Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema Loners

• 16-03-2006 1:36pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭

As im a college student I tend to have alot of free time on my hands so recently I finally plucked up the courage to go and see a movie in the cinema by myself. It wasnt a great experience really. First off when I was buying my ticket the guy at the counter looked up at me when I said one and asked "One?" in this really condescending way. Then when i went into the cinema I did get some funny looks by the people in their because I was by myself.

What i want to know is why is there such a stigma in this country about going to the cinema by yourself? I mean your going to watch a movie so you will be sitting in the dark and not talking anyway so I dont really see the problem. Yet alot of people in this country will think you some kind of sad loner for going by yourself. Out of all my mates I know of only one other who would go by himself, none of the others would despite the fact that they all love movies and have no problems watching dvds etc on their own. I know in America going to the cinema by yourself is not even thought about because so many people do it.

Do any of you go by yourself? Do any of you think its sad to go by yourself? Why do you think its sad?

Just curious to get everyones opinion on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Have done it once or twice, I prefer having nobody disrupting me. I have gone to the cinema and gone to a different film than my mates and met in the pub afterwards.

There were some people on boards saying they were even "stigmatised" for eating in mcdonalds on their own!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=318604

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭film_gonzo

What are you on about!! I go (and have gone many times before) to the cinema on my own all the time. I've never had anybody look at me funny or say anything. I rather not being disturbed when I'm watching a movie and while it's nice to be able to discuss the movie straight after with friends it's nicer not having to discuss it DURING the movie. Cinemagoing doesn't need to be a group thing. I know plenty who go alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭lifegamer

Was in town once and meant to meet a friend. He couldn't meet and was close to a cinema anyhow and said to myself, sure why not? And went on my own to see a film. Don't go alone that much but I do at times, if nobody else is around... No big deal really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Morrigan

I have to say I don't feel there's a stigma regarding people going to the cinema alone. In fact I think it's one of the most natural things to do alone (quiet down the back! :rolleyes:) as all you do is sit in the dark and stay quite - no interaction with the person you're with...
    The first time I went to see a film on my own I was 13. I went to see some 15 rated film with my sister and her friend and the boxoffice wouldn't sell me a ticket so I had to go to some other film on my won while the other two went ahead with their 15-rated film, the beeyotches!
    If there's a film I want to see and no one else I know wants to see it then I will go on my own. It's that simple.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

OP, I think it's all in your mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I go to the cinema by myself all the time. I have the cineworld unlimited card, and if I'm ever bored, I just hop on the bus and see a movie. Much better than sitting at home and watching TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

film_gonzo wrote:
    What are you on about!! I go (and have gone many times before) to the cinema on my own all the time. I've never had anybody look at me funny or say anything. I rather not being disturbed when I'm watching a movie and while it's nice to be able to discuss the movie straight after with friends it's nicer not having to discuss it DURING the movie. Cinemagoing doesn't need to be a group thing. I know plenty who go alone.

ditto on that. I've got an unlimited card and a good bit of free time here and there and head to the cinema whenever I can. if nobody else wants to see the movie I'll go on my own. never had any weird looks or any of that ****.

I went to see Good Night and Good Luck on my own yesterday and there was close to 20 people there, and there was only 2 groups of 2. everyone else was on their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

i went to a couple of films on my own, breakdown, titanic.. i don't know why, nothing else to do.. i prefer being in company though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

sinecurea wrote:
    OP, I think it's all in your mind...

:D It wasnt all in my mind. Saying that though I wouldnt have a problem going on my own again I was just surprised at how others viewed me because I was there by myself. It didnt bother that much tbh as im never going to see them again. Was just interested to hear other peoples opinions on it all. Maybe I just chose a bad day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

never gone by myself, but ive seen loners there a few times, and half of them look a little weird son of sam weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

I've only done it once before (it was a zombie flick I think so I was struggling to find people interested in going to see it) and it was grand. I don't usually do it because I like going to see films with other people, not because I'm paranoid and think other people are pointing and laughing, that's a weird notion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 djcasco

16 million cinema tickets were sold in the republic last year.That means that nearly every man woman and child went to the cinema at least 4 times. you can well assume that at least a million were sold to people going on there own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I've often done and and never gotten any 'tude tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

I go to the movies by myself alot though the changes in times in cineworld annoy me,it used to fit perfectly with avoiding the packed trains. I do get annoyed when in a near empty cinema loners will come up and seat beside me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

