Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Podge and Rodge

• 15-03-2006 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭

Are they the best thing to happen to RTE in years?

They give me a really good half hours enjoyment/laughter every Monday and Tuesday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Hit and miss in my opinion.. they're brillant especially during interviews (etc) but the show can have some truly unfunny moments (e.g. leprauchaun wrestling)

Just have two guests in 12 - 15 minute interviews.. and i'd be happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

Yeah there pretty good all right . Very funny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Just The One

basquille wrote:
    Hit and miss in my opinion.. they're brillant especially during interviews (etc) but the show can have some truly unfunny moments (e.g. leprauchaun wrestling)

Well actually - I have to agree with you there, the leprauchaun wrestling was crap... but besides that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Ballboy

Legends!!! Soo funny just because they have no respect for anyone what so ever!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

There's talk of a 3rd night.....I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I'm getting a bit tired of them tbh. Same ol' stuff over and over to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

Sometimes there funny - sometimes they wreck me head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Scoops

I thought the Martin King interview was great. "Here he is the happy weather w@nker"

sprinkles wrote:
    There's talk of a 3rd night.....I like it.

Yeah I heard that alright - where you hear it?

They are generating huge ratings apparently - do ya know where ratings can be viewed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Oh they are definitely hilarious especially the interview with (Foster & Allen) complete piss take !

The song Foster&Allen sang & they joined in singing. Absolutely hilarious.

I love em but i hope RTE don't do the usual crap & take em off air.

Did those guys used to do Zig & Zag ?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭ivan087

Angels wrote:
    Did those guys used to do Zig & Zag ?????

yep and the bronx bunny show on channel 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

ivan087 wrote:
    yep and the bronx bunny show on channel 4
    cool thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

basquille wrote:

ya i agree
    that lucy kennedy isnt great either she is very unnatural infront of the camera or somthing, shes a bit like a dirty old man!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I prefer them on their own from A Scare at Bedtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I laughed so hard when they had that brother and sister from the eurovision on and they let them play there new song during the break-that was great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

They give me a really good half hours enjoyment/laughter every Monday and Tuesday night

By far, go on the Podge and Rodge! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Good Show..They need to get rid of the crap between interviews and at the end because i only ever find myself laughin at the interview bit.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Yeah they're funny but Naked Camera is better :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Absolutely hilarous, a pair of dirty little feckers

xzanti wrote:

Think Naked Camera is alright - not great though - that type of programme has been done loads of times before.

I think Podge and Rodge are like a breath of fresh air - so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

they are amazing. had tickets to the show on monday night but couldnt make it. Its a pity they didnt get someone better to host the show. that Lucy girl is awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

xzanti wrote:
    And Murphy's Golden Moments is better than Naked Camera. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

They're good...

...but Zig & Zag were better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

yeah Podge and Rodge are class,
    though id like them and Dustin to get into an insult off !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

So Podge and Rodge are definitey the same people that did Zig and Zag?? anyone got names or anything about the creators??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Ciaran Morrison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

I think there's somebody up in Montrose thinking "how the hell did we get this so right?"...I mean - as others have said, it can be a bit hit and miss, but certainly more hits the mark than misses. Their ability with cursing is just amazing - i actually spluttered coffee when i heard them say "Marion Fuc*inucane"...the diatribe on 'metrosexuals' (go back to f*cking London), the back combed arse-hair...and this is just the 'weak stuff' compared to the bits with the guests.

I think Lucy might grow into the part...right now, she carries off the whole saucy chick thing, but you can still see the reflection of the autocue in her eyes, and get the notion that she still feels a bit of dread each time. She seems a bit too surplus to requirements...they might do well to just have her as a roving reporter, and let the lads drive the bus in the studio...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It's generally a great show, hilarious at times.
    I'm not a fan of Naked Camera though, it has the odd good bit but the majority of it is utter crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭arac

"so you went to the eurovision but you've no leaving cert!" they are cool:)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,395 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I prefer them in Scare at Bedtime but I do like the show. The interviews can be great with the right guests that can either take a slagging or get really annoyed by them. Jerry Fish was terrible but it was more that he was a dry ****e with an arsehole put on posh voice. Like the way Podge and Rodge mentioned he was crap at the end by saying he was a 'passable guest'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Currently my favorite show on RTE... I was in Heuston station a while ago and saw them filming some stuff there... presume that was from a Scare at Bedtime...

I like scare at bedtime but think that the new show is their, ahem, raison d'etre :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Currently my favorite show on RTE... I was in Heuston station a while ago and saw them filming some stuff there... presume that was from a Scare at Bedtime...

I like scare at bedtime but think that the new show is their, ahem, raison d'etre :D

"ben dover and inspector bush" classic :D

sad to say theyre the only show in town on RTE in terms of comedy. naked cameras crap and i honestly cant name any other comedy show:rolleyes: beside these guys the funniest thing on RTE is the new carlsbergs adds (the one with the "free gift" is brilliant)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭jimmidy_cricket

Do ye reckon they still have the zig and zag puppets? It'd be great if they "had them on" they could pre record P&R asking the questions and then have zig and zag answereing...or would that be a bit forced? Or they could have Podge interview Zag or Rodge interview Zig..whatever and whoevers not inervewing will be answering. I think it'd be deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I think the names of guys doing the voices are in the opening credits somewhere.

