr account and joined this group! Hope to make you all proud! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Deadly stuff! Where is the shrimp now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

I like them, all really nice. I like your titles too. you were reading their minds!!!! I'll join the flickr group too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

It looks like you just went around taking shots or ppl walking around.. with no real thought behind it. Some of them are good enough tho!

Shrimp thats exactly what i did, I walked around town taking photos of people AKA Street photography :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

"Keep your coins, I want change."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

Nice pictures.
    I'm guessing you get the 15 home ;)

nope i drive

BrookieD wrote:
    Shrimp thats exactly what i did, I walked around town taking photos of people AKA Street photography :-)
    Yes you're right, but you forgot the vital part of what I said..... "Without much thought"

well on this one shrimp your wrong, there was thought, not all shots have to be perfectly set up. My ongoing project is to get Dublin Street life as I see it, Not as you or anybody else want me to see it.

Thanks for the comments though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭EireRoadUser

Whats happens if some criminal doesn't want his presence known?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShayHT

You run like you've never ran before:D

BrookieD, i think you captured some great shots there, and I think if you had put "thought" into them I think they wouldn't have been as good.

Actually Shrimp, can you say what exactly you mean? Was BrookieD not just trying to capture people as they go about their daily life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Shrimp wrote:
    Yes you're right, but you forgot the vital part of what I said..... "Without much thought"

You didn't say this you said something else. I agree with Brookie on his MO. It is something I like to do too. I took this one (for some reason I can't upload photos at the moment) today and I didn't put much real thought into it either.

it's so tense here ,dynamite wouldn't break it. :confused:

Its why i stand and watch for a few mins before i click away. If something or someone looks off then i dont photograph them. Most people dont even see the camera there so cought up in there own world anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Ravage1616

Some very nice photos there, i like the grafti Photos! Starting to take a few photos of grafti myself but only in the last day or 3 so havent got that many!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Well done on the pics, I love to see other peoples emotions..like the determined or madness or whatever without having to go around and look for it. Keep up the good work.

I couldn't be arsed explaining myself.... Not this time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Isn't this all highly litigious? I mean if you take and publish photo of someone (who's not normally in the public eye) without their knowledge or consent, I can only imagine that if they didn't take too kindly to it, you could find yourself at the fat end of a court appearance or settlement. Admittedly it's something I've done once or twice myself but never felt comfortable doing it. There's nothing worse than having some langer point a camera at you when you're either not prepared or in the mood for it.

I'll have to have a bit of a read up on model releases and the likes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

You'd only go to court if you refused to remove the image

When is photography not photography and just voyeurism ?

LiouVille wrote:
    You'd only go to court if you refused to remove the image

Ok, but could the complaint not be that the photo was taken in the first place? Pretty sure it'd fall somewhere under invasion of privacy. Not trying to be awkward here or to comment on any photos already posted in this thread. Just doing my usual acting as devils advocate.

Most of the shots i take are all in full view of the preson or persons i am trying to capture, when they look over at me i give them a little smile and they smile back. If 1 person was to come over and express there view in not being photographed then i would show them the LCD and show them that i have deleted this picture.

if on the other hand a preson happend onto the Flickr group or my blog site and expresed a deisre to be removed then likewise i would do so.
    I do submit some pictures on stock photography sites that sell but all of these are model free.

To me Street photography is trying to capture the essence of the moment in any given situation. I try and capture the rushing to and from shops and work. Capture something that might otherwise be missed, if you stop to ask someone if it is ok then you have lost that moment.

At the end of the day people can see me, I am not hiding down a alley way like a perverted skunk. A quick shake of the head would be all it needs for me to delete any picture i take.

Ohh and Rymus, i am not a "langer" as you put it :-)

Some info i found on Wikipedia about Street Photography:-
    "Publication

In general, one cannot publish someone's image to endorse a product or service without first acquiring a "model release," which is usually a contract between the publisher or photographer and the subject."