I've said it once and I'll say it again: I go to the cinema too often and for too long (maybe 7 hour long runs) for there to always be someone willing to go with me. Especially since I'm an only child who lives far from his friends. There definitely are eejits who give you attitude when you say you go/are going to the cinema on your own. I get it a lot

Besides, I've never been able to find anyone who doesn't annoy me in some way when watching a film together. When I do, I'll marry them. I really hope they're female. :D

When I'm alone I get to lay my big coat out how I like it, I get to use both arm rests, I get to spread my legs in the most comfortable way, I don't have to share food, I don't have to wait for people while they go to the bathroom, I don't have to depend on anyone to show up on time, I can sit where I like (not at the very back :mad:), I never have to feel guilty for bringing someone to a film they didn't enjoy and it's much quicker when buying tickets. I'm sure I have more reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

Went to see Wedding Crashers in Cineworld on my own during a really long break in college and i must say I had a very similar experience to the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

While I generally don't go to the Cinema much anymore, I often go on my own. Yeah, it's certainly great if you're there with a few friends, you can have a good chat about it afterwards, but other than that it makes no odds. You're there to watch and (hopefully) enjoy a film.

I'd also agree with Hugh Hefner's reasoning why going to the cinema on your own can be better.

I also find that often enough, people who treat the cinema as a social event are usually the skangerish type who won't shut up, make a complete nuisance of themselves and answer their phones during the film.

Absolutely nothing wrong with seeing a film on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

Definately all in your mind. have gone to the cinema on my own loads of times.
    shouldn't be a big deal.
    Do you notice people on their own at the cinema? I don't so why should people notice you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭newestUser

In conversation with friends my own age (mid-late twenties) this has come up. We all agreed that we would have felt extremely self conscious doing it while we were in college, but wouldn't have a problem with it now.

I think it's something a lot of people feel uncomfortable doing, but my friends and I have grown out of this. The OP might be right when he says that staff etc. were giving him funny looks, but the staff in cinema are kids anyway!

However, in Dublin is one thing, but I might have a problem doing it anywhere else in Ireland. I realise it looks a little sad going on your own, but in Dublin nobody knows you from Adam, so who cares. Down the country though, it's a different story. I wouldn't like to get a reputation as "that quare lad who goes to Date Movie on his own", or some such...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

I used to have real problems with going to the cinema on my own. NO WAY, LOSERVILLE. But I think I'm mostly over this hump. It's no worse than sitting on your arse in front of the TV for two hours. The Cineworld card definitely helps with this. You get to pass it off as "I'm just getting my money's worth" instead of "I'm Billy No-Mates".

Although I remember the day King Kong opened, I popped into UGC before work to get tickets for the afternoon showing. I saw they were doing a 9am showing so I decided to call into work, say I wasn't feeling well, and went to that show instead. The guy behind the counter said "Wow, that's really sad." Well, at least I'm not working full-time in a cinema, loser.

I'll add to Hugh Hefner's list and say that one of the reasons I love going to the cinema on my own is the fact that I'm not waiting for people to get their shit together after the movie finishes. I'm up and out the door as soon as the credits start rolling. Big plus for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Kingp35 wrote:
    As im a college student I tend to have alot of free time on my hands so recently I finally plucked up the courage to go and see a movie in the cinema by myself. It wasnt a great experience really. First off when I was buying my ticket the guy at the counter looked up at me when I said one and asked "One?" in this really condescending way. Then when i went into the cinema I did get some funny looks by the people in their because I was by myself.

It's definetly in your mentality. If you didn't care you probably wouldn't have noticed people giving you "funny looks" as you say, or could have interperted the seller differently. It's all down to your insecurities of being seen alone publicly.

Go to a cinema, sit down on one of the chairs for half an hour, and just look at all the people who are passing by. You'll soon realise that nobody cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I think it maybe overplayed a bit in your head.
    Kingp35 wrote:
    I finally plucked up the courage to go and see a movie in the cinema by myself.
    This comment alone makes me think you were "on guard" as you went in, expecting to be started at, and so were a little paranoid, people may have been glancing at your jacket, and you're thinking "FECK OFF, I'm not a freak";)

ObeyGiant wrote:
    The guy behind the counter said "Wow, that's really sad." Well, at least I'm not working full-time in a cinema, loser.