That said, anything RTE do that's reasonably original should be encouraged. I like it, but agree... sometimes the lost the plot a bit. The sheep shearing bit was boring as was the hamster racing. Luck Kennedy is a clone of the bog-standard attractive but ****-alll-else kind of girl you meet in a nightclub. Fun to look at for a few minutes, but nothing memorable.

Think about it: would you rather them or an aged and mediocre comedian trying to be nice to to the guests....?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭N90user

hehe see last nights one. '' will ya fake an orgasm for us''

and the old '' wrister scale ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Retr0gamer wrote:
    IJerry Fish was terrible but it was more that he was a dry ****e with an arsehole put on posh voice.
    Agree completely

Yes Podge & Rodge are class but once a week is enough. That well is going to run dry quickly and there is a limit to the number of guests they can interview. It is a great way of seeing if celebs are genuine or up themselves.
    Ballboy wrote:
    Legends!!! Soo funny just because they have no respect for anyone what so ever!!!
    To say they have no respect for anyone is not quite true. Ciaran Morrison and Mick O'Hara are two intelligent blokes and by mixing smut and geniune wit their respect for certain guests comes through. I am glad they have so far refused to have that annoying ****e Hector on the show now thats disrespect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

what ya think of them on the late late, they could have taken the piss out of pat a bit more but their language was real strong for the late late, although it wasn't that good cos they realy only repeated jokes from their show...

podge and rodge interviewing zig and zag would be genuis! great idea

they should kill off the does the fireplace match the mantel jokes it been done now

its a wonder they don't have their own web forum or anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Agree with you there about the Late Late recycled jokes. However I fail to see how a podge and rodge Zig and Zag thing would work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

boards.ie will prob get a mention if this thread gathers steam. naked camera is great too jake rocks! i thought podge would mention being on the den, remember when he was zags puppet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭N90user

lol htat was class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Here's how it all started

Podge originally appeared on The Den, as a decidedly evil little character. At first, he was introduced as nothing more than a puppet Zag (of Zig and Zag) had found in a box amongst the rubbish behind a magic shop, and used him to practise ventriloquism, eventually performing a few dire shorts that showcased Zag's lack of skill. Zig was particularly jealous of the attention Podge was receiving.

Things took a sinister turn, however, when one day, during one of these shorts, a mysterious voice insulted Zag. With the pieces in place for the revelation, Podge made himself fully known to the audience - alone with Zig at the conclusion of the broadcasting day, he moved and spoke on his own, bullying Zig, telling him he would be his friend if he stole the bike presently being offered as a competition prize. Zag and presenter Ray D'Arcy remaining oblivious to this as Podge would occasionally move in the background or be seen scheming on his own, and letters and pictures would pour in from the viewing children trying to let them know that Podge was evil. Eventually, after Zig finally spilled the beans, Podge made a power play and took over the programme for a day, revealing that he had been brought to life by a magician, but then sealed away when he turned evil. Podge also possessed some magical powers of his own that he'd learned from the magician, and turned one of the crew members into a teapot. He was finally dealt with when the magician arrived at the end of the programming day, hypnotised Podge, and took him away.

Not that that stopped him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

BingoBongo wrote:
    Here's how it all started

Podge originally appeared on The Den, as a decidedly evil little character. At first, he was introduced as nothing more than a puppet Zag (of Zig and Zag) had found in a box amongst the rubbish behind a magic shop, and used him to practise ventriloquism, eventually performing a few dire shorts that showcased Zag's lack of skill. Zig was particularly jealous of the attention Podge was receiving.

Things took a sinister turn, however, when one day, during one of these shorts, a mysterious voice insulted Zag. With the pieces in place for the revelation, Podge made himself fully known to the audience - alone with Zig at the conclusion of the broadcasting day, he moved and spoke on his own, bullying Zig, telling him he would be his friend if he stole the bike presently being offered as a competition prize. Zag and presenter Ray D'Arcy remaining oblivious to this as Podge would occasionally move in the background or be seen scheming on his own, and letters and pictures would pour in from the viewing children trying to let them know that Podge was evil. Eventually, after Zig finally spilled the beans, Podge made a power play and took over the programme for a day, revealing that he had been brought to life by a magician, but then sealed away when he turned evil. Podge also possessed some magical powers of his own that he'd learned from the magician, and turned one of the crew members into a teapot. He was finally dealt with when the magician arrived at the end of the programming day, hypnotised Podge, and took him away.

Not that that stopped him.
    Its sad that RTE don't put that kind of effort into their kids shows anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

And Mick O Hara too of course.

sad but i remember that very well, look at wikipedia its all on that too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Podge and Rodge are OK but Bronx Bunny was better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I'm sure the boys will get a laugh out of this thread, when i show it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

panda100 wrote:
    I laughed so hard when they had that brother and sister from the eurovision on and they let them play there new song during the break-that was great!
    Same! I was literally laughing on the ground untill the adbreak was over and they were still there singing. Funniest thing I've ever seen.

but they deserve to be put on during all ad breaks including radio ad breaks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

"Anything with a hole and a heartbeat". Classic. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

i like them but as others said sometimes its jsut not funny..and other times your laughing yur ass off at them...the muck that comes from their mouths is brilliant!