Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Forum Sweepstake for The World Cup.

• 07-03-2006 9:59pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Would there be interest in a Sweepstake for The World Cup,say $20 (or whatever) per team.With 32 teams it wold be a nice little pot.If there is interest shown in this thread,I will organize it.

At least it will make the world cup more interesting for us.

[edit]Posting here is just an expression of interest,I will not take names on till a few detail's are sorted out,such as payment method.Then first come first served.[edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Im in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

Count me in.

Think we should include only 31 names though as there is no way i could cheer on england if i got them in the sweep. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'm on for this one too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Iceman78 wrote:
    Count me in.

Think we should include only 31 names though as there is no way i could cheer on england if i got them in the sweep. :p

If you draw england I will swap,they are very very strong this year.

Posting here is just an expression of interest,I will not take names on till a few detail's are sorted out,such as payment method.Then first come first served.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Dub13 wrote:
    If you draw england I will swap,they are very very strong this year.
    :rolleyes: :eek: :rolleyes:

When betting all national pride goes out the window and I use my head.I have been known to bet against Ireland.I have also been known to stick Rangers down on accumulators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'm in, and fantasy football team, and top goalscorer blah blah

Argentina for me....Outside bet Croatia

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

I'm in

If we get 32 names we could pay out..

1st)$300
    2nd)$200
    3rd)$80

Maybe payout the remaining $60 to the tournament whipping boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

Dub13 wrote:

Maybe payout the remaining $60 to the tournament whipping boys.

Good idea. This gives interest for the majority of the field who draw duds(like Greece!). If the whipping boy clause is in im interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Im in, will take Brazil of anyone who doesnt want them. Hope I get T+T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Count me in here.

P.S. I'd also jump at the chance to get England at 32:1, or 15:1 (whatever the pay off works out as) :o

I am willing to offer England at one point above what the bookies are offering.

bohsman wrote:
    Im in, will take Brazil of anyone who doesnt want them. Hope I get T+T

If we go with the payout I posted I think Trinidad and Tobago would be the only sure thing,easy $60 as they are sure to be the whipping boys.

Dub13 wrote:
    If we go with the payout I posted I think Trinidad and Tobago would be the only sure thing,easy $60 as they are sure to be the whipping boys.

Not a hope, Avery Johns socca army,

Although, how will you work out the whipping boys, lowest points, and then goal difference if there'a a tie?

bohsman wrote:
    I am willing to offer England at one point above what the bookies are offering.

I think your just looking for extra incentive to root against England!

Ste05 wrote:
    Although, how will you work out the whipping boys, lowest points, and then goal difference if there'a a tie?

Points will not come into it as the whipping boys are sure to have no points.If goal difference is a tie we could use the average FIFA World Ranking's of the 3 other teams in the group,the whipping boys from the easiest group wins.Does that make sense....?

I think your just looking for extra incentive to root against England!

No, Ill do the same for Spain and the Netherlands - England never hold their nerve and wont be helped by the Ericsson situation whereas Spain and the Netherlands have too many political problems

Ste05 wrote:

I think it would be good for the whipping boy bet to be 'Who gets beaten by the greatest margin in a single game*'.
    This way the bet continues to the last game giving interest throught.
    Technically a team who wins the World cup can win this bet too but that isnt really going to happen.

*If its a tie then who scored the least amount of goals in the competition. If still a tie then who conceded the earliest goal.

What about a dirty play league ....most red cards, yellow cards, fouls etc....:D

I love watching Uruaguay, don't think they qualified did they?

bohsman wrote:
    England never hold their nerve and wont be helped by the Ericsson situation

Not sure Oscar...I have a feeling about England this year.They are strong all over the park (maybe not in Goal),I agree about the Ericsson situation but its at the stage now were Becks picks the team so they don't even need a manager.

bohsman wrote:
    England never hold their nerve and wont be helped by the Ericsson situation

This is true. However!. I will have a €20 wager at 7/1 that says England win the world cup?.

(I'll pay you next Sunday freezeout. England 6/1 in pp)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I'm in. The easiest way to do it would be through a pokerstars account or something. If you like I'll sort it out, so if we get 32 names together, each of them transfers me $20, and then I transfer back the winnings when whoever wins wins.

Dub13 wrote:
    Points will not come into it as the whipping boys are sure to have no points.If goal difference is a tie we could use the average FIFA World Ranking's of the 3 other teams in the group,the whipping boys from the easiest group wins.Does that make sense....?
    Ye that was what I was thinking too.
    Obviously there'll be one or 2 teams with 0 points.
    Then go to goal difference, then goals against, then goals for, and if that is all equal, then go by FIFA ranking.
    Daithio wrote:
    I'm in. The easiest way to do it would be through a pokerstars account or something. If you like I'll sort it out, so if we get 32 names together, each of them transfers me $20, and then I transfer back the winnings when whoever wins wins.
    Ye, I'd certainly be happy with this, if you were happy to do it. I think we'd all trust Dave not to do a legger... or Tilt it all off ;)

Ill take that bet Aidan.

Paul you fancy a team picked by Beckham to win the wc???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Ok im in.

Yea pokerstars or All Inn as both do player transfares.