****ing jackass tbh! I hope you said it to his face, rather than thinking it to yourself.

Oh, and I'd also add to Hugh Hefner's list by saying that you can show up for any screening time you feel like, or suits you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

My God. There are people that actually have a problem with the idea of going to the cinema alone? Tossers! It's the ones that go alone and don't make a deal about it that don't have the issues. The ones who do have the issues with it are obviously so painfully insecure they're to be pitied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

???

there's a stigma.

never noticed before.

been going to the cinema on my own since i was six. Always loved films and found it difficult to get people to go with me.

When i was in boarding school and was only out for the sunday i would go to the cinema every sunday on my own.

Actually now that i am in university i tend to go on my own less...cause there are people who are around most of the time who want to see the same stuff as me. And its more feeling bad for not telling my mates that such and such film is on then not wanting to be alone that makes it more sociable in university. (my entire house is film students, so the discussions after the film is a real perk).

Never noticed any kind of stigma. I guess its cause anyone who talked to me longer then 15 minutes knew i loved films. The people in the cinema never looked at me wierd or anything. But i guess they assume i'm on my own cause i am a big fat hairy man with glasses...almost definition of a movie geek and there's no stigma attached just stereotyping.

and i agree with hugh hefner. Going on your own can be better then with a group. Alot of the time watching films can be better on your own, unless its big shiny blockbuster film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Kingp35 wrote:
    the guy at the counter looked up at me when I said one and asked "One?" in this really condescending way
    Haha, a ticket monkey on a social highground. :p

I went to see LOTR: Two Towers and enjoyed it on my own, If you love the big screen, I don't see anything wrong with it, and I'd do it again too if I had to.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

rubadub wrote:
    I think it maybe overplayed a bit in your head.

This comment alone makes me think you were "on guard" as you went in, expecting to be started at, and so were a little paranoid, people may have been glancing at your jacket, and you're thinking "FECK OFF, I'm not a freak";)

Yeah your right i was a bit apprehensive because it was my first time and thats why I noticed it all because I was probably looking out for it. Wasnt in my head though although whn I go by myself again in the future ill just ignore it now that I have been by myself and didnt die :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

there is only one reason to go to the cinema alone. mastrubation.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Never noticed a problem. I'm constantly going by myself. I'll most likely do so again this weekend, as I do most weekends. When I live so damned close, it's to much hassle trying to round up people, especially to go and see some of the more ecletic stuff (I mean try getting someone to see "Palindromes" after you explain the premise).

And also, in a reversal of Obey Giant, I sometimes like to sit through the credits and it's grand when there's noone nagging you to get out of the place immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Marco Polo

I'd say my cinema visits are about 50% loner and 50% not. It's never really crossed my mind that there could be some form of social stigma involved. To be honest, I agree with the others and say it's all in your mind.

I always go on my own. That way I can see what ever film I want when I want.

When I would go with friends years ago they would always wan't to see something that I did'nt, so in the end I always ended up going to see a film on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

i go to the cinema by myself all the time, i just enjoy doing, every month or so i decide on a Friday just not to bother going into college and instead wander on down to UGC and relax and watch a film tis a great way to start the weekend

i would like to think nobody sees me in there and feels sorry for me or something now that would be funny. i enjoy going to the cinema with other people aswell for the big blockbusters and comedies but prefer just going by myself for the more serious stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Spider_Baby!

I mostly go to the cinema with my mates, but tbh i like goin on my own just as much. Not as much distractions, plus what Hugh Hefner said. Id usually ask around first to see if anyone wants to go, first, before id decide to go on my own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

I often go to the cinema by myself if there's a film on I want to see but my mates don't. Like an earlier poster said, I probably would have felt more consious of it when I was younger but not any more. In fact I'm just back from the cinema and I had a very enjoyable afternoon.
    ObeyGiant wrote:
    The guy behind the counter said "Wow, that's really sad." Well, at least I'm not working full-time in a cinema, loser.

