Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guild Wars

• 10-03-2006 10:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45

Hi Folks,
    I am just wondering if there are any other Irish Guild Wars players out there. In particular I am wondering if there is any sort of organised clan/guild out there that a few of us could join. We have about 6 people so far in our guild but would need a lot more to make guild battles a viable option. So if there is a guild representative or people interested in creating one with me please post here.

:cool:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

I just recently bought guild wars myself. My biggest (and probably only) problem with is the that difficulty in finding people to group with. There are a multitude of people running around randomly inviting people to guilds, but when you join they do not co-operate, either in the PvE or PvP side of things. Which essentially makes the PvE side a rather tedious single player game. And since you need to play it through to unlock the skills for PvP (or PvP for hours with crappy skills) it makes the whole affair rather... well, crap.

So, with that in mind, if anyone is looking for more for an Irish guild, count me in (or any kind of guild wars guild, for that matter).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

I find Guild Wars to be a desperately unfriendly place, people have formed cliques and the whole atmosphere of the game is ruined by the fact that no one really co-operates, be it through trading or random teaming up and going PvE. I don't really know if this is just my experience with the game but it put me off playing MMORPG's altogether..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

im up for an irish guild for definite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 psycho_frodo

For those interested in an Irish Guild let me suggest meeting in Post Searing Ascalon to get things moving on wednesday evening at 21:00. I suggest we meet in the international district because that should be a lot quieter than the main english ones. Thoughts? I'm also happy to create/host a website for this and sort out TS or Ventrillo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

There are lots of Irish players of Guild wars, I know of at least two clans that have GW squads and I have personally met loads of Irish dudes playing. You should have no problems getting members when word gets out. If I'm available I'll try drag a few heads along.

Sounds great. Thanks mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭LordBlonde

We had a pretty big Irish guild but it's near death now. We're going to try get people back together for the Factions release but I dunno how successful it will be.

www.cual.co.nr

That's the website if anyone still wants to sign up. (if there's still any officers around)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 3C.

ooooo an Irish Guild sounds like fun!

I had a guild.......once.........about a year ago......

Anyone know how to disband a guild???

Speaking of guilds, Is anyone entering the new emblem competiton?

I'm interested!

LordBlonde wrote:
    We had a pretty big Irish guild but it's near death now. We're going to try get people back together for the Factions release but I dunno how successful it will be.

www.cual.co.nr

That's the website if anyone still wants to sign up. (if there's still any officers around)

I checked out that website and there seems to be no activity there anymore. I think that I will proceed with the idea of starting afresh and building up the guild from there. It seems to be a good time to start one now with Factions on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭saado

I'm back to playing after a few months of not playing, cos the frost gate was too hard to do :( Finally back into it though, so I shall meet you all there.
    How do i leave my current guild?
    You do get the odd good group, i was in a great one last night running hot springs murders and villainy of galrath before the server rollback :( Lost a good amount of progress and purple and gold items :(

I will be online so tonight in Ascalon Post Searing. My nick ingame is 'Lanied Galen' and I should be in the international district. I'll be there before nine and once we see how many log on we can assign officers for the guild and work from there.

Ideally I'd like to know who is interested in PvE, PvP, GvG etc. that way we can arrange battles for what people are interested in and set up teams for those purposes.

If you could all install Ventrillo, the VOIP client, it would be great also. That way we can communicate a little easier in-game. After this initial meeting is done I will set up a website and forum and hopefully we can start making this Irish guild work. :cool:

So we still meeting Post-Searing, International District at 21:00?

Yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Doh! I joined at 10:00pm and started speaking as gaeilge but no one responded so I guessed you had left by then.
    Sorry but I had a visitor :(...no doubt I'll catch you again sometime.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

ahh how i miss our old guild... i was part of An Cual before it all went assways... my ingame name is Master Leach so if u wanna invite me then please do. im still an officer in Cual but thatl change if a more active guild appears cuz god knows we're long dead...ill prob b online tomorrrow and tomorrow night.

Damn it, sorry guys. My machine just rebooted and wouldnt restart for like 10 minutes. Was a serious pain in the ass, sorry bout that.