How about this for a fair draw.When I get 32 names PM a regular Poker forum poster with a list of all the teams and ask the poster to PM them back in a random selection.At the same time PM another Poker forum regular with the list of Names and get another random selection.Bingo draw done over the net.

Or just do the draw in the Fitz some night.

bohsman wrote:
    Paul you fancy a team picked by Beckham to win the wc???

I think even Becks could pick a winning team from the current England team.The only prob with Beckham picking the team is he will pick himself.

Dub13 wrote:
    How about this for a fair draw.When I get 32 names PM a regular Poker forum poster with a list of all the teams and ask the poster to PM them back in a random selection.At the same time PM another Poker forum regular with the list of Names and get another random selection.Bingo draw done over the net.
    How about a couple of your Consumer Issues mates?? Any of them willing to do this. That way it's completely random. Get them to Post in a thread created for that purpose at a set time (obviously both at the same time) then you won't feel guilty if you get a good team :p . So we get an independant draw, increases traffic for boards at a particular time. and should lead to an interesting thread??? An explosion of posts hopefully. :):)

Ste05 wrote:
    How about a couple of your Consumer Issues mates?? Any of them willing to do this. That way it's completely random. Get them to Post in a thread created for that purpose at a set time (obviously both at the same time) then you won't feel guilty if you get a good team :p . So we get an independant draw, increases traffic for boards at a particular time. and should lead to an interesting thread??? An explosion of posts hopefully. :):)

I was thinking more on the lines of Tom and one of the Poker Forum Mods....:p

Yes, Excellent.:o :o

What about this thread idea. I think it'd be good. Sometime that obviously suits them, but maybe something like 11PM one night when most of us are playing away anyway??

Laf any thoughts??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I'm willing to publically eat a deck of cards if England win the World Cup this year, they have the second best players and zero chance, Sven is a joke and will sit on the bench reading the fine print in his contract for his next job while Beckham and Cole make a mockery of their nominal winger roles. There's no great Irish fan of the England team than me, but *no* bloody chance :)

Anyhows if you're interested in football betting at major championships check out this experiment done during the last World Cup on the success of predictions by experts vrs non-experts:

http://swoba.hhs.se/hastba/papers/hastba2003_009.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Dub13 wrote:
    Yea pokerstars or All Inn as both do player transfares.

Or just do the draw in the Fitz some night.

I was thinking Paul that we could do the draw by way of a private tournament on stars or all in. If we get the 32 names together and organise a tourney whereby 1st place gets first seed, 2nd place 2nd seed, etc. etc. It might be a bit hassly but it would be good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Daithio wrote:
    I was thinking Paul that we could do the draw by way of a private tournament on stars or all in. If we get the 32 names together and organise a tourney whereby 1st place gets first seed, 2nd place 2nd seed, etc. etc. It might be a bit hassly but it would be good craic.

WTF??? I just thought of the exact same thing. I mean exactly the same thing. Anyway I agree to this idea.

Parrot :rolleyes:

Daithio wrote:

Sounds like it could be good craic but i'd say it would be near impossible to get 32 specific people to play a tournament at a specific day and time mostly because the excuses would come rolling in after the initial interest like the BSOP for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

Im in.go on IRAN ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Dub13 wrote:
    I have a feeling about England this year.They are strong all over the park (maybe not in Goal)
    :eek: Heathen! Quality keeper!
    It's their poor midfield that'll cause them not to win and their manager's lack of sense to do anything about it.

And on topic, the private tourney is a good idea. Anyone who's in the sweepstakes but doesn't register to play the tourney can just be allocated one of the remaining bottom seeds at random.

Daithio wrote:

Good idea.....but as rounders said it could be hard to get all 32 players on one night,but we could work something out.Maybe have a poll and see if people want a random draw or a tournament.It looks like there is loads of interest in the general sweepstakes idea,we just have to work out a format.

Collect the first 32 names.

All 32 enter a mtt tourney on stars ... best boardster = 1, first one out = 32 etc etc .... ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

count me in as long as I can have Brazil/Argentina/Holland...they're the top 3 right there folks, you heard it here first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Count me in, Serbia and Montenegro all the way baby!

Unless Romario gets recalled to the Brazil squad that is :)

Culchie wrote:
    Collect the first 32 names.

I think it would be a good idea to collect the cash first....dont want anybody disappearing when they draw/get Angola.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

stick me down for this. sounds like fun

bohsman wrote:
    Parrot :rolleyes:
    lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,314 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm in - collect the cash first is probably the right way to go about it :)

The idea of a tournament is growing on me.It would be an interesting final table,people will have the Fifa World Rankings page open.I cant imagine anyone wanting to go out in 8th (USA) but 9th would be good England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

Don't do it by World Rankings simply by choice, whoever wins can pick the team they want to have. The person who finishes 8th won't have to pick USA just whoever they think is the best option...which may well be Angola or T&T to avail of the whipping boys prize :D

Dub13 wrote:
    I think it would be a good idea to collect the cash first....dont want anybody disappearing when they draw/get Angola.:)

If we all play on stars we can forward cash in advance of tourney anyway to you Dub 13 ???

You look like a trustworthy chap, despite what Rounders123 says about you.;)