I would not put up with that shít from a staff member at a business I was giving my custom too and I hope you didn't either. What did the manager say when you complained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

I always go on my own and have had a few funny looks when buying my ticket but it's not like sitting in a movie theatre is a social thing considering you're watching a film not chatting! Plus it means that I get to see the film that I want to see when I want to see it :)

So, there you have it folks. Going to the cinema on your own is what all the cool kids are doing. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

I used to go to the cinema with friends for a little while. Problem is most people I know have dreadful taste in movies. I've been going on my own one or twice a week for 5 years now. Never get any attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭Faerie

I've never gone to the cinema on my own...I would be way too self-conscious - it's stupid I know! Altough I don't actually think I would enjoy it anyway because I'm the annoying person who likes to talk during the film, and then the analysing the film with friends afterwards is the best part!
    I do agree however that there's a stigma attached to it - I know loads of (stupid teenagers mainly!) people who would notice someone alone in the cinema and remark on it. I suppose some people have nothing beter to do than worry about what others are doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Hitch-Hiker

I don't have a problem with going on my own at all. The unlimited card does help (the whole getting my moneysworth thing) But I used to go on my own from time to time before that too. Nothing wrong with it.
    Last week actually I got to an early bird show and I was the only one in the cinema :D
    I'd be interested to know where you went that the people gave you funny looks actually.

Cineworld. I have gone on my own since so maybe it was just the day that was in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

There's always a relatively large number of people who go to cineworld movies solo... Much more than most cinemas (I;ve noticed)... probably due to yearly pass thing...

On a personal note, I've rarely gone by myshelf, but would have no problem doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Juggalo

I occasionally go by myself. I have an unlimited card. I've never recieved any 'looks'. Although, I wouldn't go to a comedy by myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭flangeman

I nearly always go by myself in stead of waiting for people to pull there fingure out. I have found that mobile phones make it easier for people to be late, (just txt or ring etc..) but not for gigs and movies, I gave up when people would arrive late to the films.

I've been going on my own since I used to get the return ticket bus from Ardee to Dundalk for two pounds, into the matinee for 2.50 and spend 50 on crisps and smark cola (whats the right spelling for the 24p mini cans??). I was only 12 at the time, never told my mum where I was going.

Magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Lochaber

Personally I'd never go to the cinema on my own, not because I think I'd look sad, just because I like going to the cinema with people and making an evening of it. I hate being the only person who's seen a film, so I bring other people along so we can have a chat about it later... *shrug* To be honest I've never noticed someone going to the cinema by themselves, and I'm sure there've been plenty sitting around me, so I don't see any reason why anyone should be self-concious about it

And to ObeyGiant earlier in the thread who said that he likes going on his own because he gets to leave straight after the end of the film... the one thing that does annoys me about going to the cinema with my friends is that they always leave before the credits are over and I don't get to sit and watch the whole thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

I go to the Cinema by myself often.

I couldn't give a f*** if someone acted condescendingly to me for being there by myself, and if they were assholes about it, I'd embarass them so much they'd probably end up going home alone themselves (even if they were on a date).

Firstly, while it's fun to discuss a film with someone you see it with, the act of watching a film is about you and the screen, and maybe if you're on a date kissing the person you bring.

It's not like I couldn't get someone to go if I wanted, but often I'm in town, and have some free time / feel like I need a break from working and it's really convenient and exciting to watch a cool film.

BTW, anyone seen Hostel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

I love going on my own! I can see what I want to see and go whenever it suits me. Having said that, it's nice to have someone to go with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

What the heck, 90% of the time I go to the cinema alone, out of choice. It's the best way to experience a film unless its a comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

ObeyGiant wrote:

Didn't see this until now! :eek: Did he actually say that to you or he just give you a some sort of look that hinted that was what he was probably thinking?

If he'd said that I'd have just laughed and said "I could buy and sell you pal".

(Alternatively maybe by 'sad' he was just refering to your choice of movie for the day?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

ObeyGiant wrote:
    Although I remember the day King Kong opened, I popped into UGC before work to get tickets for the afternoon showing. I saw they were doing a 9am showing so I decided to call into work, say I wasn't feeling well, and went to that show instead. The guy behind the counter said "Wow, that's really sad." Well, at least I'm not working full-time in a cinema, loser.

I can't believe he said that. Not only is that terrible customer service but if people weren't going to their screenings, he'd be out of a job. And having worked in a cinema, I can tell you that quite a few cinema workers go to the movies on their own. Because you'd be working shifts, you might have a day off when other people are working so no-one would be available. No big deal. I go on my own sometimes and it doesn't bother me. With cinemas now offering matinees and early screenings, it can be really nice to escape to the movies for a couple of hours with no hassle from anyone and if it's quiet then there's less chance of your seat being kicked by some loo-lah who can't sit still or who thinks everyone wants to hear their thoughts on what's happening onscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭legologic

Once a week after work every week for the last few months! I love it!