I will be online so tonight in Ascalon Post Searing. My nick ingame is 'Lanied Galen' and I should be in the international district. I'll be there before nine and once we see how many log on we can assign officers for the guild and work from there.

Ideally I'd like to know who is interested in PvE, PvP, GvG etc. that way we can arrange battles for what people are interested in and set up teams for those purposes.

If you could all install Ventrillo, the VOIP client, it would be great also. That way we can communicate a little easier in-game. After this initial meeting is done I will set up a website and forum and hopefully we can start making this Irish guild work. :cool:

Dang, I didn't check the boards....Will there be another op to sign up?

It was good craic last night and it was nice to get the guild up and running. For those interested in playing with guild I will be online tonight again for most of the evening. Just pm 'Lanied Galen' in game and have a chat with me and I'll send out the invites. Hope to see you all active and meet with you in the next week or so.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 de_sharkman

Hey Guys,

Joined up there the other night. Very helpful and active guild - the lads are mighty craic.

Great run on the Frostgate, solid party and no "Leroy Jenkins" incidents!

I'm new to the game myself (was mostly a WoW player) but the lads let me tag along and it turned into a great night of gaming.

Highly recommended to anyone looking for a good guild.

Cheers psycho_frodo, the guild is starting out great!

Well if thats not a good review.......

lol, leroy jenkins....

right me has resigned from an cual *sniff* and wouldnt mind an invite into this new guild...me was officer material and all :D i added you but aint bn able to catch u online. master leach is me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

splinter wrote:
    right me has resigned from an cual *sniff* and wouldnt mind an invite into this new guild...me was officer material and all :D i added you but aint bn able to catch u online. master leach is me :D

Officer material my arse. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 de_sharkman

Splinter: psycho_frodo (Lanied Galen in-game) should be back online tomorrow (thursday) evening. Keep an eye out for him and I'm sure he'll be happy to send you an invite.

I'll look out for "Master Leach". I could possibly get one of the other officers to send you an invite.

BTW, my character is "Fuego Tacticus".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Reinstalled the game yesterday after 6 months, my old guild died along time ago apparently. Ill look out for ye, should be a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭saado

apologies for not being around for the last while, Oblivion has my soul :( and xfire wasn't working with the game so I couldn't talk to my gf while playing like I normally did, might be on for a few hours this week though :D

Well we are still playing all the time anyhow. Waiting for Factions to come out next week and that should result in a few laughs

How do we preorder factions? Can we buy it online and download it or do we need to buy it from a pesky shop thing?

You can do either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

niall, kyubi - any chance of a full cual reunion if i bother my arse reinstalling the game.

I doubt i'll be back on as a CUALy tbh. :)

it is a dark day. methaphorically

I think there might still be hope for CUAL yet with Factions out.

A lot of the old officers seem to be interested in getting off their arse and playing again.

But more importantly, there's a way to upgrade maxed Prophecies armour to the same level as maxed Factions armour! I can still use my Fissure armour!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭RazielDoomgate

hey master leach!!! get your arse back on cual and all the others that disbanded (including me!) as factions as just been releashed and activity on GW will have ben reborn so will CUAL.. and we ill get our old leader back fian adair and he will lead us to victory and fame!! all remainding ppls from cual stay.. lets get this show back on the road! all irish guilds should unite under the common flag CUAL. i still got a 56k and got a heck of update to get through but i willl be on in the coming week.

lets bring some pride back into teh irish so for those that i can remember get back online.. mord, jodie, fian, finidair, leach, eleanor, furious, sairus, kyubi and myself (same nick)
    long live CUAL

It begins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭RazielDoomgate

it begins indeed.
    i'll be picking up factions as soon as i can.. probably this week. ive jsut finished updating gw so if anyones on ill try and reach you. but probably wont be back on cual till monday. when i left gw i was part of a mainly irish guild, CELT if im still with them i will ask if any irish members wil join and rejoin Cual. also is CUAL going to start back being a "irish only guild" with small exceptions eg eleanor and others if that times comes.
    i think all the old members should become officers after teh reuion. it would be a good way to honour us :) im guessing only 5 - 10 of the old ppl will return anyways.
    fian/niall/whatever are you going to return to us as leader or whats the story with that anyway?
    as for firn no he didnt get deported (where did you get that from??) he still lives in galway but is moving to wales for collage( why i dont know)