"Defamation

It is somewhat difficult to imagine a hypothetical scenario in which a photograph, by itself, would be defamatory, since the key element of defamation is falsity. Perhaps if a person was photographed in such a way that made them appear to be engaging in some indecent activity, it could qualify as defamatory. Digital editing of photographs certainly opens the floodgates for defamation, because it is easy to turn a formerly "true" photograph into one that does not depict anything near the truth.

Photographing someone in front of an adult bookstore even though they were just walking by would be an example of possible defamation of character. It associates them with the act of purchasing pornography when they where innocently walking by."

"Asking permission

While asking permission is a good way to avoid uncomfortable confrontations with subjects, it is seen as cheating by many photographers, because it betrays the sense of truth and objectivity with that street photography is often thought to have. It creates the potential for the subject to act, pose, or appear differently than they would have naturally because they now are aware that they are the subject of a photograph."

Just for the record I have been asked not to photograph someone before.

BrookieD wrote:
    Ohh and Rymus, i am not a "langer" as you put it :-)

That wasn't specifically for you; it was an all encompassing sweeping generalisation for all photographers :D

heard of a skanger ,never a langer .

Is a langer a tall skanger ? or a different breed altogether.
    I seen a few skanger drinking the other night with there cans in there hands ,but i didn't see any langers maybe tall skangers are a dying breed.

rymus wrote:
    That wasn't specifically for you; it was an all encompassing sweeping generalisation for all photographers :D

LOL nice one:D

heard of a skanger ,never a langer .

A langer is a disagreeable gentleman, usually from Cork or surrounding areas. More or less...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Permission is not required to photograph in a public place. RTE often have stock footage of people walking up Grafton st. They dont ask permission first. When the subject matter is sensitive you'll notice that they either blur the image or just show feet.

A book on the history of photography or a book on great photographers would be pretty empty without street photography. I believe street photography is one of the purest expressions of the art. It is also one of the best ways of keeping a record of a particular time for future generations.

'Though like Rymus it's not something I feel very comfortable doing.

Oh and I'm glad Shrimp doesn't feel like explaining himself I don't think I can take much more of his shoving his narrow views down our throats.

What narrow views have I got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

Shrimp wrote:
    It looks like you just went around taking shots or ppl walking around.. with no real thought behind it.

lol.Shrimp now has a problem with the vast majority of photography.I would say 60-70% of great photographs were taken without "any particular thought behind them", that is, great moments captured in the spirit of things. Take a modern example - maybe the "falling man" of the twin towers.We can all agree that is an amazing photograph, perfectly composed etc but there was hardly and time for thought.

Not all photography has to be planned.

If everyone went into all the cities in the world and started taking photographs there wouldn't be anyone without a camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

BrookieD wrote:
    Photographing someone in front of an adult bookstore even though they were just walking by would be an example of possible defamation of character. It associates them with the act of purchasing pornography when they where innocently walking by."
    Wow, I'd never have thought of doing that. :D
    "Yeah, just stand over there holding this brown paper bag... lovely..."

The photos aren't good they are just boring photos of people.

TimAy wrote:
    Not all photography has to be planned.

I never said it did..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

Shrimp wrote:
    I'd have to disagree, like I think most people that have posted.

EDIT: Well posted cgf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭cgf

Shrimp wrote:

Where as this http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/25356677/ is ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Leave him alone, Shrimp is certainly...disagreeable...but there's no point turning this into a "your photos suck, no YOUR photos suck".

here agreed with Zillah, Shrimp thinks i suck, thats cool no offence taken. now lets move on

guys i'm not throwin insults around. nobody sucks.. i've never said that.

i just dont happen to like his style of photography. some ppl on here just cant accpet when someone has a different opinion.

I'm new to boards here ,although my join date is 2003 haven't started here really until this year.

I did detect an air of smartness in the opening thread though.
    A certain person seemed to be brought into the thread before it even started.