I'd agree with the sentiments of the last post. Forming an irish alliance would be a bit of fun. So far our guild has about 12 members with about 7-8 actually really active. We are doing pretty well and have set up Teamspeak and Guild Hall etc. If Cual reform that's grand but if it all goes to pot don't give up the enthusiasm for getting involved again. There should be plenty of irish players around to form a few solid guilds and it would be great to see an Irish Alliance in existence.

The most part of our guild thus far are postgrads with no exam committments etc. or people with actual jobs so most of our gaming is done in the evenings and at weekends. If you guys have thoughts on how we could better work together just let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 molc

Just chipping in my two cents on this as well.

Good to see the activity on the thread and that the interest is there. An Irish guild alliance would be a lot of fun.

Currently frodo and myself are playing pretty much most nights and on TiG TS (we're also bf2 players in that clan). Just pop either of us a message (missius molcius, brawler badass, tasha necroum are my main characters) and we'll meet up somewhere and hop onto a common TS to have some decent games together.

Also with the direction factions is taking, guild alliances are def. a good thing (tm)

go on the cual :D fine leachy is back in the game. ill b picking up factions soon enough...see you guys in game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

And who knows, Mik might even make an appearance! :D He still has 600k+ in that account...which I still have access to... :D

... hurries to chage his password :P You won't get my dosh that easy Fian! *shakes fist*

lol. pwnt! :)

it begins indeed.
    i'll be picking up factions as soon as i can.. probably this week. ive jsut finished updating gw so if anyones on ill try and reach you. but probably wont be back on cual till monday. when i left gw i was part of a mainly irish guild, CELT if im still with them i will ask if any irish members wil join and rejoin Cual. also is CUAL going to start back being a "irish only guild" with small exceptions eg eleanor and others if that times comes.
    i think all the old members should become officers after teh reuion. it would be a good way to honour us :) im guessing only 5 - 10 of the old ppl will return anyways.
    fian/niall/whatever are you going to return to us as leader or whats the story with that anyway?
    as for firn no he didnt get deported (where did you get that from??) he still lives in galway but is moving to wales for collage( why i dont know)

nothing to do with the above post/quote, but im going to ingame kill you raz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 KTdesigner

Is there an active Irish Guild, and how can I join?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

so is their 2 irish guild going now?

I was in Cual way back. Just logged back in and my char is all intact etc.

I'm at level 12 and can't even remember how the game plays, is there any point in starting again or should i keep going?

psycho_frodo, what's the name of you guild?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

how yis lads, just bought Guild Wars been playing it about half an hour now and would love to have an irish guild to be in.

so post up how to join either of the irish ones yis are discussing.

cheers, look forward to hearing from ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Just got factions today..

Absolutly fantastic game, with the graphics and crafting/spell system reminded me a lot of Asherons Call II.

I liked the way they make it look like its a MMOG when its more Diablo'ish.

Still fun.

The only downside so far is that I have completed the starter island and I am now level 18. According to the book the max level for a character is 20 and from what I have read I have probably seen less then 20% of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

Why is that a downside? Level has never been a terribly big part of guild wars. The levelling process in the first installment was really just an extended tutorial. For factions it is obvious that A-Net decided to concentrate on level 20 content which the vast majority of pve players would want. If you are looking for low level content and you haven't already you should pick up the original game. the sub-level 20 content of it is close to the total content of factions.

Its not so much a downside more used to playing level based games. :)

I see now that it is less to do with levels and more to do with your planned loadout in skills, skill points assigned and weapons/armor/items before the mission.

Only recently realised you could reassign skill points in the city before heading out. My first character went to level 20 without me ever realising this. :o

The second character I've made now is a necromancer/Monk and I have to say they are practically tank-mages. I got to level 10 within 40 minutes. Partly due to the fact I got a "black Dye" drop on my first mission and sold it for 3 plat. :D